Global Responsibility in Times of Migration: What is the Role of the University?

Nov 20, 2018 | 04:00 PM c.t. - 05:45 PM

A Lecture within the Context of „Veritas, Iustitia, Libertas: Konturen einer wertorientierten Universität der Zukunft“ - Event Series in Honor of Freie Universität Berlin's 70th Birthday

Global responsibility is often referred to as an integral part of a university’s internationalization policy. While this is obvious when it comes to specific challenges, such as the integration of refugee students and scholars through rescue policies, it also plays a role when scholars participate in the politically controversial debate on migration. In the aftermath of the arrival of more than a million refugees in Europe in 2015, universities set up numerous programs to welcome refugee students and at-risk scholars. However, questions remain. What are the challenges related to these policies? How have they affected academic life and diversity on campus? And how do the often extremely controversial political debates challenge knowledge production in the higher education sector?

Gülay Çağlar is professor of Political Science with a focus on gender and diversity studies at Freie Universität Berlin. Among other topics, she concentrates her research on the role of scientific knowledge in policy processes, especially in economic policy, and the way public debates influence knowledge production.

Leyla Dakhli is a full-time researcher at the CNRS – Centre Marc Bloch, Berlin. She is a specialist in the social and intellectual history of the Arab World and is currently leading a research program funded by the European Research Council on the Arab revolts since the 1950’s. She has also initiated, together with Pascale Laborier, a research program on rescue policies in academia since the 1970’s.

Michael Keith is Director of the Centre on Migration, Policy and Society (COMPAS) at the University of Oxford. His research focuses on migration related processes of change in urban environments. His next publication will be a book entitled: “Power, Identity and Representation: Race, Governance and Mobilisation in British Society.”

The debate will be chaired by Florian Kohstall, head of Welcome@FUBerlin-Program and initiator of “Academics in Solidarity”, a mentoring program for at risk and refugee scholars.

Please pre-register via email: cic@fu-berlin.de

Time & Location

Nov 20, 2018 | 04:00 PM c.t. - 05:45 PM

Freie Universität Berlin, Seminarzentrum, Room L113, Silberlaube (ground floor), Otto-von-Simson-Str. 26, 14195 Berlin

Global Responsibility in Times of Migration: What is the Role of the University?

20.11.2018 | 16:00 c.t. - 17:45

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von „Veritas, Iustitia, Libertas: Konturen einer wertorientierten Universität der Zukunft“ - Veranstaltungsreihe zum 70. Geburtstag der Freien Universität Berlin

Globale Verantwortung wird oft als integraler Bestandteil der Internationalisierungspolitik einer Universität bezeichnet. Dies ist zwar bei spezifischen Herausforderungen wie der Integration von Studierenden und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit Fluchthintergrund durch sogenannte rescue policies offensichtlich, spielt aber auch eine Rolle, wenn Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an der politisch kontroversen Debatte über Migration teilnehmen. Nach der Ankunft von mehr als einer Million Flüchtlingen in Europa im Jahr 2015 haben die Universitäten zahlreiche Programme zur Aufnahme von Flüchtlingsstudierenden und bedrohten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern eingerichtet. Allerdings bleiben Fragen offen. Was sind die Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit diesen Maßnahmen und Programmen? Wie haben sie das akademische Leben und die Vielfalt auf dem Campus beeinflusst? Und wie stellen die oft äußerst kontrovers geführten politischen Debatten die Wissensproduktion an Hochschulen in Frage?

Gülay Çağlar ist Professorin für Politikwissenschaft mit dem Schwerpunkt Gender- und Diversitätsforschung an der Freien Universität Berlin. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen unter anderem auf der Rolle wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in politischen Prozessen, insbesondere in der Wirtschaftspolitik, und der Frage, wie öffentliche Debatten die Wissensproduktion beeinflussen.

Leyla Dakhli ist hauptberufliche Forscherin am CNRS - Centre Marc Bloch, Berlin. Sie ist Expertin für die Sozial- und Geistesgeschichte der arabischen Welt und leitet derzeit ein vom European Research Council finanziertes Forschungsprogramm über die arabischen Revolten seit den 1950er Jahren. Gemeinsam mit Pascale Laborier hat sie ein Forschungsprogramm zum Thema der rescue policies im Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsbereich seit den 1970er Jahren initiiert.

Michael Keith ist Direktor des Centre on Migration, Policy and Society (COMPAS) an der University of Oxford. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf migrationsbedingten Veränderungsprozessen in urbanen Umgebungen. Seine nächste Veröffentlichung wird ein Buch mit dem Titel "Macht, Identität und Repräsentation: Rasse, Governance und Mobilisierung in der britischen Gesellschaft" sein.

Florian Kohstall, Leiter des Welcome@FUBerlin-Programms und Initiator von "Academics in Solidarity", einem Mentoring-Programm für bedrohte bzw. verfolgte WissenschaftlerInnen, wird die Diskussion moderiern.

Um Anmeldung per E-Mail wird gebeten: cic@fu-berlin.de

Zeit & Ort

20.11.2018 | 16:00 c.t. - 17:45

Freie Universität Berlin, Seminarzentrum, Raum L113, Silberlaube (Erdgeschoss), Otto-von-Simson-Str. 26, 14195 Berlin