Springe direkt zu Inhalt

VIVO Talks!

Why and How to Invest in Open Research Infrastructure?

Research technology and infrastructure are to be open and community-owned, for science to thrive. This is why the non-profit initiative “Invest in Open Infrastructure” is dedicated to improve funding for open technologies supporting research and scholarship. Emmy Tsang, Engagement Lead at “Invest in Open Infrastructure”, points out what makes an infrastructure open and sustainable and how the Berlin University Alliance can be inspired by their efforts to build a sustainable, collaborative research ecosystem.

“VIVO Talks!” with Emmy Tsang will be held on October 13, 2022 from 1-2 pm CEST. The event series is hosted by the “VIVO Research Information Platform” project team at the Berlin University Alliance. Please register to participate (Registration). 

Research Infrastructure is demanded to be open and community-owned for research to flourish

Research Infrastructure is demanded to be open and community-owned for research to flourish
Image Credit: Colourbox

About Emmy Tsang

Emmy Tsang is the Engagement Lead at Invest in Open Infrastructure (IOI), a non-profit initiative dedicated to improving funding and resourcing for open technologies and systems. She also is a Co-Director at Open Life Science supporting individuals and stakeholders in research to become open science ambassadors.

Emmy Tsang served as Open Science Community and Engagement Manager at the Delft University of Technology. In this role, she was aiming at widening the adoption of open science practices across the university. Among others, she led communication and engagement efforts for the TU Delft Open Science Programme and managed the Open Science Community Delft

As Innovation Community Manager at eLife, Emmy Tsang helped to build a community of open source practitioners to advance the development of open-source tools and change the ways we consume, discover, share and evaluate research.

 

About Open Research Infrastructure

There is a demand for research infrastructure to be open and community-owned for research to flourish. Various initiatives across Europe and worldwide have been taken, for example by SPARC Europe, OpenAIRE, SCOSS, and Invest in Open Infrastructure.

IOI aims to provide evidence-based guidance to institutions and funders of open infrastructure, ultimately improving its funding and sustainability in ways aligned with the values of the institution itself – and not commercial interests (learn more about IOI). 

In “VIVO Talks!” Emmy Tsang is going to point out what defines “infrastructure” in general and “open infrastructure” in particular in the understanding of IOI. Furthermore, she is going to shed light on what makes a healthy research infrastructure and how stakeholders and various communities can benefit from it. Finally, she is going to suggest how the Berlin University Alliance could further support building a sustainable, collaborative research ecosystem across its partner organizations. 

 

"VIVO Talks!" with Emmy Tsang will be held on October 13, 2022 from 1-2 pm CEST

"VIVO Talks!" with Emmy Tsang will be held on October 13, 2022 from 1-2 pm CEST
Image Credit: VIVO Research Information Platform

Registration

To join this session, please sign in using the Zoom registration page before the event (Registration). Thereafter you will receive individual access information via e-mail. Please take notice that Emmy Tsang’s presentation will be recorded via Zoom and is going to be published after the event (only Emmy Tsang and her presentation will be visible). The discussions after her presentation will not be recorded.

 

About “VIVO Talks!”

The online event series “VIVO Talks!” is designed to learn and exchange on key topics within the growing community around the “VIVO Research Information Platform”. In short, 60-minute sessions, the events gather professionals from research, libraries, research management, research infrastructure and many more. After hearing an insightful talk on a designated topic – e.g. open research infrastructure – the conversation is opened to all participants. Presentations and/or recordings of all sessions are publicly available after the event (previous sessions). 

  

About VIVO Research Information Platform 

Within the framework of the Berlin University Alliance, a platform is created to showcase research information in an interlinked way. Using the open source software VIVO, the developed research infrastructure allows to search and visualize research metadata across disciplines and institutions. In the current project phase until the end of 2023, the project team is collaborating with Clusters of Excellence in the Berlin area to map their interdisciplinary research projects and outputs (among others).

This project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the state of Berlin within the framework of the Excellence Strategy of the Federal Government and the Länder.

 

Contact

Claudia Adam, Community Manager VIVO Platform

Email: claudia.adam@hu-berlin.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

VIVO Talks!

In offene Forschungsinfrastruktur investieren: warum und wie?

Forschungsinfrastruktur soll offen sein und aus der wissenschaftlichen Community heraus entwickelt und betrieben werden, um der Wissenschaft bestmöglich zu dienen. Deshalb setzt sich die gemeinnützige Initiative „Invest in Open Infrastructure“ dafür ein, die Finanzierung offener Technologien für Forschung und Lehre zu verbessern. Emmy Tsang, Engagement Lead bei „Invest in Open Infrastructure“, zeigt auf, was eine offene und nachhaltige Forschungsinfrastruktur ausmacht und wie sich die Berlin University Alliance von der Arbeit der Initiative inspirieren lassen kann, um den Aufbau eines nachhaltigen, kollaborativen Forschungsökosystems zu fördern. 

„VIVO Talks!“ mit Emmy Tsang findet am Donnerstag, 13. Oktober 2022 von 13-14 Uhr (MESZ) statt. Die Veranstaltungsreihe wird vom Projektteam „Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO“ an der Berliner University Alliance organisiert. Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten. Bitte melden Sie sich vorab zur Teilnahme an (Registrierung). 

Um die Wissenschaft bestmöglich zu unterstützen, soll Forschungsinfrastruktur offen sein und aus der wissenschaftlichen Community heraus entwickelt und betrieben werden

Um die Wissenschaft bestmöglich zu unterstützen, soll Forschungsinfrastruktur offen sein und aus der wissenschaftlichen Community heraus entwickelt und betrieben werden
Bildquelle: Colourbox

Über Emmy Tsang

Emmy Tsang ist Engagement Lead bei Invest in Open Infrastructure (IOI), einer gemeinnützigen Initiative, die sich für die Finanzierung und Bereitstellung von Ressourcen für offene Technologien und Systeme für die Wissenschaft einsetzt. Außerdem ist sie Co-Direktorin bei Open Life Science und unterstützt Einzelpersonen und Stakeholder*innen in der Forschung dabei, Botschafter*innen für Open Science zu werden.

Emmy Tsang war zuvor als Open Science Community and Engagement Manager an der TU Delft tätig. In dieser Funktion hat sie sich darum bemüht, Open-Science-Praktiken an der gesamten Universität zu fördern und auszuweiten. Unter anderem leitete sie die Kommunikation für das TU Delft Open Science Programme und hat die Open Science Community Delft gemanagt.

Als Innovation Community Manager bei eLife half Emmy Tsang beim Aufbau einer Gemeinschaft von Open-Source-Praktiker*innen, um die Entwicklung von Open-Source-Tools voranzutreiben und die Art und Weise zu verändern, wie wir Forschung konsumieren, entdecken, teilen und bewerten.

Über offene Forschungsinfrastruktur

Damit Forschung florieren kann, muss die Forschungsinfrastruktur offen sein und aus der wissenschaftlichen Community heraus betrieben werden. In Europa und weltweit werden dazu verschiedene Initiativen ergriffen, z. B. von SPARC Europe, OpenAIRE, SCOSS und Invest in Open Infrastructure.

Ziel von IOI ist es, Institutionen und Investor*innen für offene Infrastrukturen eine evidenzbasierte Anleitung zu geben, um deren Finanzierung und Nachhaltigkeit zu verbessern, und zwar auf eine Art und Weise, die mit den Werten der Institution selbst - und nicht mit kommerziellen Interessen - übereinstimmt (erfahren Sie mehr über IOI).

In „VIVO Talks!“ wird Emmy Tsang aufzeigen, was „Infrastruktur“ im Allgemeinen und „offene Infrastruktur“ im Besonderen im Verständnis von IOI ausmacht. Außerdem wird sie beleuchten, was eine gesunde Forschungsinfrastruktur ausmacht und wie Stakeholder*innen und verschiedene Communities davon profitieren. Schließlich wird sie aufzeigen, wie die Berlin University Alliance den Aufbau eines nachhaltigen, kollaborativen Forschungsökosystems weiter unterstützen könnte. 

„VIVO Talks!“ mit Emmy Tsang findet am Donnerstag, 13. Oktober 2022, von 13-14 Uhr (MESZ) statt

„VIVO Talks!“ mit Emmy Tsang findet am Donnerstag, 13. Oktober 2022, von 13-14 Uhr (MESZ) statt
Bildquelle: Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO

Registrierung

Um an dieser Ausgabe von „VIVO Talks!“ teilzunehmen, melden Sie sich bitte vorab über die Registrierungsseite von Zoom an (Registrierung). Anschließend erhalten Sie individuelle Zugangsinformationen per E-Mail. Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Vortrag von Emmy Tsang über Zoom aufgezeichnet und nach der Veranstaltung veröffentlicht wird (nur Emmy Tsang und ihre Präsentation werden sichtbar sein). Die Diskussion im Anschluss des Vortrag werden nicht aufgezeichnet.

Über „VIVO Talks!“

Die Online-Veranstaltungsreihe „VIVO Talks!“ dient dazu, sich innerhalb der wachsenden Community um die „Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO“ zu relevanten Themen zu informieren und auszutauschen. In kurzen, 60-minütigen Sessions bringen die Veranstaltungen Personen aus den Bereichen Forschung, Bibliotheken, Forschungsmanagement, Forschungsinfrastruktur und viele mehr zusammen. Nach einem anregenden Vortrag zu einem bestimmten Thema - z. B. offene Forschungsinfrastrukturen - wird das Gespräch für alle Teilnehmenden geöffnet.

Über die „Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO“

Im Rahmen der Berlin University Alliance wird eine Plattform zur verlinkten Darstellung von Forschungsinformationen geschaffen. Mit Hilfe der Open-Source-Software VIVO wird eine Forschungsinfrastruktur entwickelt, die es ermöglicht, Forschungsmetadaten fach- und institutionsübergreifend zu suchen und zu visualisieren. In der aktuellen Projektphase bis Ende 2023 arbeitet das Projektteam mit Exzellenzclustern im Raum Berlin zusammen, um unter anderem deren interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte und -ergebnisse abzubilden.

Das Projekt ist gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem Land Berlin im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie von Bund und Ländern durch die Berlin University Alliance.

Kontakt

Claudia Adam, Community Manager VIVO Platform

Email: claudia.adam@hu-berlin.de