Exploring Cohesion

With its first call as part of the “Grand Challenge Initiative” on the topic of “Social Cohesion,” the Berlin University Alliance is promoting networking among researchers on this topic

Sep 19, 2019

Sharpen your focus: the call on “Social Cohesion” is directed at researchers from all disciplines at the three major Berlin universities and Charité.

Sharpen your focus: the call on “Social Cohesion” is directed at researchers from all disciplines at the three major Berlin universities and Charité.
Image Credit: Pixabay License

A diffuse feeling is spreading throughout Germany: society is drifting apart. In talk shows, debates in the German Bundestag or on social media, as well as within families, polarization around topics such as migration or climate change appears increasingly stronger. And Germany is not alone in this. What “social cohesion” means and which developments challenge societies worldwide are central questions of the Berlin University Alliance’s first “Grand Challenge Initiative.”

“We deliberately chose a topic that also relies on the expertise of non-university institutions in Berlin.” Peter A. Frensch

With the “Grand Challenge Initiative” program, the Berlin University Alliance is addressing contemporary social challenges of global significance. The first step will be a call on the subject of social cohesion. In the two-stage competition, researchers from the three major Berlin universities and Charité can apply until October 15 in a pre-call for funding of up to 10,000 euros. The money will be used for networking to first explore the field.

The concept of social cohesion lies at the intersection between academic perspectives in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and engineering; applications from all disciplines are eligible. Cooperation across disciplines and institutions is explicitly supported.

“We have deliberately chosen a subject area that is so large and complex that it cannot be dealt with by one university alone, but rather is dependent on the expertise of both academic and non-academic institutions in Berlin,” says Peter A. Frensch, Professor of Psychology and as Vice President for Research at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin a member of the steering committee “Focusing on Grand Challenges.” The social benefit of research was another central criterion in the selection process. According to Frensch, stakeholders from politics, civil society, culture, administration, and business must also be integrated from the outset in order to be able to grasp the complex nature of the issue of social cohesion and make the results useful for society.

For political scientist Tanja Börzel, collaboration with non-university institutions is also part of everyday research life. Together with Michael Zürn from Berlin Social Science Center, she is spokesperson for the SCRIPTS Cluster of Excellence based at Freie Universität Berlin, which examines the world-wide challenges of the liberal democracy model. “The belief that we as academics can look at society from the outside and then make recommendations is outdated,” says Tanja Börzel, who was involved in finding the topic for the call.

“Berlin’s position in this research field is excellent.” Tanja Börzel

It is obvious to the political scientist that Berlin has a significant locational advantage when it comes to investigating “social cohesion”: “A modern understanding of social cohesion does not start from a homogeneous community, but understands diversity as an integral part of a society. And this diversity – be it ethnicity, religion, nationality, or sexuality – is what defines Berlin.” This is not the only reason why the city is an excellent location for research on social interaction.

Prof. Dr. Tanja A. Börzel is professor of political science and the director of the Cluster of Excellence “Contestations of the Liberal Script”

Prof. Dr. Tanja A. Börzel is professor of political science and the director of the Cluster of Excellence “Contestations of the Liberal Script”
Image Credit: Martin Funck

The complex globalized world is condensing in Berlin as if under a magnifying glass: the city’s multiculturalism, but also the inequality in living conditions, social segregation, and not least the history of the divided city in East and West Germany bring together many factors that are exciting for investigating the topic.

In addition, the city offers an extraordinary landscape for the study of social cohesion: “Berlin’s position in this research field is excellent. It has a unique feature in the social sciences due to the strong link between regional studies and international relations,” says Tanja Börzel.

Right on their doorstep, academics can work together with actors from politics or civil society initiatives and build bridges from the local to the wider world. “Solutions to the challenges of our time must be global. So far, this has mainly taken place at the state level, but thinking in terms of nation states does not help with questions of this magnitude,” says the political scientist.

“It is important that the path leads us to continuous and sustainable cooperation.” Peter A. Frensch

Special formats within the framework of the “Grand Challenge Initiative” are intended to strengthen cooperation between researchers in Berlin with non-university institutions such as museums and non-governmental organizations. “We would like to create networking opportunities for scientists and scholars with interesting partners in the city. For the Berlin University Alliance, it is important that the path leads us to continuous and sustainable cooperation,” says Frensch.

Prof. Dr. Peter A. Frensch is Vice President for Research Affairs at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and a member of the steering committee “Focusing on Grand Challenges.”

Prof. Dr. Peter A. Frensch is Vice President for Research Affairs at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and a member of the steering committee “Focusing on Grand Challenges.”
Image Credit: Matthias Heyde

In the first part of the call – a kind of “exploration phase” – applicants can receive funding of up to 10,000 euros for six months, beginning November 1, 2019. The funds can be used to establish initial contacts and prepare content, for example to reimburse travel and accommodation expenses for potential project partners from abroad. “Groups can already start forming and consider how they would like to contribute to the topic,” says Frensch. The money from the first round of funding could be used, says Tanja Börzel, to build networks and “get something off the ground.”

Researchers from the postdoctoral level upward who are employed at one of the member institutions of the Berlin University Alliance are eligible to apply. Projects consist of a fixed group of at least five eligible applicants. This group is made up of members from at least two of the three Berlin universities and Charité. The “big” call for applications is then planned for 2020.

Together, says Peter A. Frensch, we can develop answers to global challenges in Berlin in just a few years: “In five to ten years, Berlin could be a highly recognized location worldwide where questions of social cohesion will be examined on a level that matches their complexity.”

Zusammenhalt erforschen

Mit ihrem ersten Call im Rahmen der „Grand Challenge Initiative“ zum Thema „Social Cohesion“ fördert die Berlin University Alliance die Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern zu diesem Thema

19.09.2019

Den Blick schärfen: Der Call zum Thema „Sozialer Zusammenhalt“ richtet sich an Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité aller Disziplinen.

Den Blick schärfen: Der Call zum Thema „Sozialer Zusammenhalt“ richtet sich an Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité aller Disziplinen.
Bildquelle: Pixabay License

Es ist ein diffuses Gefühl, das sich in der Bevölkerung breitmacht: Die Gesellschaft drifte auseinander. In Talkshows, Bundestagsdebatten, den Sozialen Medien, aber auch innerhalb von Familien erscheint die Polarisierung um Themen wie Migration oder Klimawandel zunehmend stärker. Nicht nur in Deutschland. Was „sozialer Zusammenhalt“ bedeutet und welche Entwicklungen Gesellschaften weltweit herausfordern sind zentrale Fragestellungen der ersten „Grand Challenge Initiative“ der Berlin University Alliance.

„Wir haben bewusst ein Thema gewählt, dass auch auf die Expertise nicht-wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen in Berlin angewiesen ist.“ Peter A. Frensch

Mit dem Programm der „Grand Challenge Initiative“ stellt sich die Berlin University Alliance gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen der Gegenwart von globaler Bedeutung. Den Auftakt macht ein Call zum Thema sozialer Zusammenhalt. In dem zweistufigen Wettbewerb können sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité bis zum 15. Oktober in einem „Pre-Call“ für Fördermittel bis zu 10.000 Euro bewerben. Das Geld soll der Vernetzung dienen, um zunächst das Feld in einer Art Explorationsphase zu erkunden.

Der Begriff des gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalts liegt an der Schnittstelle geistes-, sozial-, natur- und ingenieurswissenschaftlicher Perspektiven, Anträge aus allen Disziplinen sind denkbar. Die Zusammenarbeit über Disziplinen und Einrichtungen hinweg wird ausdrücklich unterstützt.

„Wir haben ganz bewusst ein Themenfeld gewählt, dass so groß und komplex ist, dass es nicht von einer Hochschule alleine behandelt werden kann, sondern auf die Expertise der wissenschaftlichen und auch der nicht-wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in Berlin angewiesen ist“, sagt Peter A. Frensch, Professor für Psychologie und als Vizepräsident für Forschung der Humboldt-Universität Mitglied des Steering Committee des Schwerpunktes „Focusing on Grand Challenge" . Der gesellschaftliche Mehrwert der Forschung sei ein weiteres zentrales Kriterium bei der Auswahl gewesen. Um das Thema des sozialen Zusammenhalts in seiner Vielschichtigkeit betrachten und die Ergebnisse für die Gesellschaft nutzbar machen zu können, müssten von vornherein auch Stakeholder aus Politik, Zivilgesellschaft, Kultur, Verwaltung oder Wirtschaft integriert werden, so Frensch.

Die Zusammenarbeit auch mit außeruniversitären Einrichtungen gehört für die Politikwissenschaftlerin Tanja Börzel zum Forschungsalltag. Gemeinsam mit Michael Zürn vom Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin ist sie Sprecherin des an der Freien Universität Berlin angesiedelten Exzellenzclusters SCRIPTS, in dem die Infragestellung des Modells der liberalen Demokratie als Leitbild untersucht werden. „Zu glauben, wir könnten als Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler von außen auf die Gesellschaft schauen und dann Empfehlungen aussprechen, ist nicht mehr zeitgemäß“, sagt Tanja Börzel, die an der Themenfindung zum Call beteiligt war.

„Berlin ist in diesem Bereich wissenschaftlich hervorragend aufgestellt.“ Tanja Börzel

Dass Berlin einen bedeutenden Standortvorteil bei der Untersuchung von „Social Cohesion“ einnimmt, liegt für die Politikwissenschaftlerin auf der Hand: „Ein modernes Verständnis von sozialen Zusammenhalt geht nicht von einer homogenen Gemeinschaft aus, sondern versteht Vielfalt als festen Bestandteil einer Gesellschaft. Und diese Diversität – gleich ob der Ethnie, Religion, Nationalität oder Sexualität – macht Berlin aus.“ Nicht nur deshalb sei die Stadt ein hervorragender Standort für die Erforschung des sozialen Miteinanders.

Prof. Dr. Tanja A. Börzel ist Politikwissenschaftlerin und Sprecherin des Exzellenzclusters SCRIPTS.

Prof. Dr. Tanja A. Börzel ist Politikwissenschaftlerin und Sprecherin des Exzellenzclusters SCRIPTS.
Bildquelle: Martin Funck

Wie unter einem Brennglas verdichtet sich in Berlin die komplexe globalisierte Welt: Die Multikulturalität der Stadt, aber auch die Ungleichheit in den Lebensbedingungen, die soziale Segregation und nicht zuletzt die Geschichte der geteilten Stadt in Ost- und Westdeutschland bringen hier viele Faktoren zusammen, die für die Untersuchung des Themas spannend sind.

Hinzukommt eine außerordentliche Wissenschaftslandschaft: „Berlin ist wissenschaftlich hervorragend aufgestellt. Es hat ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal in den Sozialwissenschaften durch die starke Verbindung zwischen den Regionalstudien und den Internationalen Beziehungen“, sagt Tanja Börzel.

Und gleich vor der Haustür könnten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit Akteurinnen und Akteuren aus Politik oder zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen zusammenarbeiten – und aus dem Lokalen heraus Brücken in die Welt schlagen: „Lösungen auf die Herausforderungen unserer Zeit müssen auf globaler Ebene angesiedelt sein. Bislang findet das vor allem auf Länderebene statt, aber ein Denken in Nationalstaaten hilft bei Fragestellungen dieser Größe nicht weiter“, so die Politikwissenschaftlerin.

„Wichtig ist uns, eine kontinuierliche und nachhaltige Zusammenarbeit in Berlin auf den Weg zu bringen.“ Peter A. Frensch

Besondere Formate im Rahmen der „Grand Challenge Initiative“ sollen die Zusammenarbeit der Berliner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit außeruniversitären Einrichtungen wie Museum oder Nichtregierungsorganisationen stärken: „Wir möchten Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten für die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit interessanten Partnern in der Stadt schaffen. Wichtig ist für die Berlin University Alliance, dass uns der Weg zu einer kontinuierlichen und nachhaltigen Zusammenarbeit führt“, sagt Frensch.

Prof. Dr. Peter A. Frensch ist Vizepräsident für Forschung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Mitglied des Steering Committees  „Focussing on Grand Challenge Initiative“ der Berlin University Alliance.

Prof. Dr. Peter A. Frensch ist Vizepräsident für Forschung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Mitglied des Steering Committees „Focussing on Grand Challenge Initiative“ der Berlin University Alliance.
Bildquelle: Matthias Heyde

In dem ersten Teil des Calls ­– einer Art „Erkundungsphase“ – können Antragsstellerinnen und Antragsteller bis zu 10.000 Euro über einen Zeitraum von sechs Monaten einwerben. Förderbeginn ist der 1. November 2019. Mit den Mitteln können erste Kontakte geknüpft und Inhalte vorbereitet werden, etwa um Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten für potentielle Projektpartnerinnen und -partner aus dem Ausland zu vergüten. „Gruppen können sich jetzt schon finden und überlegen, wie sie zu dem Thema beitragen möchten“, sagt Frensch. Das Geld der ersten Förderrunde könnte genutzt werden, sagt auch Tanja Börzel, um Netzwerke aufzubauen und schon jetzt „schon etwas aufs Gleis zu setzen“.

Antragsberechtigt sind Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler nach der Promotion, die an einer der Einrichtungen der Berlin University Alliance beschäftigt sind. Ein Projekt besteht aus einem festen Personenkreis von mindestens fünf Antragsberechtigten. Dieser setzt sich aus Angehörigen von mindestens zwei der drei Berliner Universitäten und der Charité zusammen. Der „große“ Aufruf zur Antragstellung ist dann für 2020 geplant.

Gemeinsam, sagt Peter A. Frensch, könne man es schaffen, dass in Berlin schon in wenigen Jahren Antworten auf die globalen Herausforderungen entwickelt werden: „In fünf bis zehn Jahren ist Berlin ein international sehr anerkannter Standort, an dem Fragen zum sozialen Zusammenhalt ihrer Komplexität angemessen untersucht werden.“