Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for Proposals X-Student Research Groups

Teaching assignments for X-Student Research Groups for summer semester 2021

Closing date for applications: December 11, 2020

What does the research funding look like?

  • Using the format of the X-Student Research Groups, the Berlin University Alliance supports research projects in which junior researchers and students conduct joint research.
  • In order to run an X-Student Research Group, the junior researchers receive a contract for teaching assignment covering two semester hours per week. This teaching assignment runs over the course of one semester with the option of extending beyond this period into a second semester. Instead of granting teaching assignments, materials, and resources may be provided depending on the budgetary or personnel provisions.
  • On top of that, candidates can apply for research-relevant material or travel funds up to a maximum of 750 euro. A higher amount can be requested in exceptional cases. Whether this higher amount can be approved or not depends on the material or travel funds requested overall as part of the call for proposals.
  • In order to prepare the junior researchers for their assignment, they are also invited to participate in a teaching qualification program whose main focus is on the management of research groups. Participants receive a certificate at the end of the program so that their own experience and qualifications for teaching can be documented.The Berlin University Alliance sponsors up to 16 X-Student Research Groups per call for proposals.

Who can apply?

  • Junior researchers from the four partner institutions of the Berlin University Alliance: Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Applicants can include doctoral candidates, postdocs, and junior professors from all disciplines who are interested in conducting joint research with students.
  • The joint research should be linked to a current research project of the junior researchers. This might be including, for example, all research projects of the Berlin partner institutions or dissertations of doctoral candidates if there is a clear distinction from the research conducted in the X-Student Research Groups.

Which documents must be submitted?

  1. Application form with details about the applicant (for example, status group, subject area) and details about the institutional link (for example, university, mentoring professor if applicable). Please download the application form and fill it out.
  2. Project outline (maximum three pages, additional page containing bibliography if required) with a description of the planned research project, schedule, and assessment of potential participating students. More information is available regarding what you need to consider when drafting your project outline.
  3. Optional: Application for material or travel funds up to a maximum of 750 euro; only for doctoral candidates: Assessment of mentoring professor regarding necessity and cost calculation of material or travel funds. More information is available regarding what you can apply for and what you need to consider.
Important note:
When planning your X-Student Research Group, please take into account that due to the coronavirus pandemic, the summer semester 2021 may be conducted largely online or as a hybrid semester.

When and where must the application be sent?

Applications including all required documents must be sent by email in pdf format (as one document) to the StuROPx-coordination center (program managers: nina.lorkowski@berlin-university-alliance.de and julia.ruess@berlin-university-alliance.de). The deadline is: December 11, 2020.

How does the selection process work?

An interdisciplinary body of experts, consisting of representatives from different status groups and partners of the Berlin University Alliance is tasked with selecting the most suitable projects from the applications submitted in accordance with the defined list of criteria. The final decision on whether to grant funding is taken by a steering committee, which is responsible for StuROPx.

Information event

On November 13, 2020 from 11 to 12 a.m. an online information event about the X-Student Research Groups will take place. If you are interested, please register in advance by email (StuROPx-coordinators nina.lorkowski@berlin-university-alli-ance.de or julia.ruess@berlin-university-alliance.de)

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for Proposals X-Student Research Groups

Förderung von X-Student Research Groups zum Sommersemester 2021

Antragsschluss: 11. Dezember 2020

Wie sieht die Förderung aus?

  • Mit dem Format der X-Student Research Groups fördert die Berlin University Alliance Forschungsprojekte, in denen Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler sowie Studierende gemeinsam forschen.
  • Für die Durchführung einer X-Student Research Group erhalten die Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler einen Lehrauftrag über zwei Semesterwochenstunden. Dieser Lehrauftrag läuft über ein Semester, wobei eine Verlängerung über ein weiteres Semester möglich ist. Je nach haushalts- oder personalrechtlichen Bestimmungen werden gegebenenfalls statt der Lehraufträge Sachmittel vergeben.
  • Ergänzend können forschungsrelevante Sach- oder Reisemittel bis maximal 750 Euro beantragt werden. In Ausnahmefällen ist die Beantragung eines höheren Betrages möglich. Inwieweit dieser höhere Betrag bewilligt werden kann, ist abhängig von den im Rahmen des Calls insgesamt beantragten Sach- beziehungsweise Reisemitteln.
  • Um die Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler auf ihre Aufgabe vorzubereiten, erhalten sie außerdem ein didaktisches Qualifizierungsprogramm, das auf die Leitung von Forschungsgruppen ausgerichtet ist. Das Programm schließt mit einem Zertifikat ab, so dass die eigene Erfahrung und Qualifikation für die Lehre dokumentiert werden kann.
  • Die Berlin University Alliance fördert pro Ausschreibung bis zu 16 X-Student Research Groups.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

  • Bewerben können sich Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler der vier Verbundpartnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance, Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin und Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Dazu zählen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, Postdocs sowie Juniorprofessorinnen und -professoren aller Fachrichtungen, die Interesse an einer gemeinsamen Forschung mit Studierenden haben.
  • Die gemeinsame Forschung sollte an ein aktuell laufendes Forschungsprojekt der Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler angeschlossen sein. Denkbar sind hier alle Forschungsprojekte der Berliner Verbundpartnerinnen, aber auch Qualifizierungsarbeiten von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, wenn eine klare Abgrenzung zur Forschung in den X-Student Research Groups gegeben ist.

Welche Unterlagen sind einzureichen?

  1. Antragsformular mit Angaben zur Antragstellerin oder zum Antragsteller (zum Beispiel Statusgruppe, Fachrichtung) sowie Angaben zur institutionellen Anbindung (zum Beispiel Hochschule, gegebenenfalls betreuender Professor oder betreuende Professorin). Bitte laden Sie sich das Bewerbungsformular herunter und füllen es aus.
  2. Projektskizze (maximal drei Seiten, mögliches Literaturverzeichnis auf einer weiteren Seite) mit einer Beschreibung des geplanten Forschungsprojekts, einem Zeitplan und einer Einschätzung zu den potenziell teilnehmenden Studierenden. Bitte beachten Sie die genaueren Hinweise dazu, was Sie in Ihrer Projektskizze dringend beachten sollten.
  3. Optional: Beantragung von Sach- oder Reisemitteln in Höhe von maximal 750 Euro; nur für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden: Einschätzung der betreuenden Professorin oder des betreuenden Professors zur Notwendigkeit und Kostenkalkulation der Sach- beziehungsweise Reisemittel. Bitte beachten Sie die Hinweise dazu, was beantragt werden kann und was Sie dabei beachten sollten.
Wichtiger Hinweis:
Bitte berücksichtigen Sie bei der Planung Ihrer X-Student Research Group, dass das Sommersemester 2021 aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie gegebenenfalls als Hybridsemester durchgeführt wird.

Wann und wo ist der Antrag einzireichen?

Anträge mit allen erforderlichen Unterlagen sind per E-Mail im pdf-Format (als ein Dokument) bei der StuROPx-Koordinierungsstelle einzureichen (Referentinnen: nina.lorkowski@berlin-university-alliance.de sowie julia.ruess@berlin-university-alliance.de). Deadline ist der: 11. Dezember 2020.

Wie läuft der Auswahlprozess ab?

Ein interdisziplinär besetzter Expertenkreis bestehend aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der unterschiedlichen Statusgruppen und Partnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance wählt aus den eingereichten Anträgen nach einem festgelegten Kriterienkatalog die geeignetsten Projekte aus. Den finalen Förderbescheid trifft ein Steering Committee, das für das StuROPx zuständig ist.

Informationsveranstaltung

Am 13. November 2020 findet von 11 bis 12 Uhr eine digitale Informationsveranstaltung zu den X-Student Research Groups statt. Bei Interesse bitten wir Sie um Anmeldung per E-Mail:
StuROPx-Referentinnen: nina.lorkowski@berlin-university-alliance.de oder julia.ruess@berlin-university-alliance.de.