“There Are Still Many Untold Stories.”

At the Selma Stern Center for Jewish Studies in Berlin-Brandenburg, scholars from five universities in Berlin and Brandenburg, a rabbinical college, and a research institute are conducting research.

Nov 27, 2018

The Selma Stern Center for Jewish Studies Berlin-Brandenburg is located in the historical center of Berlin.

The Selma Stern Center for Jewish Studies Berlin-Brandenburg is located in the historical center of Berlin.
Image Credit: René Koch/Berlin

Hans Söhnker was a successful actor during and after the Third Reich. He played in propaganda movies. But he also hid Jews persecuted by the National Socialists, saving their lives. In 2017, almost thirty years after his death, he was honored as “Righteous Among the Nations.” Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Memorial in Israel, presents this award to non-Jewish people who saved Jews from death during National Socialism at the risk of their own lives. The “Righteous Among the Nations as a Category of Remembrance” is also the subject of Manja Herrmann’s research. She is a postdoctoral researcher at the Selma Stern Center for Jewish Studies Berlin-Brandenburg.

The institution was founded in 2012 under the name Center for Jewish Studies Berlin-Brandenburg as a joint project of Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Universität Potsdam, and, since 2014, Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) as well as the Abraham Geiger Kolleg rabbinical college and the Moses Mendelssohn Center for European-Jewish Studies. In 2017, the Center was named after the historian Selma Stern (1890-1981), who was one of the first academically trained historians in Germany and the first woman in Jewish studies. In 1941, she fled with her husband Eugen Täubler — who at the time was the director of the Berlin Academy of Jewish Studies (Berliner Akademie für die Wissenschaft des Judentums), where she was also employed — from the National Socialists to the U.S. With her work “The Prussian State and the Jews,” Selma Stern laid the foundation for German-Jewish historiography.

The Selma Stern Center trains early-career researchers at the affiliated PostDoc Academy. Postdoctoral researchers work together with doctoral students in a total of four different research areas: They examine the relationship between the three monotheistic religions, the perspectives of the Sephardic Jews who emigrated from Spain in the 15th century, life in the Diaspora, and the culture of remembrance after the Shoah. As of this winter semester, Manja Herrmann has been leading the research area devoted to the culture of remembrance after the Shoah. She will continue to do so for the next three and a half years.

Manja Herrmann is a postdoctoral researcher at the Selma Stern Center and develops the concept of a research group on the remembrance category of the “Righteous Among the Nations” in the “Witnessing — memorial history (after) the Shoah” research fiel

Manja Herrmann is a postdoctoral researcher at the Selma Stern Center and develops the concept of a research group on the remembrance category of the “Righteous Among the Nations” in the “Witnessing — memorial history (after) the Shoah” research fiel
Image Credit: Anne-Sophie Schmidt

 “The number of the Righteous Among the Nations is not a statistical quantity.” Manja Herrmann

Yad Vashemhas honored over 26,000 people from over 50 countries since 1963. “In Germany, France, Poland, and Israel, their stories play an important role in the exploration, remembrance, and politicization of the Holocaust,” says Manja Herrmann. The number of “Righteous” persons is not a statistical quantity; however, it does have a specific function for the countries. Herrmann is interested in how the “Righteous” were perceived at different times in the almost 60-year history of reception. The fact that Hans Söhnker did not dare to speak publicly about his involvement until the 1960s, is a reflection of the way the Germans dealt with their past in the postwar years. “Manja Herrmann’s project has a very concrete connection with the history of the old Federal Republic,” says Rainer Kampling, deputy spokesperson for the Selma Stern Center and a professor of Biblical theology at Freie Universität Berlin. Kampling’s work focuses on Christian anti-Judaism and Jewish-Christian dialogue. “There are still many untold stories and unasked questions.”

Digging out and investigating these stories is one of the concerns of the Selma Stern Center. Jewish-Jewish encounters in the Mediterranean region, the so-called prohibition of images in monotheistic religions, and Jewish politics in modern times are also current focal points of research. The Selma Stern Center was needed, says Kampling. “There is no comparable research center in Germany that covers this diversity.” It also has an excellent infrastructure: researchers can use the libraries of the participating institutions as well as the numerous relevant archives and library holdings of the collaboration partners. The ZJS Judaica Portal was set up in cooperation with the Cooperative Library Network Berlin-Brandenburg, which helped to further strengthen the infrastructure.

“The Center is a permanent attempt not only to demand transdisciplinarity, but also to actively implement it,” says Rainer Kampling.

This diversity is due, in part, to the interdisciplinary nature of the research institute: all disciplines of the humanities are represented, from theology and Yiddish studies to law. “The Center is a permanent attempt not only to demand transdisciplinarity, but also to actively implement it,” says Kampling. The results are not only incorporated into the individual research projects. The Center’s annual meeting, conferences, workshops, and Leo Baeck Summer University — a two-week summer school for doctoral candidates in Jewish Studies — also benefit from the Center’s diversity of disciplines. The Selma Stern Center addresses the general public with its lecture series in the winter semester. An earlier series dealt with “The Forgotten Forgotten,” about Jewish poor people, maidservants, or cigar rollers. “We want to get away from the list of Jewish Nobel Prize winners,” says Rainer Kampling. “Jewish history is also a history of Jewish workers.”

This semester the focus is on migration. The program includes Jewish migration movements from ancient Greece, to migration to today’s Berlin. With these varied perspectives on such a current topic, the Selma Stern Center is being met with great interest; the lecture hall of the Center in Sophienstraße in Berlin-Mitte is regularly bursting at the seams, says Kampling.

Rainer Kampling is the deputy spokesperson for the Selma Stern Center and a professor of Biblical theology at Freie Universität Berlin.

Rainer Kampling is the deputy spokesperson for the Selma Stern Center and a professor of Biblical theology at Freie Universität Berlin.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

As a collaborative project, the Selma Stern Center benefits from the unique characteristics of all participants: at Freie Universität Berlin, for example, there is the Institute for Jewish Studies, founded in 1963 as the first such institute in Germany in the postwar period; at Technische Universität, the Center for Research on Anti-Semitism; Jewish studies and Jewish theology can be studied at the University of Potsdam; at Abraham Geiger Kolleg, rabbi and cantor training takes place; aspects of cultural studies are taught and researched at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin; literary aspects at Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) and; with the Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar, a more recent member, the Center also covers the history of Jewish music.

The Center’s diverse and outstanding research is what makes it so special, along with its friendly and cordial atmosphere.

The form of the collaboration enables the universities and institutes to work together in a spirit of trust. But it also means organizational effort. “From the outside, the collaboration appears almost miraculous,” says Kampling. Five universities, two federal states, and the federal government are financially involved. Therefore, there were coordination challenges in setting up the Center’s headquarters in Sophienstraße in Berlin-Mitte. Despite some initial hurdles, things are now going very well. The Center’s rooms have become an integral part of the research landscape and a communication space for a network that is now international. “Ever since it was founded, the Center has proved to be extremely successful and it continues to do so. Everyone involved is interested in good cooperation — you can see that.”

Manja Herrmann also values the Selma Stern Center for its internationality. “It’s easy to get in touch with outstanding international and national researchers.” The Scientific Advisory Board consists of renowned international researchers in the field of Jewish Studies; once a year they are available to postdoctoral researchers in advisory discussions.

A researcher from Israel and a colleague from Harvard University in the U.S. are currently sharing an office, according to Rainer Kampling. This is also what makes the Center so charming and special. The friendly and warm atmosphere of the Selma Stern Center is as popular as its diverse and outstanding research, says Kampling. “Researchers from all over the world hear about it and then want to see it for themselves.”

„Es gibt noch viele unerzählte Geschichten“

Am Selma Stern Zentrum für Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg forschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler von fünf Universitäten aus Berlin und Brandenburg, einem Rabbinerkolleg und einem Forschungsinstitut

27.11.2018

Das Selma Stern Zentrum für Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg befindet sich in der historischen Mitte Berlins.

Das Selma Stern Zentrum für Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg befindet sich in der historischen Mitte Berlins.
Bildquelle: René Koch/Berlin

Hans Söhnker war ein erfolgreicher Schauspieler während und nach dem Dritten Reich. Er spielte in Propagandafilmen mit. Aber er versteckte auch von den Nationalsozialisten verfolgte Jüdinnen und Juden und rettete ihnen damit das Leben. Dafür wurde er 2017, fast dreißig Jahre nach seinem Tod, als „Gerechter unter den Völkern“ geehrt. Diese Auszeichnung vergibt Yad Vashem, die Gedenkstätte des Holocausts in Israel, an nicht-jüdische Menschen, die während des Nationalsozialismus unter Lebensgefahr Jüdinnen und Juden vor dem Tod bewahrt haben. Die „‚Gerechten unter den Völkern‘ als Erinnerungskategorie“ sind auch Forschungsgegenstand von Manja Herrmann. Sie ist Postdoktorandin am Selma Stern Zentrum für Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg.

2012 wurde die Einrichtung unter dem Namen Zentrum für Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg gegründet, als gemeinsames Projekt der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Universität Potsdam und seit 2014 der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) sowie dem Rabbinerseminar Abraham Geiger Kolleg und dem Moses Mendelssohn Zentrum für europäisch-jüdische Studien. 2017 bekam das interuniversitäre und überregionale Verbundprojekt den Namen der Historikerin Selma Stern (1890-1981). Sie war eine der ersten akademisch ausgebildeten Historikerinnen in Deutschland und die erste Frau in der Wissenschaft des Judentums. 1941 floh sie mit ihrem Mann Eugen Täubler – dem damaligen Leiter der Berliner Akademie für die Wissenschaft des Judentums, bei der sie angestellt war – vor den Nationalsozialisten in die USA. Mit ihrem Werk „Der preußische Staat und die Juden“ legte Selma Stern den Grundstein für die deutsch-jüdische Geschichtsschreibung.

An der angeschlossenen PostDoc-Akademie bildet das Selma Stern Zentrum den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs aus. Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden arbeiten dort gemeinsam mit Promovierenden in insgesamt vier verschiedenen Forschungsbereichen: Sie untersuchen das Verhältnis der drei monotheistischen Religionen zueinander, Perspektiven der im 15. Jahrhundert aus Spanien ausgewanderten sephardischen Jüdinnen und Juden, das Leben in der Diaspora und die Erinnerungskultur nach der Shoah. Letzteren leitet Manja Herrmann seit diesem Wintersemester für die nächsten dreieinhalb Jahre.

Manja Herrmann ist Postdoktorandin am Selma Stern Zentrum und entwickelt im Forschungsbereich „Zeugenschaft – Memorialgeschichte (nach) der Shoah“ das Konzept einer Forschungsgruppe zur Erinnerungskategorie der „Gerechten unter den Völkern“.

Manja Herrmann ist Postdoktorandin am Selma Stern Zentrum und entwickelt im Forschungsbereich „Zeugenschaft – Memorialgeschichte (nach) der Shoah“ das Konzept einer Forschungsgruppe zur Erinnerungskategorie der „Gerechten unter den Völkern“.
Bildquelle: Anne-Sophie Schmidt

„Die Zahl der ‚Gerechten unter den Völkern‘ ist keine statistische Größe.“ Manja Herrmann

Über 26.000 Menschen aus über 50 Ländern ehrte Yad Vashem seit 1963. „In Deutschland, Frankreich, Polen und Israel spielen deren Geschichten eine große Rolle für die Erforschung, Erinnerung und auch Politisierung des Holocausts“, sagt Manja Herrmann. Die Zahl der „Gerechten“ sei keine statistische Größe, sondern habe eine bestimmte Funktion für die Länder. Herrmann interessiert, wie die „Gerechten“ zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten in der fast 60-jährigen Rezeptionsgeschichte wahrgenommen wurden. Dass sich Hans Söhnker bis in die 1960er Jahre nicht traute, öffentlich über sein Engagement zu sprechen, spiegele den Umgang der Deutschen mit ihrer Vergangenheit in den Nachkriegsjahren wider. „Das Projekt von Manja Herrmann hängt ganz konkret mit der Geschichte der alten Bundesrepublik zusammen“, sagt auch Rainer Kampling, stellvertretender Sprecher des Selma Stern Zentrums und Professor für Biblische Theologie an der Freien Universität Berlin mit den Schwerpunkten christlicher Antijudaismus und jüdisch-christlicher Dialog. „Es gibt noch viele unerzählte Geschichten und ungestellte Fragen.“

Diese Geschichten auszugraben und zu untersuchen, ist eines der Anliegen des Selma Stern Zentrums. Aber auch jüdisch-jüdische Begegnungen im Mittelmeerraum, das sogenannte Bilderverbot in den monotheistischen Religionen und jüdische Politik in der Moderne sind aktuelle Forschungsschwerpunkte. Notwendig sei das Selma Stern Zentrum gewesen, sagt Kampling. „In Deutschland gibt es kein vergleichbares Zentrum, das diese Vielfalt abdeckt“. Zudem verfügt es über eine hervorragende Infrastruktur: Forscherinnen und Forscher können sowohl die Bibliotheken der beteiligten Einrichtungen nutzen als auch zahlreiche einschlägige Archive und Bibliotheksbestände der Kooperationspartner einsehen. Durch die Einrichtung des ZJS Judaica Portals in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kooperativen Bibliotheksverbund Berlin-Brandenburg konnte die Infrastruktur zusätzlich gestärkt werden.

„Das Zentrum ist der permanente Versuch, Transdisziplinarität nicht nur zu fordern, sondern aktiv umzusetzen.“ Rainer Kampling

Die Vielfalt ergibt sich unter anderem durch die Interdisziplinarität des Forschungsinstituts: Sämtliche geisteswissenschaftliche Disziplinen seien vertreten, von der Theologie über die Jiddistik hin zu den Rechtswissenschaften. „Das Zentrum ist der permanente Versuch, Transdisziplinarität nicht nur zu fordern, sondern aktiv umzusetzen“, sagt Kampling. Die Ergebnisse fließen nicht nur in die einzelnen Forschungsarbeiten ein. Auch die Jahrestagung, Konferenzen, Workshops und die Leo Baeck Summer University – eine zweiwöchige Summer School für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in den Jüdischen Studien – des Zentrums profitieren von der fachlichen Vielfalt. Mit der jeweils im Wintersemester stattfindenden Ringvorlesung wendet sich das Selma Stern Zentrum an eine breite Öffentlichkeit. In einer früheren Reihe ging es um „Die vergessenen Vergessenen“: jüdische Arme, Dienstmädchen oder Zigarrendreher. „Wir wollen wegkommen von der Aufzählung der jüdischen Nobelpreisträger“, sagt Rainer Kampling. „Die jüdische Geschichte ist auch eine Geschichte der jüdischen Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter.“

In diesem Semester steht das Thema „Migration“ im Mittelpunkt. Auf dem Programm stehen jüdische Wanderungsbewegungen vom alten Griechenland bis hin zu Migration in das heutige Berlin. Mit diesen vielfältigen Perspektiven auf ein aktuelles Thema stößt das Selma Stern Zentrum auf breites Interesse, der Vorlesungssaal des Zentrums in der Sophienstraße in Mitte platze aus allen Nähten, sagt Kampling.

Rainer Kampling ist stellvertretender Sprecher des Selma Stern Zentrums und Professor für Biblische Theologie an der Freien Universität Berlin.

Rainer Kampling ist stellvertretender Sprecher des Selma Stern Zentrums und Professor für Biblische Theologie an der Freien Universität Berlin.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Als Verbundprojekt profitiert das Selma Stern Zentrum von den Alleinstellungsmerkmalen aller Beteiligten: An der Freien Universität befindet sich beispielsweise das Institut für Judaistik, 1963 als erstes Institut in der Nachkriegszeit in Deutschland gegründet, an der Technischen Universität das Zentrum für Antisemitismusforschung, Jüdischen Studien und Jüdische Theologie können an der Universität Potsdam studiert werden, am Abraham Geiger Kolleg erfolgt die Rabbiner- und Kantorenausbildung, an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin werden kulturwissenschaftliche Aspekte gelehrt und erforscht, an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) die literaturwissenschaftlichen Aspekte und mit der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar, einem nachgewählten Mitglied, deckt das Zentrum auch die Geschichte der jüdischen Musik ab.

Die vielfältige und herausragende Forschung des Zentrums mache seine Besonderheit aus ebenso wie die kollegiale und herzliche Atmosphäre.

Die Form des Verbunds ermögliche eine vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit der Universitäten und Institute. Sie bedeute aber auch organisatorischen Aufwand. „Von außen betrachtet hat die Zusammenarbeit fast etwas Mirakulöses“, sagt der Theologe. Fünf Universitäten, zwei Bundesländer und der Bund sind finanziell beteiligt. Das Zentrum hat seinen Hauptsitz in der Sophienstraße in Berlin-Mitte, schon es dort einzurichten sei eine koordinative Herausforderung gewesen. Trotz einiger Anfangshürden laufe es nun aber sehr gut. Die Räume des Zentrums sind inzwischen fester Bestandteil der Forschungslandschaft und Kommunikationsraum für ein inzwischen internationales Netzwerk. „Seit der Gründung hat sich das Zentrum als überaus erfolgreich und weiterführend erwiesen. Alle Beteiligten haben Interesse an einer guten Zusammenarbeit – das merkt man.“

Manja Herrmann schätzt das Selma Stern Zentrum auch für seine Internationalität. „Man kommt sehr unkompliziert mit herausragenden internationalen und nationalen Forschenden in Kontakt.“ Der wissenschaftliche Beirat bestehe aus renommierten internationalen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern auf dem Gebiet der Jüdischen Studien; einmal im Jahr stehen sie Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden in beratenden Gesprächen zur Verfügung.

Derzeit teilen sich ein Wissenschaftler aus Israel und ein Kollege der US-amerikanischen Harvard University ein Büro, erzählt Rainer Kampling. Auch das mache den Charme und die Besonderheit des Zentrums aus. Die kollegiale und herzliche Atmosphäre des Selma Stern Zentrums spreche sich genauso schnell herum wie dessen vielfältige und herausragende Forschung, sagt Kampling: „Forschende aus der ganzen Welt hören davon und wollen dann selbst kommen.“