Working together

The Berlin University Alliance has won funding as a group in the Universities of Excellence funding line of the German government’s Excellence Strategy. The four Berlin partners – Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin – submitted a joint proposal entitled Crossing Boundaries toward an Integrated Research Environment.

The four partners within the Berlin University Alliance aim to overcome institutional and disciplinary boundaries in order to create an integrated research environment. They want to use their combined strength to be a driving force to further develop Berlin into a leading research hub in Europe and an international leader. Many issues that concern society and scholarship are so large and complex that they can only be investigated through collaboration of researchers from various disciplines. At the same time, they require the involvement of society and a strengthening of the dialogue with Berlin’s non-university research institutes, politics, business, culture, and civil society as well as international partners. To achieve this, the members of the Berlin University Alliance aim to develop a new quality in their collaboration and to pursue key issues together. They intend to address major social challenges together through interdisciplinary research. Furthermore, they aim to deepen the ongoing exchange between research and society and to better promote academic career paths with shared resources. They would like to set consistent standards in the quality of research and to utilize the scientific infrastructure, such as modern labs and expensive large equipment, together and with less bureaucracy.

For the members of the Berlin University Alliance, diversity and tolerance as well as the education of young researchers are all prerequisites for excellent research and teaching. Accordingly, the partners aim to focus on central cross-cutting issues such as the promotion of diversity and gender equality, research-oriented teaching and learning, and internationalization.

Gemeinsam im Verbund

Die Berlin University Alliance wird als Exzellenzverbund im Exzellenzstrategie-Wettbewerb des Bundes und der Länder gefördert. Der Antrag der vier Berliner Partnerinnen – die Freie Universität Berlin, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin und die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin – trägt den Titel „Crossing Boundaries toward an Integrated Research Environment“ („Grenzen überwinden für einen integrierten Forschungsraum“).

Das übergeordnete Ziel der Berlin University Alliance ist es, als treibende Kraft einen gemeinsamen integrierten Forschungsraum zu gestalten und damit Berlin als einen Wissenschaftsstandort weiter zu entwickeln, der zur internationalen Spitze zählt. Viele Fragen, die die Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft bewegen, sind so groß und vielschichtig, dass sie nur im Zusammenspiel von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern verschiedener Fachrichtungen erforscht werden können. Gleichzeitig erfordert es den Einbezug der Gesellschaft und eine Stärkung des Dialogs mit Berlins Wissenschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft, Kultur und Zivilgesellschaft sowie internationalen Partnern. Dafür wird die Berlin University Alliance die Qualität der Zusammenarbeit auf einer neuen Stufe ausbauen und zentrale Themen gemeinsam verfolgen. So möchten die Partnerinnen gezielt große gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen zusammen mit interdisziplinärer Forschung adressieren, den kontinuierlichen Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft stärken und wissenschaftliche Karrierewege noch besser und gemeinsam fördern. Außerdem möchten sie einheitliche Standards in der Qualität von Forschung setzen und die wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur, wie zum Beispiel moderne Labore und teure Großgeräte, mit weniger bürokratischem Aufwand gemeinsam nutzen.

Für die Berlin University Alliance gelten Vielfalt, Weltoffenheit und Toleranz sowie die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses als Voraussetzungen für exzellente Forschung und Lehre. Entsprechend wollen die Partnerinnen gemeinsam zentrale Querschnittsthemen wie die Förderung von Diversität und Geschlechtergerechtigkeit, forschungsorientiertes Lehren und Lernen sowie Internationalisierung in den Fokus rücken.