Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Shared Resources – Multiple Benefits

A participation survey is to find out needs and wishes for shared research infrastructure

Oct 01, 2021

The participation platform can be used to indicate needs and ideas for shared resources.

The participation platform can be used to indicate needs and ideas for shared resources.
Image Credit: Screenshot

Excellent research requires excellent equipment. Of course, this is already available at Berlin's three major universities, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. But not every important and useful device is available at every partner institution. And that doesn't have to be the case because joint research and teaching in the Berlin University Alliance (BUA) also means sharing the research infrastructure – and thus using it more efficiently, especially when it comes to particularly costly large-scale equipment. However, for this to happen, it must first be clear: What is available? Where do I find what? Who uses what? Who else could need it? In order to bring together major large-scale research equipment, services, collections, and the like with researchers across the alliance, the BUA is calling on all scientists to take part in a transparent participation survey as part of the Sharing Resources objective area.

“We do not only want to find out what is available and what could be shared, but we also want to know what concrete needs, visions, and wishes the researchers have regarding the shared research infrastructure,” says Dominika Dolzycka, responsible for the “Sharing Resources” process management. The fact that completely new, joint research projects can also emerge is a positive, expressly desired side effect.

“We are looking for new needs and ideas for shared resources,” says Professor Stephanie Reich. The physicist from Freie Universität Berlin is the spokesperson for the “Steering Committee,” which also includes Professor Roland Meyer from Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Professor Sebastian Möller from Technische Universität Berlin, and Professor Christian Hagemeier from Charité.

“I find sharing resources with researchers outside my discipline especially exciting.” Stephanie Reich

The physicist considers the idea of a research environment accessible to and used by all to be a major asset of the BUA. “If we succeed in making our scientific infrastructure widely usable, Berlin will become a much more interesting research hub.” For her, sharing resources has long been a practice in everyday professional life. “In addition to my university's infrastructure, I'm constantly using that of other institutions. That's because to produce new materials, we need a wide range of characterization methods that my lab doesn't even have.” She has therefore made the equipment and techniques of her research group available to others. “I find sharing resources with researchers outside my discipline especially exciting. For example, this is how I work with groups in biochemistry on better imaging techniques. These are research ideas I never would have thought of without the shared equipment.”

The participation survey will be conducted in English. “For this purpose, we use a participation platform where we ask general questions about the integrated research environment,” explains Dominika Dolzycka. For example:

  • Do you personally find sharing research infrastructure useful?
  • Would you be willing to share the tools you use?
  • What would have to change for you to be willing to share them?

The questions are about equipment and services, as well as research data management and open access.

The online platform functions like a large bulletin board: All responses will be visible to anyone who visits. Respondents may participate under their real name or under a pseudonym. “If you leave us your contact information, we'll contact you at the end to let you know how your responses went into the cumulative evaluation,” says Dominika Dolzycka.

“I believe that by sharing resources across different disciplines, entirely new methods will develop.” Stephanie Reich

For analysis, language algorithms will evaluate the responses, bundle them by topic, and identify focal points. After this preliminary evaluation, the Steering Committee staff moves on. They will compress the findings of the participation and use them to develop proposals for action and projects.

According to Stephanie Reich, everyone who participates in the survey will benefit. “Because the variety of scientific tools and methods will increase for everyone. And I also believe that by sharing resources across different disciplines, entirely new methods will develop.”

In the long term, the aim is to further develop the research environment so that the research infrastructure is accessible not only to the partners of the excellence alliance, but also to the entire Berlin hub of research.

The participation survey is starting step by step in the Excellence Alliance. Initially, researchers at Freie Universität Berlin and Technische Universität Berlin will be asked to participate. At Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and Charité, the survey will start at a later date. The Steering Committee is looking forward to lively participation and is eager to hear ideas and requests. The platform can be found at www.mitdenken.berlin-university-alliance.de. Let's go!

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Geteilte Ressourcen – vielfacher Nutzen

Eine Beteiligungsumfrage soll Bedarfe und Wünsche zur gemeinsamen Nutzung von Forschungsinfrastruktur herausfinden

01.10.2021

Auf der Beteiligungsplattform können Bedürfnisse und Ideen für gemeinsam genutzte Ressourcen angegeben werden.

Auf der Beteiligungsplattform können Bedürfnisse und Ideen für gemeinsam genutzte Ressourcen angegeben werden.
Bildquelle: Screenshot

Exzellente Forschung erfordert exzellentes Equipment. Darüber verfügen die drei großen Berliner Universitäten und die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin natürlich schon. Aber nicht jedes wichtige und nützliche Gerät ist in jeder Einrichtung verfügbar. Das muss auch nicht sein, denn gemeinsam forschen und lehren in der Berlin University Alliance (BUA) bedeutet auch, die Forschungsinfrastruktur zu teilen – und sie damit effizienter zu nutzen, vor allem dann, wenn es um besonders kostspielige Großgeräte geht. Dazu muss jedoch erst einmal klar sein: Was ist vorhanden? Wo steht es? Wer nutzt was? Wer bräuchte es noch? Um Forschungsgroßgeräte, Dienstleistungen, Sammlungen und Ähnliches im gesamten Verbund mit Forschenden zusammenzubringen, ruft die BUA im Rahmen des Schwerpunktbereichs Sharing Resources alle Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auf, an einer transparenten Beteiligungsumfrage teilzunehmen.

„Wir wollen nicht nur abfragen, was vorhanden ist und gemeinsam genutzt werden könnte, sondern möchten auch wissen, welchen konkreten Bedarf, welche Visionen und Wünsche die Forschenden bezüglich der gemeinsamen Forschungsinfrastruktur haben“, sagt Dominika Dolzycka, verantwortlich für das Sharing Resources-Prozessmanagement. Dass darüber hinaus auch ganz neue, gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte entstehen können, ist ein positiver, ausdrücklich erwünschter Nebeneffekt.

„Wir sind auf der Suche nach neuen Bedürfnissen und Ideen für gemeinsam genutzte Ressourcen“, sagt Professorin Stephanie Reich. Die Physikerin von der Freien Universität Berlin ist Sprecherin des Steering Committees, zu dem auch Professor Roland Meyer von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Professor Sebastian Möller von der Technischen Universität Berlin und Professor Christian Hagemeier von der Charité gehören.

„Besonders spannend finde ich das Teilen von Ressourcen mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern jenseits meiner Disziplin.“ Stephanie Reich

Den Gedanken eines für alle zugänglichen und von allen genutzten Forschungsraums hält die Physikerin für eine große Stärke der BUA. „Wenn es uns gelingt, unsere wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur breit nutzbar zu machen, wird Berlin eine noch viel interessantere Wissenschaftsmetropole.“ Für sie ist das Teilen von Ressourcen längst Praxis im beruflichen Alltag. „Neben der Infrastruktur meiner Universität nutze ich ständig auch die anderer Einrichtungen. Denn zur Herstellung neuer Materialien benötigen wir eine Vielzahl an Charakterisierungsmethoden, die mein Labor gar nicht vorhält.“ Geräte und Techniken ihrer Arbeitsgruppe hat sie deshalb auch anderen zugänglich gemacht. „Besonders spannend finde ich das Teilen von Ressourcen mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern jenseits meiner Disziplin. So arbeite ich etwa mit Gruppen aus der Biochemie an besseren bildgebenden Verfahren. Es sind Forschungsideen, auf die ich ohne die gemeinsam genutzten Geräte nie gekommen wäre.“

Die Beteiligungsumfrage findet in englischer Sprache statt. „Dazu nutzen wir eine Beteiligungsplattform, auf der wir generelle Fragen zum integrierten Forschungsraum stellen“, erklärt Dominika Dolzycka. Zum Beispiel:

  • Finden Sie persönlich die gemeinsame Nutzung von Forschungsinfrastruktur sinnvoll?
  • Wären Sie bereit, die Instrumente, die Sie nutzen, mit anderen zu teilen?
  • Was müsste geändert werden, damit Sie bereit wären, sie zu teilen?

Bei den Fragen geht es sowohl um Geräte und Dienstleistungen als auch um Forschungsdatenmanagement und Open Access.

Die Onlineplattform funktioniert wie ein großes schwarzes Brett: Alle Antworten werden für jeden, der sie besucht, sichtbar sein. Die Beteiligung kann unter Klarnamen oder Pseudonym erfolgen. „Wenn Sie uns Ihre Kontaktdaten hinterlassen, werden wir Sie am Ende kontaktieren und Sie erfahren, wie Ihre Antworten in die kumulative Auswertung eingegangen sind“, sagt Dominika Dolzycka.

„Ich glaube auch, dass sich durch Ressourcenteilung über verschiedene Disziplinen hinweg ganz neue Methoden entwickeln werden.“ Stephanie Reich

Zur Analyse werden Sprachalgorithmen die Antworten auswerten, sie nach Themen bündeln und Schwerpunkte herausarbeiten. Nach dieser Vorauswertung machen die Mitarbeitenden des Steering Committee weiter. Sie werden die Erkenntnisse der Beteiligung komprimieren und daraus Handlungs- und Projektvorschläge entwickeln.

Jede Person, die an der Beteiligungsumfrage teilnimmt, wird nach Ansicht von Stephanie Reich davon profitieren. „Denn die Vielfalt der wissenschaftlichen Werkzeuge und Methoden wird sich für jede und jeden vergrößern. Und ich glaube auch, dass sich durch Ressourcenteilung über verschiedene Disziplinen hinweg ganz neue Methoden entwickeln werden.“

Perspektivisch geht es darum, den Forschungsraum weiterzuentwickeln, sodass die Forschungsinfrastruktur nicht nur den Partnerinnen des Exzellenzverbunds, sondern dem ganzen Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin zugänglich sein wird.

Die Beteiligungsumfrage startet schrittweise im Exzellenzverbund. Zunächst sind Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin gefragt. An der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Charité startet die Umfrage zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt. Das Steering Committee freut sich auf rege Beteiligung und ist gespannt auf die Ideen und Wünsche. Die Plattform findet sich unter www.mitdenken.berlin-university-alliance.de. Los geht’s!