German Excellence Strategy

Information about the national competition to support research in Germany

In order to further strengthen top-level university research, the federal and state governments in Germany have set up a successor program to the Excellence Initiative (2005 through 2017). The German Excellence Strategy is an open-ended program to promote outstanding research clusters and universities. It is initially endowed with a total of 533 million euros annually. Of this money, 75 percent comes from the federal government and 25 percent from the states where the universities are located. Universities and associations of universities in Germany are eligible to apply within the Excellence Strategy. The German Research Foundation (DFG) and the German Council of Science and Humanities (WR) carry out the academic assessment and selection process.

In the first funding line, 50 clusters of excellence for project-based funding in internationally competitive fields of research will each receive three to ten million euros annually. There are two funding periods of seven years each. Approval and re-approval are dependent on external reviews.

The second funding line, Universities of Excellence is intended to strengthen universities or associations of universities. Depending on the proposal, the funding for universities will amount to 10 to 15 million euros annually, for associations up to 28 million euros annually. Pending a positive review of the universities every seven years, this funding line will go on indefinitely. In the first round of proposals, 11 universities or university associations were selected as universities of excellence.

The funding period for Excellence Clusters within the Excellence Strategy began January 1, 2019, and for the Universities of Excellence begins November 1, 2019.

Further Information

More Information about the German Excellence Strategy

  • Information from the German Council of Science and Humanities

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder

Informationen zum nationalen Wettbewerb zur Förderung der Forschung in Deutschland

Um die universitäre Spitzenforschung weiter zu stärken, haben Bund und Länder ein Nachfolgeprogramm für die Exzellenzinitiative (2005 bis 2017) aufgelegt: Die „Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder“ ist ein unbefristetes Programm, das herausragende Forschungscluster und Universitäten fördert. Es ist zunächst mit jährlich insgesamt 533 Millionen Euro dotiert. 75 Prozent des Geldes kommen vom Bund, das restliche Viertel tragen die Länder, in denen die ausgezeichneten Universitäten beheimatet sind. Antragsberechtigt in der Exzellenzstrategie sind Universitäten und Verbünde von Universitäten in Deutschland. Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und der Wissenschaftsrat führen das wissenschaftsgeleitete Begutachtungs- und Auswahlverfahren durch.

In der ersten Förderlinie werden 50 international wettbewerbsfähige Forschungsfelder als Exzellenzcluster mit jährlich jeweils drei bis zehn Millionen Euro gefördert. Die Förderlaufzeit beträgt grundsätzlich zweimal sieben Jahre, über die Bewilligung von Neu- und Fortsetzungsanträgen wird nach Begutachtung entschieden.

Die zweite Förderlinie „Exzellenzuniversitäten“ dient der dauerhaften Stärkung von Universitäten oder Universitätsverbünden. Je nach Antrag beträgt die Förderung der Universitäten jeweils zehn bis 15 Millionen Euro jährlich, bei Verbünden bis zu 28 Millionen. Vorbehaltlich einer positiven Begutachtung der Universität alle sieben Jahre wird die Förderung dauerhaft gezahlt. In der ersten Ausschreibungsrunde werden elf Exzellenzuniversitäten oder Universitätsverbünde ausgewählt.

Förderbeginn für die Cluster ist der 1. Januar 2019, für die Exzellenzuniversitäten und -verbünde der 1. November 2019.

Weitere Informationen zur Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder: