Springe direkt zu Inhalt

VIVO Talks!

Open Research Information at the Berlin University Alliance for Responsible Research Assessment

To meet the evolution towards increasingly complex research projects and increasingly diverse research outputs, the way research is assessed needs to be adjusted, too. Open research information is crucial for this transformation. Ludo Waltman, professor and deputy director at the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) at Leiden University, illustrates how open research information enables a more responsible assessment of researchers, their projects and research. “VIVO Talks!” is organized by the project team of VIVO Research Information Platform. This session will talk place online via Zoom on June 13, 2022 at 1 pm CEST (Registration).

Open Research Information for Responsible Research Assessment

Open Research Information for Responsible Research Assessment
Image Credit: Colourbox

About the Speaker

Ludo Waltman is professor of Quantitative Science Studies and deputy director at the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) at Leiden University. He is also associate director of the Research on Research Institute (RoRI). His work focuses on developing new infrastructures, algorithms, and tools to support research assessment, science policy, and scholarly communication. Ludo is one of the developers of the well-known VOSviewer software tool for bibliometric visualization. He serves as Editor-in-Chief of the journal Quantitative Science Studies and is coordinator of the Initiative for Open Abstracts (I4OA).

About this Talk

Due to the fundamental changes digital technology has brought to the research and innovation process, research has become more collaborative, multidisciplinary and open than ever, and scientific outputs have grown more diverse. In this context, the importance of research information, especially open research information, has increased immensely. 

Under these conditions, the way research and researchers are assessed has to be reformed. Over the past years, various initiatives, among others by the European Commission, have been working towards a more contemporary and appropriate assessment system (see Scoping report towards a reform of the research assessment system by the European Commission).

In “VIVO Talks!” Ludo Waltman will outline why the openness of research information is a crucial prerequisite for the envisioned reforms. He will introduce different initiatives promoting openness of metadata, such as an Open Knowledge Base, an infrastructure that has been proposed for research organizations in the Netherlands. Moreover, he will point out how open metadata, such as in the VIVO-based research information platform across Berlin University Alliance, can contribute to more responsible research assessment practices. This session will be held in English. 

Registration

To participate please register before the event (Registration). You are going to receive individual access information via e-mail. Please note that the talk is going to be recorded via Zoom, while questions and discussions after the talk will not be recorded.

VIVO Talks! with Prof. Ludo Waltman will take place via Zoom on June 13, 2022 at 1 pm (CEST)

VIVO Talks! with Prof. Ludo Waltman will take place via Zoom on June 13, 2022 at 1 pm (CEST)
Image Credit: VIVO Research Information Platform

About VIVO Talks!”

In the process of developing a VIVO-based research information platform for the Berlin University Alliance (BUA), we value regular discussions with our stakeholders across the four BUA organizations and beyond. In the online event series “VIVO Talks!” we bring together all interested parties to address key questions around the development of the platform. After an insightful presentation on a specific topic, we turn to the audience for further discussions in the fields of research information, research infrastructure, research management and many more.

About VIVO Research Information Platform

At Berlin University Alliance, a four-member project team is currently developing a federated platform to present information of researchers, their research and activities within the alliance. Using the open source software VIVO, semantic web technologies allow to present people and their work in a structured and searchable way. In the current development phase (until end of 2023), research information of cross-institutional collaborations within BUA, called Clusters of Excellence, are integrated into a demonstrator to illustrate the potential of the platform, especially for the presentation of interdisciplinary research.

This project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the state of Berlin within the framework of the Excellence Strategy of the Federal Government and the Länder.

Contact

Claudia Adam, Community Manager VIVO Platform
Email: claudia.adam@hu-berlin.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

VIVO Talks!

Mit offenen Forschungsinformationen an der Berlin University Alliance zu einer verantwortungsvollen Forschungsbewertung

Um der Entwicklung hin zu immer komplexeren Forschungsprojekten und immer vielfältigeren Forschungsoutputs gerecht zu werden, muss auch die Art und Weise, wie Forschung bewertet wird, angepasst werden. Offene Forschungsinformationen sind für diesen Wandel von großer Bedeutung. Ludo Waltman, Professor und stellvertretender Direktor am Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) an der Leiden University, zeigt auf, wie offene Forschungsinformationen eine verantwortungsvollere Bewertung von Forschenden ermöglichen, deren Projekten und Forschung.

Mit offenen Forschungsinformationen an der Berlin University Alliance zu einer verantwortungsvollen Forschungsbewertung

Mit offenen Forschungsinformationen an der Berlin University Alliance zu einer verantwortungsvollen Forschungsbewertung
Bildquelle: Colourbox

Diese Ausgabe von „VIVO Talks!“ findet am 13. Juni 2022 von 13 bis 14 Uhr statt. Die Veranstaltungsreihe wird organisiert durch das Projekt-Team der Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO an der Berlin University Alliance. Für die Teilnahme ist eine Anmeldung notwendig (zur Registrierung).

Zu Ludo Waltman

Ludo Waltman ist Professor für Quantitative Science Studies und stellvertretender Direktor am Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) an der Leiden University. Darüber hinaus ist er stellvertretender Direktor des Research on Research Institute (RoRI). Sein Schaffen zielt darauf ab, neue Infrastrukturen, Algorithmen und Werkzeuge zu entwickeln, die der Forschungsbewertung, Wissenschaftspolitik und -kommunikation dienen. Ludo Waltman gehört zu den Entwicklern des VOSviewer, einem Softwaretool für bibliometrische Visualisierungen. Er ist Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift Quantitative Science Studies und koordiniert die Initiative for Open Abstracts (I4OA).

Zum Thema des Talks

Im Zuge der fundamentalen Veränderungen, die digitale Technologien für den Forschungs- und Innovationsprozess mit sich gebracht haben, ist Forschung heute kooperativer, multidisziplinärer und offener; und Forschungsoutputs diverser denn je. In diesem Zusammenhang haben Forschungsinformationen, besonders offene Forschungsinformationen, immens an Bedeutung gewonnen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund muss auch die Art und Weise, wie Forschung und Forschende bewertet werden, reformiert werden. In den letzten Jahren haben viele verschiedene Initiativen, unter anderem der Europäischen Kommission, auf ein zeitgemäßeres und angemesseneres Bewertungssystem hingearbeitet (siehe Scoping-Report der Europäischen Kommission).

In „VIVO Talks!" zeigt Ludo Waltman auf, warum die Offenheit von Forschungsinformationen eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die geplanten Reformen ist. Er stellt verschiedene Initiativen zur Förderung der Offenheit von Metadaten vor, darunter die Open Knowledge Base, eine Infrastruktur, die für Forschungsorganisationen in den Niederlanden vorgeschlagen wurde. Darüber hinaus stellt er dar, wie offene Metadaten, etwa in der VIVO-basierten Forschungsinformationsplattform innerhalb der Berlin University Alliance, zu verantwortungsvolleren Praktiken der Forschungsbewertung beitragen können. Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Vortrag in englischer Sprache gehalten wird.

Teilnahme

„VIVO Talks!“ findet online statt. Um teilzunehmen, registrieren Sie sich bitte vor der Veranstaltung: Anmeldung. Mit der Registrierungsbestätigung erhalten Sie einen individuellen Zugangslink von Zoom. Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Vortrag, nicht jedoch die anschließende Diskussion, via Zoom aufgezeichnet und anschließend zur Verfügung gestellt wird. 

VIVO Talks! mit Ludo Waltman findet am 13. Juni 2022 von 13 bis 14 Uhr statt.

VIVO Talks! mit Ludo Waltman findet am 13. Juni 2022 von 13 bis 14 Uhr statt.
Bildquelle: Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO

Zu „VIVO Talks!“

In der Entwicklungsphase der Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO (FIP mit VIVO) für die Berlin University Alliance (BUA) legen wir besonderen Wert auf den regelmäßigen Austausch mit unseren Stakeholder*innen innerhalb der vier Verbundpartnerinnen sowie darüber hinaus. In der Online-Reihe „VIVO Talks!" bringen wir alle Interessierten zusammen, um zentrale Fragen rund um die Entwicklung der Plattform zu adressieren. Nach einem informativen Vortrag zu einem festgelegten Thema öffnen wir die Diskussion für alle Teilnehmenden.

Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO

Innerhalb der Berlin University Alliance entwickelt ein vierköpfiges Projektteam derzeit eine föderierte Forschungsinformationsplattform. Basierend auf Semantic-Web-Technologien der Open-Source-Software VIVO können Personen und ihre Arbeit strukturiert und durchsuchbar präsentiert werden. In der aktuellen Entwicklungsphase (bis Ende 2023) werden Forschungsinformationen von institutsübergreifenden Forschungsprojekten innerhalb der BUA, so genannten Exzellenzclustern, in einen Demonstrator integriert, um das Potenzial der Plattform – insbesondere für die Abbildung interdisziplinärer Forschung – zu veranschaulichen.

Das Projekt ist gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem Land Berlin im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie von Bund und Ländern durch die Berlin University Alliance.

Kontakt

Claudia Adam, Community Managerin im Projekt FIP mit VIVO
E-Mail: claudia.adam@hu-berlin.de