Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Student Research Opportunities Programx (StuROPx)

Strengthening the link between research and teaching

Strengthening the link between research and teaching
Image Credit: Jacob Ammentorp Lund / iStock

The Berlin University Alliance has set itself the objective of strengthening the link between (top-level) research and teaching. The Alliance has established the Student Research Opportunities Programx (StuROPx) to achieve this ambition. StuROPx expands the opportunities available to students for participating in research projects in Berlin and gives them the chance to collect research experience at an early stage of their studies.

StuROPx is aimed at students as well as junior researchers. The program consists of two formats:

  • The X-Student Research Groups are research teams made up of doctoral candidates or postdocs, and students. The goal is to get students involved in current research projects early in their studies and therefore strengthen the transfer from innovative research to teaching.
  • The X-Tutorials are research tutorials initiated and organized by students. Two tutors form a team with other students and do research on a topic of their interest. The aim is to give students at an early stage of their studies the freedom to work on a research question of their choosing largely on their own.

Both formats are advertised twice annually in a Berlin-wide call for proposals and are open to all applicants of the four Berlin partner institutions.

In order to lend more visibility to student-based research in the Berlin Alliance and offer students interested in research better opportunities for networking and exchange, the Berlin Conference for Student Research is also held every year as part of StuROPx. The next conference is expected to take place in autumn 2021.

Contact

Dr. Nina Lorkowski, Program Manager Berlin Student Research Opportunities Programx (StuROPx)
Email: nina.lorkowski@berlin-university-alliance.de

Julia Rueß, Program Manager Berlin Student Research Opportunities Programx (StuROPx)
Email: julia.ruess@berlin-university-alliance.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Student Research Opportunities Programx (StuROPx)

Die Verbindung zwischen Forschung und Lehre stärken

Die Verbindung zwischen Forschung und Lehre stärken
Bildquelle: Jacob Ammentorp Lund / iStock

Die Berlin University Alliance hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Verbindung von (Spitzen-)Forschung und Lehre zu stärken. Dafür hat der Verbund das Student Research Opportunities Programx (StuROPx) eingerichtet. StuROPx erweitert die Möglichkeiten für Studierende, an wissenschaftlichen Projekten in Berlin teilzunehmen und bietet ihnen die Gelegenheit, bereits früh in ihrem Studium Forschungserfahrungen zu sammeln.

StuROPx richtet sich an Studierende sowie Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler. Das Programm besteht aus zwei Formaten:

  • Die X-Student Research Groups sind Forschungsteams aus Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden oder PostDocs und Studierenden. Ziel ist es, Studierenden schon im Studium zu ermöglichen, an aktuell laufender Forschung teilzunehmen und somit den Transfer von (Spitzen-)Forschung in die Lehre zu stärken.
  • Die X-Tutorials sind Forschungstutorien, die von Studierenden initiiert und organisiert werden. Zwei Tutorinnen oder Tutoren forschen mit weiteren Studierenden als Team zu einem Thema ihres Interesses. Ziel ist es, den Studierenden bereits in ihrem Studium den Freiraum zu geben, um weitgehend eigenständig an einer eigenen Forschungsfrage zu arbeiten.

Beide Formate werden zweimal jährlich in einem berlinweiten „Call for Proposals“ ausgeschrieben und sind offen für Antragstellerinnen und Antragsteller der vier Berliner Verbundpartnerinnen.

Um studentischer Forschung im Berliner Verbund mehr Sichtbarkeit zu verleihen und forschungsinteressierten Studierenden bessere Vernetzungs- und Austauschmöglichkeiten zu bieten, findet im Rahmen des StuROPx außerdem jedes Jahr die Berlin Conference for Student Research statt. Die nächste Konferenz wird voraussichtlich im Herbst 2021 veranstaltet.

Kontakt

Dr. Nina Lorkowski, Referentin Berlin Student Research Opportunities Programx (StuROPx)
E-Mail: nina.lorkowski@berlin-university-alliance.de 

Julia Rueß, Referentin Berlin Student Research Opportunities Programx (StuROPx)
E-Mail: julia.ruess@berlin-university-alliance.de