Strong Partners

Global challenges call for shared solutions.

Four strong academic and research partners in Berlin have joined forces to find answers to complex, pressing questions together, across the boundaries of individual disciplines and institutions: Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin.

The research performed by this university alliance is already a key factor making Berlin one of Europe’s leading hubs of knowledge and research. These institutions draw well-known scholars, researchers, and scientists from all over the world while also serving as a breeding ground for outstanding next-generation talent in science, research, and academia. More than 100,000 students study here. Through numerous partnerships, some of them having grown up over decades, each of the four institutions has forged global networks with other top academic and research institutions, and all of them regularly hold excellent positions in international rankings.

Our locations

Our locations

Freie Universität Berlin

Freie Universität Berlin was founded in 1948 by students and professors, scholars and scientists, with support from the American Allied forces and Berlin politicians.

Today, Freie Universität, with its motto of Veritas, Justitia, Libertas (Truth, Justice, Freedom), is among Germany’s strongest higher education institutions in terms of research. Some 41,000 students from more than 130 nations study on the university’s park-like campus in the Dahlem district and at facilities in adjacent city districts. There are currently more than 170 degree programs with 550 professors teaching here.

Freie Universität won overall distinction in the Excellence Initiative in 2007 and 2012 for its institutional strategy, “Veritas – Justitia – Libertas. International Network University,” which made it the first university in Berlin to earn the status of a University of Excellence. The university has seven liaison offices worldwide. In the follow-up competition, the German Excellence Strategy, Freie Universität is the host university of the Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS) cluster of excellence and the Temporal Communities – Doing Literature in a Global Perspective cluster of excellence in addition to the cohost university, in cooperation with Humboldt-Universität and Technische Universität Berlin, of the MATH+ cluster of excellence. Freie Universität is also involved in the NeuroCure and Matters of Activity: Image Space Material excellence clusters.

More information:
  • Website of Freie Universität Berlin

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Humboldt-Universität is the oldest higher education institution in Berlin. Ever since it was first founded at the start of the 19th century, the university has engaged in teaching and research activities in all of the fundamental academic disciplines in the humanities, social and cultural sciences, law, life sciences, mathematics and natural sciences, medicine, agricultural sciences and sustainability research, and ancient civilizations. Today, nearly 41,000 young people from over 100 countries are enrolled in 180 bachelor’s and master’s degree programs at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, supervised by some 480 professors.

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin received distinction in the Excellence Initiative jointly sponsored by the German federal and state governments in 2012 for its institutional strategy, “Educating Enquiring Minds. Individuality – Openness – Guidance.” Within the Excellence Strategy, in 2018 the university won funding as host university of the Matters of Activity: Image Space Material cluster of excellence and is also involved in the MATH+, NeuroCure, Unifying Systems in Catalysis (UniSysCat), and Science of Intelligence (SCIoI) excellence clusters.

More information: 
  • Website of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin 

Technische Universität Berlin

The roots of Technische Universität Berlin and its predecessor institutions stretch back to the time of Frederick II, King of Prussia, during the 18th century. In its current form, Technische Universität Berlin was founded in 1946. Almost 33,000 young people from 147 countries are enrolled in over 120 bachelor’s and master’s degree programs here, where they pursue their education through close interaction between engineering and natural sciences, planning, social sciences, economics, and humanities with an eye to industry and the wider society. With its approximately 370 professors and some 20 spin-offs each year, Technische Universität Berlin is also an important economic driver and incubator of innovations in the German capital city region.

TU Berlin obtained support for the Unifying Systems in Catalysis (UniSysCat) cluster of excellence and the Science of Intelligence (SCIoI) in the Excellence Strategy jointly sponsored by the German federal and state governments. Together with Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and Freie Universität, it is the host university of the Math+ excellence cluster.

More information: 
  • Website of Technische Universität Berlin

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin is one of the largest university hospitals in Europe, boasting a total of 3,001 beds and approximately 100 departments and institutes spread over four separate campuses. At Charité, the areas of research, teaching, and medical care are closely interlinked – researchers, scientists, and physicians work together with an interdisciplinary approach. Charité is home to more than 7,500 medical and dentistry students. Its history dates back to 1710. In 2003, it became the joint medical faculty of Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. More than half of all German Nobel Prize winners in Physiology and Medicine, including Emil von Behring, Robert Koch, and Paul Ehrlich, hail from Charité.

The NeuroCure Cluster of Excellence within the Excellence Strategy is based at Charité. Researchers and scientists from Charité also contribute to research projects that are not specifically dedicated to medicine, such as the UniSysCat Cluster of Excellence cluster, as well as a number of other clusters.

More information: 
  • Website of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Starke Partnerinnen

Globale Herausforderungen sind nicht im Alleingang zu lösen.

Vier starke wissenschaftliche Partnerinnen in Berlin bündeln ihre Kräfte, um gemeinsam und über Fach- und Institutsgrenzen hinweg Antworten auf komplexe und drängende Fragen zu finden: die Freie Universität Berlin, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin sowie die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin.

Die Forschungsleistung dieses Universitätsverbundes trägt bereits heute entscheidend dazu bei, dass Berlin einer der führenden Wissenschaftsstandorte in Europa ist. Die Häuser sind Anziehungspunkte für namhafte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt und Keimzellen für herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs. Mehr als 100.000 Studierende lernen hier. Durch zahlreiche, zum Teil über Jahrzehnte gewachsene Partnerschaften ist jede der vier Einrichtungen weltweit mit anderen wissenschaftlichen Topadressen vernetzt und schneidet in internationalen Rankings regelmäßig sehr gut ab.

Standorte der Partnerinnen

Standorte der Partnerinnen

Freie Universität Berlin

Die Freie Universität Berlin wurde 1948 von Studierenden sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern gegründet, unterstützt von den amerikanischen Alliierten und Berliner Politikern.

Heute zählt die Freie Universität mit ihren Leitbegriffen Veritas, Iustitia, Libertas – Wahrheit, Gerechtigkeit, Freiheit – zu den forschungsstärksten Hochschulen in Deutschland. Gut 41.000 Studierende aus mehr als 130 Nationen lernen auf dem grünen Campus in Dahlem und angrenzenden Stadtteilen in mehr als 170 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen. 550 Professorinnen und Professorinnen lehren hier.

Die Freie Universität wurde 2007 und 2012 in der Exzellenzinitiative für ihr Zukunftskonzept „Veritas – Iustitia – Libertas. Internationale Netzwerkuniversität“ prämiiert und errang so als erste Universität in Berlin den Exzellenzstatus. Sie unterhält sieben Verbindungsbüros weltweit. Im Nachfolgewettbewerb Exzellenzstrategie ist sie Sprecherhochschule der Cluster Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS) und Temporal Communities – Doing Literature in a Global Perspective sowie gemeinsam mit der Humboldt-Universität und der Technischen Universität Berlin Sprecherin des Clusters MATH+. Außerdem ist die Freie Universität beteiligt an den Exzellenzclustern NeuroCure und Matters of Activity: Image Space Material.

  • Website der Freien Universität Berlin

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Die Humboldt-Universität ist die älteste Hochschule in Berlin. Seit ihrer Gründung zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts werden dort alle grundlegenden Wissenschaftsdisziplinen in den Geistes-, Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften, der Mathematik und den Naturwissenschaften, der Humanmedizin sowie den Agrarwissenschaften vermittelt. Heute studieren an der Humboldt-Universität knapp 41.000 junge Frauen und Männer aus über 100 Ländern in 180 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen. Betreut werden sie dabei von gut 480 Professorinnen und Professoren.

In der Exzellenz-Initiative des Bundes und der Länder wurde die Humboldt-Universität 2012 für ihr Zukunftskonzept „Bildung durch Wissenschaft: Persönlichkeit – Offenheit – Orientierung“ ausgezeichnet. Bei der Exzellenstrategie warb sie 2018 erfolgreich das Exzellenzcluster Matters of Activity: Image Space Material ein und ist außerdem beteiligt an den Clustern MATH+, NeuroCure, Unifying Systems in Catalysis (UniSysCat) und Science of Intelligence (SCIoI).

Weitere Informationen: 
  • Website der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Technische Universität Berlin

Die Wurzeln der Technischen Universität Berlin und ihrer Vorgängereinrichtungen reichen bis in die Zeit König Friedrichs II. zurück. In ihrer heutigen Form wurde die Technische Universität Berlin 1946 gegründet. Knapp 33.000 junge Menschen aus 147 Ländern in über 120 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen werden hier derzeit im engen Zusammenspiel von Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften mit den Planungs-, Sozial-, Wirtschafts- und Geisteswissenschaften für Industrie und Gesellschaft ausgebildet. Mit ihren gut 370 Professorinnen und Professoren und rund 20 Ausgründungen jährlich ist die Technische Universität Berlin zugleich ein bedeutender Wirtschaftsmotor und eine wichtige Innovationsschmiede für die Hauptstadtregion.

In der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder warb die Technische Universität Berlin den Exzellenzcluster Unifying Systems in Catalysis (UniSysCat) und den Cluster Science of Intelligence (SCIoI) ein. Außerdem ist sie gemeinsam mit der Humboldt-Universität und der Freien Universität Berlin Sprecherin des Clusters MATH+.

Weitere Informationen: 

  • Website der Technischen Universität Berlin

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin ist mit rund 100 Kliniken und Instituten an 4 Campi sowie 3.001 Betten eine der größten Universitätskliniken Europas. Hier sind Forschung, Lehre und Krankenversorgung eng miteinander vernetzt – Forschende, Ärztinnen und Ärzte arbeiten interdisziplinär zusammen. An der Berliner Universitätsmedizin werden mehr als 7.500 Studierende der Human- und der Zahnmedizin ausgebildet. Die Geschichte der Charité reicht bis ins Jahr 1710 zurück. 2003 wurde sie die gemeinsame medizinische Fakultät von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität. Über die Hälfte der deutschen Nobelpreisträger für Medizin und Physiologie wirkten an der Charité, unter ihnen Emil von Behring, Robert Koch und Paul Ehrlich.

An der Charité ist der Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure aus der Exzellenzstrategie angesiedelt. Außerdem ist die Einrichtung an weiteren Clustern beteiligt. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Charité bringen sich auch in nicht dezidiert medizinische Forschungsvorhaben – wie beim Exzellenzcluster UniSysCat – ein.

.

Weitere Informationen: 
  • Website der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin