Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Distributed Network for Publishing Services

Project Description

The objective of the project “Distributed Network for Publishing Services” (BUA DNPS) is the cooperative development of consulting and services for scientific publishing as well as the expansion of interlinked open access publishing infrastructures based on distributed competencies focuses. The project, funded by the Berlin University Alliance (BUA), is a cooperation between the Medical Library of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin and the university libraries of Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and Technische Universität Berlin.

The increasingly complex publication landscape requires consulting and services on organizational, legal and technical issues of scientific publishing. In addition, contemporary open access publishing infrastructures for the production, distribution and bibliometric classification of scientific publications must be established and expanded. The BUA DNPS establishes transparency for publication processes, creates legal certainty, increases the visibility of quality-assured publications, and enables the bibliometric classification of published research results. The project thus contributes to the sustainable quality assurance of scientific publishing, to the visibility of excellent research in the Berlin alliance, and takes up essential goals of the excellence strategy.

The new publication network enables open access publications in non-commercial, science-related infrastructures. BUA DNPS supports scientists from the partner institutions of the BUA, visiting fellow as well as employees of collaboration partners or large supra-regional research projects. In addition, the orientation, the program, and the structure of the publication network are anchored in the need for specialist cultures – including interdisciplinary ones.

Open access has arrived in science and is increasingly gaining acceptance as a publication model. The direct accessibility of scientific results is also increasingly integrated into the requirements of international research funders. Global visibility and accessibility, as well as new forms and methods of scientific publishing, make it possible for research results to be published transparently, widely received, and conveniently reused. For many years, Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin backed by the Senate Chancellery for Science and Research, have been strongly committed to advancing open access and significantly increasing the number of primary publications by their scientists in open access.

“Berlin Universities Publishing”

The implementation of open access by commercial publishers often do not meet the expectations of authors. The overarching goal of the project is to create an open access publishing house called “Berlin Universities Publishing” in which the publication services of the BUA institutions will be offered jointly.

Three areas are planned for the services of “Berlin Universities Publishing”, each of which is located at one of the alliance universities:

  1. The scientific journals section is the responsibility of the university library of Freie Universität Berlin. To this end, the internationally widely used publication platform Open Journal Systems (OJS) is to be expanded in such a way that it can be used by all the partner institutions of the BUA. The focus is on publication models that can be financed without article fees.
  2. Regarding the publication of books, there are 50 years of publishing experience at Technische Universität Berlin. The university library will establish an open access publishing platform for books (high-quality series, monographs, edited volumes, conference volumes) of all partner institutions. For this purpose, it is planned to use a powerful technical infrastructure as well as to cooperate with commercial and non-commercial publishers.
  3. A publication network requires quality assurance according to subject-specific standards and excellent support for authors, publishers, and editors.

For these two fields, the competences are bundled at the university library of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin The libraries of the other partner institutions are integrated. Consultancy services for authors on publishing as well as on rights and licenses are being developed, especially regarding image rights and the linking of research data. In addition, publishers of existing journals or book series should be enabled to switch to an open access publishing model.

Contact

Project management:
Freie Universität Berlin: Dr. Andreas Brandtner
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Prof. Dr. Andreas Degkwitz
Technische Universität Berlin: Jürgen Christof
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin: Ursula Flitner

Project coordination:
Freie Universität Berlin: Martin Lee, Dr. Christina Riesenweber
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Christian Winterhalter
Technische Universität Berlin: Dagmar Schobert
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin: Jenny Delasalle

Project collaboration:
Freie Universität Berlin: Dr. Michael Kleineberg, Dr. Ronald Steffen
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Marc Lange
Technische Universität Berlin: Elena Di Rosa, Rebecca Walter
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin: Dr. Christine Mieck

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Distributed Network for Publishing Services

Projektbeschreibung

Zielsetzung des Vorhabens „Distributed Network for Publishing Services” (BUA DNPS) ist der kooperative Aufbau von Beratungs- und Serviceleistungen zum wissenschaftlichen Publizieren sowie der Ausbau vernetzter Open-Access-Publikationsinfrastrukturen auf der Grundlage verteilter Kompetenzschwerpunkte. Das durch die Berlin University Alliance (BUA) geförderte Projekt ist eine Kooperation der Medizinischen Bibliothek der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und der Universitätsbibliotheken der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Die komplexer werdende Publikationslandschaft erfordert Beratungs- und Serviceleistungen zu organisatorischen, rechtlichen und technischen Fragen des wissenschaftlichen Publizierens. Zudem müssen zeitgemäße Open-Access-Publikationsinfrastrukturen für die Produktion, Distribution und bibliometrische Einordnung wissenschaftlicher Veröffentlichungen auf- und ausgebaut werden. Mit dem BUA DNPS werden Transparenz für Publikationsprozesse hergestellt, Rechtssicherheit geschaffen, die Sichtbarkeit von qualitätsgesicherten Publikationen erhöht und die bibliometrische Einordnung publizierter Forschungsergebnisse ermöglicht. Das Projekt trägt damit zur nachhaltigen Qualitätssicherung des wissenschaftlichen Publizierens bei, zur Sichtbarkeit exzellenter Forschung im Berliner Verbund und greift wesentliche Ziele der Exzellenzstrategie auf.

Das neue Publikationsnetzwerk ermöglicht Veröffentlichungen im Open Access in nichtkommerziellen, wissenschaftsnahen Infrastrukturen. BUA DNPS unterstützt dabei Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Verbundpartnerinnen der BUA, Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler wie auch Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von Kooperationspartnerinnen und -partnern oder großen überregionalen Forschungsprojekten. Verankert wird zudem in der Ausrichtung, dem Programm und der Struktur des Publikationsnetzwerks der Bedarf von Fachkulturen – auch interdisziplinär.

Open Access ist in der Wissenschaft angekommen und setzt sich als Publikationsmodell zunehmend durch. Die direkte Zugänglichkeit wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse wird auch vermehrt in die Anforderungen internationaler Forschungsförderer integriert. Die weltweite Sichtbarkeit und Zugänglichkeit sowie neue Formen und Methoden des wissenschaftlichen Publizierens machen es möglich, dass Forschungsergebnisse transparent veröffentlicht, breit rezipiert und komfortabel nachgenutzt werden können. Die Freie Universität Berlin, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin sowie die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin setzen sich seit vielen Jahren mit Unterstützung der Senatskanzlei für Wissenschaft und Forschung nachdrücklich dafür ein, Open Access voranzutreiben und die Anzahl von Primärpublikationen ihrer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler im Open Access deutlich zu erhöhen.

„Berlin Universities Publishing“

Die Open-Access-Praxis kommerzieller Verlage entspricht oft nicht den Erwartungen der Autorinnen und Autoren. Es ist übergeordnetes Ziel des Projekts, einen Open-Access-Verlag mit dem Namen „Berlin Universities Publishing“ zu schaffen, in dem die Publikationsdienstleistungen der BUA-Einrichtungen gemeinsam angeboten werden.

Für die Services von „Berlin Universities Publishing“ sind drei Bereiche vorgesehen, die jeweils an einer der Verbunduniversitäten angesiedelt sind:

  1. Die Sparte der wissenschaftlichen Journale wird von der Universitätsbibliothek der Freien Universität Berlin verantwortet. Dafür soll die international weit verbreitete Publikationsplattform Open Journal Systems (OJS) so ausgebaut werden, dass sie von allen Verbundpartnerinnen der BUA genutzt werden kann. Im Vordergrund stehen dabei Publikationsmodelle, die ohne Artikelgebühren finanziert werden können.
  2. Hinsichtlich der Veröffentlichung von Büchern besteht an der Technischen Universität Berlin eine 50-jährige Verlagserfahrung. Die Universitätsbibliothek wird eine Open-Access-Publikationsplattform für Bücher (hochwertige Schriftenreihen, Monografien, Sammelbände, Konferenzbände) aller Verbundpartnerinnen aufbauen. Dafür ist vorgesehen, eine leistungsstarke technische Infrastruktur zu nutzen ebenso wie mit kommerziellen und nicht-kommerziellen Verlagen zusammenzuarbeiten.
  3. Ein Publikationsnetzwerk benötigt Qualitätssicherung nach fachspezifischen Standards und eine ausgezeichnete Betreuung der Autorinnen und Autoren, der Herausgeberinnen und Herausgeber sowie der Redaktionen. Für diese beiden Felder werden die Kompetenzen an der Universitätsbibliothek der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gebündelt, die Bibliotheken der anderen Verbundpartnerinnen sind eingebunden. Entwickelt werden Beratungsangebote für Autorinnen und Autoren zum Publizieren sowie zu Rechten und Lizenzen, insbesondere bei Bildrechten und der Verknüpfung von Forschungsdaten. Darüber hinaus soll Herausgeberinnen und Herausgebern existierender Zeitschriften oder Buchreihen der Wechsel in ein Open-Access-Publikationsmodell ermöglicht werden.

Ansprechpersonen

Projektleitung:
Freie Universität Berlin: Dr. Andreas Brandtner
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Prof. Dr. Andreas Degkwitz
Technische Universität Berlin: Jürgen Christof
Charité: Ursula Flitner

Projektkoordination:
Freie Universität Berlin: Martin Lee, Dr. Christina Riesenweber
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Christian Winterhalter
Technische Universität Berlin: Dagmar Schobert
Charité: Jenny Delasalle

Projektmitarbeit:
Freie Universität Berlin: Michael Kleineberg, Dr. Ronald Steffen
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin: Marc Lange
Technische Universität Berlin: Elena Di Rosa, Rebecca Walter
Charité: Dr. Christine Mieck