Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for proposals: Career Development Awards

  • Start of application period: June 3, 2021
  • Deadline for applications: July 8, 2021
  • Earliest funding date: October 1, 2021
  • Funding period: six months (one full semester)

When working as a Postdoc at a chair, early-career researchers do not always have the time required to focus on their own research. This is due to the many tasks and responsibilities they have in the day-to-day reality of a university. At this crucial stage of their careers, however, it is essential to continue developing a research profile and identity – especially when aiming for a professorship or another academic leadership position.

Having more time for research is considered a precious gift, whether to finally finish a paper, learn a new method, or establish a collaboration with a research group abroad. More time, freedom, and sometimes even a change of perspective can have the effect of improving research quality and output.

The “Career Development Awards” is a new funding scheme under the banner of the Berlin University Alliance, created specifically for the postdoctoral researchers of its member institutions. Applicants from all academic disciplines are eligible to apply. Awardees are granted paid academic leave, allowing them to focus completely on a research project of their choosing. This “project” does not necessarily have to be something new, but should have the potential to boost the applicant’s (academic) career. Accordingly, the “Career Development Awards” scheme – which falls under Objective 4: Promoting Talent – ultimately aims at promoting the career advancement of excellent early-career researchers from the four Alliance partners.

To ensure the highest possible benefit, recipients of the award will be relieved of all institutional obligations such as teaching. Additional funds for material expenses during the research semester can be applied for. While the Postdoc continues to receive a salary payment, the BUA will cover the costs of hiring a substitute for the member institution. Applicants must have positions that are fully financed through budgetary funds. The Alliance plans to establish an extended funding option for Postdocs whose positions are partially or fully funded by third parties.

In order to foster exchange between BUA member institutions and its researchers, projects of a collaborative nature and/or including mobility are highly welcome. To ensure equality and diversity, we especially welcome applications from qualified women and other individuals fulfilling diversity criteria (e.g. disabled candidates, first generation, migration background, etc.). The research semester will take place in the fall term 2021/22. The next call for proposals (for research semesters in 2022) will be published soon.

Interested postdoctoral researchers are invited to send their applications via email (in a single PDF document) to: promoting-talent@berlin-university-alliance.de

By submitting an electronic application, you acknowledge that your data are saved and processed.

We invite all applicants to attend a digital information session in English on June 14, 2021 (2:00-3:00pm).

Registration for the information session

Necessary documents

In case of questions please contact:
Verena Neumann, Program Manager Promoting Talent
Email: promoting-talent@berlin-university-alliance.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ausschreibung: Career Development Awards

  • Beginn der Ausschreibung: 3. Juni 2021
  • Ende der Ausschreibung: 8. Juli 2021
  • Frühester Förderbeginn: 1. Oktober 2021
  • Dauer: Sechs Monate

Im Alltag einer Postdoktorandin oder eines Postdoktoranden fehlt oft die Zeit, in Ruhe an der eigenen Forschung zu arbeiten. Dabei ist es gerade auf dieser Stufe essenziell, ein eigenständiges Karriereprofil und eine eigene Identität als Forscherin oder Forscher zu entwickeln – besonders in Hinblick auf eine Professur oder eine andere wissenschaftliche Leitungsposition.

Ob es darum geht, endlich das Paper fertig zu schreiben, eine neue Methode zu erlernen oder den Kontakt zu einer Forschungsgruppe im Ausland aufzubauen – für all das braucht man Zeit, etwas Freiraum und nicht selten auch eine neue Perspektive.

Die Berlin University Alliance (BUA) bietet mit den „Career Development Awards“ ein neues Förderformat explizit für Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden im Exzellenzverbund an. Die Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger können während eines Forschungssemesters ein selbst gewähltes wissenschaftliches Vorhaben bearbeiten und werden dafür beurlaubt. Die gewählten Vorhaben sollten das Potenzial haben, eine Art „Karrierebooster“ für die weitere wissenschaftliche Laufbahn zu sein. Im Rahmen des Handlungsfelds Promoting Talent fördert die BUA mit dem Preis die Karriereentwicklung herausragender Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler der vier Verbundpartnerinnen.

Um eine optimale Forschungsphase zu ermöglichen, beinhaltet die Auszeichnung attraktive Konditionen: Nicht nur werden die Postdocs von allen institutionellen Verpflichtungen entbunden (wie zum Beispiel der Lehrverpflichtung), auch wird das Gehalt während der sechs Monate voll weitergezahlt. Die Berlin University Alliance kompensiert die Kosten für die Vertretungsstellen. Sachmittel für bestimmte Zwecke können beantragt werden. Zurzeit können sich nur haushaltsfinanzierte Postdocs bewerben; eine Ausweitung des Angebots ist jedoch geplant.

Forschungsvorhaben, die Zusammenarbeit und Mobilität zwischen den Verbundpartnerinnen fördern, werden besonders begrüßt. Zur Sicherung von Gleichstellung und Diversität sind Bewerbungen von qualifizierten Frauen sowie Personen mit weiteren Diversitätsmerkmalen (wie Beeinträchtigungen, First Generation, Migrationserfahrung etc.) besonders willkommen. Das Forschungssemester ist für das Wintersemester 2021/22 vorgesehen, die nächste Ausschreibung für 2022 wird zeitnah erfolgen.

Interessierte Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden sind eingeladen, ihre Anträge per E-Mail (in einem pdf-Dokument) an promoting-talent@berlin-university-alliance.de zu senden.

Mit der Abgabe einer Onlinebewerbung geben Sie als Bewerberin oder Bewerber Ihr Einverständnis, dass Ihre Daten elektronisch verarbeitet und gespeichert werden.

Am 14. Juni 2021 von 14 bis 15 Uhr findet eine digitale Informationsveranstaltung in englischer Sprache für Bewerberinnen und Bewerber statt.

Anmeldung zur Informationsveranstaltung

Ausschreibungsunterlagen

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
Verena Neumann, Referentin Wissenschaftliche Karrierewege
E-Mail: promoting-talent@berlin-university-alliance.de