“Now we have an opportunity to convince the skeptics that the joint proposal has paid off.”

Official launch: As of November 1, the Berlin University Alliance is being funded as a university consortium of Excellence. In an interview the heads of the institutions involved speak about what’s next.

Nov 01, 2019

Leaders of the Berlin University Alliance: Günter M. Ziegler, President of Freie Universität, Heyo K. Kroemer, Chief Executive Officer of Charité, Sabine Kunst, President of Humboldt-Universität, Christian Thomsen, President of Technische Universität

Leaders of the Berlin University Alliance: Günter M. Ziegler, President of Freie Universität, Heyo K. Kroemer, Chief Executive Officer of Charité, Sabine Kunst, President of Humboldt-Universität, Christian Thomsen, President of Technische Universität
Image Credit: Michael Fahrig

The proposal of the Berlin University Alliance was approved in July, and on November 1, funding through the Excellence Strategy of the federal and state governments in Germany is beginning. Furthermore, the institutions participating in the Alliance are receiving additional funds from the Berlin Senate. In this interview, Professor Sabine Kunst, the president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Professor Günter M. Ziegler, the president of Freie Universität Berlin and current spokesperson for the Berlin University Alliance, Professor Christian Thomsen, the president of Technische Universität Berlin, and Professor Heyo K. Kroemer, the Chief Executive Officer of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, discuss how the Alliance will now be further developed.

Four institutions as large as the three Berlin universities along with Charité are cooperating on an institutional level – this is a completely new project. What are you working on in particular at the moment?

Sabine Kunst: In the initial phase of the Alliance, we have to set up many new processes in order to implement our diverse projects across institutional boundaries. This takes time. I am confident that we are on the right track here. As the Berlin University Alliance, we launched calls for proposals for joint research projects with our international partners in Oxford, Singapore, and Melbourne even before the funding period began. Our first Grand Challenge Initiative on “Social Cohesion” started with a pre-call, so with the start of funding through the Excellence Strategy we can now really get started.

Heyo K. Kroemer: Undoubtedly, this new way of working together presents us with challenges despite all the opportunities. But that is exactly what we are interested in: genuine cooperation that is more than just a loose alliance of interests. We are creating and implementing new forms of collaboration together.

What experience can you take from the proposal phase and apply to everyday life within the Alliance?

Günter M. Ziegler: We have learned that it is helpful to reconcile the very different experiences, strategic goals, and interests of the different parties. In the end, it is not institutions that work together, but people: therefore, it is essential that people know each other well, trust each other, and support each other – the familiarization phases and induction processes were extremely important and valuable here.

Christian Thomsen: During the proposal phase, it was of course clear to all of us that there was a submission date. Our timetable was geared to the submission of our joint proposal. Everything was leading up to this. Now, with our success in the competition, we have gained much room for maneuver. This should be cleverly planned and filled out. That is what we are working on right now. Of course, that is easier said than done.

United in joy: State Secretary Steffen Krach, Governing Mayor of Berlin Michael Müller, Günter M. Ziegler (Freie Universität), Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität), Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität), and Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité).

United in joy: State Secretary Steffen Krach, Governing Mayor of Berlin Michael Müller, Günter M. Ziegler (Freie Universität), Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität), Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität), and Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité).
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

Due to the high volume of proposals throughout Germany, all the winners of the Excellence Strategy have to make do with less money. The reduction is around 17 percent. How does this affect the Berlin University Alliance?

Günter M. Ziegler: The cuts hurt a lot because the budgets for all the Alliance projects were already tightly calculated. It will not be easy, but we still want to implement all the measures in the proposal. That is a challenge: we are now doing this with smaller budgets and even greater frugality – but that means even more creativity.

The Berlin University Alliance also receives annual funding from the Berlin Senate in the amount of six million euros. What are these funds used for?

Günter M. Ziegler: The Senate funds are specifically earmarked for two objectives: four million euros per year are available to work on issues relating to key societal challenges, which we have set ourselves as “Grand Challenges.” As my colleague has just said, we have already kicked off with a pre-call on the subject of “Social Cohesion” and have had a great response. Soon we would also like to jointly pursue questions on “Global Health.” The cooperation will be organized and funded in interdisciplinary and cross-institutional “Einstein Research Units.”

A further two million euros per year will be invested in dual career couples, gender equality, and diversity. That is, in particular in offers for partners of newly appointed scholars and scientists and for measures to make the Berlin research hub even more attractive, family-friendly, and diverse.

Gender equality, equal opportunities, studying and teaching, and internationalization are topics that affect all of the Alliance partners. How can we work together in these areas?

Günter M. Ziegler: The partners are very different, and this also applies to the concepts and projects in all these areas: thus, you can learn a lot from each other, support each other, but also spur each other on to greater achievements, and that is what we do, too. Together we are stronger! The international partnerships and cooperative relationships of the three universities along with Charité span the whole world, and as a result, we are all parts of excellent networks and also have a global presence. Together we are perceived as a “global player,” making us a strong partner for the renowned University of Oxford, for example, with which we as the Berlin University Alliance entered into a strategic partnership back in 2018.

Christian Thomsen: Recruitment is another example of cooperation. This is how we want to jointly attract the best researchers to Berlin. Here we also rely on our perception as a “global player,” as Günter M. Ziegler describes it. Our Alliance will create numerous opportunities for international early-career researchers, with a special emphasis on attracting outstanding women in research. Together, we will also develop standards that we can use for equality-oriented appointment procedures or for further development as family-friendly universities. With these measures, we hope that Berlin will position itself nationally and internationally as a pioneer. That is our goal.

Is the Alliance planning to set up a new coordinating office?

Günter M. Ziegler: Certainly! In order to ensure that all the actors involved in our four partner institutions are moving in the same direction, it is important to have a small but agile and effective office. This office will be launched soon and will continue the successful work of the previous coordination groups that oversaw our Alliance in the competition.

You already mentioned it briefly: for the Grand Challenge Initiative “Social Cohesion,” there was a call for funding for networking and theme exploration. Why exactly was this topic chosen first?

Christian Thomsen: We chose this topic because it greatly influences our social interaction, and not only in Germany. The topic is very complex, meaning numerous academic fields can and must provide contributions, projects, and solutions, considering how important this topic is. We are now trying not only to promote project ideas, but also to encourage our researchers to outline larger projects.

With its first call as part of the Grand Challenge Initiative on the topic of “Social Cohesion,” the Berlin University Alliance is promoting networking among researchers on this topic.

With its first call as part of the Grand Challenge Initiative on the topic of “Social Cohesion,” the Berlin University Alliance is promoting networking among researchers on this topic.
Image Credit: pixabay/ohurtsov

Will there be other comparable inter-institutional calls for proposals?

Christian Thomsen: There will be another call on this topic in the spring, so more extensive projects can be funded. In the meantime, it is important that we encourage our researchers in the four institutions to establish (even more strongly than before) contacts beyond their own disciplinary borders, to network, and to think in unusual ways. That is why I would like to appeal to all of you: go beyond your faculty or academic department and break new ground with collaboration! With its calls, the Berlin University Alliance can provide a framework for this.

Heyo K. Kroemer: I can only confirm that. The opportunities for interdisciplinary research are great. “Global Health” was already mentioned as one of the future topics of our Grand Challenge Initiative. It is another good example of “true” interdisciplinary research. It will unequivocally not only be about medical aspects. On the contrary, the Berlin University Alliance allows us to address the question of health and a sustainable society much more broadly through the diversity of disciplines. Urbanization, migration, and climate change also play an important role in global health issues.

An important topic of the Berlin University Alliance is exchange with society. What projects is the Alliance planning in this field?

Sabine Kunst: Many global challenges – especially those that we want to address with the Grand Challenges initiatives – can only be successfully addressed through the interaction of science and scholarship with society, politics, and the economy. We understand knowledge exchange as reciprocal exchange between researchers and other social actors who are connected by the aspiration of communicating as equals.

Can you give an example of this type of project?

Sabine Kunst: We plan to implement long-term exchange formats, so-called research forums, in which researchers and actors from politics, culture, business, and civil society come together. Together, all the participants will then define a thematic field of Berlin’s cutting-edge research with interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary approaches. Furthermore, the Alliance will also become more active in the field of research communication. Different formats for interaction with the public are being planned, as well as offering more further education opportunities in research communication for our scholars and scientists. The first exhibition on the premises of Humboldt-Universität in the Humboldt Forum will focus on top-level research in Berlin, with the Clusters of Excellence in particular being represented here. Communicating research from the often seemingly closed-off academic world is an important concern in this area.

Science and research are currently struggling with a loss of confidence. More exchange is important here; another aspect is more clarification and transparency with regard to the quality of research and the development of standards. How will the Berlin University Alliance deal with this important field?

Heyo K. Kroemer: Especially in today’s world, reliable facts are of particular importance in order to create the conditions for a sustainable society. This is why we look at different dimensions of the issue of research quality. The quality of research depends on the framework conditions and evaluation systems in science and research. This involves questions like: How often should an experiment be repeated for it to be considered replicable? What incentives can be given to research groups to achieve high quality results and what counts as “a valuable result” in this context? How do we deal with “negative results”?

There is no alternative to facts: the Berlin University Alliance focuses on research quality in order to strengthen confidence in research.

There is no alternative to facts: the Berlin University Alliance focuses on research quality in order to strengthen confidence in research.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

The pooling of resources is also planned in other fields. What can the Alliance build on in this area?

Sabine Kunst: The Alliance partners have already gained some experience in creating added value and economic synergies through the joint use of research infrastructures. A central concern of the Alliance is to systematize these approaches. We are talking here about putting the core business of universities – research, teaching, continuing education, and knowledge transfer – on an improved basis by sharing existing resources. We want to create added value through sharing in order to increase our performance and attractiveness as research institutions for students, teachers, and researchers. Our plans do not only relate to creating conditions that simplify the joint procurement of research infrastructures, for example in the form of large-scale equipment. We want to improve access to and use of existing devices and services. If we act wisely in this area, we will also benefit immensely from cooperation as individual institutions.

Heyo K. Kroemer: Infrastructure is a prerequisite for good research, so bundling and sharing it brings many benefits. The potential for this is enormous in the Alliance and would offer considerable added value for the partners, but also for Berlin as a hub of science and research.

The University of Oxford – here with one of its landmarks, the Hertford Bridge – and the Berlin University Alliance decided to establish a strategic partnership in 2017.

The University of Oxford – here with one of its landmarks, the Hertford Bridge – and the Berlin University Alliance decided to establish a strategic partnership in 2017.
Image Credit: Michael Beckwith / Pixabay 

One of the first Berlin University Alliance projects was to collaborate with the University of Oxford. An agreement was concluded here as early as 2018. What did and does this partnership actually look like?

Heyo K. Kroemer: The University of Oxford is our first joint international partner, a categorically new form of cooperation that we are very excited about. Since the beginning, intensive cooperation has been growing on various levels. From personal visits on site and getting to know the respective structures, people, and goals, to joint research projects and the planning of an “Oxford House” in Berlin and a “Berlin House” in Oxford: in this partnership there are numerous possibilities for cooperation. We are proud of the now second call for proposals for joint research projects with Oxford, which, as in the first round, is endowed with 450,000 euros. In the first call, 29 partnership projects were approved with the objective of developing a joint field of research across institutional, geographical, and disciplinary boundaries; in the second call, a further 24 projects were approved.

What are you particularly looking forward to in your cooperation as Berlin University Alliance?

Sabine Kunst: It is a good feeling that the Alliance can now get started with implementing its plans. During the proposal phase, we spent more than two years working on plans and strategies on the drawing board. Now we have an opportunity to convince the skeptics that the joint proposal has paid off.

Günter M. Ziegler: I am particularly looking forward to entering into a dialog with urban society and discussing the research projects of the Berlin University Alliance.

Christian Thomsen: I look forward to a lively and honest exchange – between the the executive boards, between the faculties or academic departments of our institutions and – hopefully – also between our students. Of course, I am also looking forward to many “aha!” moments in this cooperation. I am hoping that the majority of them will be received favorably and will provide positive insights. However, some will also – and I am a realist – be paired with disappointment. But it is precisely these that will bring us forward, both in academic research and in bringing people together.

Heyo K. Kroemer: The Alliance offers us a very special opportunity – namely to make much better use of the potential of the Berlin region. I am looking forward to working with the Berlin University Alliance to create a new kind of research collaboration that will contribute to a sustainable society and hopefully serve as an example for building many more alliances of this kind.

The questions were asked by Nina Diezemann and Annika Middeldorf.

„Jetzt haben wir die Möglichkeit, auch den Skeptikern zu zeigen, dass sich der gemeinsame Antrag auszahlt.“

Offizieller Startschuss: Am 1. November beginnt die Förderung der Berlin University Alliance als Exzellenzverbund. Ein Interview mit den Leitungen der beteiligten Einrichtungen.

01.11.2019

Die Leitung der Berlin University Alliance: Günter M. Ziegler, Präsident Freie Universität, Heyo K. Kroemer, Vorstandsvorsitzender Charité, Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin Humboldt-Universität und Christian Thomsen, Präsident Technische Universität.

Die Leitung der Berlin University Alliance: Günter M. Ziegler, Präsident Freie Universität, Heyo K. Kroemer, Vorstandsvorsitzender Charité, Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin Humboldt-Universität und Christian Thomsen, Präsident Technische Universität.
Bildquelle: Michael Fahrig

Im Juli wurde der Antrag der Berlin University Alliance bewilligt – am 1. November beginnt nun die Förderung in der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder. Außerdem erhalten die am Verbund beteiligten Einrichtungen zusätzliche Mittel vom Berliner Senat. Im Interview sprechen die Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Professorin Sabine Kunst, der Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin und derzeit Sprecher des Universitätsverbundes, Professor Günter M. Ziegler, der Präsident der Technischen Universität Berlin, Professor Christian Thomsen, sowie der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Professor Heyo K. Kroemer, darüber, wie der Verbund nun weiter aufgebaut wird.

Dass vier so große Einrichtungen wie die drei Berliner Universitäten und die Charité in dieser Form zusammenarbeiten, ist ein vollkommen neuartiges Projekt. Was beschäftigt Sie derzeit besonders?

Sabine Kunst: In der Anfangsphase der Allianz müssen wir viele neue Prozesse aufsetzen und etablieren, um unsere vielfältigen Projekte über die Institutionengrenzen hinweg umzusetzen. Das beschäftigt uns derzeit besonders. Aber ich bin zuversichtlich, dass wir uns hier auf dem richtigen Weg befinden. Wir haben ja als Berlin University Alliance schon vor dem Förderbeginn Ausschreibungen für gemeinsame wissenschaftliche Projekte mit unseren internationalen Partnern Oxford, Singapur und Melbourne angestoßen. Unsere erste Grand Challenge Initiative zum Thema Sozialer Zusammenhalt ist ebenfalls mit einem Pre-Call gestartet, so dass es jetzt mit dem Beginn der Förderung durch die Exzellenzstrategie richtig losgehen kann.

Heyo K. Kroemer: Sicherlich stellt uns diese neue Art der Zusammenarbeit bei all den Möglichkeiten auch vor Herausforderungen. Aber es geht uns um genau das: eine echte Zusammenarbeit, die mehr als ein loser Interessenverbund ist. Wir setzen gemeinsam um und gestalten.

Welche Erfahrung nehmen Sie aus der Antragsphase mit in den Verbund-Alltag?

Günter M. Ziegler: Wir haben gelernt, dass es hilfreich ist, die sehr unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen, strategischen Ziele und Interessen der verschiedenen Akteure in Einklang zu bringen. Am Ende sind es nicht Institutionen, die zusammenarbeiten, sondern Menschen: Da ist es wesentlich, dass man sich kennt, sich vertraut, sich unterstützt – die Kennenlernphasen und Einarbeitungsprozesse waren hier ausgesprochen wichtig und wertvoll.

Christian Thomsen: In der Antragsphase war für uns alle natürlich klar: es gibt ein Abgabedatum. Auf die Einreichung unseres gemeinsamen Antrags haben wir unseren Zeitplan ausgerichtet. Darauf lief alles zu. Jetzt haben wir mit dem Erfolg im Wettbewerb einen großen Gestaltungsspielraum gewonnen. Dieser will klug geplant und ausgefüllt sein. Daran arbeiten wir momentan. Das hört sich leichter an als es ist.

Feierten am 19. Juli den Exzellenz-Titel: Staatssekretär Steffen Krach, Berlins Regierender Bürgermeister Michael Müller, Günter M. Ziegler, Christian Thomsen, Sabine Kunst und der damalige Charité-Vorstandsvorsitzende Karl Max Einhäupl.

Feierten am 19. Juli den Exzellenz-Titel: Staatssekretär Steffen Krach, Berlins Regierender Bürgermeister Michael Müller, Günter M. Ziegler, Christian Thomsen, Sabine Kunst und der damalige Charité-Vorstandsvorsitzende Karl Max Einhäupl.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Aufgrund des bundesweit hohen Antragsvolumens müssen alle Gewinner der Exzellenzstrategie mit weniger Geld auskommen. Die Kürzungen liegen bei etwa 17 Prozent. Wie wirkt sich das auf die Berlin University Alliance aus?

Günter M. Ziegler: Die Kürzungen schmerzen sehr, weil die Budgets für alle Projekte der Allianz bereits „auf Kante genäht” waren. Es wird nicht einfach, aber wir wollen trotzdem alle Maßnahmen im Antrag umsetzen. Das ist eine Herausforderung: Wir machen das jetzt mit kleineren Budgets und noch größerer Sparsamkeit – dafür aber mit noch mehr Kreativität.

Die Berlin University Alliance erhält pro Jahr außerdem eine Unterstützung vom Berliner Senat in Höhe von sechs Millionen Euro. Wofür werden diese Gelder eingesetzt?

Günter M. Ziegler: Die Senatsgelder sind konkret für zwei Ziele vorgesehen: Vier Millionen Euro pro Jahr stehen für die Arbeit an Fragen zu großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen bereit, die wir uns als „Grand Challenges“ vorgenommen haben. Wie meine Kollegin eben schon sagte, mit dem Thema „Sozialer Zusammenhalt“ haben wir bereits mit einem Pre-Call mit großer Resonanz losgelegt und demnächst möchten wir auch gemeinsam Fragen zur „Globalen Gesundheit“ nachgehen. Die Zusammenarbeit wird interdisziplinär und institutionenübergreifend in „Einstein Research Units“ organisiert und finanziert werden.
Weitere zwei Millionen Euro pro Jahr werden für Dual-Career, Gleichstellung und Diversity investiert, insbesondere also für Angebote für Lebenspartnerinnen und -partner von neuberufenen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern und für Maßnahmen, die den Wissenschaftsraum Berlin noch attraktiver, familienfreundlicher und vielfältiger machen.

Gleichstellung, Chancengleichheit, Studium und Lehre und Internationalisierung sind Themen, die alle Verbundpartnerinnen bewegen. Wie kann man in diesen Bereichen zusammenarbeiten?

Günter M. Ziegler: Die Partnerinnen sind sehr unterschiedlich, und das gilt auch für die Konzepte und Projekte in all diesen Bereichen: Hier kann man viel voneinander lernen, sich gegenseitig unterstützen, aber auch zu größeren Leistungen anspornen, und das tun wir auch. Gemeinsam sind wir stärker! So umspannen die internationalen Partnerschaften und Kooperationsbeziehungen der drei Universitäten und der Charité die ganze Welt, und dadurch sind wir alle nicht nur gut vernetzt, sondern auch global präsent. Gemeinsam werden wir als „Global Player“ wahrgenommen, und sind dadurch zum Beispiel auch ein starker Partner für die renommierte University of Oxford, mit der wir als Berliner Universitätsallianz bereits 2018 eine strategische Partnerschaft eingegangen sind.

Christian Thomsen: Ein weiteres Beispiel für die Zusammenarbeit liegt in der Rekrutierung. So wollen wir gemeinsam die besten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler für Berlin gewinnen. Da setzen wir auch auf die Wahrnehmung als „Global player“, wie es Günter M. Ziegler umschrieb. Unser Verbund wird zahlreiche Chancen für den internationalen wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs schaffen, gerade auch für Wissenschaftlerinnen. Gemeinsam werden wir auch Standards entwickeln, die wir für gleichstellungsorientierte Berufungsverfahren oder für die Weiterentwicklung als familienfreundliche Universitäten einsetzen können. Mit diesen Maßnahmen soll sich Berlin national und international als Vorreiterin platzieren. Das ist unser Ziel.

Ist für den Verbund eine Geschäftsstelle geplant?

Günter M. Ziegler: Ja! Um sicherzugehen, dass alle beteiligten Akteurinnen und Akteure unserer vier Partnerinstitutionen an einem Strang ziehen, ist eine kleine, aber wendige und effektive Geschäftsstelle wichtig: Diese soll schon bald an den Start gehen und die erfolgreiche Arbeit der bisherigen Koordinierungsgruppen fortführen, die unsere Allianz im Wettbewerb betreut haben.

Sie haben es bereits kurz angesprochen: Für die Grand Challenge Initiative „Social Cohesion“ gab es eine Ausschreibung für Mittel zur Vernetzung und Themenerkundung. Warum wurde genau dieses Thema als erstes gewählt?

Christian Thomsen: Wir haben uns für dieses Thema entschieden, weil es unser gesellschaftliches Miteinander stark beeinflusst und das nicht nur in Deutschland. Das Thema ist sehr vielschichtig, sodass zahlreiche Wissenschaftsgebiete Beiträge, Projekte und Lösungen liefern können und angesichts der Wichtigkeit des Themas auch müssen. Wir versuchen nun, nicht nur Projektideen zu fördern, sondern auch unsere Forscherinnen und Forscher zu animieren, größere Vorhaben zu skizzieren.

Mit ihrem ersten Call im Rahmen der „Grand Challenge Initiative“ zum Thema „Social Cohesion“ fördert die Berlin University Alliance die Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern zu diesem Thema.

Mit ihrem ersten Call im Rahmen der „Grand Challenge Initiative“ zum Thema „Social Cohesion“ fördert die Berlin University Alliance die Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern zu diesem Thema.
Bildquelle: pixabay/ohurtsov

Wird es weitere vergleichbare häuserübergreifende Ausschreibungen geben?

Christian Thomsen: Im Frühjahr soll es einen weiteren Call zu diesem Thema geben. Dann geht es um umfangreichere Projekte, die gefördert werden können. In der Zwischenzeit kommt es darauf an, dass wir unsere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in den vier Häusern ermutigen, noch stärker als bisher über ihre Fachgrenzen hinaus Kontakte aufzunehmen, sich zu vernetzen, in ungewöhnlichen Bahnen zu denken. Dazu möchte ich aufrufen: Verlassen Sie ihre Fakultät oder ihren Fachbereich und beschreiten Sie neue Wege in der Kooperation! Den Rahmen dafür kann die Berlin University Alliance mit ihren Calls geben. 

Heyo K. Kroemer: Das kann ich nur bekräftigen. Die Chancen interdisziplinärer Forschung sind groß. Der Bereich „Globale Gesundheit“ als eines der zukünftigen Themen unserer Grand Challenge Initiative wurde ja bereits erwähnt. Es ist ein weiteres gutes Beispiel von „echter“ interdisziplinärer Forschung. Dabei wird es ausdrücklich nicht nur um medizinische Aspekte gehen. Im Gegenteil, die Berlin University Alliance erlaubt uns, durch die Vielfalt fachlicher Disziplinen die Frage nach Gesundheit und einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft viel breiter zu behandeln. Auch Urbanisierung, Migration oder der Klimawandel spielen bei den Fragen nach der globalen Gesundheit eine wichtige Rolle.

Ein wichtiges Thema der Berlin University Alliance ist der Austausch mit der Gesellschaft. Welche Projekte plant der Verbund in diesem Bereich?

Sabine Kunst: Viele globale Herausforderungen ­– auch gerade solche, die wir mit den Grand Challenges-Initiativen adressieren wollen – können nur in einem Zusammenspiel von Gesellschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft erfolgreich bearbeitet werden. Unser Konzept von Knowledge Exchange ist das eines wechselseitigen Austauschs von Forschenden mit anderen gesellschaftlichen Akteurinnen und Akteuren, verbunden mit dem Anspruch, auf Augenhöhe zu kommunizieren.

Können Sie ein Projekt als Beispiel nennen?

Sabine Kunst: Wir planen langfristig angelegte Austauschformate, sogenannte Research-Foren, durchzuführen, in denen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und Akteurinnen und Akteure aus Politik, Kultur, Wirtschaft und der Zivilgesellschaft zusammenkommen. Gemeinsam stecken alle Beteiligten dann ein Themenfeld der Berliner Spitzenforschung mit inter- und transdisziplinären Ansätzen ab. Darüber hinaus wird der Verbund auch im Bereich Wissenschaftskommunikation stärker aktiv werden. Hier sind unterschiedliche Formate für die Interaktion mit der Öffentlichkeit geplant, aber auch die Verbesserung des Angebots zur Weiterbildung in Fragen der Wissenschaftskommunikation für unsere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Die erste Ausstellung auf den Flächen der Humboldt-Universität im Humboldt Forum wird die Spitzenforschung Berlins zum Thema haben, insbesondere die Exzellenzcluster werden hier mit ihren Themen vertreten sein und diese aktiv im Labor bespielen und diskutieren. Die Vermittlung von Forschungsinhalten aus der oft abgeschlossen wirkenden Wissenschaftswelt heraus ist insgesamt in diesem Themenfeld ein wichtiges Anliegen.

Die Wissenschaft hat mit einem Vertrauensverlust zu kämpfen. Hier ist ein stärkerer Austausch wichtig, ein weiterer Aspekt ist mehr Aufklärung und Transparenz im Hinblick auf die Qualität von Forschung sowie die Entwicklung von Standards. Wie wird die Berlin University Alliance diesem wichtigen Feld begegnen?

Heyo K. Kroemer: Gerade in der heutigen Zeit sind verlässliche Fakten von besonderem Stellenwert, um die Bedingungen für eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft zu ermöglichen. Deshalb schauen wir uns verschiedene Dimensionen des Themas Forschungsqualität an. Die Qualität von Forschung hängt von den Rahmenbedingungen und Bewertungssystemen in der Wissenschaft ab. Dahinter stehen Fragen wie: Wie oft sollte ein Experiment wiederholt werden, um als reproduzierbar zu gelten? Welche Anreize können für Forschungsgruppen gesetzt werden, qualitativ hochwertige Ergebnisse zu erzielen und was bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang eigentlich „ein wertvolles Ergebnis”? Wie gehen wir mit „Negativresultaten“ um?

Keine Alternative zu Fakten: Die Berlin University Alliance setzt auf Forschungsqualität, um Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft zu stärken.

Keine Alternative zu Fakten: Die Berlin University Alliance setzt auf Forschungsqualität, um Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft zu stärken.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Auch in anderen Bereichen ist die Bündelung von Ressourcen geplant. Worauf kann der Verbund in diesem Bereich aufbauen?

Sabine Kunst: Die Verbundpartnerinnen haben bereits einige Erfahrungen damit gesammelt, wissenschaftlichen Mehrwert und wirtschaftliche Synergien durch die gemeinsame Nutzung von Forschungsinfrastrukturen zu schaffen. Diese Ansätze zu systematisieren ist ein zentrales Anliegen des Verbundes. Wir sprechen hier darüber, das Kerngeschäft der Universitäten – Forschung, Lehre, Weiterbildung und Transfer – durch das Teilen vorhandener Ressourcen auf eine verbesserte Grundlage zu stellen. Wir wollen Mehrwert durch Teilen schaffen, um als Wissenschaftseinrichtungen unsere Leistungsfähigkeit und Attraktivität für Studierende, Lehrende und Forschende zu steigern. Unsere Pläne beziehen sich nicht nur auf die Schaffung von Voraussetzungen, die die gemeinsame Beschaffung von Forschungsinfrastrukturen, beispielsweise in Form von Großgeräten vereinfachen. Wir möchten den Zugang zu und die Nutzung von bereits vorhandenen Geräten und Dienstleistungen verbessern. Wenn wir in diesem Bereich klug agieren, werden wir auch als Einzelinstitutionen immens von der Zusammenarbeit profitieren.

Heyo K. Kroemer: Infrastrukturen sind eine Grundvoraussetzung für gute Forschung, ihre Bündelung und gemeinsame Nutzung bringen deshalb viele Vorteile. Das Potential dafür im Verbund ist enorm und würde für die Partnerinnen, aber auch den Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin einen erheblichen Mehrwert bieten

Die University of Oxford - hier mit einem ihrer Wahrzeichen, der Hertford Bridge - und die Berlin University Alliance haben 2017 den Aufbau einer strategischen Partnerschaft beschlossen.

Die University of Oxford - hier mit einem ihrer Wahrzeichen, der Hertford Bridge - und die Berlin University Alliance haben 2017 den Aufbau einer strategischen Partnerschaft beschlossen.
Bildquelle: Michael Beckwith / Pixabay 

Ein erstes Projekt der Berlin University Alliance war die Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität in Oxford. Bereits 2018 wurde hier ein Abkommen geschlossen. Wie wurde und wird diese Partnerschaft gelebt?

Heyo K. Kroemer: Die University of Oxford ist unser erster gemeinsamer internationaler Partner, eine kategorisch neue Form der Zusammenarbeit, über die wir uns sehr freuen. Seit Beginn ist auf verschiedenen Ebenen eine intensive Kooperation gewachsen. Von persönlichen Besuchen vor Ort und dem Kennenlernen der jeweiligen Strukturen, Menschen und Ziele über gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte bis hin zu der Planung eines Oxford-Hauses in Berlin und eines Berlin-Hauses in Oxford: in dieser Partnerschaft gibt es sehr viele Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit. Stolz sind wir auf die nun bereits zweite Ausschreibungsrunde für gemeinsame Wissenschaftsprojekte mit Oxford, die wie im ersten Durchgang mit 450 000 Euro ausgestattet ist. Im ersten Call wurden 29 partnerschaftliche Projekte bewilligt, die das Ziel verfolgen, über institutionelle, geografische und disziplinäre Grenzen hinweg gemeinsame Forschungsbereiche aufzubauen, im zweiten Call weitere 24 Vorhaben.

Worauf freuen Sie sich in der Zusammenarbeit als Berlin University Alliance besonders?

Sabine Kunst: Es ist ein gutes Gefühl, dass die Allianz nun beginnen kann, ihre Pläne in die Tat umzusetzen. Im Antragsverfahren haben wir uns mehr als zwei Jahre lang am grünen Tisch mit Plänen und Strategien beschäftigt. Jetzt haben wir die Möglichkeit, auch den Skeptikern zu zeigen, dass sich der gemeinsame Antrag auszahlt.

Günter M. Ziegler: Ich freue mich besonders darauf, auch mit der Stadtgesellschaft in den Dialog zu treten und über die Forschungsvorhaben der Berlin University Alliance zu diskutieren.

Christian Thomsen: Ich freue mich auf einen regen und ehrlichen Austausch – zwischen den Präsidien, zwischen den Fakultäten oder Fachbereichen unserer Einrichtungen und hoffentlich auch zwischen unseren Studierenden. Natürlich freue ich mich auch auf viele Aha-Erlebnisse in dieser Zusammenarbeit. Die meisten davon, so mein Wunsch, werden von Freude und positiver Erkenntnis begleitet sein. Einige werden aber auch, und da bin ich Realist, mit Enttäuschung gepaart sein. Aber gerade auch diese werden uns weiterbringen, sowohl in der Wissenschaft als auch im gemeinsamen Miteinander.

Heyo K. Kroemer: Der Verbund bietet uns eine ganz besondere Möglichkeit – nämlich das Potenzial des Berliner Raums wesentlich besser zu nutzen. Ich freue mich darauf, mit der Berlin University Alliance eine neue Art der wissenschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit zu schaffen, die ihren Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft liefern wird und hoffentlich als Beispiel für den Aufbau vieler weiterer Verbünde dieser Art animiert.

Die Fragen stellten Nina Diezemann und Annika Middeldorf