Graduate Schools, Research Training Groups, and Doctoral Study Programs

A perfect mix to ensure excellence in educating junior scholars and scientists

A doctoral student of the Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies in the Museum of Islamic Art.

A doctoral student of the Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies in the Museum of Islamic Art.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

Berlin is home to about 100 graduate schools, doctoral programs, and research training groups. They offer opportunities to engage in structured doctoral study instead of following the long traditional procedure in Germany of securing an individual doctoral research position with a specific professor and earning a doctorate that way. Many of these doctoral study programs combine the strengths of different institutions on a targeted basis. For example, the areas of focus of specific disciplines at two or even three of the universities can supplement and complement each other perfectly, giving candidates an opportunity to put together their own ideal curricula.

Interdisciplinary Approaches Increasingly in Demand

The Global Intellectual History research training group, for example, benefits from the complementary areas of focus between disciplines at Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, both of which host the group. While Freie Universität’s areas of emphasis in teaching and research activities include global history, the history of Asia, the history of the Islamic countries, and the history of Latin America, Humboldt-Universität emphasizes the history of Africa and of southeastern Europe and both economic and social history in its teaching and research activities.

The Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies (BerGSAS) is also jointly hosted by Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität, and it is accredited at both the Dahlem Research School (DRS) and the Humboldt Graduate School (HGS). The graduate school, which was initiated by the Excellence Cluster Topoi and founded in 2011, is based at the Berliner Antike-Kolleg. In addition to their participation in research projects at the cluster, all the doctoral students receive training in one of the graduate school’s structured programs. Just as with Topoi, alongside these two universities, four independent research institutions are also involved: the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, the German Archaeological Institute, the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, and the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation. This graduate school currently offers five different doctoral programs that respond to both the specific conditions that apply in individual disciplines and the rising demand for interdisciplinary approaches. The school maintains an excellent international network and cooperative relationships with prestigious institutions in the field of ancient studies worldwide, which opens up opportunities for doctoral candidates to spend time abroad and arrange joint conferences.

The graduate education provided at the Zentrum für jüdische Studien (ZJS – Center for Jewish Studies) in Potsdam also relies on the complementary strengths of different institutions. Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, and Technische Universität Berlin are all involved in the center, along with the University of Potsdam, European University Viadrina, Abraham Geiger College, and the Moses Mendelssohn Zentrum für europäisch-jüdische Studien.

Broad-based Education through Joint Supervision

Doctoral candidates in the natural and life sciences are also educated jointly. One especially good example of this is the Research Training Group 1589, Sensory Computation in Neural Systems. Within this group, which is jointly hosted at Technische Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität, and Freie Universität and also includes researchers from Charité, experts in the fields of machine learning and artificial intelligence work together with neuroscientists. Graduates learn to work on an interdisciplinary basis in a highly innovative field right from the start.

The doctoral candidates within the UniCat cluster of excellence are connected on an institutional basis within the Berlin International Graduate School of Natural Sciences and Engineering. This graduate school is also hosted jointly by Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, and Technische Universität Berlin, and candidates are encouraged to choose two supervisors from two different institutions (and disciplines) to broaden their education.

Doctoral education at IRI Life Sciences, an alliance between Humboldt-Universität, Charité, and the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine, is also organized on a cross-institution basis. “IRI” stands for “Integrative Research Institute.” Humboldt-Universität uses funding under its institutional strategy to support institutions that take an interdisciplinary approach to their work on highly relevant topics with bright future prospects in the fields of the life sciences and/or interaction between humankind and the environment. Scientists from alliance partners are also jointly involved in work at graduate schools hosted by institutions not affiliated with any of the universities, such as the International Max Planck Research Schools of the Max Planck Society, in order to contribute their research expertise on a targeted basis.

One joint international project operated by Charité and Freie Universität Berlin is the Myograd graduate program, which has locations in Paris and Berlin. The doctoral candidates in this program work on diseases and disorders of the muscular system. They can earn a doctorate awarded by two universities – Freie Universität and one of the three partner universities in Paris that are involved in the program.

Graduiertenschulen, Graduiertenkollegs und Promotionsprogramme

Perfekte Mischung für eine exzellente Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses

Doktorandin der Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies im Museum für Islamische Kunst.

Doktorandin der Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies im Museum für Islamische Kunst.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Etwa 100 Graduiertenschulen, Doktorandenprogramme und Graduiertenkollegs gibt es in Berlin. Sie bieten die Möglichkeit zur strukturierten Promotion – neben dem in Deutschland lange Zeit klassischen individuellen Weg etwa über eine Doktorandenstelle bei einer Professorin oder einem Professor zu promovieren. Viele dieser Promotionsprogramme verbinden gezielt die Stärken verschiedener Einrichtungen. So können sich etwa die Schwerpunkte von Fächern an zwei oder sogar drei der Universitäten gut ergänzen – wodurch die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden die Möglichkeit haben, sich ideale Curricula zusammenzustellen.

Zunehmende Anforderungen an Interdisziplinarität

Die Grundlage des Graduiertenkollegs Global Intellectual History ist beispielsweise die sich ergänzende Ausrichtung von Fächerschwerpunkten an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die beide das Kolleg tragen: Während an der Freien Universität unter anderem Globalgeschichte, Geschichte Asiens, Geschichte der islamischen Länder oder die Geschichte Lateinamerikas gelehrt und erforscht wird, sind an der Humboldt-Universität die Geschichte Afrikas, Südosteuropas sowie Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte Lehr- und Forschungsschwerpunkte.

Auch die Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies (BerGSAS) wird gemeinsam von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität getragen und ist sowohl an der Dahlem Research School (DRS) als auch an der Humboldt Graduate School (HGS) akkreditiert. Die Graduiertenschule wurde vom Exzellenzcluster Topoi initiiert, 2011 gegründet und ist am Berliner Antike-Kolleg angesiedelt. Alle Topoi-Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden werden über ihre Mitarbeit in Forschungsprojekten des Clusters hinaus in einem der strukturierten Programme der Graduiertenschule ausgebildet. Neben den beiden Universitäten sind – wie bei Topoi auch – auch vier außeruniversitäre Einrichtungen eingebunden: die Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, das Deutsche Archäologische Institut, das Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz. Mit derzeit fünf verschiedenen Promotionsprogrammen trägt die BerGSAS sowohl den jeweiligen fachlichen Bedingungen Rechnung als auch den zunehmenden Anforderungen an Interdisziplinarität. Ihre exzellente internationale Vernetzung und die Kooperation mit weltweit renommierten Einrichtungen im Bereich der Antike-Forschung ermöglichen den Promovierenden Auslandsaufenthalte und die Ausrichtung gemeinsamer Konferenzen.

Auf die sich ergänzenden Stärken verschiedener Einrichtungen setzt auch die Graduiertenausbildung des Zentrums für jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg. In dem Verbundprojekt sind sowohl Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität und Technische Universität Berlin beteiligt sowie die Universität Potsdam, die Europa-Universität Viadrina, das Abraham Geiger Kolleg und das Moses Mendelssohn Zentrum für europäisch-jüdische Studien.

Breite Qualifikation durch doppelte Betreuung

In den Natur- und Lebenswissenschaften werden Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden ebenfalls gemeinsam ausgebildet. Ein besonders gutes Beispiel hierfür ist das Graduiertenkolleg 1589 „Verarbeitung sensorischer Informationen in neuronalen Systemen“. In diesem Kolleg, das von Technischer Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität und Freier Universität gemeinsam getragen wird und an dem auch Forscherinnen und Forscher der Charité beteiligt sind, arbeiten Expertinnen und Experten für Maschinenlernen oder Künstliche Intelligenz mit Neurowissenschaftlern zusammen. Absolventinnen und Absolventen lernen von Anfang an interdisziplinäres Arbeiten in einem hochinnovativen Feld.

Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des Exzellenzclusters UniCat sind in der Berlin International Graduate School of Natural Sciences and Engineering institutionell verbunden. Auch diese Graduiertenschule wird von Freier Universität, Humboldt-Universität und der Technischen Universität Berlin gemeinsam getragen, und die Promovierenden werden ermutigt, zwei Betreuungspersonen aus zwei verschiedenen Institutionen (und Disziplinen) zu wählen, um sich breiter zu qualifizieren.

Die Doktorandenausbildung im IRI Life Sciences, einem Zusammenschluss von Humboldt-Universität, Charité und Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin, ist ebenfalls einrichtungsübergreifend organisiert. „IRI“ steht dabei für „Integrative Research Institute“: Aus Mitteln des Zukunftskonzepts der Humboldt-Universität werden Institute, die fachübergreifend zu besonders relevanten und zukunftsträchtigen Themen im Bereich der Lebenswissenschaften, der Mensch-Umwelt-Interaktion arbeiten, von der Hochschule gefördert. Auch an Graduiertenschulen außeruniversitärer Einrichtungen wie den sogenannten International Max Planck Research Schools der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft wirken Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Verbundpartner gemeinsam mit – um gezielt Forschungsexpertise einzubringen.

Ein gemeinsames internationales Projekt von Charité und Freier Universität Berlin ist das Graduiertenprogramm Myograd mit Standorten in Paris und Berlin. Die Promovierenden beschäftigen sich mit Erkrankungen des Muskelsystems und können einen von beiden Universitäten vergebenen Doktortitel – der Freien Universität Berlin und einer der drei Pariser Partneruniversitäten – erwerben.