Springe direkt zu Inhalt

BE:CURIOUS

A Podcast by the Oxford/Berlin Research Partnership, in which researchers from Berlin and Oxford look at the great challenges of our time.

The science podcast "BE:CURIOUS"

The science podcast "BE:CURIOUS"
Image Credit: Oxford/Berlin Wissenschaftskooperation

With boundless curiosity, researchers from Berlin and Oxford look at the great challenges of our time. In this podcast, they talk about their work, about small and large projects that cross borders and open up new insights into our world. Not only in Europe, but globally. What can robots learn from parrots? How do we prepare for the next pandemic? And, most importantly, how can we answer all these questions together?

BE:CURIOUS goes on a journey in which researchers in Oxford and Berlin jointly confront the challenges and issues of our time.

BE:CURIOUS is the joint podcast of the University of Oxford and the Berlin University Alliance. Insights and deep dives into complex topics, made for all who are fascinated by their environment and want to learn more about other worlds.

BE:CURIOUS on Spotify
BE:CURIOUS on Apple Podcasts
BE:CURIOUS on Google Podcasts
BE:CURIOUS as RSS-Feed


Prof. Dr. Achim Kramer and Russell Foster

Prof. Dr. Achim Kramer and Russell Foster
Image Credit: privat

Circadian Rhythms – The Science and Treatment of Internal Clock Disorders

Prof. Dr. Achim Kramer, the head of Chronobiology at Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, and Russell Foster, a professor of sleep and circadian neuroscience at the University of Oxford, talk about their work on sleep cycles and the internal clock.

The Podcast episode on SpotifyApple Podcasts and Google Podcasts

Our bodies are ruled by the daily solar cycle of the earth. But we also all have our own internal biological clocks, which more or less sync up to this daily rhythm. This internal clock is crucial not only for our patterns of sleeping and waking but for all kinds of activities which our bodies and cells undertake.

But if our internal clocks and that of the outside world are out of sync, then the consequences can be profound and come with serious health implications. This is particularly problematic for blind people whose circadian clocks aren’t kept synced to the outside world’s rhythms by exposure to sunlight.

Our two guests today, in a project supported by the Oxford/Berlin Research Partnership, are working on a new method to better measure and diagnose these disruptions to someone’s circadian rhythm; something which can then be used to resync the patient’s internal clock and improve their quality of life. They are Achim Kramer and Russell Foster. We learn about their work, and why these circadian rhythms are so vital to our health and happiness.


Prof. Alex Kacelnik and Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock

Prof. Alex Kacelnik and Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock
Image Credit: privat / Kopf & Kragen

Investigating Intelligence – What Birds and AI Robots Can Teach Us About Learning

Oxford Professor Alex Kacelnik who specializes in animal behaviour, and Oliver Brock at the Technische Universität Berlin who is an expert in robotics and AI

The Podcast episode on SpotifyApple Podcasts and Google Podcasts

You might not think that artificial intelligence has much to do with puzzle-solving parrots, but that's exactly what Alex Kacelnik and Oliver Brock combine in their envelope-pushing research.

Their research involves filming cockatoo parrots as they solve novel kinetic mechanical problems. This video is then analyzed and used to help create a robot powered by artificial intelligence that can solve similar problems. In the process, they're exploring some of the most fundamental questions about the nature of intelligence.


Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy und Prof. Dr. Dan Hicks

Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy und Prof. Dr. Dan Hicks
Image Credit: Peter Rigaud / privat

The Plunders of War - Uncovering the Dark Side of European Museum Collections

Dan Hicks is an archeology professor at the University of Oxford, Bénédicte Savoy is an art historian based at Technische Universtiät Berlin, and together they are working on a project funded by the Oxford Berlin Research Partnership.

The Podcast episode on SpotifyApple Podcasts and Google Podcasts

From the British Museum in London to the new Humboldt Forum in Berlin, museums across Europe are filled with precious ancient artifacts sourced from around the world. But how those artifacts actually ended up in the collections of these museums is, more often than not, connected to stories of colonial conquest, war and violence – something that up until relatively recently was largely forgotten or ignored. But Dan Hicks and Bénédicte Savoy are hoping to change that.

The project is called The Restitution of Knowledge and aims to uncover, document, and share the knowledge of the unjust means by which many of these artifacts came to be sitting in European museums. They discus what their research has uncovered, what it means for museums, and what they think should happen to the objects that have been found to have been taken in illegitimate ways.


Fabian Braesemann and Fabian Stephany

Fabian Braesemann and Fabian Stephany
Image Credit: privat / Markus Rössle

From Covid to Gentrification – Using Big Data to Help Wider Society

Fabian Braesemann and Fabian Stephany are both based at the Oxford Internet Institute, where they are research associates.

The Podcast episode on Spotify, Apple Podcasts and Google Podcasts

Every day through our computers and devices, a myriad of apps and services track our behaviour in precise detail. Most of this information is collected and analysed by companies that are trying to sell us things; whether it’s Amazon trying to sell us products, or Google looking to sell ads that are precisely targeted to us as individuals.

But could this wealth of data also be used in ways that actually benefit wider society? That’s what economists and data-scientists Fabian Braesemann and Fabian Stephany are hoping to do with DWG, a Berlin-based company that they are currently founding as a planned spinout from University of Oxford. The idea was born when the two founders applied for project funding to the OX/BER Research Partnership.

As the podcast explores, by combing data sets in novel ways DWG is able to shed new light on complex societal dynamics: from looking at the economic vulnerabilities from Covid, to finding ways of predicting gentrification. This information can then be used to help governments and organisations make better decisions.

Keywords

  • international
  • Oxford

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

BE:CURIOUS

Ein Podcast der Oxford/Berlin Wissenschaftskooperation, in dem Forscher*innen aus Berlin und Oxford auf die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit blicken.

Der Wissenschaftspodcast „BE:CURIOUS“

Der Wissenschaftspodcast „BE:CURIOUS“
Bildquelle: Oxford/Berlin Wissenschaftskooperation

Mit grenzenloser Neugier blicken Forscher*innen aus Berlin und Oxford auf die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. In diesem Podcast erzählen sie von ihrer Arbeit, von kleinen und großen Projekten, die Grenzen überschreiten und neue Einblicke in unsere Welt eröffnen. Nicht nur in Europa, sondern global. Was können Roboter von Papageien lernen? Wie bereiten wir uns auf die nächste Pandemie vor? Und vor allem: Wie können all diese Fragen gemeinsam beantwortet werden?

BE:CURIOUS geht auf eine Reise, auf der Forscher*innen aus Oxford und Berlin gemeinsam den Herausforderungen und Themen unserer Zeit begegnen.

BE:CURIOUS ist eine gemeinsame Produktion der University of Oxford und der Berlin University Alliance. Tiefe Einblicke in komplexe Themen, gemacht für alle, die von ihrer Umwelt fasziniert sind und mehr über andere Welten erfahren möchten.

BE:CURIOUS auf Spotify
BE:CURIOUS auf Apple Podcasts
BE:CURIOUS auf Google Podcasts
BE:CURIOUS als RSS-Feed


Prof. Dr. Achim Kramer und Russell Foster

Prof. Dr. Achim Kramer und Russell Foster
Bildquelle: privat

Wenn die innere Uhr nicht mehr richtig tickt – Die Erforschung des Schlafrhythmus

Prof. Dr. Achim Kramer, Leiter der Chronobiologie an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, und Russell Foster, Professor für Schlaf- und zirkadiane Neurowissenschaften an der University of Oxford, sprechen über die Erforschung von Schlafzyklen und die innere Uhr.

Die Podcastfolge auf SpotifyApple Podcasts und Google Podcasts

Unser Körper wird Tag für Tag durch den Sonnenkreislauf der Erde gesteuert. Doch wir alle haben auch unsere eigene innere biologische Uhr, die mal mehr, mal weniger mit diesem Tagesrhythmus im Einklang ist. Diese innere Uhr ist nicht nur für unseren Schlaf- und Wachrhythmus entscheidend, sondern auch für alle Arten von Aktivitäten unseres Körpers und unserer Zellen.

Wenn aber unsere innere Uhr und die der Außenwelt nicht synchronisiert sind, kann das schwerwiegende gesundheitliche Folgen haben. Besonders problematisch ist dies für blinde Menschen, deren innere Uhr nicht durch Sonnenlicht mit dem Rhythmus der Außenwelt synchronisiert wird.

Unsere beiden heutigen Gäste arbeiten in einem von der Oxford/Berlin Wissenschaftskooperation geförderten Projekt an einer neuen Methode, um Störungen des zirkadianen Rhythmus besser zu erfassen und zu diagnostizieren, die innere Uhr von Patient*innen wieder zu synchronisieren und so ihre Lebensqualität zu verbessern. Achim Kramer und Russell Foster geben uns Einblicke in ihre Arbeit und erklären, warum zirkadiane Rhythmen so wichtig für unsere Gesundheit und unser Wohlbefinden sind.


Prof. Alex Kacelnik und Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock

Prof. Alex Kacelnik und Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock
Bildquelle: privat / Kopf & Kragen

Intelligenz erforschen – Was uns Vögel und Roboter über das Lernen beibringen können

Alex Kacelnik, emeritierter Professor für Verhaltensökologie an der University of Oxford, und Oliver Brock, Professor an der Technischen Universität Berlin, sprechen über ihr interdisziplinäres Projekt „Parrobots – Understanding physical problem solving in parrots and robots“.

Die Podcastfolge auf SpotifyApple Podcasts und Google Podcasts

Man könnte meinen, dass künstliche Intelligenz und Papageien nicht viel miteinander zu tun haben, aber genau das widerlegen unsere heutigen Gäste Alex Kacelnik, der auf das Verhalten von Tieren spezialisiert ist, und Oliver Brock, ein Experte für Robotik und künstliche Intelligenz.

Die Forscher filmen Kakadus beim Lösen kinetisch-mechanischer Probleme. Diese Videos werden dann analysiert und zur Entwicklung eines Roboters mit künstlicher Intelligenz verwendet, der ähnliche Aufgaben bewältigen kann. In diesem Prozess gehen die beiden Wissenschaftler einigen der grundlegendsten Fragen über die Natur der Intelligenz nach.


Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy und Prof. Dr. Dan Hicks

Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy und Prof. Dr. Dan Hicks
Bildquelle: Peter Rigaud / privat

Kriegerische Beute – die dunkle Seite der europäischen Museumssammlungen

Dan Hicks, Archäologieprofessor an der University of Oxford, und Bénédicte Savoy, Kunsthistorikerin an der Technischen Universität Berlin, arbeiten gemeinsam an einem Projekt, das durch die OX/BER Wissenschaftskooperation finanziert wird.

Die Podcastfolge auf SpotifyApple Podcasts und Google Podcasts

Vom British Museum in London bis zum neuen Humboldt Forum in Berlin – die Museen in ganz Europa sind gefüllt mit wertvollen antiken Artefakten aus aller Welt. Doch wie diese Artefakte in die Sammlungen der europäischen Museen gelangten, ist meist mit kolonialer Eroberung, Krieg und Gewalt verbunden – ein Umstand, der noch bis vor Kurzem weitgehend vergessen oder ignoriert wurde. Dan Hicks und Bénédicte Savoy wollen das nun ändern.

Das Projekt mit dem Titel Restitution of Knowledge (Wiederherstellung des Wissens) zielt darauf ab, das Wissen über die unlauteren Mittel und Wege, durch die viele dieser Artefakte in die europäischen Sammlungen gelangten, aufzudecken, zu dokumentieren und weiterzugeben. In der Podcastfolge sprechen sie über die Ergebnisse ihrer Forschung, über ihre Bedeutung für die europäischen Museen und darüber, was mit den Objekten geschehen sollte, die unrechtmäßig entwendet worden sind.


Fabian Braesemann und Fabian Stephany

Fabian Braesemann und Fabian Stephany
Bildquelle: privat / Markus Rössle

From Covid to Gentrification – Using Big Data to Help Wider Society

Fabian Braesemann und Fabian Stephany sind beide am Oxford Internet Institute als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter tätig.

Die Podcastfolge auf Spotify, Apple Podcasts und Google Podcasts

Jeden Tag verfolgen unzählige Apps und Dienste über unsere Computer und Geräte unser Verhalten bis ins kleinste Detail. Die meisten dieser Informationen werden von Unternehmen gesammelt und analysiert, die versuchen, uns etwas zu verkaufen – wie Amazon oder Google.

Aber könnte diese Fülle an Daten auch so genutzt werden, dass sie der Gesellschaft tatsächlich zugute kommt? Genau das wollen die Wirtschafts- und Datenwissenschaftler Fabian Braesemann und Fabian Stephany mit dem Berliner Unternehmen DWG erreichen, das sie derzeit als geplante Ausgründung aus der University of Oxford gründen. Die Idee entstand, als sich beide um eine Projektförderung bei der OX/BER Wissenschaftskooperation bewarben.

Wie im Podcast erörtert wird, kann die DWG durch die Kombination von Datensätzen auf neuartige Weise ein neues Licht auf komplexe gesellschaftliche Dynamiken werfen: von der Untersuchung der wirtschaftlichen Anfälligkeit von Covid bis hin zur Suche nach Möglichkeiten zur Vorhersage der Gentrifizierung. Diese Informationen können dann genutzt werden, um Regierungen und Organisationen zu helfen, bessere Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Schlagwörter