Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Meridian

The science podcast of the Berlin Center for Global Engagement (BCGE) – researchers report on their work between different worlds, from Berlin to Dakar, from Rio de Janeiro to Manila.

The science podcast of the Berlin Center for Global Engagement (BCGE)

The science podcast of the Berlin Center for Global Engagement (BCGE)
Image Credit: Unsplash/La Victorie

With the Podcast, the BCGE showcases the work of researchers addressing issues of cooperation between the Global South and the Global North, academic freedom, and science diplomacy. The researchers talk, among other things, about their interest in their subject, cooperation with partners in the Global South, and current research and debates on it.

Meridian on Spotify
Meridian on Apple Podcasts
Meridian on Google Podcasts 


Regina Sipos

Regina Sipos
Image Credit: privat

Episode 4: Grassroots Innovation in Technology – Discussing the Global Importance of Local Communities

Regina Sipos, Institute of Vocational Education and Work Studies of the Technische Universität Berlin, Steering Committee Member at the Center for Internet and Human Rights, Executive Board Member of the Global Innovation Gathering and Researcher in the BCGE funded project “Infrastructuring in Grassroots Innovation (IGI)“

The podcast episode on Spotify, Apple Podcasts and Google Podcasts

How local communities in remote areas address technological, environmental or social challenges are often overlooked by the state, politics, and in international development cooperation. In contrast, Regina Sipos views such grassroot initiatives as a major source for sustainable social innovation. In this podcast, she talks about her research in rural areas in Indonesia, how large-scale projects in development cooperation often fail, and how small interventions in local areas can provide knowledge to address global challenges.


Prof. Dr. Florian Jeßberger

Prof. Dr. Florian Jeßberger
Image Credit: Sarah Eick

Episode 3: International Criminal Justice and the German Colonial Past

Prof. Dr. Florian Jeßberger, Law Faculty of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, director of the Franz von Liszt Institute for International Criminal Justice and head of the BUA-funded project „International Criminal Justice: A Counter-Hegemonic Project?“

The podcast episode on SpotifyApple Podcasts and Google Podcasts (German)

Not only the great seafaring nations such as the Netherlands or Great Britain committed colonial crimes, but also Germany, for example in present-day Namibia, in southwestern Africa. In the genocidal massacre of the Herero, between 65,000 and 80,000 people were killed by German troops in the early twentieth century. A case for International law. Legal scholar Florian Jeßberger has a different perspective on colonial history. He wants to focus on international CRIMINAL justice and says: Here the debate is still in its infancy. He reveals what he means by that in this episode of Meridian.


Prof. Prathama Banerjee

Prof. Prathama Banerjee
Image Credit: privat

Episode 2: Thinking about time and politics from a southern perspective

Indian historian Prof. Prathama Banerjee of the Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS) in Delhi talks about controversial concepts in the humanities. She also held the second Berlin Southern Theory Lecture (Recording on YouTube).

The podcast episode on Spotify, Apple Podcasts and Google Podcasts

In December 2020, Prathama Banerjee held the second annual Berlin Southern Theory Lecture, a lecture series that aims to decenter dominant Euro-American traditions and diversify theoretical debates in the social sciences and the humanities. She is a professor of history at The Center for the Study of Developing Societies in New Delhi, India, and she has recently published the book Elementary Aspects of the Political: histories from the global south. In addition to being a historian of colonial and post-colonial India, she’s also a political theorist. In this podcast, she tells us about how she ended up investigating the meaning of concepts like ‘history’, ‘time’ and ‘the political’ in different contexts.


Prof. Dr. Jacob van Rijs

Prof. Dr. Jacob van Rijs
Image Credit: Barbra Verbij

Episode 1: Architecture between Rotterdam and Havana

Prof. Dr. Jacob van Rijs, Institute of Architecture at Technische Universität Berlin, is currently working on urban development and architecture in Havana.

The podcast episode on SpotifyApple Podcasts and Google Podcasts (German)

According to Süddeutsche Zeitung, Dutchman Jacob van Rijs co-founded the Rotterdam-based architectural firm MVRDV – one of the most daring architectural firms in the world. The Dutch pavilion at Expo 2000 in Hanover made Jacob van Rijs and his team famous. Later, they stacked different types of apartments on top of each other in their Amsterdam residential tower Silodam until the whole thing looked like the cargo of a container ship. Jacob van Rijs now conducts research at Technische Universität Berlin. Among other things, he is working on urban development and architecture in Havana.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Meridian

Der Wissenschaftspodcast des Berlin Center for Global Engagement (BCGE) – Forschende berichten von ihrer Arbeit zwischen verschiedenen Welten, von Berlin bis Dakar, von Rio de Janeiro bis Manila.

Meridian – Der Wissenschaftspodcast des Berlin Center for Global Engagement (BCGE)

Meridian – Der Wissenschaftspodcast des Berlin Center for Global Engagement (BCGE)
Bildquelle: Unsplash/La Victorie

Mit dem Podcast stellt das BCGE die Arbeit von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern vor, die sich mit Fragen der Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Globalen Süden und dem Globalen Norden, der akademischen Freiheit und der Wissenschaftsdiplomatie auseinandersetzen. Die Forschenden sprechen unter anderem über ihr Interesse an ihrem Fach, die Kooperation mit Partnerinnen und Partnern im Globalen Süden sowie die aktuelle Forschung und Debatten dazu.

Meridian auf Spotify
Meridian auf Apple Podcasts
Meridian auf Google Podcasts 


Regina Sipos

Regina Sipos
Bildquelle: privat

Folge 4: Grassroots Innovation in Technology – Discussing the Global Importance of Local Communities

(Graswurzelinnovationsbewegungen im Technologiebereich – Über die weltweite Relevanz lokaler Gemeinden)

Regina Sipos, Institut für Berufliche Bildung und Arbeitslehre an der Technischen Universität Berlin, Mitglied des Steering Committee am Centre for Internet and Human Rights, Mitglied des Executive Board der Berliner NGO „Global Innovation Gathering“ sowie Forschende im BCGE geförderten Projekt “Infrastructuring in Grassroots Innovation (IGI)“

Die Podcastfolge auf SpotifyApple Podcasts und Google Podcasts (Englisch)

Die Bewältigung technologischer, ökologischer oder auch sozialer Herausforderungen durch lokale Gemeinden in abgelegenen Gebieten erfährt von Staat, Politik sowie Akteurinnen und Akteuren der internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit oftmals wenig bis gar keine Berücksichtigung. Regina Sipos hingegen sieht solche Graswurzelbewegungen als wichtige Säule für nachhaltige soziale Innovationen. In dieser Podcast-Folge spricht sie unter anderem über ihre Forschung in ländlichen Regionen Indonesiens, über das häufige Scheitern von Großprojekten im Rahmen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und wie selbst kleine Maßnahmen in lokalen Gebieten wichtige Erkenntnisse zum Umgang mit globalen Herausforderungen liefern können.


Prof. Dr. Florian Jeßberger

Prof. Dr. Florian Jeßberger
Bildquelle: Sarah Eick

Folge 3: Das Völkerstrafrecht und die deutsche Kolonialvergangenheit

Prof. Dr. Florian Jeßberger, Juristische Fakultät der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Direktor des Franz von Liszt-Instituts für Internationales Strafrecht und Leiter des BUA-geförderten Projekts „International Criminal Justice: A Counter-Hegemonic Project?“

Die Podcastfolge auf Spotify, Apple Podcasts und Google Podcasts

Nicht nur die großen Seefahrernationen wie die Niederlande oder Großbritannien haben Kolonialverbrechen begangen, sondern auch Deutschland, zum Beispiel im heutigen Namibia, im südwestlichen Afrika. Beim Völkermord an den Herero wurden Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts zwischen 65.000 und 80.000 Menschen von deutschen Truppen getötet. Ein Fall fürs Völkerrecht. Der Rechtswissenschaftler Florian Jeßberger hat eine andere Perspektive auf die Kolonialgeschichte. Er möchte das Völker-STRAF-recht in den Mittelpunkt stellen und sagt: Hier steht die Debatte noch am Anfang. Was er damit meint, verrät er in dieser Folge von Meridian.


Prof. Prathama Banerjee

Prof. Prathama Banerjee
Bildquelle: privat

Folge 2: Thinking about time and politics from a southern perspective

Die indische Historikerin Prof. Prathama Banerjee vom Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS) in Delhi spricht über umstrittene Konzepte in den Geisteswissenschaften. Sie hielt auch die zweite Berlin Southern Theory Lecture (Aufzeichnung auf YouTube).

Die Podcastfolge auf Spotify, Apple Podcasts und Google Podcasts (Enlisch)

Im Dezember 2020 fand die zweite jährliche „Berliner Southern Theory Lecture“ statt, die diesmal von Prathama Banerjee gehalten wurde. Ziel der Vortragsreihe ist es, vorherrschende euro-amerikanische Traditionen zu dezentralisieren und die theoretischen Debatten in den Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften zu diversifizieren. Prathama Banerjee ist Geschichtsprofessorin am Centre for the Study of Developing Societies in Neu-Delhi (Indien) und veröffentlichte vor Kurzem ihr neuestes Werk „Elementary Aspects of the Political: Histories from the Global South“. Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Historikerin für das koloniale und postkoloniale Indien, befasst sich Prathama Banerjee ebenso intensiv mit politischer Theorie. In diesem Podcast erzählt sie, wie es letztlich dazu kam, dass sie sich mit der Bedeutung von Konzepten wie „Geschichte“, „Zeit“ und „dem Politischen“ in unterschiedlichen Kontexten auseinandersetzte.



Prof. Dr. Jacob van Rijs

Prof. Dr. Jacob van Rijs
Bildquelle: Barbra Verbij

Folge 1: Architektur zwischen Rotterdam und Havanna

Prof. Dr. Jacob van Rijs, Institut für Architektur der Technischen Universität Berlin, beschäftigt sich aktuell mit Stadtentwicklung und Architektur in Havanna.

Die Podcastfolge auf Spotify, Apple Podcasts und Google Podcasts

Der Niederländer Jacob van Rijs hat das Architekturbüro MVRDV aus Rotterdam mitbegründet – laut Süddeutscher Zeitung eines der wagemutigsten Architektenbüros weltweit. Der niederländische Pavillon auf der Expo 2000 in Hannover hat Jacob van Rijs und sein Team bekannt gemacht. Später stapelten sie in ihrem Amsterdamer Wohnturm Silodam unterschiedliche Wohnungstypen übereinander, bis das Ganze aussah wie die Ladung eines Containerschiffes. Mittlerweile forscht Jacob van Rijs an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Und beschäftigt sich dort unter anderem mit Stadtentwicklung und Architektur in Havanna.