Collecting Clues Together

Students at Berlin universities can learn about provenance research. A new flyer presents the entire range of courses available.

Apr 09, 2019

The figure “Susanna” by sculptor Reinhold Begas is in the Alte Nationalgalerie Berlin. It was part of the art collection of the German-Jewish publisher Rudolf Mosse.

The figure “Susanna” by sculptor Reinhold Begas is in the Alte Nationalgalerie Berlin. It was part of the art collection of the German-Jewish publisher Rudolf Mosse.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

Provenance research is flourishing in Berlin. To guide students in finding out what courses are available, art historian Meike Hoffmann at Freie Universität Berlin and historian Christine Howald at Technische Universität Berlin compiled a flyer. It lists the seminars and lecture series on provenance research offered by Freie Universität Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin – partners in the Berlin University Alliance. It also includes the Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Technik’s offer on the subject. The wide range of courses – from “Objectives and Methods of Provenance Research” and “Art and Law” to “The Natural History Museum, its Spirits and Monsters” – forms something of an ideal degree program that crosses boundaries between the institutions. The flyer has just recently been updated.

Typical advertisements of leading German East Asian dealers in the “East Asian Journal” from the year 1912.

Typical advertisements of leading German East Asian dealers in the “East Asian Journal” from the year 1912.
Image Credit: Christine Howald

The two scholars see this compilation of courses as the basis for increased cooperation in this field between the universities in the future. “We want to develop an internationally oriented degree program that harnesses expertise at the individual institutions,” says Christine Howald from Technische Universität Berlin. Her main area of expertise is Chinese, Japanese, and Korean art – so-called East Asian art – on the Western art market in the 19th and 20th centuries. Dr. Howald established and now manages the research area TEAA - Tracing East Asian Art at Technische Universität Berlin.

“We think an ideal degree program in provenance research would draw on the courses offered at the different institutions and experts from different disciplines working in this field,” explains Meike Hoffmann, who has been a researcher at the “Degenerate Art” Research Center at Freie Universität for more than ten years.

She currently heads the cross-institutional Mosse Art Research Initiative (MARI), a research project with the aim of reconstructing the whereabouts of Berlin publisher and patron of the arts Rudolf Mosse’s extensive collection, which once consisted of some 4,000 pieces. It is the first public-private partnership in provenance research in which German institutions cooperate with descendants of victims of racial persecution during the Nazi regime.

In recent years Freie Universität has developed a focus on art under National Socialism and the history of collections in general – due also in large part to the work of Meike Hoffmann, who was commissioned by the German public prosecutor in 2012 for an expert opinion in the “Gurlitt case.” At Technische Universität Berlin, there is a focus on art market research and non-European art , which coincides with TEAA – Tracing East Asian Art in Christine Howald’s department there.

Last year, Bénédicte Savoy, head of the Chair for Modern Art History at Technische Universität, together with the Senegalese researcher and author Felwine Sarr wrote a report commissioned by French President Emmanuel Macron on the restitution of African cultural heritage.

At Humboldt-Universität, researchers at the Centre for Anthropological Research on Museums and Heritage study, among other things, the history and origin of objects in ethnographic and natural history collections. The Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft, which offers a bachelor’s degree program on museology, was also included in the provenance research network.

East Asian duplicates in the Weltmuseum Wien

East Asian duplicates in the Weltmuseum Wien
Image Credit: Christine Howald

Meike Hoffmann and Christine Howald view the diversity provenance research in Berlin as a major advantage. As Dr. Hoffmann emphasizes, this new field of work, whose methodology is still being developed, depends so much on networking, and exchange is crucial to follow the interlaced paths that works of art and other objects have often taken. Dr Howard adds, “We have to stay in constant dialogue if we want to see any results at all.”

For example, when it comes to classifying dealer or collector brands on objects, restitution issues, or the conversion of old currencies – many questions can only be solved with the expertise of colleagues and by using the methodological tools of other subjects. In the courses, art history students also get to know experts from archeology, history, and law. Museum curators are also involved.

Art historian Meike Hoffmann (at left) at Freie Universität and historian Christine Howald (at right) at Technische Universität are planning a cross-university degree program in provenance research.

Art historian Meike Hoffmann (at left) at Freie Universität and historian Christine Howald (at right) at Technische Universität are planning a cross-university degree program in provenance research.
Image Credit: Nina Diezemann

Meike Hoffmann says it is particularly important to familiarize oneself with archive work, since a piece or the etiology of a collection often leaves traces in files, lists, meeting minutes, letters, and notes.

For example, the commercial register found in the Berlin State Archives provides information on sales in the art trade, and the records of the “Oberfinanzpräsidien,” the regional tax offices during the Nazi regime, document the household effects left behind and the remaining assets of the German Jews who were deported and murdered in the concentration camps. Both archives are indispensable for researching the origins of works from the period of National Socialism. The Political Archive of the German Federal Foreign Office and the Prussian Secret State Archives contain original source material on colonial history.

The courses also give students an opportunity to contribute to research. In the Mosse Art Research Initiative, for example, students help to systematically work through certain files, according to Hoffmann. Researchers then carry out the in-depth work. In one of Howald’s seminars, students were able to reconstruct previously unknown histories of objects, at the Museum of Asian Art.

“We interpret works and sources – but the data often tell a different story.” Christine Howald

Digital techniques are becoming increasingly important for this detective work, and not only because knowledge is now accessible to other researchers via databases such as those currently being used in the Mosse Art Research Initiative. Computer programs support the identification of works of art, for example by examining historical photographs. Computers are also supposed to help in the exploration of “multiples,” says Christine Howald, explaining that when it comes to East Asian objects, it was often the case that several identical pieces were produced. “We interpret works and sources – but the data often tell a different story,” she says.

Work in this field often ignites political debate, for example, when artworks are restituted because their original owners had to sell them to art dealers at extremely low prices, as with Hildebrand Gurlitt under National Socialism, or when entire collections are to be returned to their countries of origin, as Bénédicte Savoy and Felwine Sarr demand in their report. Howald also expects to encounter restitution claims from China for East Asian art. How do the researchers address these issues in their seminars?

“The students often come to the courses very motivated and want to make amends.” Meike Hoffmann

The students often come to the courses very motivated and want to “make amends,” Meike Hoffmann says. This emotional attitude is not, however, always helpful for research, she believes. And so controversial debates, the often imprecise reporting in the media, or the interests of the various actors in this field are always topics in the courses – this also enables students to develop a position of their own, says Christine Howald. Anthropologists can teach us a lot about this, she adds

For the two researchers, the fact that provenance research is not only a challenge for museums in Germany but also worldwide creates an opportunity to expand educational offers in Berlin with its plethora of museums, archives, and universities.

“We cover the widest field here – something that is not possible in other cities,” says Meike Hoffmann. However, even if students can receive credit for their coursework at other institutions, the degree regulations and requirements differ from one university to the next.

This could become easier within the Berlin University Alliance. And perhaps others around the globe who are interested can then study provenance research in English at several universities. Because after all, Meike Hoffmann and Christine Howald’s main goal is the creation of “a joint program in provenance research for Berlin.”


Provenance Research in Berlin

“Degenerate Art” Research Center (Freie Univerisität Berlin)

MARI-Mosse Art Resarch Initiative (Freie Univerisität Berlin)

TEAA - Tracing East Asian Art (Technische Universität Berlin)

Art History as Cultural History (Technische Universität Berlin)

CARMAH - Centre for Anthropological Research on Museums and Heritage (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

Museum Studies (Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin)

Gemeinsam auf Spurensuche

10. April: Tag der Provenienzforschung / Studierende der Berliner Universitäten lernen in Seminaren und Vorträgen, wie die Herkunft von Kunstwerken erforscht wird – ein neuer Flyer bündelt das Studienangebot

09.04.2019

Die Figur „Susanna“ des Bildhauers Reinhold Begas in der Alten Nationalgalerie Berlin. Sie gehörte zur Kunstsammlung des deutsch-jüdischen Verlegers Rudolf Mosse.

Die Figur „Susanna“ des Bildhauers Reinhold Begas in der Alten Nationalgalerie Berlin. Sie gehörte zur Kunstsammlung des deutsch-jüdischen Verlegers Rudolf Mosse.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Auch für Forschungslandschaften können Reiseführer nützlich sein. Ein solcher ist der Flyer, den Meike Hoffmann, promovierte Kunsthistorikerin an der Freien Universität und Christine Howald, promovierte Historikerin an der Technischen Universität nun schon zum zweiten Mal zusammengestellt haben. Darin aufgelistet finden sich die Seminare und Vortragsreihen zum Thema Provenienzforschung, die an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin sowie der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin – Partnerinnen in der Berlin University Alliance –angeboten werden.
Ebenfalls aufgenommen wurde das Angebot der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Technik. Gemeinsam bilden diese unterschiedlichen Lehrveranstaltungen zu Themen wie „Aufgaben und Methoden der Provenienzforschung“ und „Kunst und Recht“ bis hin zu „Das Naturkundemuseum, seine Geister und Monster“ eine Art ideales Studienprogramm – über die Grenzen der Einrichtungen hinweg.

Typische Anzeigen führender deutscher Ostasiatika-Händler in der „Ostasiatischen Zeitschrift“ aus dem Jahr 1912.

Typische Anzeigen führender deutscher Ostasiatika-Händler in der „Ostasiatischen Zeitschrift“ aus dem Jahr 1912.
Bildquelle: Christine Howald

Für die beiden Wissenschaftlerinnen könnte das die Grundlage für eine verstärkte Zusammenarbeit der Universitäten in der Zukunft sein. „Wir wollen ein Programm entwickeln, das die Expertise der verschiedenen Einrichtungen bündelt und international ausgerichtet ist“, sagt Christine Howald, die an der Technischen Universität zu chinesischer, japanischer und koreanischer Kunst – sogenannte Ostasiatika – auf dem westlichen Kunstmarkt im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert arbeitet und hier den Forschungsschwerpunkt TEAA – Tracing East Asian Art aufgebaut hat und leitet.

„Wir sehen das als ideales System, wenn das Programm von unterschiedlichen Einrichtungen sowie Expertinnen und Experten aus verschiedenen Disziplinen abgedeckt wird“, erklärt Meike Hoffmann, seit mehr als zehn Jahren Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Forschungsstelle „Entartete Kunst“ der Freien Universität.

Derzeit leitet sie die institutionenübergreifende Mosse Art Research Initiative (MARI), ein Forschungsprojekt, dessen Ziel es ist, den Verbleib der einst etwa 4.000 Stücke umfassenden Sammlung des Berliner Verlegers und Mäzens Rudolf Mosse zu rekonstruieren. Es ist die erste öffentlich-private Partnerschaft in der Provenienzforschung, bei der deutsche Institutionen mit Nachfahren von Opfern der rassischen Verfolgung während des NS-Regimes kooperieren.

Während an der Freien Universität in den vergangenen Jahren – auch durch die Arbeit von Meike Hoffmann, die 2012 staatsanwaltlich mit der wissenschaftlichen Untersuchung des Falles Gurlitt beauftragt worden war – ein Schwerpunkt auf der Kunst im Nationalsozialismus sowie Sammlungsgeschichte allgemein entstanden ist, stehen an der Technischen Universität die Kunstmarktforschung und die außereuropäische Kunst im Mittelpunkt, so bei TEAA – Tracing East Asian Art, dem Bereich von Christine Howald.

Bénédicte Savoy, dort Leiterin des Fachgebiets Kunstgeschichte der Moderne, verfasste im vergangenen Jahr gemeinsam mit dem senegalesischen Wissenschaftler und Autor Felwine Sarr im Auftrag des französischen Präsidenten Emmanuel Macron einen Bericht zur Restitution des afrikanischen Kulturerbes.

An der Humboldt-Universität beschäftigen sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unter anderem am Centre for Anthropological Research on Museums and Heritage mit der Geschichte und Herkunft von Objekten in ethnographischen und naturkundlichen Sammlungen. Mit einbezogen in das Netzwerk zur Provenienzforschung wurde auch die Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft, die den Bachelorstudiengang Museumskunde anbietet.

Ostasiatische Multiplen im Weltmuseum Wien

Ostasiatische Multiplen im Weltmuseum Wien
Bildquelle: Christine Howald

In dieser Vielfalt sehen die beiden Wissenschaftlerinnen eine große Stärke, denn das neue Arbeitsgebiet, dessen Methodologie sich noch herausbilde, lebe von der Vernetzung, sagt Meike Hoffmann. Nur durch Austausch könne man den verschlungenen Pfaden folgen, die Kunstwerke und andere Objekte oftmals zurückgelegt hätten. „Wir müssen ständig im Gespräch bleiben, um überhaupt zu Ergebnissen zu kommen“, sagt Christine Howald.

Wenn es etwa um Einordnung von Händler- oder Sammlermarken auf Objekten geht, um Restitutionsfragen oder die Umrechnung alter Währungen – viele Fragen lassen sich nur durch die Expertise von Kolleginnen und Kollegen und dank des Instrumentariums anderer Fächer lösen. In den Lehrveranstaltungen lernen die Kunstgeschichtsstudierenden so auch Expertinnen und Experten aus der Archäologie, den Geschichts- oder der Rechtswissenschaften kennen; Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren aus den Museen sind ebenfalls eingebunden.

Meike Hoffmann (li.), promovierte Kunsthistorikerin an der Freien Universität, und Christine Howald (re.), promovierte Historikerin an der Technischen Universität, planen einen universitätsübergreifenden Studiengang Provenienzforschung.

Meike Hoffmann (li.), promovierte Kunsthistorikerin an der Freien Universität, und Christine Howald (re.), promovierte Historikerin an der Technischen Universität, planen einen universitätsübergreifenden Studiengang Provenienzforschung.
Bildquelle: Nina Diezemann

Besonders wichtig sei es, sich mit der Arbeit in Archiven vertraut zu machen, sagt Meike Hoffmann. Denn ein Werk oder die Genese einer Sammlung hinterlassen oftmals Spuren in Akten, Listen und Protokollen, in Briefen und Vermerken.

So gibt das Handelsregister im Landesarchiv etwa Auskunft über Verkäufe im Kunsthandel, und in den Akten der Oberfinanzpräsidien ist der zurückgelassene Hausrat sowie das übrige Vermögen der deportierten und in den Konzentrationslagern ermordeten deutschen Juden dokumentiert – beide Archive sind unerlässlich für die Erforschung der Herkunft von Werken für die Zeit des Nationalsozialismus. Das Politische Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts und das Geheime Staatsarchiv Preußischer Kulturbesitz bewahren Quellen zur Kolonialgeschichte.

Studierende können in den Lehrveranstaltungen auch selbst einen Beitrag zur Forschung leisten. Sie sind dabei behilflich, bestimmte Aktenbestände systematisch aufzuarbeiten, etwa im Mosse-Projekt, sagt Meike Hoffmann. Die vertiefende Arbeit werde dann von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern geleistet. Auch in einem Seminar von Christine Howald haben Studierende im Museum für Asiatische Kunst unbekannte Geschichten von Objekten rekonstruieren können.

„Wir interpretieren Werke oder Quellen – aber die Daten erzählen oftmals eine andere Geschichte.“ Christine Howald

Immer wichtiger werden für diese Detektivarbeit die digitalen Techniken, und das nicht nur, weil über Datenbanken wie etwa jene, die derzeit im Zuge der Mosse Art Research Initiative entsteht, Wissen auch anderen Forscherinnen und Forschern zugänglich gemacht wird. Computerprogramme unterstützen die Identifizierung von Kunstwerken, etwa indem historische Fotografien entzerrt werden können. Auch bei der Erforschung von Multiplen – von ostasiatischen Objekten wurden oftmals mehrere identische Stücke produziert, erzählt Christine Howald – sollen Computer helfen. „Wir interpretieren Werke oder Quellen – aber die Daten erzählen oftmals eine andere Geschichte“, sagt sie.

Wenn Kunstwerke restituiert werden – weil ihre ursprünglichen Eigentümer sie etwa zu Schleuderpreisen an Kunsthändler wie Hildebrand Gurlitt im Nationalsozialismus verkaufen mussten – oder ganze Bestände an die Herkunftsländer zurückgegeben werden sollen – wie Bénédicte Savoy und Felwine Sarr das in ihrem Bericht fordern – löst das politische Debatten aus. Auch für die Ostasiatika rechnet Christine Howald mit Restitutionsforderungen aus China. Wie verhalten sich die Wissenschaftlerinnen in ihren Seminaren zu solchen Fragen?

„Die Studierenden kommen oft sehr motiviert in die Veranstaltungen, sie wollen etwas wiedergutmachen.“ Meike Hoffmann

Die Studierenden kämen oft sehr motiviert in die Veranstaltungen, wollten „etwas wiedergutmachen“, erzählt Meike Hoffmann. Für die Forschung sei diese emotionale Einstellung nicht immer hilfreich. Und so sind kontroverse Debatten, die oftmals unpräzise Berichterstattung in den Medien oder die Interessen der verschiedenen Akteure auf diesem Feld immer wieder Thema in den Lehrveranstaltungen – auch um eine eigene Haltung entwickeln zu können, sagt Christine Howald. Hier könne man viel von den Anthropologen lernen.

Dass die Provenienzforschung nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern weltweit eine Herausforderungen für die Museen ist, sehen die beiden Wissenschaftlerinnen als Chance, um die Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten in Berlin mit seinen zahlreichen Museen, Archiven und Universitäten auszubauen.

„Wir decken hier das breiteste Feld ab – das ist so in anderen Städten nicht möglich“, sagt Meike Hoffmann. Doch auch wenn sich die Studierenden die Veranstaltungen an den anderen Einrichtungen anrechnen lassen können – die Studienordnungen und Anforderungen unterscheiden sich voneinander.

Das könnte in der Berlin University Alliance einfacher werden. Und vielleicht können dann auch Interessierte aus aller Welt auf Englisch systematisch an mehreren Universitäten Provenienzforschung studieren. Denn das große Ziel von Meike Hoffmann und Christine Howald ist: „Ein gemeinsames Programm für Berlin.“


Provenienzforschung in Berlin

Forschungsstelle "Entartete Kunst" (Freie Univerisität Berlin) 

MARI-Mosse Art Resarch Initiative (Freie Univerisität Berlin) 

TEAA - Tracing East Asian Art (Technische Universität Berlin)

Fachgebiet Kunstgeschichte der Moderne (Technische Universität Berlin)

CARMAH - Centre for Anthropological Research on Museums and Heritage (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

Museumskunde (Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin)