Offerings for Refugees

The universities in Berlin and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin help refugees embark on a study program and take their first steps in their new home.

Many students are involved in providing aid to refugees, for example by volunteering to teach German.

Many students are involved in providing aid to refugees, for example by volunteering to teach German.
Image Credit: Annika Middeldorf

How do I apply for a study placement? What documents do I need in order to continue my studies? Where in Berlin can I study architecture, and what is an auditing program? Refugees who want to embark on a course of study in Germany have many questions. To make it easier for these people to get started with their studies, the three major universities in Berlin have developed a wide range of support options.

Through the Welcome to Freie Universität Berlin, Refugees Welcome at HU , and In(2)TUBerlin programs, they have been offering help since the fall of 2015 for refugees who wish to continue their academic education in Berlin or embark on a degree program. To help refugees get their bearings at the university, the institutions’ academic advising services are in particularly high demand. They are the first point of contact with the universities for many refugees who are interested in enrolling as students.

Learning German as an Important Success Factor

In all, more than 1,800 refugees have already sought advice from Berlin’s three universities regarding study opportunities, and about 700 are participating in the programs offered (as of August 2016). To jointly further develop the programs and learn from the experiences of others, those responsible for the programs engage in regular dialogue with each other. Offerings and programs for scholars, scientists, and researchers who have fled their countries or are at risk are also among the topics that the responsible parties discuss with each other.

Helping refugees who are interested in studying embark on a regular degree program is the goal of the Studienkolleg preparatory program at Technische Universität Berlin and the Studienkolleg program at Freie Universität, which also provides educational offerings for applicants to Humboldt-Universität. Learning German is an especially important success factor here. After all, German language proficiency means more to refugees than just an improved ability to find their way around in their new home. In many study programs, adequate German language skills are a prerequisite for those who wish to start a regular program. Alongside language skills, applicants are often also required to demonstrate particular knowledge or skills in their desired subject in order to enroll. The Studienkolleg preparatory programs also offer this kind of preparation in specific subjects for those whose higher education entrance qualifications do not demonstrate that they have the required knowledge.

A prospective student of pharmacy, for example, might take classes in natural sciences, while a future journalist would enroll in humanities classes. This subject-specific education and preparation for degree programs is also provided through the Studienkolleg program, which is attended for more than one year and culminates in an exam. The language and preparatory classes offered by the program are supported by the Berlin Senate and by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

Many Volunteers Are Involved in Helping Refugees

Many people at Berlin’s universities are involved in helping refugees: students, employees of the university administration, professors, and junior researchers are all involved in a wide range of projects for refugees.

As mentors, they help refugees settle in in their new home, show newcomers around campus, help them navigate the university bureaucracy (including sometimes acting as translators), and explain the rules of degree programs and how programs are structured.

At Freie Universität there are also free training courses for volunteer teachers of German. The Kultur Café at Technische Universität Berlin holds informational events and get-togethers every month where refugee students can meet each other. One student initiative launched three years ago is the Refugee Law Clinic Berlin at Humboldt-Universität. Alongside a lecture series that teaches students about asylum and residency law, the group offers free expert legal advice for refugees and immigrants in Berlin.

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin offers medical help for refugees. In the Charité hilft (Charité helps) community outreach program, the university medical center has been honoring its obligations since September 2015 by providing medical care to refugees in various locations in Berlin and supporting activities at the state and district level. The goal is to improve medical care for refugees and ensure that they receive basic healthcare services.

Further Information

For detailed information on the universities’ refugee programs, please visit the following:

Angebote für Geflüchtete

Die Berliner Universitäten und die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin unterstützen Flüchtlinge bei der Aufnahme eines Studiums und den ersten Schritten in der neuen Heimat

Viele Studierende engagieren sich in der Flüchtlingshilfe, zum Beispiel als ehrenamtliche Deutschlehrer.

Viele Studierende engagieren sich in der Flüchtlingshilfe, zum Beispiel als ehrenamtliche Deutschlehrer.
Bildquelle: Annika Middeldorf

Wie bewerbe ich mich um einen Studienplatz? Welche Nachweise brauche ich, um mein Studium fortzuführen? Wo in Berlin kann ich Architektur studieren und was ist ein Gasthörerprogramm? Geflüchtete, die in Deutschland ein Studium aufnehmen möchten, haben viele Fragen. Um den Geflüchteten den Einstieg ins Studium zu erleichtern, haben die drei großen Berliner Universitäten vielfältige Unterstützungsangebote entwickelt.

Mit ihren Programmen Welcome@FUBerlin, Refugees Welcome an der HU und dem In(2)TUBerlin bieten sie seit Herbst 2015 Hilfe für Geflüchtete an, die ihren akademischen Bildungsweg in Berlin fortsetzen oder ein Studium aufnehmen möchten. Um Geflüchtete bei der Orientierung an der Hochschule zu unterstützen, sind vor allem die Studienberatungsstellen der Hochschulen gefragt, sie sind für viele studieninteressierte Geflüchtete der erste Kontakt zu den Universitäten.

Deutschlernen als wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor

Insgesamt haben sich an den drei Berliner Universitäten bereits mehr als 1800 Geflüchtete zu Studienmöglichkeiten beraten lassen, etwa 700 nehmen an den Programmen teil (Stand: August 2016). Um die Programme gemeinsam weiterzuentwickeln und von den Erfahrungen der anderen zu lernen, tauschen sich die Verantwortlichen der Programme in regelmäßigen Abständen untereinander aus. Auch Angebote und Programme für geflüchtete und gefährdete Wissenschaftler gehören zu den Themen, die die Verantwortlichen gemeinsam besprechen und ausführen.

Studieninteressierten Flüchtlingen den Einstieg in ein reguläres Studium zu erleichtern, ist das Ziel des Studienkollegs der Technischen Universität Berlin und des Studienkollegs der Freien Universität, an dem auch Bewerber der Humboldt-Universität ausgebildet werden. Besonders das Deutschlernen ist dabei ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor. Denn die deutsche Sprache zu beherrschen, bedeutet für Flüchtlinge nicht nur, sich in ihrer neuen Heimat besser zurechtzufinden. In vielen Studiengängen zählen ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse zu den Voraussetzungen, um ein reguläres Studium aufnehmen zu können. Neben den Sprachkenntnissen brauchen Bewerber für eine Immatrikulation häufig zudem besondere Kenntnisse für ihr Wunschfach. Auch diese fachliche Vorbereitung bieten die Studienkollegs für alle, die diese Kenntnisse nicht in ihrer Hochschulzugangsberechtigung nachweisen können.

Ein Studieninteressent für Pharmazie etwa belegt Kurse für Naturwissenschaften, ein angehender Publizist geisteswissenschaftliche Kurse. Auch diese fachspezifische Ausbildung und Studienvorbereitung leistet das Studienkolleg, das über ein Jahr lang besucht und mit einer Prüfung abgeschlossen wird. Unterstützt werden die Sprach- und Vorbereitungskurse der Studienkollegs vom Berliner Senat sowie vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD).

Viele engagieren sich ehrenamtlich in der Flüchtlingshilfe 

An den Berliner Universitäten engagieren sich viele Menschen für Geflüchtete: Studierende, Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Hochschulverwaltung, Professorinnen und Professoren und wissenschaftliche Nachwuchskräfte setzen sich in einer Vielzahl von Projekten für Flüchtlinge ein.

Als Mentorinnen und Mentoren erleichtern sie Flüchtlingen das Ankommen in der neuen Heimat, zeigen den Neuankömmlingen den Campus, helfen ihnen – manchmal auch als Übersetzer – bei der Hochschulbürokratie und erklären ihnen Studienordnungen und -aufbau.

An der Freien Universität gibt es außerdem kostenfreie Schulungen für ehrenamtliche Deutschlehrer. Im Kultur Café der Technischen Universität Berlin gibt es jeden Monat Informations- und Kennenlernveranstaltungen für geflüchtete Studierende. Als eine der studentischen Initiativen startete vor drei Jahren die Refugee Law Clinic Berlin an der Humboldt-Universität. Neben einer Vorlesungsreihe, in der Studierende das Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht kennenlernen, bietet der Verein kostenlose und kompetente Rechtsberatung für Geflüchtete und Migranten in Berlin an.

Die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin bietet den Geflüchteten medizinische Hilfe an. Mit der Aktion Charité hilft nimmt das Universitätsklinikum seit September 2015 seine Verantwortung für die medizinische Versorgung von Geflüchteten an verschiedenen Stellen in Berlin wahr und unterstützt Aktivitäten auf Landes- und Bezirksebene. Ziel ist es, die medizinische Versorgung der Geflüchteten zu verbessern und deren ärztliche Grundbetreuung zu sichern.

Weitere Informationen

Ausführliche Informationen zu den Flüchtlingsprogrammen der Hochschulen finden Sie unter: