Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Two New CRCs for Berlin

DFG grants funding for new Collaborative Research Center in the social sciences at Technische Universität and new CRC/Transregio at Freie Universität in cooperation with university in Halle in field of physics as well as extended funding for CRC/Transregio of Technische Universität

News from Nov 27, 2017

Technische Universität Berlin succeeded in winning new funding from the German Research Foundation (DFG) for Collaborative Research Center (CRC) 1265 "Re-Figuration von Räumen" (“Re-Figuration of Spaces”), and Freie Universität Berlin in cooperation with Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg (MLU) has been granted funding for a new CRC/Transregio 227 “Ultrafast Spin Dynamics.” As the DFG announced on November 27, 2017, it has earmarked funds for these projects for four years. In addition, Collaborative Research Center/Transregio 63: “Integrated Chemical Processes in Liquid Multiphase Systems” at Technische Universität Berlin in cooperation with Technische Universität Dortmund and Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Madgeburg has been granted a four-year extension.

The CRC "Re-Figuration von Räumen" will investigate the relationship between human beings and their spaces in the face of current social, political, and technological changes as well as the associated uncertainties and conflicts worldwide. Additional factors are the impact of globalization and digitalization. Researchers from six engineering and social science disciplines are working together in the new project. The project spokesperson is Prof. Dr. Martina Löw.

Scientists in Berlin and Halle involved in the CRC/Transregio “Ultrafast Spin Dynamics” in the field of physics work together on new concepts for the ultrafast manipulation of magnetic systems at the nanoscale. Partner institutions are the Fritz Haber Institute in Berlin, the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics in Halle, the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, and the Max Born Institute in Berlin. The project spokespersons are Prof. Dr. Martin Weinelt (Freie Universität Berlin) and Prof. Dr. Georg Woltersdorf (Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg).