Excellence Clusters within the Excellence Initiative

Collaborative research in a big way – important scientific questions can only be solved with an interdisciplinary approach and in a team

Excellence Clusters are large collaborative research projects where scholars and scientists from different disciplines work together on a promising topic. They are a line of funding by the Excellence Initiative of the German government, and the universities in Berlin were already very successful during the first phase of the competition in 2007. Four of the 37 national clusters were started in the capital: Languages of Emotion, NeuroCure, Topoi, and Unicat. Three of the Berlin clusters were extended during the second phase in 2012, and a new cluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung (Image Knowledge Design) was added.

At least two of the four partner institutions in Berlin are involved in the above-named clusters – either as joint applicants or through joint research projects. Numerous outside university research institutions, economic enterprises, and cultural institutions are involved as well.

The Excellence Clusters are a model of success. In the Excellence Strategy, the follow-up competition held by the government to fund cutting-edge research in Germany, there is a new funding program for this form of research association. And the Berlin partners were very successful in this competition.

In the fall of 2018, seven clusters of excellence were approved for funding within the Excellence Strategy. As of January 1, 2019, these interdisciplinary research projects are being funded each with up to ten million euros per year. You can read more about the excellence clusters within the German Excellence strategy here.

Overview of Clusters within the Excellence Initiative:

Image Knowledge Gestaltung. An interdisciplinary laboratory

New in basic research: Humanities scholars, scientists, and engineers, as well as medical doctors work together with designers and architects in the Cluster Image Knowledge Gestaltung.

New in basic research: Humanities scholars, scientists, and engineers, as well as medical doctors work together with designers and architects in the Cluster Image Knowledge Gestaltung.
Image Credit: Matthias Heyde / HU Berlin

The solution to complex problems requires the knowledge and expertise of researchers from various fields of knowledge. The Interdisciplinary Laboratory Image Knowledge Gestaltung is one such union of social, natural, and engineering sciences and medicine as well as – a first for basic research – design and architecture.

More than 25 different disciplines conduct research into fundamental design processes in the sciences in the laboratory together. The focus here is the central role of images in gaining, modeling, transmitting, and recording findings, in particular, against the background of the development of digital imaging processes and virtual visual imagery.

Host university: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Participants: Freie Universität Berlin and Technische Universität Berlin, as well as the Berlin University of the Arts, the Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin, the German Federal Institute for Material Research, the Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces (MPIKG) Potsdam, the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science Berlin, the Museum of Natural Science Berlin, the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation, as well as Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz (the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation) are all participants.

More information

NeuroCure

A look into the fluorescent microscope: In the NeuroCure Excellence Cluster, scientists investigate the mechanisms of neurological illnesses.

A look into the fluorescent microscope: In the NeuroCure Excellence Cluster, scientists investigate the mechanisms of neurological illnesses.
Image Credit: NeuroCure / Juergen Loesel

In the NeuroCure Excellence Cluster, scientists explore the mechanisms of neurological illnesses in order to find innovative treatment methods. Building on the initial focus on medical conditions such as stroke, multiple sclerosis, and epilepsy, the scientists now also conduct research on psychiatric disorders including Alzheimer’s, autism, depression, and schizophrenia.

In each of the individual fields of research, basic scientists work closely with clinicians – so that the research results can be used more quickly for the development of new therapies.

Host universities: Freie Universität Berlin und Humboldt Universität zu Berlin along with their joint medical school Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin Participants are the German Rheumatism Research Center Berlin, the Leibniz Institute for Molecular Pharmacology in Berlin, and the Max-Delbrüeck Center for Molecular Medicine in Berlin.

More information

Topoi - The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilizations

Excavation at Tell Fecheriye in Syria: The Excellence Cluster Topoi deals with cultures of the ancient world.

Excavation at Tell Fecheriye in Syria: The Excellence Cluster Topoi deals with cultures of the ancient world.
Image Credit: D. Bonatz

In the ancient studies Excellence Cluster Topoi, experts from various disciplines research the cultures of the ancient world: The main focus is on the area around the Middle East, the Mediterranean, and the Black Sea, but the Eurasian steppe and Central Europe are also taken into account. The period being researched comprises a time span from the 7th millennium B.C. over late Antiquity and up to the early modern era.

With this broad view, developments such as migratory movements, the spread of innovations, or the transfer of knowledge over long periods and great distances are being researched. Among others philologists and archaeologists as well as geographers and other natural scientists all work together on the guiding concepts space and knowledge. Thus a new intensive form of cooperation in the small disciplines has established itself in the last ten years.

Host universities: Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin  Participating institutions are Technische Universität Berlin as well as the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, the German Archaeological Institute, Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin, the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, and the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.

More information

UniCat: Unifying Concepts in Catalysis

UniCat works toward using sources of energy and raw materials more efficiently.

UniCat works toward using sources of energy and raw materials more efficiently.
Image Credit: Jacek Ruta/PR/TU Berlin

The goal of the UniCat Cluster: Unifying Concepts in Catalysis is to develop catalysts for a more efficient use of energy sources and raw materials as well as to produce new active agents with the help of synthetic biology.

The areas of application extend from medicine to car engines. In order to transfer the results into industrial applications more quickly, a joint laboratory was established by Technische Universität Berlin together with BASF, the BasCat.

Host university: Technische Universität Berlin; Co-applicants: Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Participants: Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces (MPIKG) in Potsdam, University of Potsdam Industry partners: BASF SE, Bayer HealthCare, Evonik, PolyAn, Sanofi-Aventis, Siemens, SüdChemie, and Uhde

More information

Exzellenzcluster

Verbundforschung in großem Stil – bedeutende wissenschaftliche Fragen können nur interdisziplinär und im Team gelöst werden

Exzellenzcluster sind große Verbundforschungsprojekte, in denen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedener Disziplinen zu einem zukunftsträchtigen Thema zusammenarbeiten. Sie sind eine Förderlinie der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder, in der Berliner Universitäten bereits bei der ersten Phase des Wettbewerbs 2007 sehr erfolgreich waren. Vier von bundesweit 37 Clustern gingen in der Hauptstadt an den Start: Languages of Emotion, Neurocure, Topoi und Unicat. Drei der Berliner Cluster wurden in der zweiten Phase 2012 verlängert, als neuer Cluster kam Bild Wissen Gestaltung hinzu.

An allen Verbünden sind mindestens zwei der vier Partnereinrichtungen in Berlin beteiligt – entweder als gemeinsame Antragsteller oder durch gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte. Auch zahlreiche außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen, Wirtschaftsunternehmen und Kulturinstitutionen wirken mit.

Exzellenzcluster sind ein Erfolgsmodell. In der Exzellenzstrategie, dem Nachfolge-Wettbewerb des Bundes und der Länder zur Förderung der Spitzenforschung in Deutschland, gibt es deshalb erneut ein Förderprogramm für diese Form der Forschungsverbünde. Auch hier konnten die Berliner Partnerinnen einen Erfolg erzielen: Sieben Exzellenzcluster wurden im Herbst 2018 zur Förderung bewilligt. Die interdisziplinären Forschungsvorhaben werden seit dem 1. Januar 2019 für zunächst sieben Jahre jeweils mit jährlich bis zu zehn Millionen Euro gefördert. Erfahren Sie mehr über die Cluster der Exzellenzstrategie. 

Exzellenzcluster aus der Exzellenzinitiative im Kurzportrait:

Bild Wissen Gestaltung. Ein interdisziplinäres Labor

Neu in der Grundlagenforschung: Am Cluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung arbeiten Geistes-, Natur- und Technikwissenschaftler sowie Mediziner zusammen mit Designern und Architekten.

Neu in der Grundlagenforschung: Am Cluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung arbeiten Geistes-, Natur- und Technikwissenschaftler sowie Mediziner zusammen mit Designern und Architekten.
Bildquelle: Matthias Heyde / HU Berlin

Die Lösung komplexer Probleme bedarf des Wissens und der Fähigkeiten von Forscherinnen und Forschern aus den unterschiedlichen Wissenschaftsbereichen. Das Interdisziplinäre Labor Bild Wissen Gestaltung ist ein solcher Zusammenschluss aus Geistes-, Natur- und Technikwissenschaften, der Medizin sowie – erstmalig für Grundlagenforschung – auch der Gestaltungsdisziplinen Design und Architektur.

Mehr als 25 verschiedene Disziplinen erforschen in dem Labor grundlegende Gestaltungsprozesse der Wissenschaften. Im Fokus steht dabei die zentrale Rolle von Bildern für das Gewinnen, Modellieren, Vermitteln und Dokumentieren von Erkenntnissen, insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund der Entwicklung digitaler Bildgebungsverfahren und virtueller Bildwelten.

Sprecherhochschule: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Beteiligt sind die Freie Universität Berlin und die Technische Universität Berlin, sowie die Universität der Künste, Kunsthochschule Weißensee, Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung, Max-Planck-Institut für Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung (MPIKG) Potsdam, Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte Berlin, Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau sowie die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.

Mehr Informationen

NeuroCure

Blick ins Fluorenszenzmikroskop: Im Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure gehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Mechanismen neurologischer Erkrankungen auf den Grund.

Blick ins Fluorenszenzmikroskop: Im Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure gehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Mechanismen neurologischer Erkrankungen auf den Grund.
Bildquelle: NeuroCure / Juergen Loesel

Im Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure ergründen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Mechanismen neurologischer Erkrankungen, um innovative Behandlungswege zu finden. Im Zentrum der Forschung stehen Leiden wie Schlaganfall, Parkinson, Multiple Sklerose und Epilepsie, aber auch Alzheimer, Autismus, Depressionen und Schizophrenie werden am Cluster erforscht.

In jedem der einzelnen Forschungsgebiete arbeiten Grundlagenwissenschaftler eng mit Klinikern zusammen – damit Forschungsergebnisse schneller für die Entwicklung neuer Therapien genutzt werden können.

Sprecherhochschulen sind Freie Universität Berlin und Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin als Trägerinnen der Charité -Universitätsmedizin Berlin Beteiligt sind das Deutsches Rheuma-Forschungszentrum in Berlin, das Leibniz-Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie in Berlin und das Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin in Berlin.

Weitere Informationen

Topoi - The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilizations

Grabung am Tell Fecheriye in Syrien: Der Exzellenzcluster Topoi beschäftigt sich mit Kulturen der Alten Welt.

Grabung am Tell Fecheriye in Syrien: Der Exzellenzcluster Topoi beschäftigt sich mit Kulturen der Alten Welt.
Bildquelle: D. Bonatz

In dem altertumswissenschaftlichen Exzellenzcluster Topoi erforschen Expertinnen und Experten aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen Kulturen der Alten Welt: Im Zentrum steht dabei der Raum um den Vorderen Orient, das Mittelmeer und das Schwarze Meer, aber auch die eurasische Steppe und Mitteleuropa werden in den Blick genommen. Der untersuchte Zeitraum umfasst dabei eine Zeitspanne vom 7. Jahrtausend v. Chr. über die Spätantike bis zum Mittelalter und die Frühe Neuzeit.

Durch diesen weiten Blick können Entwicklungen wie Migrationsbewegungen, die Ausbreitung von Innovationen oder die Weitergabe von Wissen über lange Zeiträume und große Distanzen hinweg erforscht werden. Zu den beiden Leitbegriffen Raum und Wissen arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unter anderem aus den Philologien und Archäologien sowie der Geographie und anderen Naturwissenschaften zusammen. Seit zehn Jahren hat sich so eine neue, intensive Form der Zusammenarbeit in den Kleinen Fächern etabliert.

Sprecherhochschulen: Freien Universität Berlin und Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin  Beteiligt ist die Technische Universität Berlin sowie die Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, das Deutsches Archäologisches Institut, die Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin, das Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.

Weitere Informationen

UniCat: Unifying Concepts in Catalysis

Energieträger und Rohstoffe effizienter nutzen: Dieses Ziel verfolgen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Clusters UniCat.

Energieträger und Rohstoffe effizienter nutzen: Dieses Ziel verfolgen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Clusters UniCat.
Bildquelle: Jacek Ruta/PR/TU Berlin

Ziel des Clusters UniCat: Unifying Concepts in Catalysis ist es, Katalysatoren für eine effizientere Nutzung von Energieträgern und Rohstoffen zu entwickeln sowie neue Wirkstoffe mithilfe der Synthetischen Biologie herzustellen. Die Anwendungsgebiete reichen von der Medizin bis zu Automotoren. Um die Ergebnisse schneller in die industrielle Anwendung zu überführen, wurde beispielsweise an der Technischen Universität Berlin mit der BASF ein Gemeinschaftslabor, das BasCat, gegründet.

Sprecherhochschule: TechnischeUniversität Berlin Beteiligt sind: Freie Universität Berlin und die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Berlin, Max-Planck-Institut für Kolloid und Grenzflächenforschung (MPIKG) in Potsdam, Universität Potsdam; Industriepartner: BASF SE, Bayer HealthCare, Evonik, PolyAn, Sanofi-Aventis, Siemens, SüdChemie sowie Uhde

Weitere Informationen