Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Exploration Projects of the Grand Challenge Initiative on Global Health

“Determinants of Global Health: Exploring Biological, Human-made & Environmental Factors”

Global Health encompasses health issues in a transnational and global perspective, focusing particularly on the interactions between globalization, health, and factors that influence health.

Global Health encompasses health issues in a transnational and global perspective, focusing particularly on the interactions between globalization, health, and factors that influence health.
Image Credit: iStock/bim

As part of the "Grand Challenge Initiative on Global Health" the Berlin University Alliance (BUA) is funding four innovative projects, which address urban mental health, planetary health, health care and migration, and antimicrobial resistance worldwide. The alliance projects will be funded with a total of approximately 5.4 million euros for three years.

The four funded projects

  • "Exploring and Designing Urban Density. Neurourbanism as a Novel Approach in Global Health": The neurourbanism research platform explores how urban density affects people's mental health. Based on a new theory of cognitive science of urban space, social, design, and construction factors that influence the mental health of young people and people with a migration history in the city are examined.
    BUA partner institutions involved in the project: Charité, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin
  • "Re-Scaling Global Health. Human Health and Multispecies Cohabitation on an Urban Planet": Exploring urban human-animal-environment relationships and how they affect human health in urban spaces forms the basis of this project. The project thus investigates the multiple links between health, biodiversity, and environmental pollution.
    BUA partner institutions involved in the project: Technische Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Charité, Freie Universität Berlin
  • "Exploring gender-specific determinants and contexts of migrant health from an integrated Global Health perspective": In the implementation of the right to health, migrant populations in Germany face numerous barriers and exclusion mechanisms of a social, cultural and structural nature. The project will examine health needs of different migrant groups, gender-related differences, and the dynamics of intersectional inequalities in Germany. Perspectives from potential countries of origin are included to develop potential solutions.
    BUA partner institutions involved in the project: Charité, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Freie Universität Berlin
  • "GlobalResist – Forecasting antibiotic resistance evolution – a new approach to address a major issue in global health": Development of resistance to antimicrobial agents is one of the major challenges in the fight against infectious diseases. GlobalResist is developing a wide-ranging approach to predicting antibiotic resistance that intricately links different disciplines. The aim is to enable the assessment of risks of patients developing resistance before use in the future, so that resistance issues can ideally be avoided, and antibiotics can be used more sustainably.
    BUA partner institutions involved in the project: Freie Universität Berlin, Charité, Technische Universität Berlin

Contact

Dr. Julia Wolanski, Scientific Coordinator Global Health
Email: grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Exploration Projects der Grand Challenge Initiative Global Health

„Determinants of Global Health: Exploring Biological, Human-made & Environmental Factors“

Global Health umfasst Gesundheitsfragen in einer transnationalen und globalen Perspektive und konzentriert sich insbesondere auf die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Globalisierung, Gesundheit und Faktoren, die die Gesundheit beeinflussen.

Global Health umfasst Gesundheitsfragen in einer transnationalen und globalen Perspektive und konzentriert sich insbesondere auf die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Globalisierung, Gesundheit und Faktoren, die die Gesundheit beeinflussen.
Bildquelle: iStock/bim

Im Rahmen der Grand Challenge Initiative Global Health fördert die Berlin University Alliance (BUA) vier innovative Projekte. Sie befassen sich mit den Themen psychische Gesundheit in Städten, planetare Gesundheit, Gesundheitsvorsorge und Migration sowie antimikrobiellen Resistenzen weltweit. Die Verbundvorhaben werden mit insgesamt rund 5,4 Millionen Euro für drei Jahre gefördert.

Die geförderten Projekte

  • „Exploring and Designing Urban Density. Neurourbanism as a Novel Approach in Global Health“: Die Forschungsplattform Neurourbanismus erforscht, wie sich städtische Dichte auf die Psyche von Menschen auswirkt. Dabei werden aus einer neuen kognitionswissenschaftlichen Theorie des Urbanen heraus soziale, gestalterische und bauliche Faktoren untersucht, die die psychische Gesundheit junger Menschen und Menschen mit Migrationsgeschichte in der Stadt beeinflussen.
    Am Projekt beteiligte BUA-Partnerinnen: Charité, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin
  • „Re-Scaling Global Health. Human Health and Multispecies Cohabitation on an Urban Planet“: Die Erforschung städtischer Mensch-Tier-Umwelt-Beziehungen und wie diese die Gesundheit von Menschen im urbanen Raum beeinflussen, bilden die Grundlage dieses Projekts. Dabei werden die vielfältigen Zusammenhänge zwischen Gesundheit, Biodiversität und Umweltverschmutzung untersucht.
    Am Projekt beteiligte BUA-Partnerinnen: Technische Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Charité, Freie Universität Berlin
  • „Exploring gender-specific determinants and contexts of migrant health from an integrated Global Health perspective“: In der Umsetzung des Rechts auf Gesundheit bestehen für migrantische Bevölkerungsgruppen in Deutschland zahlreiche Barrieren und Ausschlussmechanismen sozialer, kultureller und struktureller Art. Das Projekt wird Gesundheitsbedürfnisse verschiedener migrantischer Gruppen, geschlechterspezifische Unterschiede sowie die Dynamik intersektionaler Ungleichheiten in Deutschland untersuchen. Perspektiven aus potenziellen Herkunftsländern werden zur Entwicklung von Lösungsansätzen einbezogen.
    Am Projekt beteiligte BUA-Partnerinnen: Charité, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Freie Universität Berlin.
  • „GlobalResist – Forecasting antibiotic resistance evolution – a new approach to address a major issue in global health“: Resistenzentwicklung gegen antimikrobielle Wirkstoffe ist eine der großen Herausforderungen in der Bekämpfung von Infektionskrankheiten. GlobalResist erarbeitet einen breit angelegten Ansatz zur Vorhersage von Antibiotikaresistenzen, der unterschiedliche Fachdisziplinen eng verknüpft. Ziel ist es, zukünftig die Abschätzung von Risiken der Resistenzentwicklung vor dem Einsatz zu ermöglichen, um so die Resistenzproblematik idealerweise zu vermeiden und Antibiotika nachhaltiger einzusetzen.
    Am Projekt beteiligte BUA-Partnerinnen: Freie Universität Berlin, Charité, Technische Universität Berlin

Kontakt

Dr. Julia Wolanski, Wissenschaftliche Koordinatorin Global Health
grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de