Springe direkt zu Inhalt

What Happens to the Topics After Submission?

The entire process of collection of topics, from submission to selection, is divided into four phases and can be followed on the Next Grand Challenge webpage.

  1. Topic Collection: Initially, all topic proposals will be collected and formally reviewed by October 31, 2022. After that, the topics will be published on the Next Grand Challenge webpage without disclosing the names of the participants.

  2. Topic Grouping: The topic proposals will then be analyzed for similarities and interconnections and grouped into a maximum of 10 integrated subject areas. The result will be presented on the Next Grand Challenge webpage without disclosing the names of the participants, in such a way that it is clear from which topics an integrated subject area is derived and which questions are being addressed.

  3. Topic Evaluation: In an interactive event, the Next Grand Challenge Forum, which is expected to take place in February 2023 (exact date to be announced), the participants will develop arguments for and against each subject area and, if necessary, supplement other subject areas. Representatives of the teams of researchers and students will participate in the event together with the young people who shall have submitted topics and other participants from science and society (politics, economy, organized civil society).

  4. Topic Selection: An evaluated list of arguments for each of the maximum 10 subject areas will serve as a recommendation for the subsequent selection of the topic. The final topic selection will be announced on the Next Grand Challenge webpage and at a festive event expected in March 2023 (exact date to be announced)

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Wie geht es nach der Themeneinreichung mit den Themen weiter?

Der gesamte Prozess der Themenfindung, von der Einreichung bis zur Auswahl, gliedert sich in vier Phasen und und kann auf der Webpage der Next Grand Challenge mitverfolgt werden.

  1. Themensammlung: Zunächst werden sämtliche Themenvorschläge bis zum 31.10.2022 gesammelt und formal geprüft. Danach werden die Themen ohne Nennung von Namen auf der Webpage der Next Grand Challenge veröffentlicht. 

  2. Themengruppierung: Anschließend werden die Themenvorschläge nach Ähnlichkeiten und Verbindungen zueinander analysiert und in maximal 10 integrierte Themenfelder gruppiert. Das Ergebnis wird auf der Webpage der Next Grand Challenge ohne Nennung von Namen so dargestellt, dass ersichtlich ist, aus welchen Themen sich ein integriertes Themenfeld speist und welche Fragestellungen aufgegriffen werden.

  3. Themenbewertung: In einer interaktiven Veranstaltung, dem Next Grand Challenge Forum, das voraussichtlich im Februar 2023 (genauer Termin wird noch bekannt gegeben) stattfindet, werden die Teilnehmer*innen Argumente für und wider jedes Themenfeld erarbeiten und ggf. weitere Themenfelder ergänzen. An der Veranstaltung nehmen Vertreter*innen der Teams der Forschenden und Studierenden gemeinsam mit den Jugendlichen, die Themen eingereicht haben, und weiteren Teilnehmenden aus Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft (Politik, Wirtschaft, organisierte Zivilgesellschaft) teil.

  4. Themenauswahl: Eine bewertete Argumentenliste für jedes der maximal 10 Themenfelder wird als Empfehlung für die anschließende Auswahl des Themas dienen. Die finale Themenfindung wird auf der Webpage der Next Grand Challenge und im Rahmen einer Festveranstaltung voraussichtlich im März 2023 (genauer Termin wird noch bekannt gegeben) verkündet.