Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Collaborative Research Centers

Science and research transcend disciplinary boundaries

There are currently 23 collaborative research centers in Berlin hosted by one of the city’s three universities or by Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. The alliance partners are involved in about 30 collaborative research centers in Germany in total. (Source: GEPRIS research database of the German Research Foundation (DFG), June 2017)

These collaborative research centers are research alliances set up to run for as long as 12 years. They are financed through funds provided by the German Research Foundation (DFG). Within the centers, scholars and scientists work together across the boundaries of their respective disciplines, institutes, and departments on a shared topic. Each center is made up of a large number of subprojects, which frequently also involve research institutions not affiliated with any of the universities.

The researchers from Berlin’s universities – Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, and Technische Universität – and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin work together in a large number of collaborative research centers.

For detailed information, please see the current list of Collaborative Research Centers on the website of the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the institutions’ own websites.