Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Symposium on Integrity in Research

Challenges for research integrity: diversity and universalism, evidence and reflexivity.

Symposium on Integrity in Research

Symposium on Integrity in Research
Image Credit: Photo by Col·legi de Farmacèutics de Barcelona on Unsplash

Place and time: hybrid event on November 24, 2021.  Registration closes on November 22, 2021, 3:00 p.m. CET  NOTE: Due to the current pandemic situation, the symposium will be conversed into a digital-only event.

Symposium topic

Research Integrity is a controversial topic within academia, but also in public discourse. Prominent cases of scientific misconduct capture the limelight, but recently a multitude of issues beyond the classical triad of plagiarism, falsification, and fabrication have taken center stage, many of which concern the quality and rigor of research and further challenge the trustworthiness of science. These include selective publication and file-drawer problems, various biases, as well as the general reproducibility or robustness of research results. At the same time, open, inclusive, and creative cultures of research in teams and organizations have been threatened by practices that prioritize outputs, as demonstrated by numerous examples of insufficient mentoring, unfair authorship practices, or intransparency about career progress for younger researchers. All these issues have long histories of discussions about improving scientific methods, however, views differ on how important these issues are, and whether all disciplines are affected equally. While some argue that there is only one scientific method, requiring universal standards for robust evidence, others emphasize the diversity of research cultures and the mutual criticism and learning that can result from this diversity.

As scientific expertise becomes more important in and for the public, it becomes apparent that scientific findings are often provisional, subject to correction, and scientific experts may disagree. There are no simple either-or answers. While it seems indisputable that scientific evidence should be subject to the highest possible standards and be appropriate to the context, it is nevertheless necessary that these standards evolve as scientific methods and research questions progress. For urgent societal problems - such as pandemics - we may even be willing to lower these standards. For new problems, appropriate standards will only emerge after much experimentation and debate. The need for such constant debate is familiar to scientists, but can be disconcerting to the public. Standardization - both in the sense of setting standards and in the sense of homogenization - of research can therefore run the risk of undermining, rather than securing, the progress of knowledge. As a result, the integrity of research must remain a topic for debate, as it is expected to ensure both the robustness and innovation of research while meeting the expectations of different research cultures and the public.

As a contested topic, research integrity encompasses a wide range of actors, platforms and organizations, policies and measures. The symposium will bring together participants from research, practice and policy to map this heterogeneous field, provide evidence of its effectiveness and analyze its (future) development.

The event will be moderated by Julia Vismann.

Program and confirmed speakers

The symposium is organized as a hybrid event. International and national experts will be invited together with the event's guests to discuss and reflect on the current state of research integrity and its future development. Interactive and inclusive formats connecting on-site participants and digital guests worldwide will ensure a sustained exchange on a topic of central importance for the future of science.

Block 1: „Diversity as an Engine for ‘Good Science’?”

(Format: World Café)

Speakers 

 With an introduction by Corinna Bath, Technische Universität Braunschweig


Block 2: “Science Literacy – Taking ‘Good Science’ in and out of Academia”

(Format: Keynote and Roundtable Discussion)

Speakers

The roundtable discussion will be moderated by Wolfgang Schäffner, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin


Block 3: “Objectivity, Transparency, Validity – Establishing Assessment Criteria for ‘Good Science’”

(Format: Keynote and Roundtable Discussion)

Speakers

The roundtable discussion will be moderated by Stefan Hornbostel, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin


Block 4: Pitches for the Einstein Foundation Award for Promoting Quality in Research – Category Early Career Researchers Award

Four finalists will pitch their project proposals that seek to foster research quality. The winning proposal will receive the €100,000 Early Career Researchers Award. The prize-giving ceremony honoring all successful awardees takes place on the evening of November 24, 2021, at the Futurium in Berlin.

The nominees are:

Danielle Peers, University of Alberta (Edmonton, Canada)

Yuri Pavlov, University of Tübingen (Tübingen, Germany)

Martin Zettersten, Princeton (Princeton, United States)

Patrick Forscher, Busara Center for Behavioral Economics (Nairobi, Kenya)

With an introduction by Dorothy Bishop, University of Oxford


Program and Registration

Assignment to the tables in the World Café will be random. The access data for the symposium will be sent shortly before the event to the e-mail address with which you registered.

Registration

Program

 

Contact

Nele Albrecht, Scientific Coordinator for Research Quality
Email: core@berlin-university-alliance.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Symposium zur Integrität in der Forschung

Herausforderungen für die Integrität der Forschung: Diversität und Universalismus, Evidenz und Reflexivität

Symposium zur Integrität in der Forschung am 24. November 2021

Symposium zur Integrität in der Forschung am 24. November 2021
Bildquelle: Photo by Col·legi de Farmacèutics de Barcelona on Unsplash

Ort und Zeit: hybride Veranstaltung am 24. November 2021

Das Thema des Symposiums

Forschungsintegrität ist ein umstrittenes Thema innerhalb der Wissenschaft, aber auch im öffentlichen Diskurs. Während öffentlich bekanntgewordene Fälle in erster Linie auf wissenschaftliches Fehlverhalten fokussierten, sind in jüngerer Zeit eine Reihe von Aspekten in den Vordergrund getreten, die die Qualität der Forschung mindestens in gleichem Maße beeinträchtigen. Dazu zählen etwa Publikationsbias, mangelnde Reproduzierbarkeit oder Robustheit von Forschungsergebnissen. Diese Probleme tragen zu einem zunehmend skeptischen Blick auf Forschungspraxen und das Forschungsklima in Teams und Organisationen in der Wissenschaft bei, der gestützt wird von zahlreichen weiteren Beispielen, etwa durch das unzureichende Mentoring von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern, unfaire Praktiken bei der Vergabe von Autorschaften oder der Intransparenz bezüglich des Karrierefortschritts von Nachwuchsforschenden. Diese Themen werden zwar seit langem diskutiert, dennoch besteht keine Einigkeit darüber, wie (ge)wichtig sie sind und ob alle Disziplinen gleichermaßen betroffen sind. Während einige argumentieren, dass es nur eine wissenschaftliche Methode gibt, die universelle Standards für robuste Beweise erfordert, betonen andere die Vielfalt der Forschungskulturen.

Mit zunehmender Bedeutung wissenschaftlicher Expertise in und für die Öffentlichkeit wird sichtbar, dass wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse oft nur vorläufig sind, korrigiert werden können und wissenschaftliche Expertinnen und Experten unterschiedlicher Meinung sein können. Es gibt keine einfachen Entweder-oder-Antworten. Während es unstrittig scheint, dass wissenschaftliche Evidenzen höchstmöglichen Standards unterliegen und dem Kontext angemessen sein sollten, ist es dennoch notwendig, dass sich diese Standards mit dem Fortschritt wissenschaftlicher Methoden und Forschungsfragen weiterentwickeln müssen. Bei dringenden gesellschaftlichen Problemen – etwa bei Pandemien – sind wir vielleicht sogar bereit, diese Standards zu senken. Bei neuen Problemen werden sich angemessene Standards erst nach vielen Experimenten und Diskussionen ergeben. Die Notwendigkeit einer solchen ständigen Debatte ist Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern vertraut, kann aber für die Öffentlichkeit beunruhigend sein. Die Standardisierung – sowohl im Sinne der Festlegung von Normen als auch im Sinne der Homogenisierung – der Forschung kann daher Gefahr laufen, den Fortschritt des Wissens zu untergraben, anstatt ihn zu sichern. Infolgedessen muss die Integrität der Forschung ein zu diskutierendes Thema bleiben, da von ihr erwartet wird, sowohl die Robustheit als auch die Innovationskraft der Forschung sicherzustellen und gleichzeitig die Erwartungen unterschiedlicher Forschungskulturen und der Öffentlichkeit zu erfüllen.

Als umstrittenes Thema umfasst Forschungsintegrität eine große Anzahl von Akteurinnen und Akteuren, Plattformen und Organisationen, Policies und Maßnahmen. Das Symposium wird Personen aus Forschung, Praxis und Politik zusammenbringen, um dieses heterogene Feld zu kartieren, Belege für seine Wirksamkeit zu liefern und seine (zukünftige) Entwicklung zu analysieren.

Programm (vorläufig) und bestätigte Sprecherinnen und Sprecher

Das Symposium wird als Hybridveranstaltung organisiert. Internationale und nationale Expertinnen und Expertinnen werden gemeinsam mit den Gästen der Veranstaltung eingeladen, den aktuellen Stand von Forschungsintegrität und ihre zukünftige Entwicklung zu diskutieren und zu reflektieren. Interaktive und integrative Formate, die die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer vor Ort und die digitalen Gäste weltweit miteinander verbinden, sorgen für einen nachhaltigen Austausch zu einem Thema von zentraler Bedeutung für die Zukunft der Wissenschaft.

Block 1: „Diversity as an Engine for ‘Good Science’?”

(Format: World Café)

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher

 

Block 2: “Science literacy – Taking ‘Good Science’ in and out of Academia”

(Format: Keynote und Roundtable-Diskussion)

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher

 

Block 3: “Objectivity, Transparency, Validity – Establishing Assessment Criteria for ‘Good Science’”

(Format: Keynote und Roundtable-Diskussion)

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher


Block 4: Pitches für den Einstein Foundation Award for Promoting Quality in Research – Kategorie Early Career Researchers Award

Bis zu sechs Finalistinnen und Finalisten pitchen ihre Ideen zur Verbesserung von Forschungsqualität. Die beste Idee wird mit dem mit 100.000 Euro dotierten Early Career Award ausgezeichnet. Die feierliche Verleihung des Einstein Foundation Awards findet am Abend des 24. Novembers 2021 im Futurium statt.


Anmeldung und Programm

Die Zuteilung zu den Tischen im World Café erfolgt zufällig. Die Zugangsdaten zu dem Symposium werden kurz vor der Veranstaltung an die E-Mail Adresse geschickt, mit der Sie sich angemeldet haben

Anmeldung

Programm

Kontakt

Nele Albrecht, Wissenschaftliche Koordinatorin für Forschungsqualität
E-Mail: core@berlin-university-alliance.de