When Food Grows in the Middle of the City

The EdiCitNet project promotes local and sustainable food production in cities

Oct 02, 2019

In the project “EdiCitNet,” individual concepts are developed to produce food locally and sustainably in different cities.

In the project “EdiCitNet,” individual concepts are developed to produce food locally and sustainably in different cities.
Image Credit: Pixabay License

Cities like Rotterdam or the Rhineland-Palatinate town of Andernach are setting an example – and Berlin has also put the local and sustainable production of food in the city on its agenda. Under the heading “Edible City,” over 200 initiatives now exist in Rotterdam. “The best known initiative is certainly Rotterzwam: a company that cultivates mushrooms in an old swimming pool on coffee grounds and sells them to local restaurateurs,” says Ina Säumel. The researcher at the Integrative Research Institute on Transformations of Human-Environment Systems (IRI THESys) at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin has been working on the concept of “edible cities” for a long time, most recently for several years at Technische Universität Berlin, where she continues to supervise projects on the subject.

“Together with various partners, we are trying to pool the existing knowledge about individual local food production projects in a network.” Ina Säumel

Since the end of 2018, Ina Säumel has headed the project EdiCitNet (Integrating Edible City Solutions for Social Resilient and Sustainably Productive Cities). The objective of the project is to develop individual concepts to produce food locally and sustainably in different cities. “Together with various partners, we are trying to pool the existing knowledge about individual local food production projects in a network, analyze it, and compile it on a digital platform for all interested parties,” explains Ina Säumel.

The project arose from the collaboration between Säumel, who holds a doctorate in biology and geography, and Jörg Niewöhner, a professor of human-environment relations at the Institute of European Ethnology of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Cooperation between the natural and social sciences aims to combine the different ways of thinking and create new synergies for the concrete implementation of projects. Ina Säumel and her interdisciplinary team have brought 35 partners together for this purpose. They include 13 cities, various scientific institutions, nongovernmental organizations (NGOs), and small and medium-sized enterprises with a great deal of expertise in the sector. Among the cities, there are metropolises like Oslo, Rotterdam, Havana, Montevideo, Lomé, and Berlin as well as smaller cities like Andernach, Sant Feliu de Llobregat in Catalonia, or Šempeter pri Gorici in Slovenia.

Is this edible? Project manager Dr. Ina Säumel explains the concept of EdiCitNet to the participants of a workshop in Berlin’s Prinzessinnengarten.

Is this edible? Project manager Dr. Ina Säumel explains the concept of EdiCitNet to the participants of a workshop in Berlin’s Prinzessinnengarten.
Image Credit: EdiCitNet

“By autumn 2019, five of the partner cities in which edible city projects already exist will have established so-called Living Labs,” explains Ina Säumel. The task of these real-world laboratories is the concrete implementation of individual projects, which are planned in so-called City Teams.

With the help of the scientific coordinators, these City Teams aim to bring together representatives of the relevant stakeholders and interest groups of the respective city, such as the city administration, companies, citizens’ initiatives, and scientists. “The City Team concept is very simple,” explains Ina Säumel. “They are structured like a soccer team: it takes strikers, captains and defenders, managers and coaches to effectively implement concrete projects.”

Each City Team consists of around eleven key players and various consultants who jointly develop the Living Lab. In addition, there will be meetings with other City Teams to exchange information. All the information will later be provided on a digital information platform, the EdiCitNet Tool Box.

“In the Living Labs, concrete projects can be implemented and structural underlying conditions can be amended.” Ina Säumel

Dr. Ina Säumel, who heads the project EdiCitNet, has worked at Technische Universität Berlin and is now working at Humboldt-Universität on the edible city.

Dr. Ina Säumel, who heads the project EdiCitNet, has worked at Technische Universität Berlin and is now working at Humboldt-Universität on the edible city.
Image Credit: RuralFutures

Andernach, which has already started advertising with the slogan “The Edible City,” has decided, for example, to use a specific area as an urban garden. This area is to be cultivated by local kindergartens, schools, refugee homes, and other initiatives. The harvested products are processed in the canteens of the participating facilities.

“In the Living Labs, concrete projects can be implemented and structural underlying conditions can be amended, as in the example of Rotterdam,” Ina Säumel points out. In the Dutch city, measures are to be developed to pool the 200 local initiatives in an umbrella organization and thus ensure their long-term economic survival. A handbook will be drawn up based on the experiences gained from successful initiatives. “The handbook will answer questions such as: What funding measures are there for the edible city? What must be taken into account when approving products for marketing? How can a product be labeled as a Rotterdam product?” clarifies Ina Säumel.

In the Laboratory for Organic Trace Analysis and Natural Substances at the Institute for Ecology, students of Technische Universität Berlin analyze the ingredients of food grown within the framework of the project.

In the Laboratory for Organic Trace Analysis and Natural Substances at the Institute for Ecology, students of Technische Universität Berlin analyze the ingredients of food grown within the framework of the project.
Image Credit: Paul Fiedler

In their City Teams, the eight other partner cities develop concepts about structures that need to be created in order to implement tangible projects. In Berlin, for example, it was possible to bring together all the important Senate Departments for the City Teams, NGOs such as the Mundraub online platform for the discovery and use of edible landscapes, the engineering firm Nolde & Partner for innovative water concepts, and the Roof Water-Farm project for precipitation management.

Questions of governance and participation are also evaluated by the scientific community. Together with scientists from the Laboratory for Organic Trace Analysis and Natural Substances of the Institute for Ecology of Technische Universität Berlin, which is headed by chemistry doctorate Thi Lam Huong Pham, the organic pollutant load in vegetables and fruit growing in our cities is being investigated. In the study project, “How healthy is the edible city? Investigation of Organic Pollutants in Products of Urban Gardens,” students of the Ecology and Environmental Planning course at Technische Universität Berlin take a close look at the products of the EdiCitNet cities. “This is how we successfully connect our research and university teaching,” explains Ina Säumel. “Students deal with the actors of the edible cities, identify barriers and obstacles to their implementation, and work with analytical methods of organic chemistry.”

Further Information

EdiCitNet

The project is located in the Integrative Research Institute on Transformations of Human-Environment Systems (IRI THESys) of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. The European Commission is funding “EdiCitNet” with around 12 million euros over the next five years. The Berlin partners, the Senate Department for Urban Development and Housing, Technische Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (IRI THESys), Mundraub, and Nolde & Partner will receive around 3.8 million euros of the total funding amount.

Wenn Lebensmittel mitten in der Stadt wachsen

Das Projekt EdiCitNet setzt sich für eine lokale und nachhaltige Produktion von Lebensmitteln in Städten ein

02.10.2019

In dem Projekt  „EdiCitNet“ werden  individuelle Konzepte entwickelt, um Lebensmittel in unterschiedlichen Städten lokal und nachhaltig zu produzieren.

In dem Projekt „EdiCitNet“ werden individuelle Konzepte entwickelt, um Lebensmittel in unterschiedlichen Städten lokal und nachhaltig zu produzieren.
Bildquelle: Pixabay License

Städte wie Rotterdam oder das rheinland-pfälzische Andernach machen es vor – und auch Berlin hat es sich auch auf die Agenda geschrieben: Die lokale und nachhaltige Produktion von Lebensmitteln in der Stadt. Unter dem Stichwort „Essbare Stadt“ existieren in Rotterdam über 200 Initiativen. „Am bekanntesten ist sicherlich Rotterzwam: Ein Unternehmen, das in einem alten Schwimmbad auf Kaffeesatz Pilze züchtet und diese an lokale Gastronomen verkauft“, sagt Ina Säumel. Die Mitarbeiterin am Integrative Research Institute on Transformations of Human-Environment Systems (IRI THESys) der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin beschäftigt sich seit Langem mit dem Konzept der „Essbaren Städte“, zuletzt mehrere Jahre an der Technischen Universität Berlin, an der sie weiter Projekte zum Thema betreut.

 „Wir versuchen gemeinsam mit verschiedensten Partnern, das vorhandene Wissen über Einzelprojekte der lokalen Lebensmittelproduktion in einem Netzwerk zu bündel.“ Ina Säumel

Seit Ende 2018 leitet Ina Säumel das Projekt EdiCitNet (Integrating Edible City Solutions for Social Resilient and Sustainably Productive Cities). Ziel des Projekts ist es, individuelle Konzepte zu entwickeln, um Lebensmittel in unterschiedlichen Städten lokal und nachhaltig zu produzieren. „Wir versuchen gemeinsam mit verschiedensten Partnern, das vorhandene Wissen über Einzelprojekte der lokalen Lebensmittelproduktion in einem Netzwerk zu bündeln, zu analysieren und auf einer digitalen Plattform für alle Interessierten zusammenzustellen“, erklärt Ina Säumel.

Entstanden ist das Projekt aus der Zusammenarbeit der promovierten Biologin und Geographin mit Jörg Niewöhner, Professor für Europäische Ethnologie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Die Kooperation zwischen Natur- und Sozialwissenschaften sollte die unterschiedlichen Denkschemata kombinieren und daraus neue Synergien für die konkrete Umsetzung von Projekten schaffen. Dazu haben Ina Säumel und ihr interdisziplinäres Team 35 Partner zusammengebracht: 13 Städte, verschiedene Wissenschaftsinstitutionen, Nichtregierungsorganisation (NGOs) sowie mittelständische Unternehmen, die über eine große Expertise in der Branche verfügen. Unter den Städten sind sowohl Großstädte wie Oslo, Rotterdam, Havanna, Montevideo, Lomé und Berlin vertreten als auch kleinere Orte wie Andernach, Sant Feliu de LLobregat in Katalonien oder Sempeter pri Gorici in Slowenien.

Kann man das essen? Projektleiterin Dr. Ina Säumel erläutert den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern eines Workshops im Berliner Prinzessinnengarten das Konzept von EdiCitNet.

Kann man das essen? Projektleiterin Dr. Ina Säumel erläutert den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern eines Workshops im Berliner Prinzessinnengarten das Konzept von EdiCitNet.
Bildquelle: EdiCitNet

„Bis zum Herbst 2019 werden fünf der Partnerstädte, in denen bereits Projekte zur essbaren Stadt existieren, sogenannte Living Labs etablieren“, sagt Ina Säumel. Aufgabe dieser Reallabore sei die konkrete Umsetzung von einzelnen Projekten, die in sogenannten City Teams geplant werden.

Mit Hilfe der wissenschaftlichen Koordinatorinnen und Koordinatoren sollen diese City Teams Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der relevanten Stakeholder und Interessengruppen der jeweiligen Stadt zusammenführen, etwa die Stadtverwaltung, Unternehmen, Bürgerinitiativen sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. „Das Konzept der City Teams ist ganz einfach“, erklärt Ina Säumel. „Sie sind wie eine Fußballmannschaft aufgebaut: Es braucht Stürmer, Spielführer und Verteidiger, Manager und Trainer, um konkrete Projekte wirksam umzusetzen.“

Jedes City Team besteht aus rund elf Hauptakteurinnen und -akteuren sowie verschiedenen Beratenden, die gemeinsam das Living Lab entwickeln. Darüberhinaus wird es Treffen mit anderen City Teams geben, um sich auszutauschen und alle Informationen später auf einer digitalen Informationsplattform zur Verfügung zu stellen, der EdiCitNet Tool Box.

„In den Living Labs können sowohl konkrete Projekte umgesetzt, als auch strukturelle Rahmenbedingungen verändert werden.“ Ina Säumel

Dr. Ina Säumel leitet das Projekt EdiCitNet, arbeitete an der Technischen Universität Berlin und nun an der Humboldt-Universität zur essbaren Stadt.

Dr. Ina Säumel leitet das Projekt EdiCitNet, arbeitete an der Technischen Universität Berlin und nun an der Humboldt-Universität zur essbaren Stadt.
Bildquelle: RuralFutures

Andernach, das bereits mit dem Slogan „Die essbare Stadt“ wirbt, hat sich zum Beispiel vorgenommen, eine bestimmte Fläche als urbanen Garten zu verwenden. Diese Fläche soll von lokalen Kindergärten, Schulen, Flüchtlingsheimen und anderen Initiativen bewirtschaftet werden. Die geernteten Produkte werden in den Kantinen der beteiligten Einrichtungen verarbeitet.

„In den Living Labs können sowohl konkrete Projekte umgesetzt, als auch strukturelle Rahmenbedingungen verändert werden, wie im Beispiel von Rotterdam“, sagt Ina Säumel. In der niederländischen Stadt sollen Maßnahmen ausgearbeitet werden, um die 200 lokalen Initiativen in einem Dachverband zu bündeln und so ihr langfristiges, wirtschaftliches Überleben zu sichern. Aus den Erfahrungen der erfolgreichen Initiativen soll ein Handbuch erstellt werden. „Da werden Fragen beantwortet wie: Welche Fördermaßnahmen bezüglich der essbaren Stadt gibt es? Was muss bei der Marktzulassung der Produkte beachtet werden? Wie kann ein Produkt als Rotterdamer Produkt gelabelt werden?“, beschreibt Ina Säumel

Studierende der TU Berlin analysieren im Labor für Organische Spurenanalytik und Naturstoffe des Instituts für Ökologie die Inhaltsstoffe von Lebensmitteln, die im Rahmen des Projektes angebaut werden.

Studierende der TU Berlin analysieren im Labor für Organische Spurenanalytik und Naturstoffe des Instituts für Ökologie die Inhaltsstoffe von Lebensmitteln, die im Rahmen des Projektes angebaut werden.
Bildquelle: Paul Fiedler

Die acht weiteren Partnerstädte entwickeln in ihren City Teams Konzepte über Strukturen, die geschaffen werden müssen, um konkrete Projekte umzusetzen. In Berlin ist es zum Beispiel gelungen, für die City Teams alle wichtigen Senatsverwaltungen an einen Tisch zu bekommen, dazu NGOs wie die Online-Plattform Mundraub für die Entdeckung und Nutzung essbarer Landschaften sowie das Ingenieurbüro Nolde & Partner für innovative Wasserkonzepte und das Projekt Roof Water-Farm für Regenwassermanagement.

Von Seiten der Wissenschaft werden auch Fragen der Governance und Partizipation ausgewertet. Gemeinsam mit den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern im Labor für Organische Spurenanalytik und Naturstoffe des Instituts für Ökologie der Technischen Universität Berlin unter der Leitung der promovierten Chemikerin Thi Lam Huong Pham wird die organische Schadstoffbelastung im Gemüse und Obst, das in unseren Städten wächst, untersucht. Im Studienprojekt „Wie gesund ist die essbare Stadt? Untersuchung von Organischen Schadstoffen in Produkten urbaner Gärten“ nehmen Studierende des Studiengangs Ökologie und Planung der Technischen Universität Berlin die Produkte der EdiCitNet-Städte genau unter die Lupe. „So verbinden wir unsere Forschung erfolgreich mit der universitären Lehre“, erläutert Ina Säumel. „Studierende setzen sich mit den Akteurinnen und Akteuren der essbaren Städte auseinander, identifizieren Barrieren und Hindernisse für ihre Umsetzung und arbeiten mit analytischen Methoden der organischen Chemie.“

Weitere Informationen

EdiCitNet

Angesiedelt ist das Projekt in dem interdisziplinären Forschungszentrum IRI THESys der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Die Europäische Kommission fördert EdiCitNet mit rund 12 Millionen Euro für die nächsten fünf Jahre. Rund 3,8 Millionen Euro der gesamten Fördersumme verbleiben bei den Berliner Partnern, der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen, der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (IRI THESys), Mundraub sowie Nolde & Partner.