Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for Proposals X-Tutorials


Research funding for X-Tutorials for winter semester 2021-22

Closing date for applications: June 01, 2021

What does the funding look like?

  • With the X-Tutorials format, the Berlin University Alliance is funding research projects by students for students.
  • In order to hold an X-Tutorial, tutors receive a contract as a student assistant with a teaching assignment of 40 hours per month over a period of 12 months. (In exceptional cases, however, an X-Tutorial can also be held on its own, without co-teaching.)
  • On top of that, candidates can apply for research-relevant material or travel funds up to a maximum of 750 euro. A higher amount can be requested in exceptional cases. Whether this higher amount can be granted or not depends on the material or travel funds requested overall as part of the call for proposals.
  • To prepare the X-Tutors for their task, they are also invited to participate in a teaching qualification program. 
  • The Berlin University Alliance sponsors up to eight X-Tutorials per call for proposals.

Who can apply?

  • X-Tutorials can be offered by students of all fields of study and from all four partner institutions of the Berlin University Alliance: Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Applications from co-teaching teams from two houses of the Alliance are welcome.
  • The students must be doing a master’s degree program or must be at an advanced stage of their bachelor’s degree program, for example completed at least the third semester.
  • It is also important for the student to have a professor as a subject-specific mentor so that they can receive an assessment of the research project in terms of feasibility, and also receive support throughout the project.

Which documents must be submitted?

  1. Application form (online) with details about the applicant, about the research project, and about the institutional link. Please fill out the application form online.
  2. Project outline (maximum three pages, additional page containing bibliography if required) with a description of the planned research project, schedule, assessment of potential participating students and ideas for possible collaborations with other actors or institutions. More information is available regarding what you need to consider when drafting your project outline.
  3. Optional - Application for material or travel funds up to a maximum of 750 euro; a prerequisite for the approval is that the funds are necessary for the research or would clearly enhance the research project. More information is available regarding what you can apply for and what you need to consider.
  4. Letter of endorsement provided by a subject-specific mentor: To ensure that your X-Tutorial can be implemented without major problems or setbacks, it is helpful to have professional support. Therefore, you should look for a professor who will support you in advance and during your X-Tutorial. It is important to note that supervising can only be provided by professors (including junior professors or deputy professors). Please ask the supervising professor to assure you of this support in a letter. More information is available regarding what should be included in this letter.
  5. Form - Proof of institutional affiliation: In order for your X-Tutorial to be offered as a research tutorial for students, an institutional affiliation is necessary. Therefore, please obtain a professor's signature (i. e. signature of your subject-specific mentor). Please download and complete the institutional affiliation form.

Important note:
When planning your X-Tutorial, please take into account that due to the coronavirus pandemic, the winter semester 2021-22 may be conducted largely online or as a hybrid semester.

When and where must the application be sent?

After you have completed the online application form, please submit all other required documents by email in pdf format to the StuROPx Coordination Office: sturop@berlin-university-alliance.de

Please keep the following instructions in mind:

  • Assemble all documents as one pdf document.
  • Within the pdf document, keep the order mentioned above, so please start with your project outline. A cover letter is not necessary.
  • Please name the pdf document as follows: Last Name_Tuts_WiSe 2021-22

The Deadline is: June 01, 2021.

How does the selection process work?

An interdisciplinary body of experts, consisting of representatives from different status groups and partners of the Berlin University Alliance is tasked with selecting the most suitable projects from the applications submitted in accordance with the defined list of criteria. The final decision on whether to grant funding is taken by a steering committee, which is responsible for StuROPx.

Information event

On April 30, 2021 from 14 to 15 (2 to 3 p.m.) an online information event about the X-Tutorials will take place. The information event is in German. But of course you can ask your questions in English. For this date, please use the following link:
https://hu-berlin.zoom.us/j/62830893283?pwd=ZjFObmloQ3BRR0x5Q2QxZlUwWXVvZz09

If you have further questions regarding the call or the format of the X-Tutorials, please contact the StuROPx coordinator Nina Lorkowski: nina.lorkowski@berlin-university-alliance

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for Proposals X-Tutorials


Förderung von X-Tutorials zum Wintersemester 2021-22

Antragsschluss: 1. Juni 2021

Wie sieht die Förderung aus?

  • Mit dem Format der X-Tutorials fördert die Berlin University Alliance Forschungsprojekte von Studierenden für Studierende.
  • Für die Durchführung eines X-Tutorials erhalten beide Tutorinnen oder Tutoren einen Vertrag als studentische Hilfskräfte mit Lehraufgaben über 40 Stunden im Monat über eine Laufzeit von 12 Monaten. (In Ausnahmefällen kann ein X-Tutorial aber auch alleine, ohne Co-Teaching durchgeführt werden.)
  • Ergänzend können forschungsrelevante Sach- oder Reisemittel bis maximal 750 Euro beantragt werden. In Ausnahmefällen ist die Beantragung eines höheren Betrages möglich. Inwieweit dieser höhere Betrag bewilligt werden kann, ist abhängig von den im Rahmen der Ausschreibung insgesamt beantragten Sach- beziehungsweise Reisemittel.
  • Um die X-Tutorinnen und -Tutoren auf ihre Aufgabe vorzubereiten, nehmen sie außerdem an einem didaktischen Qualifizierungsprogramm teil. 
  • Die Berlin University Alliance fördert pro Ausschreibung bis zu 8 X-Tutorials.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

  • X-Tutorials können von Studierenden aller Studienrichtungen und aus allen vier Partnerinstitutionen der Berlin University Alliance angeboten werden, Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin und Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Anträge von Co-Teaching-Teams aus zwei Häusern des Verbundes werden begrüßt.
  • Die Studierenden müssen im Masterstudium sein oder im fortgeschrittenen Bachelorstudium studieren, also mindestens das dritte Fachsemester abgeschlossen haben.
  • Wichtig ist zudem, dass die Studierenden eine Professorin oder einen Professor als fachliche Betreuung haben, von denen sie ein Gutachten zur Realisierbarkeit ihres Forschungsvorhabens erhalten sowie Unterstützung im Projektverlauf.

Welche Unterlagen sind einzureichen?

  1. Antragsformular (online) mit Angaben zur Antragstellerin oder zum Antragsteller, zum geplanten Forschungsprojekt und zur institutionellen Anbindung. Bitte füllen Sie sich das Antragsformular online aus.
  2. Projektskizze (maximal drei Seiten, mögliches Literaturverzeichnis auf einer weiteren Seite) mit einer Beschreibung des geplanten Forschungsprojekts, mit einem Zeitplan, einer Einschätzung zu den potenziell teilnehmenden Studierenden und Ideen für mögliche Kooperationen mit anderen Akteur_innen oder Institutionen. Bitte beachten Sie die genaueren Hinweise dazu, was Sie in Ihrer Projektskizze dringend beachten sollten.
  3. Optional: Beantragung von Sach- oder Reisemitteln in Höhe von maximal 750 Euro; eine Voraussetzung für die Bewilligung von Sach- bzw. Reisemitteln ist, dass die Mittel für die Forschung notwendig sind oder das Forschungsvorhaben klar bereichern würden. Bitte beachten Sie die Hinweise dazu, was beantragt werden kann und was Sie dabei beachten sollten.
  4. Unterstützungsschreiben einer fachlichen Betreuerin oder eines fachlichen Betreuers: Damit Ihr X-Tutorial möglichst ohne größere Probleme oder Rückschläge umgesetzt werden kann, ist eine fachliche Betreuung hilfreich. Suchen Sie daher rechtzeitig, eine Professorin bzw. einen Professor, die bzw. der Sie im Vorfeld aber auch während Ihres X-Tutorials unterstützen wird. Wichtig ist: Die Betreuung kann nur von Professor_innen (auch Juniorprofessor_innen oder Vertretungsprofessor_innen) übernommen werden. Bitten Sie die betreuende Professorin bzw. den betreuenden Professor darum, Ihnen diese Unterstützung mit einem Schreiben zuzusichern. Bitte beachten Sie die Hinweise dazu, was in diesem Schreiben enthalten sein sollte.
  5. Formular - Nachweis der institutionellen Anbindung: Damit Ihr X-Tutorial als Forschungstutorium für Studierende angeboten werden kann, ist eine institutionelle Anbindung notwendig. Bitten Sie eine Professorin bzw. einen Professor (in der Regel Ihre fachliche Betreuerin bzw. Ihr fachlicher Betreuer) daher bitte um eine formale Unterstützungszusage. Bitte laden Sie das Formular zur institutionellen Anbindung herunter und füllen es aus.

Wichtiger Hinweis:
Bitte berücksichtigen Sie bei der Planung Ihres X-Tutorials, dass auch das Wintersemester 2021-22 aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie gegebenenfalls als Hybridsemester durchgeführt wird.

Wann und wo ist der Antrag einzureichen?

Nachdem Sie das Online-Antragsformular ausgefüllt haben, reichen Sie bitte alle weiteren erforderlichen Unterlagen per Email im pdf-Format bei der StuROPx-Koordinierungsstelle ein: sturop@berlin-university-alliance.de

Bitte beachten Sie dabei folgende Hinweise:

  • Fügen Sie alle Unterlagen als ein pdf-Dokument zusammen.
  • Halten Sie innerhalb des pdf-Dokuments die oben genannte Reihenfolge ein, beginnen Sie also bitte mit Ihrer Projektskizze. Ein Anschreiben ist nicht notwendig.
  • Benennen Sie das pdf-Dokument bitte wie folgt: Nachname_Tuts_WiSe 2021-22

Deadline ist der: 01.06.2021.

Wie läuft der Auswahlprozess ab?

Ein interdisziplinär besetzter Expertenkreis bestehend aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der unterschiedlichen Statusgruppen und Partnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance wählt aus den eingereichten Anträgen nach einem festgelegten Kriterienkatalog die geeignetsten Projekte aus. Den finalen Förderbescheid trifft ein Steering Committee, das für das StuROPx zuständig ist.

Informationsveranstaltung

Am 30. April 2021 fand eine digitale Informationsveranstaltung zu den X-Tutorials statt. Hier finden Sie die Folien. Sie suchen noch eine Partnerin oder einen Partner um ein X-Tutorial gemeinsam zu beantragen und durchzuführen? Nutzen Sie das Forum, Passwort: Connect (Hinweis: Nicht-HU Studierende müssen sich dazu vorher bei Moodle anmelden).

FAQ zu den X-Tutorials

Bitte beachten Sie auch die FAQ zu den X-Tutorials, die Ihnen weiterführende Informationen zum Antragsverfahren, zum Auswahlprozess aber auch zum Format geben können.

Weitere Fragen

Bei weiteren Fragen zum Call oder auch zum Format der X-Tutorials wenden Sie sich bitte an die StuROPx-Referentin Nina Lorkowski: nina.lorkowski@berlin-university-alliance.de