Springe direkt zu Inhalt

BERLIN THINKING A STEP FORWARD. THE NEXT GRAND CHALLENGE OF THE BUA. CREATE KNOWLEDGE TOGETHER.

Berlin thinks ahead. Researches differently. More innovatively. And confronts the global challenges of our time. The Berlin University Alliance (BUA) is a consortium consisting of Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. The scholars and scientists of the BUA's partner institutions have come together to find answers to the major questions of the 21st century and thus to confront its global challenges – Grand Challenges.

In a joint process of participants from science and society, we are seeking to identify the topic for our Next Grand Challenge. The selected topic will be researched by the BUA scholars and scientists in an inter- and transdisciplinary approach.

We consciously rely on this open and innovative approach to topic identification and seek topics from the existing research priorities as well as from emerging and new fields of research.

We are therefore particularly curious to find out which global issues are currently of most interest to young people, researchers, and students in Berlin.

Our cooperation is divided into four phases. The entire process from the collection to the selection of topics is transparent and can be watched online. For more details on the four phases of topic submission, please refer to the FAQs.

Young People
Researchers and Students

For Young People:

  • Registration: July 4th - August 26th
  • Workshop 1 - Science and its Methodology: September 3rd and 4th
  • Workshop 2 - Creativity Techniques for your Future Topic: September 10th and 11th
  • Workshop 3 - How to Convince Others and Present Ideas: September 24th and 25th
  • Idea Camp - Your Next Grand Challenge Ideas: October 1st - 3rd
  • Topic submission: October 4th - 31st
  • Next Grand Challenge Forum – Joint discussion of the topic submissions: February 2023

For Researchers and Students:

  • Topic submission: July 4th - October 31st
  • Next Grand Challenge Forum – Joint discussion of the topic submissions: February 2023

All knowledge is valuable

The film "Transdisziplinäre Forschung: Was ist das eigentlich [Transdisciplinary Research: What Is That Actually?]" explains the transdisciplinary research method simply and understandably and demonstrates the interplay of knowledge between different people from science and society in research, in the same way as it will transpire in the Next Grand Challenge.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

BERLIN DENKT VORAUS. DIE NEXT GRAND CHALLENGE DER BUA. ZUSAMMEN WISSEN SCHAFFEN.

Berlin denkt weiter. Forscht anders. Innovativer. Und stellt sich den globalen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Die Berlin University Alliance (BUA) ist ein Zusammenschluss der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Die Wissenschaftler*innen der Verbundpartnerinnen der BUA haben sich zusammengefunden, um Antworten auf die großen Fragen des 21. Jahrhunderts zu finden und sich damit den globalen Herausforderungen – Grand Challenges – zu stellen.

In einem gemeinschaftlichen Prozess von Teilnehmenden aus der Wissenschaft und der Gesellschaft suchen wir das Thema für unsere Next Grand Challenge. Das ausgewählte Thema erforschen Wissenschaftler*innen der BUA inter- und transdisziplinär.

Wir setzen bewusst auf diesen offenen und innovativen Ansatz der Themenfindung und suchen Themen aus bestehenden Forschungsschwerpunkten sowie aus jungen und neuen Forschungsfeldern.

Besonders gespannt sind wir deshalb darauf, welche globalen Themen Jugendliche, Forschende und Studierende in Berlin aktuell am meisten interessieren.

Die Zusammenarbeit gliedert sich in vier Phasen. Der gesamte Prozess von der Sammlung bis zur Auswahl der Themen ist transparent und kann online mitverfolgt werden. Weitere Details zu den vier Phasen der Themeneinreichung finden sich in den FAQs.

Jugendliche
Forschende und Studierende

Für Jugendliche

  • Workshop 1 - Wissenschaft und ihre Arbeitsweisen: 3.9. oder 4.9.
  • Workshop 2 - Kreativitätstechniken für dein Zukunftsthema: 10.9. oder 11.9.
  • Workshop 3 - Andere überzeugen und Ideen präsentieren: 24.9. oder 25.9.
  • IdeenCamp - Deine Next Grand Challenge-Ideen: 1.10. - 3.10.
  • Themeneinreichung: 4.10. – 31.10.
  • Next Grand Challenge Forum – Gemeinsame Diskussion der
    Themeneinreichungen: Feb. 2023

Für Forschende und Studierende:

  • Themeneinreichung: 4.7. – 31.10.
  • Next Grand Challenge Forum – Gemeinsame Diskussion der
    Themeneinreichungen: Feb. 2023
  • Offene digitale Sprechstunden:

    Do 29.09. von 14-16 Uhr

    Di 11.10. von 14-16 Uhr

    Do 20.10. von 14-16 Uhr 

Anmeldungen bitte an nextgrandchallenge@berlin-university-alliance.de.

Jedes Wissen ist wertvoll

Der Film "Transdisziplinäre Forschung: Was ist das eigentlich?" erklärt den transdisziplinären Forschungsmodus auf einfache und verständliche Weise und zeigt, wie Wissen von unterschiedlichen Menschen aus Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft in der Forschung zusammenwirken kann, so wie in der Next Grand Challenge.