Springe direkt zu Inhalt

"We got the ball rolling"

Sabine Kunst, president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, is the new spokesperson of the Berlin University Alliance. She succeeds Günter M. Ziegler, who had been in charge for two years.

Nov 13, 2020

The first change of speaker after two years and one year of Berlin University Alliance excellence funding – review and outlook

The first change of speaker after two years and one year of Berlin University Alliance excellence funding – review and outlook
Image Credit: Pixabay

The first change after two years at the helm of the Berlin University Alliance: On November 13, 2020, professor Günter M. Ziegler, president of Freie Universität Berlin, hands over the position of spokesperson of the Berlin University Alliance to the president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, professor Sabine Kunst. Since then, she has been prima inter pares, the first among equals on the so-called Board of Directors, the leadership committee of the Berlin University Alliance. Other members are professor Christian Thomsen, president of the Technische Universität Berlin, and Professor Heyo K. Kroemer, Chief Executive Officer of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. The position of spokesperson rotates every two years.

"In the past two years, the alliance has been built on a very solid basis. I am pleased that I can now continue to draw on this foundation," says Sabine Kunst. The corona pandemic is currently presenting universities with unprecedented challenges. However, collaboration within the alliance is particularly important, not in spite of the pandemic, but precisely because of it. "The current crisis shows how much we need cooperation across boundaries," the new spokesperson says. "This applies to research in particular. This is where the Berlin University Alliance is doing essential work."

Second Grand Challenge Initiative starts in December

In order to fund research on topics of particular social importance and current concerns, the alliance has chosen so-called Grand Challenge Initiatives: Grand challenges of the future that require collaboration between institutions and various disciplines. The first Grand Challenge Initiative is concerned with social cohesion; six research projects will be funded with more than seven million euros over a period of three years. The goal is to find out what holds our society together and how successful coexistence can be achieved in the future. The topics are very diverse: How can nutrition systems be socially inclusive? How do museums contribute to social cohesion? And what role does the law play in social cohesion?

Sabine Kunst, president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, is the new spokesperson of the Berlin University Alliance.

Sabine Kunst, president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, is the new spokesperson of the Berlin University Alliance.
Image Credit: Matthias Heyde

In spring 2021, the call for proposals for the second Grand Challenge Initiative: Global Health – a topic that has attracted a great deal of attention, not least due to the corona pandemic - is expected to be launched. Global health also addresses other challenges that do not stop at national borders; the researchers will then examine questions of global health care or climate change, nutrition or the influence of city life on health. At the same time, the Berlin University Alliance strengthens the existing international links of the Berlin research landscape. A call for proposals with the National University of Singapore for the funding of joint research projects in the field of global health, which is currently running until mid-December, supports the knowledge exchange and enables the integration of international expertise.

Close cooperation with the University of Oxford was agreed upon as early as the end of 2017. After several calls for proposals and a photo competition for students of the partner institutions, the OX|BER Centre for Advanced Studies has now been founded. Within this framework, Berlin researchers, together with colleagues in Oxford, have proposed research projects lasting several years that deal with social cohesion – and also contribute to researching the Grand Challenge Initiative. The next call for proposals will focus on the topic of global health and will again take up the topics of the Grand Challenge Initiative and give researchers from Oxford and Berlin the opportunity to work together.

The alliance builds up a worldwide network

The strategic partnership between Berlin University Alliance and University of Melbourne is dedicated to establishing and expanding structures for joint graduate training. A special focus is on research projects that specifically involve (prospective) doctoral students and support the establishment of such structures – whether by establishing joint junior research groups, establishing international graduate programs or jointly supervising doctoral theses. PhD programs that literally span the globe are designed to bring the research landscapes of the Australian and European capitals closer together.

The current corona pandemic shows once again that excellent research is based on cross-border cooperation. The Berlin Center for Global Engagement (BCGE) is convinced that international collaboration cannot be limited to the circle of leading industrial nations, but must be truly global. As a prelude to its activities, the BCGE has set up a funding program to intensify the academic contacts of the Berlin research landscape with the Global South. 17 alliance projects have been funded under this program since September.

Involving students in research and venturing experiments in knowledge exchange

More than 100,000 students are enrolled at the four members of the Berlin Alliance. The new impetus for top-level research provided by the new funding opportunities should also benefit them – and not only indirectly by attracting bright minds to Berlin: Next year will see the launch of a program that links research and teaching even more closely by involving students early on in the research process. In the Student Research Opportunities Programx, in short StuROPx, students can pursue research questions in so-called X-tutorials, either independently or together with junior researchers in student research groups - and thereby gain their first real research experience. StuROPx also organizes the annual Berlin Conference for Student Research, where program participants can present their results and network.

Günter M. Ziegler is the president of Freie Universität Berlin.

Günter M. Ziegler is the president of Freie Universität Berlin.
Image Credit: Kay Herschelmann

One of the goals of the Berlin University Alliance is the exchange of knowledge with politics, culture, and society. Knowledge Exchange is a dialogue, because expertise is not only available at universities. The expertise and experience of each and every individual is also needed to solve social problems. How this knowledge can be incorporated into research processes and how communication between science, politics, business, arts, and citizens can be redesigned is being tested in the Berlin University Alliance's new funding line "Experimental Science Communication laboratories". It is a competition of ideas to find new ways to make research understandable, accessible, and tangible, to enter into an exchange with new target groups - and to use the full repertoire of classical and new media.

A new form of collaboration now also in a new legal form

The State of Berlin has created a collaboration platform for the alliance in the form of a corporation under public law – a step that the governing mayor of Berlin, Michael Müller, has described as a "quantum leap" on the "common path to an integrated research environment". The new collaboration platform creates legal clarity and makes collaboration much easier, because previously, every joint project required new agreements and contracts between the four institutions. In addition, researchers who collaborate throughout Berlin within the framework of the Berlin University Alliance will in future be able to use laboratories of the other partner institutions, for example, more easily.

Günter M. Ziegler sees the Berlin University Alliance as being on the right track. "Bringing four such large institutions together is no easy undertaking, but we got the ball rolling and even the pandemic could not stop us. We are very proud of what has been achieved, which was only possible thanks to the close cooperation within our alliance," says the mathematician. "The integration of the Berlin research landscape is now entering a particularly exciting phase," adds Sabine Kunst. "Shaping this process is a challenge that I look forward to."

Keywords

  • Excellence Strategy
  • interdisciplinary
  • international
  • knowledge transfer
  • research
  • support for junior researchers

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

„Wir haben den Stein ins Rollen gebracht“

Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, ist neue Sprecherin der Berlin University Alliance. Sie folgt auf Günter M. Ziegler, der das Amt zwei Jahre lang innehatte.

13.11.2020

Der erste Wechsel der Sprecherschaft nach zwei Jahren und ein Jahr Exzellenzförderung der Berlin University Alliance – ein Rück- und Ausblick.

Der erste Wechsel der Sprecherschaft nach zwei Jahren und ein Jahr Exzellenzförderung der Berlin University Alliance – ein Rück- und Ausblick.
Bildquelle: Pixabay

Der erste Wechsel nach zwei Jahren an der Spitze der Berlin University Alliance: Am 13. November 2020 übergibt Professor Günter M. Ziegler, Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin, die Position des Sprechers der Berlin University Alliance an die Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Professorin Sabine Kunst. Sie ist dann prima inter pares, die Erste unter Gleichen im sogenannten Board of Directors, dem Leitungsgremium der Berlin University Alliance. Ihm gehören außerdem Professor Christian Thomsen, Präsident der Technischen Universität Berlin, und Professor Heyo K. Kroemer, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, an. Die Position der Sprecherin oder des Sprechers rotiert alle zwei Jahre.

„In den vergangenen beiden Jahren ist der Verbund auf eine grundsolide Basis gestellt worden. Ich freue mich, dass ich nun darauf aufbauen kann“, sagt Sabine Kunst. Aktuell stelle die Corona-Pandemie Universitäten vor ungekannte Herausforderungen. Die Zusammenarbeit im Verbund sei aber nicht trotz, sondern gerade wegen der Pandemie besonders wichtig. „Die gegenwärtige Krise zeigt, wie sehr wir Kooperation über Grenzen hinweg brauchen“, sagt die neue Sprecherin. „Das gilt für die Wissenschaft in ganz besonderem Maße. Hier leistet die Berlin University Alliance essenzielle Arbeit.“

Zweite Grand Challenge Initiative startet im Dezember

Um die Forschung zu gesellschaftlich besonders wichtigen und aktuellen Themen zu fördern, hat der Verbund sogenannte Grand Challenge Initiatives gewählt: Große Zukunftsthemen, die eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Institutionen und verschiedenen Disziplinen erfordern. Die erste Grand Challenge Initiative befasst sich mit sozialem Zusammenhalt (Social Cohesion); sechs Forschungsprojekte werden dafür mit mehr als sieben Millionen Euro Fördersumme für einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren ausgestattet. Das Ziel ist es, auszuloten, was unsere Gesellschaft zusammenhält und wie auch zukünftig ein gelingendes Zusammenleben möglich ist. Die Themen sind dabei sehr vielfältig: Wie können Ernährungssysteme sozial inklusiv sein? Wie tragen Museen zu sozialer Kohäsion bei? Und welche Rolle spielt das Recht für sozialen Zusammenhalt?

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, ist neue Sprecherin der Berlin University Alliance.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, ist neue Sprecherin der Berlin University Alliance.
Bildquelle: Matthias Heyde

Im Frühjahr 2021 startet voraussichtlich die Ausschreibung für die zweite Grand Challenge Initiative: Globale Gesundheit (Global Health) – ein Thema, das nicht zuletzt durch die Corona-Pandemie große Aufmerksamkeit erlangt hat. Darüber hinaus widmet sich Global Health weiteren Herausforderungen, die vor Landesgrenzen keinen Halt machen; die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler untersuchen dann Fragen zur weltweiten Gesundheitsversorgung oder zum Klimawandel, zur Ernährung oder dem Einfluss des Stadtlebens auf die Gesundheit. Gleichzeitig stärkt die Berlin University Alliance die bestehenden internationalen Verknüpfungen der Berliner Forschungslandschaft. Eine aktuell bis Mitte Dezember laufende Ausschreibung mit der National University of Singapore zur Förderung gemeinsamer Forschungsprojekte im Bereich Global Health unterstützt den Wissensaustausch und ermöglicht die Einbindung internationaler Expertise.

Bereits Ende 2017 wurde eine enge Kooperation mit der University of Oxford vereinbart. Nach mehreren Ausschreibungen und einem Fotowettbewerb für Studierende der Partnereinrichtungen wurde nun das OX|BER Centre for Advanced Studies gegründet. In diesem Rahmen haben Berliner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler gemeinschaftlich mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen in Oxford mehrjährige Forschungsprojekte vorgeschlagen, die sich mit sozialem Zusammenhalt auseinandersetzen – und ebenfalls zur Erforschung der Grand Challenge Initiative beitragen. Die nächste Ausschreibungsrunde wird sich schwerpunktmäßig auf das Thema Global Health fokussieren und auch hier wieder die Themen der Grand Challenge Initiative aufgreifen und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus Oxford und Berlin, die Möglichkeit geben, gemeinsam zu arbeiten.

Der Verbund baut ein weltweites Netzwerk auf

Die strategische Kooperation der Berlin University Alliance mit der University of Melbourne widmet sich dem Auf- und Ausbau von Strukturen in der gemeinsamen Graduiertenausbildung. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf Forschungsprojekten, die gezielt (angehende) Promovierende einbinden und den Aufbau solcher Strukturen unterstützen – sei es durch die Einrichtung gemeinsamer Nachwuchsforschergruppen, die Etablierung von internationalen Graduiertenprogrammen oder die gemeinsame Betreuung von Doktorarbeiten. Promotionen, die im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes den Globus umspannen, sollen die Forschungslandschaften der australischen und der europäischen Metropole zusammenwachsen lassen.

Die aktuelle Corona-Pandemie zeigt einmal mehr, dass exzellente Forschung auf grenzüberschreitender Kooperation beruht. Dass internationale Zusammenarbeit sich nicht auf den Kreis führender Industrienationen beschränken kann, sondern wirklich global sein muss, ist die Überzeugung, die dem Berlin Center for Global Engagement (BCGE) zugrunde liegt. Als Auftakt für seine Aktivitäten hat das BCGE ein Förderprogramm aufgelegt, um die wissenschaftlichen Kontakte der Berliner Forschungslandschaft zum globalen Süden zu intensivieren. 17 Verbundprojekte werden in diesem Rahmen seit September gefördert.

Studierende an Forschung beteiligen, Experimente im Wissensaustausch wagen

Mehr als 100.000 Studierende sind an den vier Mitgliedern des Berliner Verbunds eingeschrieben. Die neuen Impulse für die Spitzenforschung durch die neuen Fördermöglichkeiten sollen auch ihnen zugute kommen – und das nicht nur indirekt dadurch, dass es kluge Köpfe nach Berlin zieht: Im kommenden Jahr startet ein Programm, das Forschung und Lehre noch enger miteinander verknüpft, indem es Studierende früh in den Forschungsprozess miteinbezieht. Im Student Research Opportunities Programx, kurz StuROPx, können Studierende in sogenannten X-Tutorials eigenständig oder gemeinsam mit Nachwuchsforschenden in Student Research Groups Forschungsfragen nachgehen – und dabei erste reale Forschungserfahrungen sammeln. StuROPx organisiert zusätzlich jährlich die Berlin Conference for Student Research, auf der die Programmteilnehmenden ihre Ergebnisse präsentieren und sich vernetzen können.

Prof. Dr. Günter M. Ziegler ist Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin.

Prof. Dr. Günter M. Ziegler ist Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin.
Bildquelle: Kay Herschelmann

Zu den Zielen der Berlin University Alliance gehört auch Wissensaustausch mit Politik, Kultur und Gesellschaft. Knowledge Exchange versteht sich als Dialog, denn Expertise gibt es nicht nur an Universitäten. Auch die Expertise und das Erfahrungswissen jeder und jedes einzelnen ist gefragt, um gesellschaftliche Probleme zu lösen. Wie dieses Wissen in Forschungsprozesse einfließen kann und die Kommunikation zwischen Wissenschaft, Politik, Unternehmen, Kunst und Bürgerinnen und Bürgern neu gestaltet werden kann, wird in der neuen Förderlinie der Berlin University Alliance „Experimentallabore für Wissenschaftskommunikation“ erprobt. Es ist ein Ideenwettbewerb, neue Wege zu finden, Forschung verständlich, zugänglich und erlebbar zu machen, mit neuen Zielgruppen in Austausch zu treten – und dabei das volle Repertoire der klassischen und der neuen Medien zu nutzen.

Eine neue Form der Zusammenarbeit nun auch in neuer Rechtsform

Das Land Berlin hat für den Verbund eine Kooperationsplattform in Form einer Körperschaft öffentlichen Rechts geschaffen – ein Schritt, den der Regierende Bürgermeister von Berlin, Michael Müller, als einen „Quantensprung“ auf dem „gemeinsamen Weg zum integrierten Forschungsraum“ bezeichnet hat. Die neue Kooperationsplattform schafft rechtliche Klarheit und macht die Zusammenarbeit entscheidend einfacher, denn bisher hatte jedes gemeinsame Vorhaben neuer Vereinbarungen und Verträge zwischen den vier Institutionen bedurft. Außerdem können künftig Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die im Rahmen der Berlin University Alliance berlinweit kooperieren, beispielsweise Labore der anderen Verbundpartnerinnen unkomplizierter nutzen.

Günter M. Ziegler sieht die Berlin University Alliance auf einem guten Weg. „Vier so große Institutionen zusammenzubringen, ist kein leichtes Unterfangen, aber wir haben den Stein ins Rollen gebracht und auch die Pandemie konnte uns nicht aufhalten. Wir sind sehr stolz auf das Geleistete, das nur möglich war dank des kooperativen Miteinanders in unserem Verbund“, sagt der Mathematiker. „Die Integration der Berliner Forschungslandschaft geht nun in eine besonders spannende Phase“, ergänzt Sabine Kunst. „Diesen Prozess zu gestalten, ist eine Herausforderung, auf die ich mich freue.“