“We are very proud!”

Berlin University Alliance Wins Prestigious German “Excellence” Status – An Interview with the Alliance’s Spokesperson, Professor Günter M. Ziegler

Jul 20, 2019

Joy after the good news: Sabine Kunst, President of Humboldt-Universität, Günter M. Ziegler, President Freie Universität (l.), Karl Max Einhäupl, CEO Charité (m.) und Christian Thomsen, President of Technische Universität (r.).

Joy after the good news: Sabine Kunst, President of Humboldt-Universität, Günter M. Ziegler, President Freie Universität (l.), Karl Max Einhäupl, CEO Charité (m.) und Christian Thomsen, President of Technische Universität (r.).
Image Credit: Günter M. Ziegler

At precisely 4:10 p.m. the long wait finally came to an end: German Federal Minister of Education and Research Anja Karliczek announced the names of the 11 universities and university consortia winning German “excellence” status – among them was the Berlin consortium, consisting of Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and Technische Universität Berlin along with Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Members of all four institutions and other special guests gathered in the hundreds on Friday, July 19, at the Urania building in Berlin to watch the live-stream of the press conference in Bonn. It was a joyous occasion for all. The partner institutions made a bold decision when they chose to submit a proposal as a consortium – the only consortium proposal that was successful in the competitive selection process. It was a decision both to strengthen their collaborative efforts, which have already given way to numerous projects in diverse areas of research, by establishing an institutional framework, as well as to work together as a driving force for Berlin as a research hub. As of November 2019, the Berlin Alliance will receive around 30 million euros annually to pursue its goals – around 24 million euros by the state and additional 6 million by the Berlin Senate. An interview with Professor Günter M. Ziegler, the president of Freie Universität Berlin and spokesperson for the Berlin University Alliance.

Professor Ziegler, the Berlin University Alliance is now officially “excellent.” What does that mean for the Berlin Alliance?

Ziegler: This is an incredible honor and an acknowledgment of all that the four partner institutions have already achieved. It is also a vote of confidence in the Berlin Alliance’s potential. We are very proud! With this success we now have a strong wind in our sails. There are many people responsible for getting us this far: Researchers, students, and doctoral candidates, administrative staff, along with the heads of the universities and Charité. I would like to express again our gratitude to them all. Without their extraordinary dedication and input, the Berlin University Alliance would not have been possible.

What does this success mean for Berlin as a research hub?

Ziegler: In the last few years, it has become apparent in Berlin that science and research are a source of great potential for our future. Research is not just something for Berlin to be proud of. It is a driving force behind the economy, industry, and the city’s growth. The Berlin University Alliance plans to further support the development of Berlin as a place with a closely-knit research community and contribute to making it even more visible on an international level. These are important goals in terms of research, and they will benefit the city of Berlin as well.

The name of the consortium proposal is “Crossing Boundaries for an Integrated Research Environment” What boundaries are the four members hoping to cross?

Ziegler: All different kinds: First of all – and perhaps the most obvious – we are talking about boundaries between institutions, between the three universities and Charité – boundaries that make it difficult, for example, to organize joint degree programs or to carry out research projects together. We are also interested in breaking down boundaries between disciplines and between theoretical and applied research. And we are looking beyond the walls of our own institutions at ways to connect with non-university research institutes as well as ways to bring scholarship and research into Berlin city life.

Professor Günter M. Ziegler, the president of Freie Universität Berlin and spokesperson for the Berlin University Alliance.

Professor Günter M. Ziegler, the president of Freie Universität Berlin and spokesperson for the Berlin University Alliance.
Image Credit: Patricia Kalisch

Which projects are at the top of your priority list?

Ziegler: The Berlin University Alliance wants to address issues with global relevance for our future. We have decided on “social cohesion” as the first topic we want to attack. In addition to supporting interdisciplinary research and encouraging collaboration between researchers from different institutions, we also will engage with other social actors in Berlin. The idea is to do more than just share our knowledge with them. We want to foster a real exchange of ideas between academic research and society.

These overarching topics provide a shared focus for the consortium, but what other distinguishing features will the shared research environment have that you plan to create?

Ziegler: We want to optimize how we use Berlin’s great research infrastructure and make it easier for researchers from our partner institutions to share resources, from large-scale equipment and computer technology to scientific collections and libraries. Berlin is a goldmine in this respect. We also want to tackle the difficult issue of the quality standards in research. What drives researchers? What factors contribute to misguided practices, such as publishing redundant studies? We need to carefully study the incentives to encourage people to conduct research with even more transparency and produce results that are more valuable and that can be better verified. We already have several outstanding Berlin initiatives that provide a foundation for us to build on, for example, the QUEST Center at Charité, which promotes quality in biomedical research. With this basis, we can start a new chapter together: We have a responsibility that extends beyond the research produced here in Berlin. The Berlin University Alliance sees itself as an essential part of the international world of research in the twenty-first century.

German “Excellence” status comes with an annual budget of 24 million euros. In addition, the Berlin University Alliance will receive six million euros a year in financial support from the Berlin Senate. How will these funds be distributed between the four members?

Ziegler: This funding is going to allow us to get a lot done. The Berlin University Alliance is not a marriage of convenience designed for individual profits. The money will be directed to where it makes the most sense. When we focus our efforts on the topic of “social cohesion,” there will be a call for proposals from researchers at the member institutions. Funds will then be awarded based on the success of the applicants and whoever submits the best project proposal with clear and strong social relevance.

In the early stages, many university members expressed concern that the four partners would lose their unique strengths in the consortium. Do you share that concern?

Ziegler: No, on the contrary. The Berlin University Alliance draws its strength from the differences between its partner institutions. Another important task we plan to work on over the next few years is articulating the individual profiles of the four members. Each has its own style, its own agenda, and its own research fields, which it then uses to set things in motion. It wouldn’t help anyone if we were to all melt together into an undefinable mass. It is precisely our differences that make it such a good partnership.

How did you celebrate the good news?

Ziegler: We had a big party in the Urania building in Berlin. There was a huge crowd with people from all four institutions, plus other partners and guests from the Berlin community. For me it was great to see right before my eyes just how many people are invested in supporting the Berlin University Alliance.

Nina Diezemann conducted the interview.

„Wir sind sehr stolz!“

Die Berlin University Alliance wurde im Exzellenzwettbewerb ausgezeichnet – ein Interview mit dem Sprecher der Alliance, Professor Günter M. Ziegler

20.07.2019

Jubel in der Urania: Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin Humboldt-Universität, Günter M. Ziegler, Präsident Freie Universität (l.), Karl Max Einhäupl, Vorstandsvorsitzender Charité (M.) und Christian Thomsen, Präsident Technische Universität.

Jubel in der Urania: Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin Humboldt-Universität, Günter M. Ziegler, Präsident Freie Universität (l.), Karl Max Einhäupl, Vorstandsvorsitzender Charité (M.) und Christian Thomsen, Präsident Technische Universität.
Bildquelle: Günter M. Ziegler

Exakt um 16.10 Uhr hatte das Warten ein Ende: Bundesforschungsministerin Anja Karliczek gab die Namen der 11 Universitäten und Universitätsverbünde bekannt, die sich künftig mit dem Exzellenztitel schmücken dürfen – darunter auch der Berliner Verbund aus Freier Universität, Humboldt-Universität und Technischer Universität sowie Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Mehrere hundert Mitglieder aller vier Einrichtungen und geladene Gäste hatten am Freitag, den 19. Juli, die Liveübertragung der Pressekonferenz aus Bonn im Berliner Veranstaltungszentrum Urania verfolgt und freuten sich gemeinsam über den Erfolg. Mit ihrem Verbundantrag – dem einzigen, der im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs prämiiert wurde – verfolgen die Partnerinnen ein ambitioniertes Projekt: Sie wollen ihrer schon auf vielen Gebieten bestehenden Zusammenarbeit einen starken institutionellen Rahmen geben und Motor für die Berliner Wissenschaftslandschaft sein. Fast 30 Millionen Euro stehen ihnen hierfür nun von November an jedes Jahr zur Verfügung: etwa 24 Millionen vom Bund und 6 Millionen vom Land Berlin. Ein Interview mit Professor Günter M. Ziegler, dem Präsidenten der Freien Universität Berlin und Sprecher der Berlin University Alliance.

Herr Professor Ziegler, die Berlin University Alliance hat den Exzellenztitel geholt. Was bedeutet das für das Projekt?

Ziegler: Das ist eine großartige Anerkennung, nicht nur für alles, was die vier Partnerinnen bislang geleistet haben, sondern auch für das Potenzial des Verbundes. Wir sind sehr stolz! Der Titel ist ein großer Ansporn, jetzt gemeinsam loszulegen. An diesem Erfolg waren viele Menschen beteiligt: Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, Studierende und Promovierende, Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus den Verwaltungen sowie die Leitungen der Universitäten und der Charité. Ihnen allen möchte ich noch einmal unseren großen Dank aussprechen. Ohne ihr großartiges Engagement und die vielen guten Ideen wäre die Berlin University Alliance nicht möglich.

Was bedeutet der Erfolg der Alliance für den Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin?

Ziegler: In Berlin wurde in den letzten Jahren erkannt, welches große Potenzial in der Wissenschaft steckt und dass die Wissenschaft für Berlin nicht nur etwas ist, worauf man stolz sein kann, sondern dass sie auch ein handfester Motor für Wirtschaft, Industrie und die Entwicklung der Stadt ist. Unsere Agenda als Berlin University Alliance ist es, Berlin als eng vernetzten Wissenschaftsraum weiter zu entwickeln und international noch sichtbarer zu machen. Das ist wichtig für die Wissenschaft, aber auch für Berlin als Stadt.

Der Titel des Antrags lautet „Crossing Boundaries for an Integrated Research Environment“ („Grenzen überwinden für einen gemeinsamen Forschungsraum“). Welche Grenzen wollen die vier Partnerinnen gemeinsam überwinden?

Ziegler: Es geht um ganz unterschiedliche Grenzen: Zum einen – das ist naheliegend – die Grenzen zwischen Institutionen, zwischen den drei Universitäten und der Charité, die etwa die Einrichtung gemeinsamer Studiengänge oder die Durchführung gemeinsamer Forschungsprojekte erschweren. Zum anderen wollen wir die Grenzen zwischen Disziplinen und zwischen theoretischer und angewandter Forschung überwinden. Und außerdem möchten wir auch über unsere Einrichtungen hinausblicken und die Grenze zwischen den Universitäten und den außeruniversitären Forschungsinstituten überschreiten, ebenso wie die Grenze zwischen der Wissenschaft und der Stadtgesellschaft.

Professor Günter M. Ziegler, Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin und Sprecher der Berlin University Alliance.

Professor Günter M. Ziegler, Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin und Sprecher der Berlin University Alliance.
Bildquelle: Patricia Kalisch

Welche Projekte haben Sie sich als erstes vorgenommen?

Ziegler: Wir wollen uns im Verbund mit Zukunftsfragen von globaler Bedeutung beschäftigen. Als erste große Herausforderung haben wir uns das Thema „sozialer Zusammenhalt“ vorgenommen. Hierzu werden nicht nur Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler interdisziplinär und institutionenübergreifend forschen, wir wollen auch mit anderen gesellschaftlichen Akteuren in der Stadt in Austausch treten, um nicht nur unser Wissen zu kommunizieren, sondern auch Gedanken und Anregungen aus der Gesellschaft heraus in unsere weitere Forschung einzubeziehen.

Neben solchen übergreifenden Schwerpunktthemen – was wird den gemeinsamen Forschungsraum, den Sie schaffen wollen, noch auszeichnen?

Ziegler: Wir wollen die großartige Berliner Forschungsinfrastruktur noch besser nutzen und für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auch aus den jeweils anderen Einrichtungen zugänglich machen. Zu dieser Infrastruktur gehören etwa Großgeräte und Computerressourcen, aber auch wissenschaftliche Sammlungen und Bibliotheken. Hier liegt Berlins großer Schatz. Außerdem wollen wir uns einem schwierigen Thema stellen: der Qualität von Forschung. Was treibt Forscherinnen und Forscher an? Was führt möglicherweise zu Fehlentwicklungen wie etwa redundanten Publikationen? Wir wollen überlegen, wie man Anreizmechanismen schaffen kann, die dafür sorgen, dass auf noch transparentere Weise geforscht wird und noch wertvollere, noch besser nachprüfbare Ergebnisse entstehen. Hierbei können wir auf herausragende Berliner Initiativen aufbauen wie das QUEST Center an der Charité, das sich die Qualitätsförderung in der biomedizinischen Forschung zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, und so gemeinsam ein neues Kapitel aufschlagen: Wir wollen Verantwortung übernehmen, nicht nur für die Forschung, die in Berlin entsteht. Die Berlin University Alliance sieht sich als einen wichtigen Teil der globalen Wissenschaft des 21. Jahrhunderts.

Die Auszeichnung ist mit 24 Millionen Euro Förderung jährlich verbunden. Zusätzlich erhält die Berlin University Alliance Unterstützung vom Berliner Senat in Höhe von sechs Millionen Euro pro Jahr. Wird die Summe gleichmäßig auf die Häuser verteilt?

Ziegler: Mit der Förderung werden wir eine ganze Menge bewegen können. Der Verbund ist keine Beutegemeinschaft, das Geld soll dort eingesetzt werden, wo es am sinnvollsten ist. Wenn wir uns etwa mit dem Thema „sozialer Zusammenhalt“ beschäftigen, dann wird es dazu eine häuserübergreifende Ausschreibung geben, und die Forschungsmittel werden in einem Wettbewerb vergeben. Am Ende werden die besten und für die Gesellschaft wichtigsten Projekte gefördert.

Im Vorfeld hatten ja viele Universitätsmitglieder die Sorge geäußert, dass die vier Partnerinnen jetzt in der Allianz aufgehen werden. Sehen Sie das auch so?

Ziegler: Nein, im Gegenteil. Die Berlin University Alliance gewinnt ihre Stärke durch die Unterschiedlichkeit der Partnerinnen. Ein Teil unserer Agenda für die nächsten Jahre ist auch, dass die beteiligten Einrichtungen ihr Profil weiter schärfen. Jedes Haus hat seinen eigenen Stil, seine eigene Agenda, sein eigenes Fächerspektrum, um Dinge in Bewegung zu setzen. Ein Verschmelzen zu einem undefinierbaren Ganzen wäre wenig hilfreich. Am Ende passt gerade das zusammen, was unterschiedlich ist.

Wie haben Sie den Erfolg gefeiert?

Ziegler: Wir haben in der vollbesetzten Urania in Berlin gemeinsam gefeiert: Mitglieder aller Einrichtungen mit unseren Kooperationspartnern und anderen Gästen aus der Berliner Stadtgesellschaft. Für mich war toll, dass so noch einmal sichtbar und greifbar wurde, wie viele Menschen den Verbund tragen.

Die Fragen stellte Nina Diezemann

Schlagwörter