“Setting up your own company means tackling new problems every day.”

The three major Berlin universities and Charité have been awarding “Berliner Startup Stipendium” grants together since 2016. The results speak for themselves.

Jun 13, 2019

Up to now, 88 Berliner Startup Stipendium grants have been awarded to members of the three major Berlin universities and Charité.  Many company founders benefit from the networking meetings.

Up to now, 88 Berliner Startup Stipendium grants have been awarded to members of the three major Berlin universities and Charité. Many company founders benefit from the networking meetings.
Image Credit: Daniel Pasche

The idea is innovative and has market potential, and the team is well positioned for success – but for investors or large support programs, the project still has quite a way to go. In cases like this, Freie Universität Berlin, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and Technische Universität Berlin jointly offer the Berliner Startup Stipendium. The funds can be made available quickly and without a lot of bureaucracy. Entitled University Startup Factory, the Berliner Startup Stipendium program is funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Energy, and Public Enterprises as well as the European Social Fund. Two to four team members receive 2,000 euros per month over a period of six months; an extension for another six months is also possible. The teams are supervised by the start-up centers at the respective universities.

An integral part of the project is a comprehensive evaluation. The first results from qualitative and quantitative surveys were presented at a networking meeting at Freie Universität Berlin’s start-up incubator. 

During the pilot phase from August 2016 to March 2018, 62 teams of two to four people applied for the grant. Each application was preceded by a preliminary interview at the start-up support office at the respective universities. During that phase, 31 teams were selected to present their projects in person, and 26 start-up projects were finally chosen for funding. By January 2019, 19 business start-ups had emerged – meaning that around three-quarters of the projects were implemented during the survey period. 

In the second phase of the project, which is still ongoing, the number of applications and the number of funded start-ups has increased significantly: 112 teams applied, 61 teams were granted funding, and 11 of those have already founded a company. Many of the funded companies are already seeing positive results.

In a welcoming address at the networking meeting, Christian Rickerts, State Secretary in the Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Enterprises, thanked the universities in Berlin for attracting young international talent.

In a welcoming address at the networking meeting, Christian Rickerts, State Secretary in the Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Enterprises, thanked the universities in Berlin for attracting young international talent.
Image Credit: Daniel Pasche

Volker Hofmann, the head of knowledge transfer at Humboldt-Universität, pointed out that university spin-offs are an economic factor in Berlin.

Volker Hofmann, the head of knowledge transfer at Humboldt-Universität, pointed out that university spin-offs are an economic factor in Berlin.
Image Credit: Daniel Pasche

Ina Budde, founder of the start-up circular.fashion UG (limited liability), and her team funded by Freie Universität have developed a circulation system for sustainable fashion. A digital platform accompanies and controls the cycle of each garment, from design, through wearing, to recycling. In April 2019, circular.fashion won the H&M Foundation Global Change Award, worth 300,000 euros.

Future of Voice GmbH, founded at Technische Universität Berlin by Tilmann Böhme, Malte Kosub, and Stefan Ostwald, develops applications for the voice-controlled assistance systems Alexa and Google Assistant on behalf of large companies. Their customers include WWF, Evonik Industries AG, and the ERGO Group.

Tim Vogelsang and André Rieck’s Octorank Innovation UG (limited liability), which is funded by Humboldt-Universität, has acquired big customers like Deutsche Telekom and Vattenfall. Companies, developers, musicians, and copywriters use their platform to receive feedback on innovations and designs.

In 2017, Laura Büchler and Isabella Hillmer from the team at GHOST - feel it received the “Smart Wearables x Smart Textiles” award by the Senate Department for Economics, Energy, and Public Enterprises, worth 10,000 euros. The founders, who are funded by Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, are working on a glove for people suffering from nerve damage in their hands. It is intended to give them back their sense of touch and sensitivity to temperatures.

Looking to the future: Aneta Bärwolf (Freie Universität), Florian Hoos (Technische Universität), and Volker Hofmann (Humboldt-Universität) are preparing a proposal for a new project to be funded with a Berliner Startup Stipendium grant.

Looking to the future: Aneta Bärwolf (Freie Universität), Florian Hoos (Technische Universität), and Volker Hofmann (Humboldt-Universität) are preparing a proposal for a new project to be funded with a Berliner Startup Stipendium grant.
Image Credit: Daniel Pasche

“The program has really taken off at full speed.” Volker Hofmann

For the evaluation of the Berlin Startup Stipendium, grant holders were also asked for detailed qualitative feedback. The fact that there was not a long waiting period between the time of application and the announcement of the results proved to be a great advantage for the participants. A jury consisting of members of the four universities and external jurors decided within a very short time, so that the uncertainty did not block the development of the projects. Participants also praised the procedure from the proposal to the actual transfer of money to the bank account. In addition, there were top marks for services such as start-up rooms, access to laboratories, consultations, establishing contacts, and networking events. “Setting up your own company means tackling new problems every day,” says Florian Hoos, director of the Center for Entrepreneurship at Technische Universität Berlin. Although university employees in the start-up support offices could not relieve entrepreneurs of this challenge, they could often guide them to finding solutions based on their many years of experience and their expertise and knowledge of the Berlin start-up scene

The main conclusion of the evaluation: many things are already working well; some things can still be improved. “The program has really taken off at full speed,” says Volker Hofmann, head of Team Knowledge Transfer at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. That is why the three universities and Charité have already worked on a proposal to continue awarding the scholarships for another two years. The concept will be submitted to the Senate Department by June 30, 2019. “Naturally, we want to maintain what has proven to be a success,” says Volker Hofmann. “We will, however, additionally focus on internationalization and tie in with the Berlin Senate’s Smart City Strategy.” 

 “We also make sure that the start-up ideas we promote are sustainable.” Aneta Bärwolf

Aneta Bärwolf, project manager for the Berliner Startup Stipendium at Freie Universität, emphasizes another aspect of university start-up funding: “We have similar criteria to private investors when it comes to eligible ideas, such as the degree of innovation and market opportunities of a product. We also make sure that the start-up ideas we promote are sustainable, and that the prospective entrepreneurs take responsibility for the future.”

 

Further Information

The application period is closed.
Link to the list of teams winning Berliner Startup Stipendium grants from 2016 to 2019

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

„Wer gründet, muss täglich neue Probleme lösen“

Seit 2016 vergeben die Berliner Universitäten und die Charité gemeinsam das Berliner Startup Stipendium. Die Erfolge können sich sehen lassen.

13.06.2019

88 Gründungsvorhaben wurden bisher an den drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité mit dem Berliner Startup Stipendium gefördert. Viele Gründerinnen und Gründer nutzten das Netzwerktreffen zum Erfahrungsaustausch.

88 Gründungsvorhaben wurden bisher an den drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité mit dem Berliner Startup Stipendium gefördert. Viele Gründerinnen und Gründer nutzten das Netzwerktreffen zum Erfahrungsaustausch.
Bildquelle: Daniel Pasche

Die Idee ist innovativ und hat Marktpotenzial, das Team ist gut aufgestellt – doch für Investoren oder große Förderprogramme ist das Projekt einfach noch nicht weit genug gediehen. Für solche Fälle bieten die Freie Universität Berlin, die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und die Technische Universität Berlin gemeinsam das Berliner Startup Stipendium an, das schnell und unbürokratisch vergeben werden kann. Finanziert wird das Projekt mit dem Titel University Startup Factory aus Mitteln der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe sowie des Europäischen Sozialfonds. Zwei bis vier Teammitglieder können mit 2.000 Euro monatlich über eine Laufzeit von sechs Monaten gefördert werden, eine Verlängerung um weitere sechs Monate ist möglich. Betreut werden die Teams an den Gründungszentren der jeweiligen Universitäten.

Bestandteil des Projekts ist eine umfangreiche Evaluation. Die ersten Ergebnisse aus qualitativen und quantitativen Erhebungen wurden nun auf einem Netzwerktreffen im Inkubator der Freien Universität Berlin vorgestellt. 

Während der Pilotphase im Zeitraum von August 2016 bis März 2018 haben sich 62 Teams von zwei bis vier Personen für das Stipendium beworben. Jeder Bewerbung ging ein Vorgespräch bei der Gründungsberatung der jeweiligen Hochschule voraus. 31 Teams wurden ausgewählt, ihr Projekt persönlich vorzustellen. 26 Gründungsvorhaben wurden schließlich gefördert. Bis Januar 2019 gingen daraus 19 Unternehmensgründungen hervor – rund drei Viertel der Vorhaben wurden somit im Erhebungszeitraum in die Tat umgesetzt. 

In der zweiten, noch laufenden Projektphase konnte die Anzahl der Bewerbungen und die Anzahl der geförderten Start-ups noch deutlich gesteigert werden: Beworben hatten sich 112 Teams, gefördert wurden und werden 61 Teams, elf davon haben bereits ein Unternehmen gegründet. Viele der geförderten Unternehmen können bereits Erfolge vorweisen:

Christian Rickerts, Staatssekretär in der Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe, bedankte sich in seinem Grußwort auf dem Netzwerktreffen dafür, dass die Universitäten Berlin zu einem internationalen Magneten für Talente machen.

Christian Rickerts, Staatssekretär in der Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe, bedankte sich in seinem Grußwort auf dem Netzwerktreffen dafür, dass die Universitäten Berlin zu einem internationalen Magneten für Talente machen.
Bildquelle: Daniel Pasche

Ausgründungen aus Universitäten sind ein Wirtschaftsfaktor für Berlin, das betonte Volker Hofmann, Leiter Wissenstransfer an der Humboldt-Universität, in seinem Vortrag auf dem Netzwerktreffen.

Ausgründungen aus Universitäten sind ein Wirtschaftsfaktor für Berlin, das betonte Volker Hofmann, Leiter Wissenstransfer an der Humboldt-Universität, in seinem Vortrag auf dem Netzwerktreffen.
Bildquelle: Daniel Pasche

Ina Budde, die Gründerin des Start-ups circular.fashion UG (haftungsbeschränkt) hat mit ihrem an der Freien Universität geförderten Team ein Kreislaufsystem für nachhaltige Mode entwickelt. Über eine digitale Plattform wird der Zyklus jedes Kleidungsstücks vom Design über das Tragen bis zum Recycling begleitet und gesteuert. Circular.fashion hat im April 2019 den mit 300.000 Euro dotierten Global Change Award der H&M-Foundation gewonnen.

Die Future of Voice GmbH, von Tilmann Böhme, Malte Kosub und Stefan Ostwald an der Technischen Universität Berlin gegründet, entwickelt im Auftrag großer Unternehmen Anwendungen für die sprachgesteuerten Assistenzsysteme Alexa und Google Assistant. Zu ihren Kunden gehören unter anderem der WWF, die Evonik Industrie AG und ERGO Versicherungen.

Die an der Humboldt-Universität geförderte Octorank UG (haftungsbeschränkt) von Tim Vogelsang und André Rieck konnte Kunden wie die Deutsche Telekom und Vattenfall gewinnen. Unternehmen, Entwickler, Musiker und Texter nutzen die Plattform, um Feedback zu Innovationen und Entwürfen zu erhalten.

Laura Büchler und Isabella Hillmer vom Team Ghost – feel it wurden 2017 mit dem „Smart Wearables x Smart Textiles“-Award der Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe ausgezeichnet, der mit 10.000 Euro dotiert ist. Die an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin geförderten Gründerinnen arbeiten an einer Orthese in Form eines Handschuhs, die Menschen mit Nervenschäden in der Hand das Gefühl für Temperaturen und den Tastsinn zurückgeben soll.

Blick in die Zukunft: Aneta Bärwolf (Freie Universität), Florian Hoos (Technische Universität) und Volker Hofmann (Humboldt-Universität) bereiten den Antrag für ein neues Projekt mit Berliner Startup Stipendien vor.

Blick in die Zukunft: Aneta Bärwolf (Freie Universität), Florian Hoos (Technische Universität) und Volker Hofmann (Humboldt-Universität) bereiten den Antrag für ein neues Projekt mit Berliner Startup Stipendien vor.
Bildquelle: Daniel Pasche

 „Das Programm hat volle Fahrt aufgenommen.“ Volker Hofmann

Für die Evaluation des Berliner Startup Stipendiums wurden Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten auch um ein ausführliches qualitatives Feedback gebeten. Als großer Vorteil erwies sich, dass zwischen Bewerbung und Bescheid keine langen Wartezeiten liegen. Eine Jury aus Mitgliedern der vier Hochschulen und externen Jurorinnen und Juroren entscheidet innerhalb kürzester Zeit, sodass die Gründerinnen und Gründer nicht durch Ungewissheit in ihrer Entwicklung blockiert werden. Positiv wurde auch die Abwicklung vom Antrag bis zur Überweisung des Geldes aufs Konto bewertet. Gute Noten gab es außerdem für Leistungen wie Gründerräume, Zugang zu Laboren, Beratung, Vermittlung von Kontakten und Netzwerk-Veranstaltungen. „Wer gründet, muss täglich neue Probleme lösen“, sagt Florian Hoos, Leiter des Centre for Entrepreneurship der Technischen Universität Berlin. Das könnten die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Gründungsförderungen zwar niemandem abnehmen, durch langjährige Erfahrung, Expertise und Kenntnis der Berliner Start-up-Szene könnten sie jedoch häufig einen geeigneten Weg zur Lösung aufzeigen. „Das Programm hat volle Fahrt aufgenommen.“ Volker Hofmann

Fazit der Evaluation: Vieles funktioniert bereits gut, einiges kann noch verbessert werden. „Das Programm hat volle Fahrt aufgenommen“, sagt Volker Hofmann, Leiter des Wissenstransfers an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Deshalb arbeiteten die drei Universitäten und die Charité bereits an einem Antrag, um die Vergabe der Stipendien für weitere zwei Jahre gemeinsam fortzusetzen. Das Konzept werde bis 30. Juni 2019 bei der Senatsverwaltung eingereicht. „Was sich bewährt hat, wollen wir natürlich beibehalten“, verrät Volker Hofmann. „Zusätzlich werden wir jedoch einen Schwerpunkt auf Internationalisierung legen und an die Smart-City-Strategie des Berliner Senats anknüpfen.“ 

  „Wir achten auch darauf, dass die von uns geförderten Gründungsideen nachhaltig sind.“ Aneta Bärwolf

Aneta Bärwolf, Projektleiterin für die Berliner Startup Stipendien an der Freien Universität, betont einen weiteren Aspekt der universitären Gründungsförderung: „Wir haben zwar ähnliche Kriterien für förderungswürdige Ideen wie private Geldgeber, etwa den Innovationsgrad und Marktchancen eines Produkts. Zusätzlich achten wir aber auch darauf, dass die von uns geförderten Gründungsideen nachhaltig sind und die angehenden Gründerinnen und Gründer Verantwortung für die Zukunft übernehmen.“

Weitere Informationen

Aktuell sind keine Bewerbungen für das Berliner Startup Stipendium möglich. Falls die Mittel zur Fortsetzung des Programms bewilligt werden, kann die nächste Ausschreibung voraussichtlich Ende 2019 erfolgen. 

Die Liste aller Teams, die 2016 bis 2019 durch das Berliner Startup Stipendium gefördert wurden, finden Sie hier