Springe direkt zu Inhalt

OX|BUA Centre for Advanced Studies Call Global Health

  • Start of the call for proposals: 17 May 2021
  • End of the call for proposals: 15 July 2021
  • Start of funding: 1 October 2021
  • Funding period: Maximum 24 months
  • Max. grant amount per project: € 333.000

Linked to the Berlin University Alliance‘s (BUA) second Grand Challenge Initiative on „Global Health“, the OX|BUA Centre for Advanced Studies (OX|BUA CAS), part of the strategic partnership between the University of Oxford and the BUA, now invites applications for its initiative in the area of Global Health. The aim is to strengthen international cooperation on global health issues and promote innovative research approaches, particularly in the areas of antibiotic resistance, pandemic preparedness and digital health.

Cooperation groups can each apply for a maximum funding amount of 333k Euros for a period of 24 months, from autumn 2021 until autumn 2023. Applications should be made jointly between one or more BUA principal investigators (preferably from more than one of the Alliance partners) and one or more from Oxford. Members of non-university research institutions or other universities, which are not affiliated to the Berlin University Alliance, may participate as Cooperation Group partners but must provide their own funding. In addition, we would particularly welcome applications that involve partners from the Global South.

Please note that an application in both BUA’s main Call in the Grand Challenge Initiative on Global Health and this OX|BUA CAS Call is not possible. Applicants who applied for BUA objective 1 call cannot lead a Cooperation Group in the OX|BUA CAS call. However, they could be involved either as a member of the core Cooperation group or involved in e.g. project workshops etc.

Further funding criteria, details on content and explanations of the application process can be found in the call for applications.

An information session was held on June 4 for those interested.
Presentation slides of the event (PDF)

In founding the BUA, Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin have set the ambitious aim of jointly turning Berlin into an integrated research environment. The collaboration of the four partners focuses especially on academic career development, research quality, and joint efforts in the areas of research infrastructure, teaching, diversity, equality, global grand challenges and internationalization. In order to achieve a further internationalization of the Berlin research environment the BUA founded the OX|BER research partnership. Linked to the BUA’s Grand Challenges the partners of the BUA and the University of Oxford have established a new OX|BUA Centre for Advanced Studies (OX|BUA CAS) to consolidate their existing partnership and establish further important institutional networks between Oxford and Berlin. One of the principal aims of the OX|BUA CAS will be to support excellent researchers in inter- and transdisciplinary formats in the BUA grand challenge themes.

FAQ about the call for proposals

Necessary documents

Contact

Anna Cramme, Berlin Coordinator of the Oxford-Berlin Research Partnership
Helen Paul, Team Assistance Oxford/Berlin Research Partnership
Email: oxber@berlin-university-alliance.de 

Alasdair MacDonald, Oxford Coordinator of the Oxford-Berlin Research Partnership
Email: alasdair.macdonald@admin.ox.ac.uk

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

OX|BUA Centre for Advanced Studies Call Global Health

  • Beginn der Ausschreibung: 17. Mai 2021
  • Ende der Ausschreibung: 3. August 2021
  • Förderbeginn: 1. Oktober 2021
  • Dauer: Maximal 24 Monate
  • Fördersumme je Projekt: bis zu 333.000 Euro

Ergänzend zur zweiten Grand Challenge Initiative der Berlin University Alliance (BUA) fördert das OX|BUA Centre for Advanced Studies (OX|BUA CAS) als Teil der strategischen Partnerschaft zwischen der University of Oxford und der BUA exzellente Forschungsinitiativen zum Thema Global Health. Ziel ist es, die internationale Zusammenarbeit zu Fragen der globalen Gesundheit zu stärken und innovative Forschungsansätze besonders in den Bereichen Antibiotikaresistenz, Pandemievorsorge und Digital Health zu fördern.

Kooperationsgruppen können sich jeweils auf eine maximale Fördersumme von 333.000 Euro über einen Zeitraum von 24 Monaten – von Herbst 2021 bis Herbst 2023 – bewerben. Anträge sollen gemeinschaftlich von je mindestens einem beziehungsweise einer Antragsstellenden der BUA (vorzugsweise von mehr als einer der Verbundpartnerinnen) und mindestens einem beziehungsweise einer Antragsstellenden der University of Oxford eingereicht werden. Auch Angehörige von außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen oder Universitäten, die nicht der BUA angehören, können Mitglieder der Kooperationsgruppen werden, wenn sie dafür eigene Fördermittel zur Verfügung stellen. Besonders begrüßen wir Anträge, die Partnerinnen oder Partner aus dem Globalen Süden einbeziehen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie sich nicht gleichzeitig als Hauptantragstellerin oder Hauptantragsteller auf die Ausschreibung „Determinants of Global Health: Exploring Biological, Human-made & Environmental Factors“ der BUA und den OX|BUA CAS Call Global Health bewerben können. Eine Verknüpfung der beiden Calls oder gleichzeitige Teilnahme ist maximal als Mitglied der Kern-Kooperationsgruppe oder zum Beispiel über Einbindung in einen Workshop möglich.

Ausführliche Informationen zu Auswahlkriterien und Inhalt sowie zum Antragsverfahren finden sich im Call for Applications (in englischer Sprache).

Für Interessierte wurde am 4. Juni eine Informationsveranstaltung durchgeführt.
Vortragsfolien zur Veranstaltung (PDF)

Mit der Gründung der BUA haben sich die Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin und Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin das langfristige Ziel gesetzt, gemeinsam einen integrierten Forschungsraum in Berlin zu schaffen und zu gestalten. Dabei legen die Verbundpartnerinnen besonderes Augenmerk auf akademische Karriereentwicklung, Forschungsqualität und die enge Zusammenarbeit in den Bereichen Infrastruktur, Lehre, Diversität, Gleichstellung, Global Grand Challenges und Internationalisierung. Um die internationale Ausrichtung des Berliner Forschungsraums weiter zu stärken, haben die BUA und die University of Oxford das OX|BUA Centre for Advanced Studies (OX|BUA CAS) ins Leben gerufen. Dadurch soll die bestehende Forschungspartnerschaft zwischen Oxford und Berlin gestärkt werden und neue institutionelle Netzwerke geknüpft werden. Eines der zentralen Ziele des OX|BUA CAS ist die Unterstützung herausragender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mittels inter- und transdisziplinärer Formate im thematischen Rahmen der BUA Grand Challenge Initiatives.

FAQ zur Ausschreibung

Ausschreibungsunterlagen

Kontakt

Anna Cramme, Koordinatorin der Oxford-Berlin Research Partnership in Berlin
Helen Paul, Teamassistenz Kooperation Oxford
E-Mail: oxber@berlin-university-alliance.de 

Alasdair MacDonald, Koordinator der Oxford-Berlin Research Partnership in Oxford
E-Mail: alasdair.macdonald@admin.ox.ac.uk