Springe direkt zu Inhalt

More on the X-Student Research Group format

Format and length

X-Student Research Groups are organized in the form of research seminars as part of the courses offered by the Berlin University Alliance. They usually run over the course of one semester with the option of extending by a further semester.

Role of junior researchers

A junior researcher is responsible for leading the student research teams so that a current research question from their own research can be worked on together with the students. Doctoral candidates, Post Docs, and also junior professors can be head of the X-Student Research Group and receive a contract for teaching assignment. Even though it is junior researchers who are guiding the research, the fundamental idea of the X-Student Research Groups is to carry out “joint research with students”. Ideally, the students should have a narrower focus, concentrating on single aspects of the project, while still contributing to answering the overall research question in the synthesis.

Participating students

An X-Student Research Group is a student research team usually comprising five to ten students.To which groups of students a X-Student Research Group is primarily directed depends on the specific research project in question. Ideally, bachelor and master’s students should be able to participate, while students from diverse disciplines are also welcome.

For their participation in an X-Student Research Group the students will receive study points in the interdisciplinary/ free elective range or in the respective study program. Because X-Student Research Groups is a pilot project, the precise arrangements (number of study points, recognition) have not yet been finalized.

Presentation of results at the Berlin Conference for Student Research

The research results achieved by the group will be presented at the Berlin Conference for Student Research. The conference takes place once a year and offers the research team comprising students and junior researchers a platform for presenting the results to a broader audience.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Weitere Informationen zum Format X-Student Research Groups

Format und Dauer

X-Student Research Groups werden in Form von Forschungsseminaren im Studienangebot der Berlin University Alliance umgesetzt. Sie laufen in der Regel über ein Semester, wobei eine Verlängerung um ein weiteres Semester möglich ist.

Rolle der Nachwuchsforschenden

Die Leitung der studentischen Forschungsteams übernimmt eine Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin oder ein Nachwuchswissenschaftler, um gemeinsam mit Studierenden an einer aktuellen Frage aus der eigenen Forschung zu arbeiten. Dazu zählen Promovend*innen, Doktorand*innen bis hin zu Juniorprofessor*innen. Obgleich Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler die Forschung anleiten, besteht der Grundgedanke der X-Student Research Groups in der „gemeinsamen Forschung mit Studierenden“. Im Idealfall bearbeiten die Studierenden begrenzte Teilfragestellungen, die in der Synthese zur Beantwortung einer übergeordneten gemeinsamen Forschungsfrage beitragen.

Teilnehmende Studierende

Eine X-Student Research Group umfasst ein studentisches Forschungsteam, das in der Regel aus fünf bis zehn Studierenden besteht. An welche Studierendengruppen sich eine X-Student Research Group richtet, hängt vom jeweiligen Forschungsvorhaben ab. Im Idealfall sollten Bachelor- und Masterstudierende teilnehmen können und Studierende unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen willkommen sein.

Geplant ist, dass die Studierenden für ihre Teilnahme an einer X-Student Research Group Studienpunkte im überfachlichen beziehungsweise freien Wahlbereich oder im jeweiligen Studiengang erhalten. Da es sich bei den X-Student Research Groups um ein Pilotprojekt handelt, werden die genauen Modalitäten (Anzahl der Studienpunkte, Anrechenbarkeit etc.) derzeit noch verhandelt.

Ergebnispräsentation auf der Berlin Conference for Student Research

Die gemeinsam erzielten Forschungsergebnisse sollen abschließend auf der Berlin Conference for Student Research präsentiert werden. Die Konferenz findet einmal jährlich statt und bietet dem Forschungsteam aus Studierenden und Nachwuchsforschenden eine Plattform, um die erzielten Ergebnisse einem breiteren Publikum bekannt zu machen.