A Magnet for Junior Researchers Worldwide

The Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship of the European Union enables junior researchers to spend up to two years doing research in Europe. In this respect, Berlin is proving to be particularly attractive.

Jun 05, 2019

The Berlin University Alliance organized a workshop for junior researchers who came to Berlin with a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship.

The Berlin University Alliance organized a workshop for junior researchers who came to Berlin with a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship.
Image Credit: Felix Noak

Harry Stopes is interested in how modernity came to the province. The historian is interested in finding out how globalization at the beginning of the 20th century changed the lives of people in smaller industrial cities, such as Manchester in England and Lille in France.

The fact that the postdoctoral researcher has now moved his research work from London to Berlin is not due to Berlin’s supposed provincialism. Rather, it is because, he claims, “Freie Universität Berlin is an excellent location for the study of global history, and one of the leading institutes for global history is located in this city. It was therefore a logical step for me to pursue my research here.” Namely, as a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow. The EU program promotes foreign placements for postdoctoral researchers who want to do research in a European country for up to two years. The aim of the program is to improve the networking of the European research area and to attract researchers from outside of Europe.

Historian Harry Stopes explores how globalization changed people’s lives in smaller industrial cities at the beginning of the 20th century.

Historian Harry Stopes explores how globalization changed people’s lives in smaller industrial cities at the beginning of the 20th century.
Image Credit: Felix Noak

After successfully completing his dissertation at London University College, Stopes applied for the program. A year later, last August, he moved to Berlin. The field of global history was tempting for the researcher: the expertise for certain regions is spread over the three major Berlin universities, allowing the whole spectrum of the field to be covered. However, Berlin is not only interesting for students of global history. The opportunity to come here with a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellowship attracts junior researchers from all disciplines.

This was demonstrated by a workshop that the four partners of the Berlin University Alliance – that is, Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin – jointly offered for the first time this year to support 20 promising candidates in their applications.

Priji Balakrishnan explores the light quality of daylight to find out how to best imitate and use it in rooms.

Priji Balakrishnan explores the light quality of daylight to find out how to best imitate and use it in rooms.
Image Credit: Felix Noak

Biologist Sara Tomiolo was attracted to Berlin because of the Berlin-Brandenburg Institute of Advanced Biodiversity Research.

Biologist Sara Tomiolo was attracted to Berlin because of the Berlin-Brandenburg Institute of Advanced Biodiversity Research.
Image Credit: Felix Noak

The workshop focused on practical questions relating to the complex application process, such as: How important are German language skills? What is important to the reviewers? When does a gap in a CV need further explanation? Harry Stopes also attended, and shared his experiences of applying. That is precisely what Priji Balakrishnan likes: “The insights into the application process from someone who has already gone through it are very valuable. I am pleasantly surprised at how much support we get here, that there is a team here dedicated to the potential candidates.”

Balakrishnan holds a PhD from Singapore University of Technology and Design. She researches the light quality of daylight, to find out how best to imitate and use it in rooms. In the Lighting Technology Division at Technische Universität Berlin, there is a laboratory with a spectral celestial scanner, “one of the very few in the world,” as Balakrishnan points out, precisely for this area of research. “I’m doing research in a very specific new field of research. Technische Universität Berlin is the only university in Germany that has a laboratory that works at precisely this intersection between architecture, sustainability, and spectral light.

Sara Tomiolo is also attracted to Berlin as a research location: “Berlin is a kind of gold mine for my research,” says the biologist, referring to the Berlin-Brandenburg Institute of Advanced Biodiversity Research, a joint project involving Universität Potsdam, the Museum für Naturkunde, and other partners from all three major universities.

For Kristy Ou, the broad research spectrum of Charité was a decisive factor in her applying: she would like to continue research projects on inflammatory diseases in Berlin. A pharmacologist who received her PhD from the University of Pennsylvania, Ou has worked intensively in the field of epigenetics and was looking specifically for a supervisor in immunology. She said, “There are many immunological research institutes in Berlin, and Charité is home to fantastic researchers.” 

Pharmacologist Kristy Ou, who does research on epigenetics, came to Berlin to continue her research projects on inflammatory diseases.

Pharmacologist Kristy Ou, who does research on epigenetics, came to Berlin to continue her research projects on inflammatory diseases.
Image Credit: Felix Noak

“The Marie Skłodowska-Curie fellows benefit from the Berlin research landscape.”

Harry Stopes also benefits in his work from the stimulating research environment of the Berlin research landscape. According to him, the Global History Department at the Friedrich-Meinecke-Institut of Freie Universität, which cooperates with Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, is small, but he appreciates the intensive exchange with his colleagues. “We have a strong institute here that provides a supportive environment.” This became apparent, for example, during a joint weekend trip to Brandenburg, which some of the academic staff attended to participate in a workshop. “All shared 20 pages of their current working process with one another. During the two days, everyone got to sit for an hour on the ‘hot seat’ and had an opportunity to have their own work discussed by everyone. That was incredibly useful to my work.”

During his time in Berlin, Stopes wants to make more contacts in the field of global history. In addition to all the professional advantages that Berlin offers him, he does not hide his personal motives from the applicants in the workshop: “I’ll be honest: not every decision is guided solely by intellectual rationale. I like Berlin and wanted to live somewhere else for a change.” He appreciates the city for its nature and is looking forward to summer. The Berlin aficionados among the potential candidates nod in agreement.

Anziehungspunkt für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs weltweit

Die Marie-Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship der Europäischen Union ermöglicht jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern Forschungsaufenthalte von bis zu zwei Jahren innerhalb Europas. Berlin ist dabei besonders attraktiv

05.06.2019

Die Berlin University Alliance brachte junge Wissenschaflterinnen und Wissenschaftler bei einem Workshop der Marie-Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship zusammen.

Die Berlin University Alliance brachte junge Wissenschaflterinnen und Wissenschaftler bei einem Workshop der Marie-Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship zusammen.
Bildquelle: Felix Noak

Harry Stopes interessiert sich dafür, wie die Moderne in die Provinz gekommen ist. Der Historiker fragt sich, wie die Globalisierung zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts das Leben von Menschen in kleineren Industriestädten wie Manchester in England und dem französischen Lille veränderte.

Dass der Postdoktorand seine Forschungsarbeit jetzt von London nach Berlin verlegt hat, liegt nicht an Berlins vermeintlicher Provinzialität. Sondern: „Die Freie Universität Berlin ist ein exzellenter Ort für Globalgeschichte. Hier ist eines der führenden Institute für Global History. Es war deshalb ein logischer Schritt für mich, meine Forschung hier fortzusetzen.“ Und zwar als Marie Skłodowska Curie-Fellow. Das EU-Programm fördert Auslandsaufenthalte von Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden, die bis zu zwei Jahren in einem europäischen Land forschen wollen. Ziel des Programms ist es, den europäischen Forschungsraum besser zu vernetzen und Forscherinnen und Forschern aus dem außereuropäischen Ausland zu gewinnen.

Der Historiker Harry Stopes forscht zu der Frage, wie die Globalisierung zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts das Leben der Menschen in kleineren Industriestädten veränderte.

Der Historiker Harry Stopes forscht zu der Frage, wie die Globalisierung zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts das Leben der Menschen in kleineren Industriestädten veränderte.
Bildquelle: Felix Noak

Nachdem er seine Dissertation am Londoner University College erfolgreich abgeschlossen hatte, bewarb sich Stopes für das Programm. Ein Jahr später, im vergangenen August, zog er nach Berlin. Der Bereich der Global History war für den Wissenschaftler verlockend: Die Expertise für bestimmte Regionen verteilt sich über die drei großen Berliner Universitäten, weshalb der Bereich in seiner ganzen Breite abgedeckt wird. Doch nicht nur auf dem Feld der Global History ist Berlin interessant. Die Möglichkeit mit einem Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Fellowship hierher zu kommen, lockt den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs aus allen Disziplinen.

Das zeigt auch ein Workshop, den die vier Partnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance – die Freie Universität, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin und die Charité  Universitätsmedizin Berlin – in diesem Jahr erstmals gemeinsam anboten, um 20 vielversprechende Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten bei der Bewerbung zu unterstützen.

Priji Balakrishnan erforscht die Lichtqualität von Tageslicht, um herauszufinden, wie man es in Räumen bestmöglich imitieren und einsetzen kann.

Priji Balakrishnan erforscht die Lichtqualität von Tageslicht, um herauszufinden, wie man es in Räumen bestmöglich imitieren und einsetzen kann.
Bildquelle: Felix Noak

Für die Biologin Sara Tomiolo ist Berlin mit seinem Berlin-Brandenburgische Institut für Biodiversitätsforschung besonders reizvoll.

Für die Biologin Sara Tomiolo ist Berlin mit seinem Berlin-Brandenburgische Institut für Biodiversitätsforschung besonders reizvoll.
Bildquelle: Felix Noak

Der Workshop drehte sich um praktische Fragen rund um die aufwändige Bewerbung: Wie wichtig sind Deutsch-Kenntnisse? Worauf legen die Gutachterinnen und Gutachter wert? Wann ist eine Lücke im Lebenslauf erklärungsbedürftig? Auch Harry Stopes war vor Ort und berichtete über seine Erfahrungen bei der Bewerbung. Gerade das gefällt Priji Balakrishnan: „Die Einblicke in den Bewerbungsprozess durch jemanden, der ihn bereits durchlaufen hat, sind sehr wertvoll. Ich bin positiv überrascht, wie viel Unterstützung wir hier bekommen, dass es hier ein Team gibt, das sich den möglichen Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten widmet.“

Balakrishnan hat an der Singapore University of Technology and Design promoviert. Sie erforscht die Lichtqualität von Tageslicht, um herauszufinden, wie man es in Räumen bestmöglich imitieren und einsetzen kann. In der Abteilung für Lichttechnik der Technischen Universität Berlin gibt es genau für diesen Forschungsbereich ein Labor mit einem spektralen Himmelsscanner, „einem der ganz wenigen auf der Welt“, wie Balakrishnan betont. „Ich forsche in einem sehr speziellen, neuen Forschungsfeld. Die Technische Universität Berlin ist die einzige Universität in Deutschland, die ein Labor hat, das genau an dieser Schnittstelle von Architektur, Nachhaltigkeit und spektralem Licht arbeitet.“

Auch für Sara Tomiolo ist Berlin als Forschungsstandort reizvoll: „Berlin ist eine Art Goldmine für meine Forschung“, sagt die Biologin, und verweist auf das Berlin-Brandenburgische Institut für Biodiversitätsforschung, einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt an dem neben der Universität Potsdam und dem Museum für Naturkunde sowie weiteren Partnern alle drei großen Universitäten beteiligt sind.

Für Kristy Ou ist das breite wissenschaftliche Spektrum der Charité ausschlaggebend, sich zu bewerben: Sie möchte in Berlin gerne Forschungsvorhaben zu Entzündungserkrankungen fortführen. Die Pharmakologin, die an der University of Pensylvannia promovierte, arbeitete bisher intensiv im Bereich der Epigenetik und suchte gezielt einen Betreuer in Immunologie: „In Berlin gibt es viele Forschungsinstitute im Bereich Immunologie, die Charité beheimatet fantastische Forscherinnen und Forscher.“ 

Die Pharmakologin Kristy Ou arbeitete forschte bisher zu Epigenetik und möchte in Berlin ihre Forschungsvorhaben zu Entzündungserkrankungen fortführen.

Die Pharmakologin Kristy Ou arbeitete forschte bisher zu Epigenetik und möchte in Berlin ihre Forschungsvorhaben zu Entzündungserkrankungen fortführen.
Bildquelle: Felix Noak

"Die Marie Skłodowska-Curie-Fellows profitieren von der Berliner Forschungslandschaft."

Von dem stimulierenden Forschungsumfeld der Berliner Forschungslandschaft profitiert auch Harry Stopes bei seiner Arbeit. Der Arbeitsbereich Global History am Friedrich-Meinecke-Institut der Freien Universität, der mit der Humboldt-Universität kooperiert, sei klein, er schätze den intensiven Austausch mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen. „Wir haben hier ein starkes Institut, das eine unterstützende Umgebung bietet.“ Zum Beispiel bei einem gemeinsamen Wochenende, bei dem ein Teil des wissenschaftlichen Personals zu einem Workshop nach Brandenburg fuhr. „Alle haben 20 Seiten ihres gegenwärtigen Arbeitsprozesses mit den anderen geteilt. Während der zwei Tage saß jeder eine Stunde auf dem ‚heißen Stuhl´, bei der die eigene Arbeit von allen diskutiert wurde. Das war wahnsinnig hilfreich für meine Arbeit.“

Stopes will während seiner Zeit in Berlin weiter Kontakte im Bereich Global History knüpfen. Neben allen beruflichen Vorteilen, die Berlin ihm bietet, verschweigt er den Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern im Workshop aber auch nicht seine persönlichen Motive: „Ich bin ehrlich: Nicht jede Entscheidung ist einzig von intellektuellen Motiven geleitet. Ich mag Berlin und wollte auch mal woanders leben.“ Er schätzt die Stadt für ihre Natur und blickt dem Sommer entgegen. Die Berlin-Erprobten unter den potenziellen Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten nicken zustimmend.