Machine learning in medicine must be comprehensible and replicable

Scientists at Technische Universität Berlin and Charité are applying machine learning techniques in imaging diagnostics

Sep 13, 2019

The Berlin Center for Machine Learning (BZML) is an interface between machine learning and medical research.

The Berlin Center for Machine Learning (BZML) is an interface between machine learning and medical research.
Image Credit: Shutterstock

The partnership between Klaus-Robert Müller, a professor of machine learning at Technische Universität Berlin, and Frederick Klauschen, a professor of molecular pathology at Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, was initially marred by a rejection; Müller was not prepared to divulge information to a research colleague working for Klauschen on a topic at the interface of machine learning and medicine. His reason was that fundamental issues of this kind could only be resolved in close cooperation. Müller, who has a strong interest in cancer research, suggested instead that a collaborative project be set up. The two scientists have now been working closely for more than six years.

Klaus-Robert Müller, a professor of machine learning at Technische Universität Berlin, leads the Berlin Center for Machine Learning.

Klaus-Robert Müller, a professor of machine learning at Technische Universität Berlin, leads the Berlin Center for Machine Learning.
Image Credit: Christian Kielmann

“Innovative projects that involve more than one scientific discipline are often marathon projects,” says Müller. “The formulation of the common research question alone – such that it can be solved by the technologies in question – requires a long-term cooperative process that has to be agreed in fine detail. Germany lacks the support formats for this.”

A possible framework for interdisciplinary research questions in the future is now in place: the Berlin Center for Machine Learning (BZML, Berliner Zentrum für Maschinelles Lernen), set up in August 2018. It is led by Müller, and Klauschen is also a participant. Machine learning is a sub-field of artificial intelligence. Simply put, machine learning involves processes that enable the recognition of patterns using known data; this then allows unknown data to be assessed.

The aim of BZML is to draw on the synergies afforded by the extensive Berlin scientific landscape and to pool together basic research in the field of machine learning. The center unites scientists at Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the University of Potsdam, and numerous non-university research institutions.

Frederick Klauschen is a professor of molecular pathology at Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin and a Junior Fellow of the Einstein Foundation Berlin.

Frederick Klauschen is a professor of molecular pathology at Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin and a Junior Fellow of the Einstein Foundation Berlin.
Image Credit: Einstein Stiftung Berlin

One of its core aims is to tap into new scientific/technical applications of machine learning for use in other areas, including medicine. A shared project by Müller and Klauschen concerns imaging analysis in cancer diagnostics. Generally, cancer research involves looking at wafer-thin slices of tissue under the microscope. Using these images, the doctor can assess what type of tumor is present. “Pathologists are able to make a qualitative judgement, i.e., whether a tumor is malignant or not,” says Klauschen. “But quantitative analysis or description that gives a more detailed picture is considerably more of a challenge for the human eye. We would like to know for instance how quickly the tumor is growing, or how many immune cells (lymphocytes) have entered the tumor.”

“We know that in some carcinomas such as breast cancer, the number of lymphocytes present in the tumor tissue affects the prognosis. We are also discussing whether the number can have a predictive value – in other words, allow us to say what therapy is working and how well,” Klauschen says. “For this reason, the number is particularly interesting for research.” Up to now, the pathologist has had two options: either he or she estimates the number of lymphocytes, or counts them. The first method is imprecise, the second extremely cumbersome as a daily medical procedure.

Klauschen and Müller began to consider machine learning as an answer to these questions some six years ago. Now, a process exists that not only can convey the exact number of lymphocytes but also presents the result in visual form and thus is verifiable by doctors. “The ability to explain results is indispensable in medicine. For this alone, we had to set up a massive database of medical images through which the system can learn,” Klauschen explains.

“Currently we are working with Berlin Health Innovations on developing a prototype for clinical applications.” Frederick Klauschen

It is not enough to solve the mathematical problem – to establish the number of specific cells from imaging data. The math must be replicable by users. “Here, this happens thanks to Layerwise Relevance Propagation (LRP). This is a process we have developed in the project,” says Müller. It permits a view into the so-called “Black Box” of machine learning and presents the image points based on which the algorithm makes decisions, in a so-called heat map.

Recently, the system has been perfected to the stage where a heat map can be produced in just a few seconds. “Currently we are working with Berlin Health Innovations – the joint technology transfer unit of the Berlin Institute of Health (BIH) and Charité – on developing a prototype for clinical applications,” says Klauschen.

Close cooperation between the various Berlin institutions in joint projects like BZML or the Berlin Big Data Center (BBDC), also carried by Technische Universität Berlin in cooperation with Charité and other partners as well as beyond, is what makes such projects possible in the first place, Müller believes. The starting point is a scientific question, which must be honed to a point that allows the participating technologies to resolve it. Then, members of the BZML can attempt to develop the appropriate new algorithms. “At the first stage, these do not fulfil any real time conditions, but simply resolve the mathematical problem. Such methods can be scaled in the BBDC. In order to introduce them in medical practice, we need institutions like Berlin Health Innovations,” Müller states.

“The difficulty here – or one of them – is that we are dealing with very heterogeneous data and diverse information content.” Klaus-Robert Müller

Within the framework of the new Berlin Center for Machine Learning, the two scientists are already busy with the further development of the technology. “Our next goal is to supplement image-based diagnostics with molecular data, for instance mutation profiles or the specific protein composition of a sample,” says Klauschen. “The difficulty here – or one of them – is that we are dealing with very heterogeneous data and diverse information content; not only that, but the spatial resolution and underlying statistics also vary,” Müller says of the challenge they face.

At the same time, the topic is a perfect fit for BZML; the center is concerned with gathering and compiling information from divergent structures of multi-modal data from various sources. “Even if the theme of an individual area is varied, the questions for machine learning are similar,” says Müller. The BZML aims to achieve fundamentally new research contributions in the interdisciplinary fields of biomedicine, communication, and the digital humanities.


The Berlin Center for Machine Learning

The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) has subsidized the creation of the Berlin Center for Machine Learning (BZML) to the tune of 8.5 million euros, beginning in August 2018 and continuing for four years. The interdisciplinary forum BZML is under the leadership of Klaus-Robert Müller, a professor of machine learning at Technische Universität Berlin. BZML has four focus areas:

  1. to continue to advance the theoretical and algorithmic bases of machine learning
  2. to identify new scientific and technical applications for machine learning
  3. to realize new research findings in the interdisciplinary areas of biomedicine, communication, and digital humanities
  4. to design machine learning in a manner that is comprehensible and replicable.

„Künstliche Intelligenz in der Medizin muss nachvollziehbar sein“

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Charité setzen maschinelle Lernverfahren in der Bilddiagnostik ein

11.09.2019

Das Berliner Zentrum für Maschinelles Lernen (BZML) ist Schnittstelle zwischen maschinellem Lernen und medizinischer Forschung.

Das Berliner Zentrum für Maschinelles Lernen (BZML) ist Schnittstelle zwischen maschinellem Lernen und medizinischer Forschung.
Bildquelle: Shutterstock

Begonnen hat die Zusammenarbeit von Klaus-Robert Müller, Professor für maschinelles Lernen an der Technischen Universität Berlin, und Frederick Klauschen, Professor für Molekulare Pathologie an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, mit einer Absage: Einen wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter, der für Frederick Klauschen ein Thema an der Schnittstelle zwischen maschinellem Lernen und Medizin bearbeiten sollte, wollte Klaus-Robert Müller ihm nicht vermitteln, da so grundsätzliche Fragestellungen nur in engeren Kooperationen beantwortet werden könnten. Stark an der Krebsforschung interessiert, schlug Müller stattdessen ein gemeinsames Projekt vor. Seit über sechs Jahren arbeiten die beiden Wissenschaftler inzwischen eng zusammen.

Klaus-Robert Müller, Professor für maschinelles Lernen an der Technischen Universität Berlin, leitet das Berliner Kompetenzzentrum für Maschinelles Lernen.

Klaus-Robert Müller, Professor für maschinelles Lernen an der Technischen Universität Berlin, leitet das Berliner Kompetenzzentrum für Maschinelles Lernen.
Bildquelle: Christian Kielmann

„Innovative Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaften sind oft Marathonprojekte.“ Klaus-Robert Müller

„Innovative Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaften sind oft Marathonprojekte“, sagt Klaus-Robert Müller. „Allein um die gemeinsame Forschungsfrage so zu formulieren, dass sie für die beteiligten Technologien lösbar wird, braucht es einen langfristigen, eng abgestimmten kooperativen Prozess. Dafür fehlen in Deutschland die Förderformate.“

Einen möglichen Rahmen, um solche interdisziplinären Forschungsfragen in Zukunft voranzutreiben, bietet seit August 2018 das Berliner Kompetenzzentrum für Maschinelles Lernen (BZML), das von Klaus-Robert Müller geleitet wird und an dem auch Frederick Klauschen beteiligt ist. Maschinelles Lernen ist ein Teilbereich der künstlichen Intelligenz. Vereinfacht dargestellt beschreibt Maschinelles Lernen Verfahren, die anhand von bekannten Daten trainiert werden, Muster zu erkennen, um dann unbekannte Daten beurteilen zu können.

Ziel des BZML ist es, die Synergieeffekte der reichhaltigen Berliner Wissenschaftslandschaft zu nutzen und die Grundlagenforschung im Bereich des maschinellen Lernens zu bündeln. Das Zentrum verbindet Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Charité, der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Universität Potsdam sowie zahlreicher außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen.

Frederick Klauschen ist Professor für Molekulare Pathologie an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und Junior Fellow der Einstein Stiftung Berlin.

Frederick Klauschen ist Professor für Molekulare Pathologie an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und Junior Fellow der Einstein Stiftung Berlin.
Bildquelle: Einstein Stiftung Berlin

Einer der Schwerpunkte des Zentrums liegt darin, neue wissenschaftlich-technische Anwendungen des maschinellen Lernens unter anderem in der Medizin zu erschließen. In einem gemeinsamen Projekt von Klaus-Robert Müller und Frederick Klauschen geht es um die Bildanalyse in der Krebsdiagnostik. Standardmäßig werden in der Krebsforschung hauchdünne Schnitte von Gewebeproben unter dem Mikroskop betrachtet. Anhand dieser Bilder beurteilt der Arzt oder die Ärztin, um was für einen Tumor es sich handelt. „Pathologen beherrschen die qualitative Beurteilung – also ob ein Tumor bösartig ist oder nicht – sehr gut“, erläutert Frederick Klauschen. „Für das menschliche Auge deutlich schwieriger zu erfassen, sind quantitative Analysen oder Beschreibungen, die den Tumor näher charakterisieren. Zum Beispiel: Wie schnell wächst der Tumor oder wie viele Immunzellen (Lymphozyten) sind in den Tumor eingewandert?“

"Bei einigen Karzinomen, zum Beispiel bei Brustkrebs, ist bekannt, dass die Zahl der eingewanderten Lymphozyten im Tumorgewebe einen Einfluss auf die Prognose der Patientin hat. Zusätzlich wird diskutiert, ob diese Zahl auch einen prädiktiven Wert hat – also Aussagen darüber ermöglicht, wie gut welche Therapie anschlägt“, sagt Frederick Klauschen. „Daher ist diese Zahl aus Sicht der Forschung besonders interessant.“ Bislang hat der Pathologe zwei Möglichkeiten: entweder er schätzt die Anzahl der Lymphozyten oder er zählt. Die erste Methode ist ungenau, die zweite sehr aufwändig im medizinischen Alltag.

"Momentan arbeiten wir mit Berlin Health Innovation daran, einen Prototyp für die klinische Anwendung zu erstellen.“ Frederick Klauschen

Über die Lösung dieser Fragen mithilfe von maschinellem Lernen begannen sich Frederick Klauschen und Klaus-Robert Müller vor gut sechs Jahren Gedanken zu machen. Inzwischen existiert ein Verfahren, das nicht nur in der Lage ist, die exakte Anzahl der Lymphozyten zu ermitteln, sondern das Ergebnis auch visualisiert und damit für Ärztinnen und Ärzte nachvollziehbar macht. „Diese Erklärbarkeit der Ergebnisse ist in der Medizin unverzichtbar. Allein dafür mussten wir eine riesige Datenbank an medizinischen Bilddaten erstellen, mit der das System lernen kann“, erklärt Frederick Klauschen.

Es reiche nicht, nur das mathematische Problem zu lösen – also aus Bilddaten die Anzahl bestimmter Zellen zu ermitteln. Diese Mathematik müsse für die Anwenderinnen und Anwender auch nachvollziehbar gemacht werden. „Das geschieht hier mit der Layerwise Relevance Propagation (LRP). Ein Verfahren, das wir in diesem Projekt entwickelt haben“, sagt Klaus-Robert Müller. Es ermöglicht einen Einblick in die sogenannte Black Box der maschinellen Lernverfahren und visualisiert die Bildpunkte, aufgrund derer der Algorithmus Entscheidungen trifft, in einer sogenannten Heatmap.

Seit Kurzem ist das System soweit ausgereift, dass diese Heatmap innerhalb weniger Sekunden erstellt wird. „Momentan arbeiten wir mit Berlin Health Innovation – dem gemeinsamen Technologietransfer des Berliner Instituts für Gesundheitsforschung (BIH) und der Charité – daran, einen Prototyp für die klinische Anwendung zu erstellen“, so Frederick Klauschen.

"Um neuartige Algorithmen in die medizinische Praxis zu bringen, braucht es Institutionen wie Berlin Health Innovations.“ Klaus-Robert Müller

Die enge Kooperation zwischen den verschiedenen Berliner Institutionen in gemeinsamen Projekten wie dem BZML oder dem Berlin Big Data Center (BBDC), das ebenfalls von der Technischen Universität in Kooperation mit der Charité und anderen Partnern getragen wird, und darüber hinaus mache solche Projekte überhaupt erst möglich, weiß Klaus-Robert Müller. Ausgangspunkt ist eine wissenschaftliche Fragestellung. Diese muss in einem ersten Schritt gemeinsam so geschärft werden, dass sie für die beteiligten Technologien überhaupt lösbar ist. Im BZML werde dann versucht, entsprechende neuartige Algorithmen zu entwickeln. „Diese erfüllen im ersten Schritt keine Echtzeitbedingungen, sondern lösen lediglich das mathematische Problem. Skaliert werden können solche Methoden im BBDC. Um sie in die medizinische Praxis zu bringen, braucht es Institutionen wie Berlin Health Innovations“, beschreibt Müller.

Im Rahmen des neuen Kompetenzzentrums für maschinelles Lernen machen sich die beiden Wissenschaftler bereits daran, die Technologie weiterzuentwickeln: „Unser nächstes Ziel ist es, die bildbasierte Diagnostik um molekulare Daten wie zum Beispiel Mutationsprofile oder die spezifische Proteinzusammensetzung einer Probe zu ergänzen“, so Frederick Klauschen. „Dabei liegt die Schwierigkeit unter anderem darin, dass wir es mit sehr heterogenen Daten zu tun haben, die nicht nur einen unterschiedlichen Informationsgehalt haben, sondern auch eine unterschiedliche räumliche Auflösung und darunterliegende Statistik“, beschreibt Klaus-Robert Müller die Herausforderung.

Gleichzeitig passt das Thema perfekt in den Schwerpunkt des BZML; das Zentrum beschäftigt sich unter anderen damit, die Informationen aus unterschiedlich strukturierten, multimodalen Daten verschiedener Quellen zusammenzubringen. „Auch, wenn die Thematik der einzelnen Bereiche sehr unterschiedlich sein kann, sind die Fragestellungen an das maschinelle Lernen dabei sehr ähnlich“, sagt Klaus-Robert Müller. Ziel des BZML ist es, hier fundamental neue Forschungsbeiträge in den interdisziplinären Bereichen Biomedizin, Kommunikation und Digital Humanities zu realisieren.


Berliner Zentrum für Maschinelles Lernen

Seit August 2018 fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) den Aufbau des Berliner Kompetenzzentrums für Maschinelles Lernen (BZML) mit einer Summe von rund 8,5 Millionen Euro über vier Jahre. Geleitet wird das interdisziplinär arbeitende BZML von Klaus-Robert Müller, Professor für Maschinelles Lernen an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Die Ausrichtung des BZML beinhaltet vier Schwerpunkte:

  1. theoretische und algorithmische Grundlagen des maschinellen Lernens weiter vorantreiben
  2. neue wissenschaftlich-technische Anwendungen für maschinelles Lernens erschließen
  3. neue Forschungsbeiträge in den interdisziplinären Bereichen Biomedizin, Kommunikation und Digital Humanities realisieren
  4. maschinelle Lernverfahren verständlich und nachvollziehbar gestalten