Springe direkt zu Inhalt

VIVO Talks!

Ontological Infrastructure for Interoperable Research Information Systems

Based on semantic technologies and ontologies, a national research portal for Spanish universities has been created within the HÉRCULES project in Spain. The underlying technologies not only allow to showcase research projects and groups but to discover new information and detect synergies between universities. In “VIVO Talks!”, Diego López-de-Ipiña, Professor at University of Deusto, will introduce the ontological information infrastructure project of the Spanish University System and provide insights into the great potentials behind this development.

This event will be held on December 7, 2022 from 1-2 pm CET. “VIVO Talks!” is organized and hosted by the team creating the “VIVO Research Information Platform” at the Berlin University Alliance (BUA). To participate please register before the event (Registration).

A research information platform based on semantic technologies and ontologies

A research information platform based on semantic technologies and ontologies
Image Credit: VIVO Research Infromation Platform

About this talk 

Similar to the efforts to develop a federated research information platform within the BUA, a project in Spain has created a research management system for Spanish universities – the project "Hércules - Semantics of University Research Data". Within the framework of the project, multiple ontologies as well as an efficient semantic platform to showcase projects, researchers, research groups and other pieces of research information have been developed. On the platform, the semantic web technologies allow to obtain new information and enable greater inductive knowledge from apparently unconnected data. This not only improves the scientific dissemination of research results but also facilitates the detection of synergies between universities.

About the speaker

Prof. Diego López-de-Ipiña is an associate professor and principal researcher of MORElab/DEUSTEK group. He received his PhD from the University of Cambridge, U.K in 2002 with a dissertation entitled “Visual Sensing and Middleware Support for Sentient Computing”. His main research interests are pervasive computing, internet of things, semantic service middleware, open linked data, social data mining and mobile-mediated and tangible human-environment interaction. He is currently focusing his work on the role of citizens as active data contributors to the knowledge of a city modelled as Linked Data and exploitable through Big Data. He has been PhD supervisor in 18 dissertations. He has participated in several big consortium-based research European (SOCIO-BEE, INTERLINK, AURORAL, REACH, PARITY, EDI, SIMPATICO, CITY4AGE, GREENSOUL, WELIVE, MOVESMART, IES CITIES, MUGGES, SONOPA, CBDP, GO-LAB, LifeWear) projects, mostly as principal researcher from the Deusto part, involving the adoption of semantic web, social data mining, linked open data, smart cities, open government and NGI to novel AmI-related application areas such as urban computing, sustainable computing or AAL. He is the technical coordinator for REACH-EuRopEAn incubator for trusted and secure data value CHains H2020 project. He has more than 200 publications in relevant international conferences and journals on Ubiquitous Computing, Semantic Web, Middleware, Smart Cities and AmI, including more than 75 JCR-indexed journal articles.

"VIVO Talks!" with Diego López-de-Ipiña, Professor at University of Deusto

"VIVO Talks!" with Diego López-de-Ipiña, Professor at University of Deusto
Image Credit: VIVO Research Information Platform

Registration

To join this event, please register in advance (register now). You will then receive Zoom access information via e-mail. Please note that Emmy Tsang’s presentation will be recorded via Zoom to be published after the event. The discussions after her presentation are note recorded.

About “VIVO Talks!”

The online event series “VIVO Talks!” is aiming to address relevant topics around the development of the “VIVO Research Information Platform”. After a 30-minute presentation on a designated topic – e.g. ontologies – we invite all participants to join the conversation.

About VIVO Research Information Platform

Within the framework of the BUA, an interdisciplinary team is developing a platform to showcase research information building on the Open Source software VIVO. One of the project goals is to develop an ontology within the BUA to represent data analyses, visualizations and aggregations. In the current project phase until the end of 2023, the project team is collaborating with Clusters of Excellence to map their interdisciplinary research projects and outputs.

This project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the state of Berlin within the framework of the Excellence Strategy of the Federal Government and the Länder.

Contact

Claudia Adam, Community Manager VIVO Platform
Email: claudia.adam@hu-berlin.de

Further Information

The HÉRCULES project has a total budget allocated of five million four hundred and sixty-two thousand six hundred euros, 80% of which is co-financed by ERDF. Therefore, the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), through the formerly named Ministry of Economy, Industry and Competitiveness (currently called Ministry of Science and Innovation) MINECO as an Intermediate Organization of the Intelligent Growth Operational Program associated to the ERDF - POCint (now the Multiregional Operational Program of Spain - POPE) will grant a contribution of four million three hundred seventy eight thousand to the project.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

VIVO Talks!

Ontologische Infrastruktur für interoperable Forschungsinformationssysteme

Basierend auf semantischen Technologien und Ontologien wurde im Rahmen des HÉRCULES-Projekts in Spanien ein nationales Forschungsportal für spanische Universitäten entwickelt. Die zugrundeliegenden Technologien ermöglichen es nicht nur, Forschungsprojekte und -gruppen abzubilden, sondern auch neue Informationen zu entdecken und Synergien zwischen Universitäten aufzudecken. In "VIVO Talks!" wird Diego López-de-Ipiña, Professor an der University of Deusto, das Projekt der ontologischen Informationsinfrastruktur des spanischen Universitätssystems vorstellen und Einblicke in die enormen Potenziale dieser Entwicklung geben.

Diese Veranstaltung findet am 7. Dezember 2022 von 13-14 Uhr Uhr (MEZ) statt. "VIVO Talks!" wird vom Projektteam „Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO“ an der Berlin University Alliance (BUA) organisiert. Um teilzunehmen, registrieren Sie sich bitte vor der Veranstaltung (Anmeldung). 

Forschungsinformationsplattform basierend auf  semantischen Technologien und Ontologien

Forschungsinformationsplattform basierend auf semantischen Technologien und Ontologien
Bildquelle: VIVO Research Infromation Platform

Zum Thema des Talks 

Ähnlich dem Vorhaben, eine föderierte Forschungsinformationsplattform innerhalb der BUA zu entwickeln, hat ein Projekt in Spanien ein Forschungsmanagementsystem für spanische Universitäten geschaffen - das Projekt "Hércules - Semantics of University Research Data". Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden mehrere Ontologien sowie eine effiziente semantische Plattform zur Darstellung von Projekten, Forschenden, Forschungsgruppen und anderen Forschungsinformationen entwickelt. Semantischen Webtechnologien ermöglichen es, auf der Plattform neue Informationen zu entdecken und mehr induktives Wissen aus scheinbar unverbundenen Daten zu gewinnen. Dies verbessert nicht nur die Verbreitung von Forschungsergebnissen, sondern erleichtert es auch, Synergien zwischen den Universitäten aufzuzeigen.

Zu Diego López-de-Ipiña

Diego López-de-Ipiña ist Professor und Principal Researcher der MORElab/DEUSTEK-Gruppe. Er promovierte 2002 an der University of Cambridge mit einer Dissertation zum Thema "Visual Sensing and Middleware Support for Sentient Computing". Seine Forschungsinteressen sind Pervasive Computing, Internet of Things, semantische Service-Middleware, offene verknüpfte Daten, Social Data Mining und mobil-vermittelte Mensch-Umwelt-Interaktion. Derzeit konzentriert sich seine Arbeit auf die Rolle der Bürger*innen als aktive Datenlieferanten für das Wissen einer Stadt, das als verknüpfte Daten modelliert und durch Big Data genutzt werden kann. Er war Doktorvater bei 18 Dissertationen und hat an mehreren großen konsortialbasierten europäischen Forschungsprojekten (SOCIO-BEE, INTERLINK, AURORAL, REACH, PARITY, EDI, SIMPATICO, CITY4AGE, GREENSOUL, WELIVE, MOVESMART, IES CITIES, MUGGES, SONOPA, CBDP, GO-LAB, LifeWear) teilgenommen, meist als Principal Researcher von Seiten von Deusto, die die Anwendung von Semantic Web, Social Data Mining, Linked Open Data, Smart Cities, Open Government und NGI auf neuartige AmI-bezogene Anwendungsbereiche wie Urban Computing, Sustainable Computing oder AAL beinhalten. Er ist der technische Koordinator des REACH-EuRopEAn-Inkubators für vertrauenswürdige und sichere Daten im Rahmen des H2020-Projekts CHains. Er hat mehr als 200 Publikationen in einschlägigen internationalen Konferenzen und Fachzeitschriften zu den Themen Ubiquitous Computing, Semantic Web, Middleware, Smart Cities und AmI, darunter mehr als 75 JCR-indizierte Zeitschriftenartikel, veröffentlicht.

„VIVO Talks!“ mit Diego López-de-Ipiña, Professor an der University of Deusto

„VIVO Talks!“ mit Diego López-de-Ipiña, Professor an der University of Deusto
Bildquelle: „Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO“

Registrierung

Um an dieser Ausgabe von „VIVO Talks!“ teilzunehmen, melden Sie sich bitte vorab an (Registrierung). Anschließend erhalten Sie Zugangsinformationen per E-Mail. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Präsentation über Zoom aufgezeichnet und nach der Veranstaltung veröffentlicht wird. Die Diskussion im Anschluss des Vortrag wird nicht aufgezeichnet.

Über „VIVO Talks!“

Die Veranstaltungsreihe zielt darauf ab, die wachsende Community um die „Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO“ zu relevanten Themen zu informieren und im Austausch zu bleiben. In den 60-minütigen Sessions kommen Personen aus den Bereichen Forschung, Bibliothekswesen, Forschungsmanagement, Forschungsinfrastruktur und vielen mehr zusammen. Nach einem kurzen Vortrag zu einem bestimmten Thema – z. B.Ontologien – laden wir alle Teilnehmenden zum Gespräch ein. 

Über die „Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO“

Im Rahmen der Berlin University Alliance entwickelt ein vierköpfiges Team eine Plattform zur verlinkten Darstellung von Forschungsinformationen. Auf Basis der Open-Source-Software VIVO ermöglicht es die Plattform, Forschungsmetadaten fach- und institutionsübergreifend zu suchen und zu visualisieren. In der aktuellen Projektphase bis Ende 2023 arbeitet das Projektteam mit Exzellenzclustern im Raum Berlin zusammen, um unter anderem deren interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte und -ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

Das Projekt ist gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem Land Berlin im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie von Bund und Ländern durch die Berlin University Alliance.

Kontakt

Claudia Adam, Community Manager „Forschungsinformationsplattform mit VIVO“ 

Email: claudia.adam@hu-berlin.de

Weitere Informationen

The HÉRCULES project has a total budget allocated of five million four hundred and sixty-two thousand six hundred euros, 80% of which is co-financed by ERDF. Therefore, the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), through the formerly named Ministry of Economy, Industry and Competitiveness (currently called Ministry of Science and Innovation) MINECO as an Intermediate Organization of the Intelligent Growth Operational Program associated to the ERDF - POCint (now the Multiregional Operational Program of Spain - POPE) will grant a contribution of four million three hundred seventy eight thousand to the project.