Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Coronavirus pre-exploration project

The alliance project lays the foundation for extensive research on the novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2

The extensive alliance project lays the foundation for diverse and comprehensive research on the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus in Berlin. The participating researchers from Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin are investigating, among other things, potential active substances, the development of vaccine approaches, and possible health policy consequences of the coronavirus pandemic.

The pre-exploration project has been funded since July 2020 with approximately 1.8 million euros by the Berlin University Alliance as part of its Grand Challenge Initiative on Global Health.

Rapid and adequate action, as well as sufficient funding for research, are largely responsible for the successful long-term combating of rapidly spreading infectious diseases. For this reason, the Board of Directors of the Berlin University Alliance already decided positively on the funding of the Coronavirus Pre-Exploration Project in spring 2020. The project is dedicated to the study of the SARS coronavirus 2 pandemic from the study of the virus in cell culture to the analysis of the impact of the pandemic on the healthcare system.

The project is divided into six topics, which will be addressed by smaller research teams:

  1. Development and testing of antiviral therapies and prevention concepts
  2. Two- and three-dimensional human tissue cultures as models for SARS-CoV-2 infections
  3. Development of sustainable vaccines
  4. Animal and other model systems for SARS-CoV-2 infections
  5. Disease progression and prognostic markers
  6. Modeling the spread of SARS-CoV-2 infection and its consequences

„Gemeinsam gegen das Virus. Corona-Forschung in der Berlin University Alliance“ – A film created by Freie Universität Berlin for Ernst-Reuter-Tag 2020

The topics in detail

1. Development and testing of antiviral therapies and prevention concepts

In addition to small-molecule active substances, i.e. those consisting of particularly small chemical compounds, multivalent active substances in particular are especially effective in preventing viral infections, as these larger chemical compounds have not just one but several binding sites for the viral surface. In subproject 1, the researchers are investigating how the binding of SARS-CoV-2 to cell membranes changes upon addition of multivalent virus binding inhibitors. Here, they work with both isolated SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (S protein; it sits on the surface of the virus particle and mediates binding to the cell surface) and inactivated virus particles. Based on recent findings, the infection inhibitors are generated on the interaction between the S protein and its cellular binding sites, heparan sulfate and angiotensin-converting enzyme 2 (ACE2). Another experimental therapeutic approach aims to degrade viral RNA using RNA interference technology. In collaboration with subprojects 2 and 4, the novel antiviral therapy concepts will also be tested on active coronaviruses.

Participating researchers:

  • Dr. Sumati Bhatia (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Dr. Stephan Block (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Rainer Haag (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Hackenberger (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Herrmann (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Jens Kurreck, (Technische Universität Berlin)
  • Dr. Daniel Lauster (Freie Universität Berlin)

Scientific publications:

2. Two- and three-dimensional human tissue cultures as models for SARS-CoV-2 infections

In the pre-exploration project, infection of the human lung by SARS-CoV-2 is studied using a model system generated via 3D bio-printing.

In the pre-exploration project, infection of the human lung by SARS-CoV-2 is studied using a model system generated via 3D bio-printing.
Image Credit: Felix Noack

Adequate control of the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic requires a detailed understanding of the factors that determine the infectious nature of SARS-CoV-2, knowledge of the target cells that the virus infects, and the molecular mechanisms involved in immune activation. This is the only way to develop effective and sustainable therapies as quickly as possible. In subproject 2, SARS-CoV-2 infection will be investigated for the aforementioned factors. A human infection model based on human lung tissue is used for this purpose. Tissue cultures from cells of the upper and lower airways are used. These cells are taken from patients and examined in the laboratory. In this way, the various stages of reproduction of the virus can be traced. Tissue from healthy study participants is compared with that from diseased patients. In a complementary approach, a lung model will be generated from different human cell types using 3D bioprinting to study SARS-CoV-2 infection.

In addition, different therapeutic approaches are tested on the human lung models used, for example multivalent inhibitors (see subproject 1) or drugs already approved for other diseases.

Participating researchers:

  • Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Hocke (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Hippenstiel (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Jens Kurreck, (Technische Universität Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Mall (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • PD Dr. Thorsten Wolff (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Robert Koch-Institut)

3. Development of sustainable vaccines

Vaccine development is currently focused primarily on vaccines based on the receptor-binding spike protein (see subproject 1) that enables cell entry of SARS-CoV-2. Such vaccines are likely to be accessible mainly to patients in industrialized nations. The third subproject focuses on producing a series of vaccines that are cost-effective and environmentally safe so that they can be distributed in countries where basic and robust health care is not guaranteed. In addition, such vaccines could be used to stop the spread in animal populations where the virus occurs naturally. So far it is not known which animal species is involved.

Participating researchers:

  • Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Osterrieder (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Leif Sander (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

4. Animal and other model systems for SARS-CoV-2 infections

Infection research, especially in therapy development, relies on robust model systems to accurately study infection and disease progression. These include animal models. The fourth subproject, in cooperation with the Robert Koch Institute and the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung (BfR)), is concerned with the development of a reliable small animal model for SARS-CoV2 infections.

Participating researchers:

  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Osterrieder (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • PD Dr. Thorsten Wolff (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Robert Koch-Institut)

5. Disease progression and prognostic markers

Based on a clinical observational trial, subproject 5 will follow the course of the patients to be treated at Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. The fact that the pandemic was detected early provides a unique opportunity to observe the clinical and biological progression of the disease from the early stages through recovery. In this way, prognostic markers can be investigated by which the severity of disease progression can be assessed.

In the observational study, researchers compare two different groups of people (cohorts) during the first wave of Covid-19. The first cohort consists of Charité medical clinic staff, who have an increased risk of infection due to their profession. The second cohort consists of patients from the asthma outpatient clinic of the Charité campus Virchow-Klinikum. Their risk of severe Covid-19 progression is increased due to their asthma history. Using a variety of analytical methods (for example, studies of the elicited immune response to disease or the development of antibodies), both groups are examined at different points in time. The results are expected to help identify prognostic markers and elucidate the evolution of the natural SARS-CoV-2-specific immune response.

Participating researchers:

  • Dr. Victor Corman (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Mall (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Markus Ralser, (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Leif Sander (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Scientific publications:

6. Modeling the spread of SARS-CoV-2 infection and its consequences

In the sixth subproject, both the spread of the pandemic and the consequences for health care will be analyzed on the basis of mathematical modeling. The study takes a closer look at the care structures (outpatient and inpatient), their utilization (from general practitioner visits to specialists, general inpatient wards to ventilation in intensive care units) as well as treatment outcomes and costs. Thus, the "footprint" of SARS-CoV-2 on the healthcare system (for example, at different incidences, grades of severity, lethality) is calculated in this research team. Here, the German healthcare system as a whole is considered, as well as regions with higher and lower disease incidence and severity.

Participating researchers:

  • Prof. Dr. Dirk Brockmann (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Robert Koch-Institut)
  • Prof. Dr. Reinhard Busse (Technische Universität Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Corona Virus Pre-Exploration Project

Das Verbundprojekt legt die Grundlage für eine umfangreiche Forschung zum neuen Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2

Das umfangreiche Verbundprojekt legt in Berlin die Grundlage für eine vielfältige und umfassende Forschung zum Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2. Die beteiligten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin befassen sich unter anderem mit potenziellen Wirkstoffen, der Entwicklung von Impfstoffansätzen und möglichen gesundheitsökonomischen Folgen der Coronaviruspandemie.

Das Pre-Exploration Projekt wird seit Juli 2020 mit rund 1,8 Millionen Euro durch die Berlin University Alliance im Rahmen ihrer Grand Challenge Initiative Global Health gefördert.

Schnelles und adäquates Handeln sowie eine ausreichende Förderung der Forschung sind maßgeblich verantwortlich für die erfolgreiche und langfristige Bekämpfung von sich schnell ausbreitenden Infektionskrankheiten. Aus diesem Grund entschied das Board of Directors der Berlin University Alliance bereits im Frühjahr 2020 positiv über die Förderung des Corona Virus Pre-Exploration Projects. Das Projekt widmet sich der Erforschung der SARS-Coronavirus-2-Pandemie von der Erforschung des Virus in der Zellkultur bis hin zur Analyse der Auswirkungen der Pandemie auf das Gesundheitssystem.

Das Projekt ist in sechs Themenbereiche gegliedert, die von kleineren Forschungsteams bearbeitet werden:

  1. Entwicklung und Erprobung antiviraler Therapien und Präventionskonzepte
  2. Zwei- und dreidimensionale humane Gewebekulturen als Modelle für SARS-CoV-2-Infektionen
  3. Entwicklung nachhaltiger Impfstoffe
  4. Tier- und weitere Modellsysteme für SARS-CoV-2-Infektionen
  5. Krankheitsverlauf und prognostische Marker
  6. Modellierung der Ausbreitung von SARS-CoV-2-Infektionen und deren Folgen

„Gemeinsam gegen das Virus. Corona-Forschung in der Berlin University Alliance“ – Ein Film entstanden durch die Freie Universität Berlin zum Ernst-Reuter-Tag 2020

Die Themenbereiche im Einzelnen

1. Entwicklung und Erprobung antiviraler Therapien und Präventionskonzepte

Neben niedermolekularen Wirkstoffen, also solchen, die aus besonders kleinen chemischen Verbindungen bestehen, verhindern insbesondere multivalente Wirkstoffe Virusinfektionen besonders effizient, da diese größeren chemischen Verbindungen nicht nur eine, sondern mehrere Bindungsstellen für die Virusoberfläche aufweisen. In Teilprojekt 1 untersuchen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, wie sich die Bindung von SARS-CoV-2 an Zellmembranen bei Zugabe von multivalenten Virusbindungsinhibitoren verändert. Sie arbeiten hierbei sowohl mit isoliertem SARS-CoV-2-Spike-Protein (S-Protein; es sitzt auf der Oberfläche des Viruspartikels und sorgt für die Bindung an die Zelloberfläche) als auch mit inaktivierten Viruspartikeln. Die Infektionsinhibitoren werden anhand neuester Erkenntnisse über die Interaktion zwischen dem S-Protein und seinen zellulären Bindestellen, Heparansulfat und Angiotensin-Converting-Enzyme 2 (ACE2), generiert. Ein weiterer experimenteller Therapieansatz zielt darauf ab, die virale RNA mit Hilfe der RNA Interferenz-Technologie zu degradieren. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Teilprojekten 2 und 4 werden die neuartigen antiviralen Therapiekonzepte auch an aktiven Coronaviren getestet.

Beteiligte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler:

  • Dr. Sumati Bhatia (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Dr. Stephan Block (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Rainer Haag (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Hackenberger (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Herrmann (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Jens Kurreck, (Technische Universität Berlin)
  • Dr. Daniel Lauster (Freie Universität Berlin)

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen:

2. Zwei- und dreidimensionale humane Gewebekulturen als Modelle für SARS-CoV-2-Infektionen

Im Pre-Exploration Project wird die Infektion der menschlichen Lunge durch SARS-CoV-2 anhand eines Modellsystems untersucht, das mit einem 3D-Biodruckverfahren generiert wird.

Im Pre-Exploration Project wird die Infektion der menschlichen Lunge durch SARS-CoV-2 anhand eines Modellsystems untersucht, das mit einem 3D-Biodruckverfahren generiert wird.
Bildquelle: Felix Noack

Die angemessene Bekämpfung der SARS-CoV-2-Pandemie erfordert ein detailliertes Verständnis der Faktoren, die die Infektionsfähigkeit von SARS-CoV-2 bestimmen, die Kenntnis über die Zielzellen, die das Virus infiziert, sowie der molekularen Mechanismen bei der Aktivierung des Immunsystems. Nur so können möglichst schnell effektive und nachhaltige Therapien entwickelt werden. In Teilprojekt 2 wird die SARS-CoV-2-Infektion auf die genannten Faktoren hin untersucht. Hierfür wird ein humanes Infektionsmodell genutzt, das auf menschlichem Lungengewebe basiert. Es werden Gewebekulturen aus Zellen der oberen und der tiefen Atemwege genutzt. Diese Zellen werden Patienten entnommen und im Labor untersucht. So können die verschiedenen Vermehrungsstadien des Virus nachverfolgt werden. Gewebe von gesunden Probandinnen und Probanden wird mit dem von erkrankten Patientinnen und Patienten verglichen. In einem komplementären Ansatz wird ein Lungenmodell aus verschiedenen humanen Zelltypen mittels 3D Biodruck erzeugt, um daran die SARS-CoV-2-Infektion zu studieren.

An den verwendeten humanen Lungenmodellen werden zudem unterschiedliche therapeutische Ansätze getestet, zum Beispiel multivalente Inhibitoren (siehe Teilprojekt 1) oder bereits für andere Krankheiten zugelassene Medikamente.

Beteiligte Wissenschaftler:

  • Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Hocke (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Hippenstiel (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Jens Kurreck, (Technische Universität Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Mall (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • PD Dr. Thorsten Wolff (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Robert Koch-Institut)

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen:

3. Entwicklung nachhaltiger Impfstoffe

Die Impfstoffentwicklung konzentriert sich aktuell in erster Linie auf Impfstoffe, die auf dem rezeptorbindenden Spike-Protein (siehe Teilprojekt 1) basieren, das den Zelleintritt von SARS-CoV-2 ermöglicht. Solche Impfstoffe werden wahrscheinlich hauptsächlich für Patientinnen und Patienten in den Industrienationen zugänglich sein. Das dritte Teilprojekt konzentriert sich auf die Herstellung einer Reihe von Impfstoffen, die kostengünstig und umweltverträglich sind, so dass sie in Ländern verteilt werden können, in denen eine grundlegende und robuste Gesundheitsversorgung nicht gewährleistet ist. Zusätzlich könnten solche Impfstoffe eingesetzt werden, um die Ausbreitung in Tierpopulationen, in denen das Virus natürlicherweise vorkommt, zu stoppen. Bisher ist nicht bekannt, um welche Tierart es sich handelt.

Beteiligte Wissenschaftler:

  • Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Osterrieder (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Leif Sander (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen:

4. Tier- und weitere Modellsysteme für SARS-CoV-2-Infektionen

Infektionsforschung ist, besonders in der Therapieentwicklung, auf aussagekräftige Modellsysteme angewiesen, um die Infektion und den Krankheitsverlauf genau untersuchen zu können. Hierzu gehören auch Tiermodelle. Das vierte Teilprojekt beschäftigt sich in Kooperation mit dem Robert-Koch-Institut und dem Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung mit der Entwicklung eines verlässlichen Kleintiermodells für SARS-CoV2-Infektionen.

Beteiligte Wissenschaftler:

  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Osterrieder (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • PD Dr. Thorsten Wolff (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Robert Koch-Institut)

5. Krankheitsverlauf und prognostische Marker

Basierend auf einer klinischen Beobachtungsstudie wird in Teilprojekt 5 der Verlauf der zu behandelnden Patientinnen und Patienten an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin verfolgt. Dadurch dass die Pandemie früh erkannt wurde, bietet sich die einmalige Chance, den klinischen und biologischen Krankheitsverlauf von den frühen Stadien bis hin zur Genesung zu beobachten. So können prognostische Marker untersucht werden, durch die sich der Schweregrad des Krankheitsverlaufs einschätzen lässt.

In der Beobachtungsstudie vergleichen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zwei unterschiedliche Personengruppen (Kohorten) während der ersten Welle von Covid-19. Die erste Kohorte besteht aus medizinischem Klinikpersonal der Charité, das durch ihren Beruf ein erhöhtes Ansteckungsrisiko hat. Die zweite Kohorte besteht aus Patientinnen und Patienten der Asthma-Ambulanz des Charité Campus Virchow-Klinikums. Deren Risiko für einen schweren Covid-19-Verlauf ist aufgrund der Asthmaerkrankung erhöht. Mithilfe vielfältiger Analysemethoden (zum Beispiel Untersuchungen zur hervorgerufenen Immunreaktion bei Erkrankung oder zur Entwicklung von Antikörpern) werden beide Gruppen zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten untersucht. Die Ergebnisse sollen bei der Identifizierung von prognostischen Markern helfen und die Entwicklung der natürlichen SARS-CoV-2-spezifischen Immunantwort aufklären.

Beteiligte Wissenschaftler:

  • Dr. Victor Corman (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Mall (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Markus Ralser, (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Leif Sander (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen:

6. Modellierung der Ausbreitung von SARS-CoV-2-Infektionen und deren Folgen

Im sechsten Teilprojekt werden sowohl die Verbreitung der Pandemie als auch die Konsequenzen für die Gesundheitsversorgung auf Basis von mathematischen Modellierungen analysiert. Genauer betrachtet werden dabei die Versorgungsstrukturen (ambulant und stationär), deren Inanspruchnahme (von Hausarztbesuchen über Fachärzte, allgemeine stationäre Stationen bis hin zur Beatmung auf Intensivstationen) sowie Behandlungsergebnisse und Kosten. Somit wird in diesem Forschungsteam der „Fußabdruck“ von SARS-CoV-2 auf das Gesundheitssystem (zum Beispiel bei unterschiedlichen Inzidenzen, Schweregraden, Letalitäten) berechnet. Hierbei wird das deutsche Gesundheitssystem insgesamt betrachtet sowie Regionen mit höherer und geringerer Krankheitsinzidenz und –schwere.

Beteiligte Wissenschaftler:

  • Prof. Dr. Dirk Brockmann (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Robert Koch-Institut)
  • Prof. Dr. Reinhard Busse (Technische Universität Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen: