Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Collecting topics for the Next Grand Challenge: FAQs

All researchers (professors, post-doctoral researchers, and doctoral students) and students of the partner institutions of the Berlin University Alliance (Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité) as well as young people from Berlin (14 to 18 years old) are invited to submit topics. Researchers and students shall submit their topics in teams.
More information for researchers and students is available here.
More information for young people is available here.

No.
Researchers and students must submit their topics in teams of at least five participants from two different disciplines of the Berlin University Alliance partner institutions (Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité). More information for researchers and students is available here.

Young people develop their topics as part of a Next Grand Challenge Idea Camp and are prepared in workshops beforehand. More information for young people is available here.

The teams of researchers and students must consist of at least five participants from two different disciplines of the partner institutions of the Berlin University Alliance (Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité).

The teams can consist either of researchers only or students only or of participants of both status groups. More information is available here.

Alternatively, researchers and students from other Berlin higher education institutions can be integrated into the teams of the partner institutions of the Berlin University Alliance. Other researchers from research institutions in Berlin not affiliated with academia (e.g. BR 50), as well as from the strategic partners of the Berlin University Alliance (University of Oxford, National University of Singapore, University of Melbourne) can also be integrated. However, this is not a prerequisite for participation.

Young people develop their topics as part of the Next Grand Challenge Idea Camp. More information is available here.

No. Each participant may only be part of one team and be listed by name.

Participants who are still looking for team partners, please contact us at:

nextgrandchallenge@berlin-university-alliance.de

The submission can also be made in English. However, the topic submission form is only available in German. Likewise, the joint topic evaluation of science and society at the Next Grand Challenge Forum will be in German.

No, the workshops as well as the Idea Camp for the participation of young people will be held in German. Participation exclusively in English is unfortunately not possible. 

The entire process of collection of topics, from submission to selection, is divided into four phases and can be followed on the Next Grand Challenge webpage.

  1. Topic Collection: Initially, all topic proposals will be collected and formally reviewed by October 31, 2022. After that, the topics will be published on the Next Grand Challenge webpage without disclosing the names of the participants.

  2. Topic Grouping: The topic proposals will then be analyzed for similarities and interconnections and grouped into a maximum of 10 integrated subject areas. The result will be presented on the Next Grand Challenge webpage without disclosing the names of the participants, in such a way that it is clear from which topics an integrated subject area is derived and which questions are being addressed.

  3. Topic Evaluation: In an interactive event, the Next Grand Challenge Forum, which is expected to take place in February 2023 (exact date to be announced), the participants will develop arguments for and against each subject area and, if necessary, supplement other subject areas. Representatives of the teams of researchers and students will participate in the event together with the young people who shall have submitted topics and other participants from science and society (politics, economy, organized civil society).

  4. Topic Selection: An evaluated list of arguments for each of the maximum 10 subject areas will serve as a recommendation for the subsequent selection of the topic. The final topic selection will be announced on the Next Grand Challenge webpage and at a festive event expected in March 2023 (exact date to be announced)

A list of arguments for a maximum of 10 subject areas, into which the submitted topics have been grouped, jointly developed by stakeholders from science and society (politics, economy, organized civil society), will serve as a recommendation for the selection.
The Board of Directors of the Berlin University Alliance (Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité) decides on the final selection of the Next Grand Challenge topic.

Topics that have not been selected go into a "pool of topics", which serves as inspiration for future topics set by the Berlin University Alliance.

A grand challenge is a complex global challenge of high current and future scientific and societal relevance for the solution of which innovative inter- and transdisciplinary approaches are required.
A research field that addresses a grand challenge addresses an epistemic interest and is compatible with excellent, international research.
A grand challenge can harness the special competencies or particular potentials of the scientific stakeholders in Berlin, as well as of those stakeholders not affiliated with academia.

The Grand Challenge Initiative of the Berlin University Alliance promotes research to develop solutions to global challenges of high scientific and societal relevance. Previous topics of the initiative include social cohesion and global health. More information is available here.

The joint development of solutions to resolving complex problems by using information, approaches, concepts, or methods that stem from different disciplines, i.e., fields of study and expertise.

"Transdisciplinary" indicates an integrative research approach that also involves stakeholders not affiliated with academia and, in particular, societal stakeholders. Transdisciplinarity assumes that, in addition to scientific knowledge, other knowledge resources (e.g., from professional practice and organized civil society) are relevant to the research process. More information is available here.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Themenfindung Next Grand Challenge FAQs

Alle Forschenden (Professorinnen und Professoren, promovierte Wissenschaftler*innen und Doktorand*innen) und Studierenden der Verbundpartnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance (FU, HU, TU, Charité) sowie Berliner Jugendliche (14-18 Jahre) sind eingeladen Themen einzureichen. Die Themeneinreichung der Forschenden und Studierende erfolgt in Teams.
Mehr Informationen für Forschende und Studierende: hier.
Mehr Informationen für Jugendliche: hier.

Nein.
Forschende und Studierende müssen ihre Themen in Teams von mindestens fünf Teilnehmenden aus zwei unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen der Verbundpartnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance (FU, HU, TU, Charité) einreichen. Mehr Informationen für Forschende und Studierende: hier.

Jugendliche erarbeiten ihre Themen im Rahmen eines Next Grand Challenge-Ideen-Camps und werden in Workshops vorher darauf vorbereitet. Mehr Informationen für Jugendliche: hier.

Die Teams der Forschenden und Studierenden müssen aus mindestens fünf Teilnehmenden aus einer oder mehreren Verbundpartnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance (FU, HU, TU, Charité) bestehen. Innerhalb eines Teams müssen Teilnehmende aus mindestens zwei unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen der Verbundpartnerinnen vertreten sein.

Die Teams können entweder nur aus Forschenden oder nur Studierenden oder aus Teilnehmer*innen der beiden Statusgruppen bestehen. Mehr Informationen hier.

Optional können Forschende und Studierende anderer Berliner Hochschulen in die Teams der Verbundpartnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance eingebunden werden. Auch weitere Forschende außeruniversitärer Berliner Forschungsinstitutionen (z.B. BR 50), sowie der strategischen Partner der Berlin University Alliance (University of Oxford, National University of Singapur, University of Melbourne) können integriert werden. Dies ist jedoch keine Teilnahmevoraussetzung.

Jugendliche erarbeiten ihre Themen im Rahmen des Next Grand Challenge-Ideen-Camps. Mehr Informationen hier.

Nein. Jede*r Teilnehmende darf nur in einem Team beteiligt und namentlich aufgeführt sein.

Teilnehmer*innen, die noch Teampartner*innen suchen melden sich bitte unter:
nextgrandchallenge@berlin-university-alliance.de

Die Einreichung kann auch in englischer Sprache erfolgen. Das Formular zur Themeneinreichung liegt jedoch nur auf Deutsch vor. Ebenso wird die gemeinsame Themenbewertung von Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft im Rahmen des Next Grand Challenge Forums auf Deutsch erfolgen.

Nein, sowohl die Workshops als auch das Ideencamp für die Teilnahme von Jugendlichen werden auf Deutsch abgehalten. Eine Teilnahme ausschließlich auf Englisch ist leider nicht möglich.

Der gesamte Prozess der Themenfindung, von der Einreichung bis zur Auswahl, gliedert sich in vier Phasen und und kann auf der Webpage der Next Grand Challenge mitverfolgt werden.

  1. Themensammlung: Zunächst werden sämtliche Themenvorschläge bis zum 31.10.2022 gesammelt und formal geprüft. Danach werden die Themen ohne Nennung von Namen auf der Webpage der Next Grand Challenge veröffentlicht. 

  2. Themengruppierung: Anschließend werden die Themenvorschläge nach Ähnlichkeiten und Verbindungen zueinander analysiert und in maximal 10 integrierte Themenfelder gruppiert. Das Ergebnis wird auf der Webpage der Next Grand Challenge ohne Nennung von Namen so dargestellt, dass ersichtlich ist, aus welchen Themen sich ein integriertes Themenfeld speist und welche Fragestellungen aufgegriffen werden.

  3. Themenbewertung: In einer interaktiven Veranstaltung, dem Next Grand Challenge Forum, das voraussichtlich im Februar 2023 (genauer Termin wird noch bekannt gegeben) stattfindet, werden die Teilnehmer*innen Argumente für und wider jedes Themenfeld erarbeiten und ggf. weitere Themenfelder ergänzen. An der Veranstaltung nehmen Vertreter*innen der Teams der Forschenden und Studierenden gemeinsam mit den Jugendlichen, die Themen eingereicht haben, und weiteren Teilnehmenden aus Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft (Politik, Wirtschaft, organisierte Zivilgesellschaft) teil.

  4. Themenauswahl: Eine bewertete Argumentenliste für jedes der maximal 10 Themenfelder wird als Empfehlung für die anschließende Auswahl des Themas dienen. Die finale Themenfindung wird auf der Webpage der Next Grand Challenge und im Rahmen einer Festveranstaltung voraussichtlich im März 2023 (genauer Termin wird noch bekannt gegeben) verkündet.

Eine durch Akteure aus Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft (Politik, Wirtschaft, organisierte Zivilgesellschaft) gemeinsam erarbeitete Argumentenliste für maximal 10 Themenfelder, in welche die eingereichten Themen gruppiert wurden, dient als Empfehlung für die Auswahl.
Die finale Auswahl des Next Grand Challenge Themas trifft die Leitung (Board of Directors) der Berlin University Alliance (FU, HU, TU, Charité).

Nicht ausgewählte Themen gehen in einen “Themenspeicher” ein, welcher als Inspiration für zukünftige Themensetzungen der Berlin University Alliance dient.

Eine Grand Challenge ist eine komplexe globale Herausforderung von hoher aktueller und zukünftiger wissenschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Relevanz, zu deren Lösung innovative inter- und transdisziplinäre Ansätze nötig sind.
Ein Forschungsfeld, das eine Grand Challenge bearbeitet, greift ein wissenschaftliches Erkenntnisinteresse auf und ist anschlussfähig für exzellente, internationale Forschung.
Eine Grand Challenge kann die besonderen Kompetenzen oder besondere Potentiale der wissenschaftlichen und außerwissenschaftlichen Akteure in Berlin nutzen.

Die Grand Challenges Initiative der Berlin University Alliance fördert Forschung zur Entwicklung von Lösungsansätzen für globale Herausforderungen von hoher wissenschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Relevanz. Bisherige Themen der Initiative sind Social Cohesion und Global Health. Mehr Informationen hier.

Das gemeinsame Erarbeiten von Lösungsansätzen für komplexe Probleme durch Verwendung von Informationen, Ansätzen, Konzepten oder Methoden, die aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen, d.h. Fachrichtungen und Fachgebieten, stammen.

Gemeint ist ein integrativer Forschungsansatz, der auch außerwissenschaftliche und insbesondere gesellschaftliche Akteure einbezieht. Transdisziplinarität geht davon aus, dass neben wissenschaftlichem Wissen weitere Wissensressourcen (z.B. aus Berufspraxis und organisierter Zivilgesellschaft) für den Forschungsprozess relevant sind. Mehr Informationen: hier.