Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Global Health

As part of its second Grand Challenge Initiative, the Berlin University Alliance is tackling the topic of global health. Global health combines research and practice aiming to improve the health of all people worldwide. The goal is to eliminate the existing inequalities in society so that all people can lead healthy lives. Questions and challenges in the field of global health concern not only the health sciences but also a large number of other research areas such as law, environmental science, the natural and social sciences, as well as politics, religion, philosophy, material science, engineering, and communication studies. With this in mind, the researchers of the Alliance partners who are involved in the Grand Challenge Initiative on Global Health are adopting an interdisciplinary approach to investigate cross-cutting themes.

Exchange between scientific and non-scientific expertise plays a crucial role for global health. A Research Forum is being planned, where representatives from science, society, politics, culture, and industry will meet in order to define and address current issues using a transdisciplinary approach.

With the call for proposals, the Alliance seeks to promote outstanding collaborative research projects on the theme of global health. The launch date of this Main Call Global Health is planned for December 2020. The aim is to support projects that address global health issues in Berlin in a sustainable manner.

Please address any questions about the current and future funding lines on the topic of global health to grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de.

Contact

Dr. Julia Wolanski, Scientific Coordinator Global Health
Tel.: +49 30 450-572114
Email: julia.wolanski@berlin-university-alliance.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Global Health

In ihrer zweiten Grand Challenge Initiative beschäftigt sich die Berlin University Alliance mit globaler Gesundheit (Global Health). Im Zentrum von Global Health stehen Forschungs- und Anwendungsbereiche, deren Ziel die Verbesserung der Gesundheit aller Menschen weltweit ist. Dabei sollen bestehende Ungleichheiten beseitigt werden, sodass alle Menschen gesund leben können. Fragen und Herausforderungen im Themenfeld Global Health betreffen neben den Gesundheitswissenschaften gleichermaßen eine Vielzahl weiterer Forschungsbereiche wie Rechts-, Umwelt-, Natur- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie Politik, Religion, Philosophie, Material-, Ingenieur- und Kommunikationswissenschaften. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Verbundpartnerinnen widmen sich deshalb in der Grand Challenge Initiative Global Health forschungsbereichsübergreifenden Themen in einem interdisziplinären Ansatz.

Der Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft und außerwissenschaftlicher Expertise spielt für Global Health eine besondere Rolle. In einem geplanten Research Forum treffen sich deshalb Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft, Politik, Kultur und Wirtschaft, um aktuelle Fragestellungen transdisziplinär zu definieren und zu bearbeiten.

Mit einer Ausschreibung wird der Verbund exzellente, kooperative Forschungsprojekte zum Thema globale Gesundheit fördern. Der Start dieses Main Call Global Health ist für das Frühjahr 2021 geplant. Es sollen Projekte unterstützt werden, die Global Health-Themen in Berlin in einem nachhaltigen Ansatz adressieren.

Bei Fragen zur Ausschreibung und zu weiteren Initiativen innerhalb des Themenfelds Global Health wenden Sie sich bitte an grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de


TALKING SCIENCE – wenn Wissenschaft auf Gesellschaft trifft

Eine Podcastreihe in Kooperation mit dem rbb und Charité Global Health. Hier stellen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher der Verbundpartnerinnen vor, die sich mit Global Health-Themen beschäftigen.

 

Live-Podcast zum World Health Summit am 27. Oktober 2020: Extremer als es uns gut tut - Was Klimawandel mit Pandemien zu tun hat und Umweltschutz mit Kultur: Prof. Dr. Jörg Niewöhner, Institut für Europäische Ethnologie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, und Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten, Institut für Virologie, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin.

Kontakt

Dr. Julia Wolanski, Wissenschaftliche Koordinatorin Global Health
E-Mail: grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de