Direct Link between Stimulus and Experience

Neuroscientists at Humboldt-Universität and computer scientists at Technische Universität are working together to develop a new theory of sensory perception.

Nov 14, 2018

If a deer suddenly appears in front of your car, you need to react in seconds. How does your brain manage a quick reaction?

If a deer suddenly appears in front of your car, you need to react in seconds. How does your brain manage a quick reaction?
Image Credit: Ivana Cajina / Unsplash

Responding at lightning speed can be vital: For example, when a deer unexpectedly jumps in front of the car or when a herd of wild boar suddenly bursts out of the bushes while walking through the woods. Within fractions of a second, the sensory impression is transmitted through a gigantic network of neurons to the part of the brain where corresponding experiences and expectations are anchored. There, the sensory impression is then compared with corresponding experiences and expectations, and a reaction instruction is sent back. Brake! Run away! Don’t move! – as the case may be. This is the classical idea of sensory perception.

But how exactly does the brain combine the external sensory impression (feedforward) with the internal expectation (feedback)? The Australian Matthew Larkum, a neuroscientist at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, has developed a theory on this subject: instead of a large network, this happens within certain nerve cells, namely in the pyramidal cells, which are located in the cerebral cortex and are named after the shape of their cell body. “We think these cells have two areas. In one, the information arrives from outside, the expectation is in the other.” Then information and expectation are compared and offset, and the connection between the two “boxes” gives the feedback: It’s exactly what I expected. Or simply: Be careful! Error! I don’t know that one! Within 50 to 100 milliseconds, the most important thing has already happened and the human being reacts.

Matthew Larkum is a neuroscientist at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Matthew Larkum is a neuroscientist at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.
Image Credit: Matthew Larkum

“We think that we have now actually found the mechanism of perception.” Matthew Larkum 

Larkum was able prove his theory through experiments with mice. Using fine electrodes, he succeeded in measuring the lightning-fast response of individual pyramidal cells. The rodents were trained to receive a reward – they were allowed to lick sugar water – after one of their whiskers had been lightly touched. For the experiment, a magnet coated with magnetic paint was used to move a whisker. After the sensory stimulus, the rapid calcium release of the pyramidal cells can be measured. The researchers were also able to optogenetically (i.e., using light) prevent the opening of the calcium channels, thus blocking the mouse’s perception that its whiskers are being touched. And vice versa, by strongly stimulating the cells’ “perception box,” they were able to induce hallucinations in the mice. The result: the mouse licked without its whisker being touched. From these behavioral experiments, Matthew Larkum concludes, “We think that we have now actually found the mechanism of perception.”

Of course, it isn’t just one pyramidal cell that reacts to a sensory stimulus, but thousands, if not millions, in parallel. It’s hard to capture that in an experiment. This is where computer scientist Henning Sprekeler from Technische Universität Berlin comes in. His task is to find differential equations that are as simple as possible and yet precisely and mathematically describe the results of the mouse experiments. “First, we developed the mathematics for one of these cells, then for a network of many cells,” says Henning Sprekeler. “So, we are trying to combine Larkum’s results first on the level of single cells, then thousands, and finally of entire areas of the brain into one image, which is then simulated on the computer.”

Henning Sprekeler is a computer scientist at Technische Universität Berlin.

Henning Sprekeler is a computer scientist at Technische Universität Berlin.
Image Credit: MKP

It’s a kind of ping-pong of experiment and mathematical refinement.

The neuroscientist can then use experiments with the mice to check the extent to which the predictions apply. In the next round, the computer scientist refines his system of equations – and so on. It’s a kind of ping-pong of experiment and mathematical refinement. The aim of the project is to understand how feedback signals influence perception and which neural circuits the brain uses. For three years since mid-2017, the project called “Functional Role of Feedback in Sensory Representation” has been financed by the Einstein Foundation Berlin.

In the long term, Matthew Larkum’s “two-box theory” could fundamentally change the understanding and treatment of certain mental illnesses, for example, psychoses. “Hallucinations are perhaps nothing more than an overly high expectation of a rather weak sensory impression.” To test this idea, Larkum is currently letting his mice act under the influence of LSD or ketamine. “With autism, on the other hand, we suspect that the other box – the perception of the real world – is too powerful,” explains Larkum. The expectations of autistic people would therefore only be very subordinate, which is why they react hypersensitively to every new sensory stimulus.

Direkter Link zwischen Reiz und Erfahrung

Neurowissenschaftler der Humboldt-Universität und Informatiker der Technischen Universität entwickeln gemeinsam eine neue Theorie der Sinneswahrnehmung

14.11.2018

Wenn unverhofft ein Reh vor das Auto läuft, muss man blitzschnell reagieren. Doch wie genau kombiniert das Gehirn den externen Sinneseindruck mit der internen Erwartung?

Wenn unverhofft ein Reh vor das Auto läuft, muss man blitzschnell reagieren. Doch wie genau kombiniert das Gehirn den externen Sinneseindruck mit der internen Erwartung?
Bildquelle: Ivana Cajina / Unsplash

Blitzschnell zu reagieren, kann überlebenswichtig sein. Etwa, wenn unverhofft ein Reh vor das Auto springt oder beim Waldspaziergang plötzlich eine Wildschweinrotte aus dem Gebüsch bricht. Der Sinneseindruck wird in Sekundenbruchteilen durch ein gigantisches Netzwerk an Neuronen an die Stelle des Gehirns geleitet, wo entsprechende Erfahrungen und Erwartungen verankert sind, damit verglichen und eine Reaktionsanweisung zurückgeschickt. Bremsen! Weglaufen! Nicht bewegen! – je nachdem. So die klassische Vorstellung der Sinneswahrnehmung.

Doch wie genau kombiniert das Gehirn den externen Sinneseindruck (feedforward) mit der internen Erwartung (feedback)? Der Australier Matthew Larkum, Neurowissenschaftler an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, hat hierzu eine Theorie entwickelt: Statt über ein großes Netzwerk geschieht dies innerhalb bestimmter Nervenzellen. Nämlich in den Pyramidalzellen, die in der Großhirnrinde sitzen und nach der Form ihres Zellkörpers benannt sind. „Wir meinen, dass diese Zellen zwei Bereiche haben. In einem kommt die Information von außen an, im anderen sitzt die Erwartung.“ Dann wird beides verglichen, verrechnet und die Verbindung zwischen den beiden „Kästchen“ gibt dann das Feedback: Es ist genau das, was ich erwartet habe. Oder eben: Achtung! Fehlermeldung! Das kenn ich nicht! In 50 bis 100 Millisekunden ist das Wichtigste dann bereits passiert und der Mensch reagiert.

Matthew Larkum ist Neurowissenschaftler an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Matthew Larkum ist Neurowissenschaftler an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.
Bildquelle: Matthew Larkum

„Wir denken, dass wir nun tatsächlich den Mechanismus der Wahrnehmung gefunden haben.“ Matthew Larkum

In Experimenten mit Mäusen konnte Larkum seine Theorie belegen. Es gelang ihm, das blitzschnelle Ansprechen einzelner Pyramidalzellen mit feinen Elektroden zu messen. Die Nager waren darauf trainiert, nach leichter Berührung eines Schnurrhaares eine Belohnung zu erhalten – sie durften an Zuckerwasser lecken. Experimentell realisiert wird dies, indem ein mit magnetischer Farbe bestrichenes Schnurrhaar von einem Magneten bewegt wird. Die rasche Kalziumausschüttung der Pyramidalzellen nach dem Sinnesreiz lässt sich messen. Das Öffnen der Kalziumkanäle konnten die Forscher aber auch optogenetisch (also durch Licht) verhindern und so die Wahrnehmung der Maus, dass die Schnurrhaare berührt werden, blockieren. Und umgekehrt konnten sie die Maus dazu bringen, zu halluzinieren, indem sie das „Wahrnehmungskästchen“ der Zellen stark reizten. Die Folge: die Maus leckte, ohne dass ein Tasthaar berührt wurde. „Wir denken, dass wir nun tatsächlich den Mechanismus der Wahrnehmung gefunden haben“, folgert Matthew Larkum aus diesen Verhaltensexperimenten.

Natürlich reagiert nicht nur eine Pyramidalzelle auf einen Sinnesreiz, sondern Tausende, wenn nicht Millionen parallel. Experimentell ist das kaum zu erfassen. An dieser Stelle kommt der Informatiker Henning Sprekeler von der Technischen Universität Berlin ins Spiel. Seine Aufgabe ist es, möglichst einfache Differentialgleichungen zu finden, die die Ergebnisse der Mausexperimente dennoch exakt mathematisch beschreiben. „Zunächst haben wir die Mathematik für eine dieser Zellen aufgebaut, dann für ein Netzwerk von vielen Zellen“, sagt Henning Sprekeler. „So versuchen wir Larkums Resultate erst auf der Ebene von Einzelzellen, dann von Tausenden und am Ende von ganzen Hirnarealen in ein Bild zusammenzufügen, welches dann am Computer simuliert wird.“

Henning Sprekeler ist Informatiker an der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Henning Sprekeler ist Informatiker an der Technischen Universität Berlin.
Bildquelle: MKP

Es ist eine Art Pingpong aus Experiment und mathematischer Verfeinerung.

Der Neurowissenschaftler kann danach in Experimenten mit den Mäusen überprüfen, in wieweit die Vorhersagen zutreffen. In der nächsten Runde verfeinert der Informatiker sein Gleichungssystem – und so weiter. Es ist eine Art Pingpong aus Experiment und mathematischer Verfeinerung. Ziel des Projektes ist es, zu verstehen, wie Feedback-Signale die Wahrnehmung beeinflussen und welche Nervenschaltkreise das Gehirn dabei verwendet. Das Projekt mit Namen „Functional Role of Feedback in Sensory Representation“ wird seit Mitte 2017 für drei Jahre von der Einstein-Stiftung Berlin finanziert.

Langfristig könnte Matthew Larkums „Zwei-Kästchen-Theorie“ das Verständnis und die Therapie bestimmter psychischer Erkrankungen grundlegend verändern. Zum Beispiel von Psychosen. „Halluzinationen sind vielleicht nichts anderes als eine übergroße Erwartungshaltung gegenüber einem eher schwachen Sinneseindruck.“ Um diesen Gedanken zu überprüfen, lässt Larkum seine Mäuse derzeit unter LSD- oder Ketamin-Einfluss agieren. „Bei Autismus hingegen vermuten wir, dass das andere Kästchen – also die Wahrnehmung der realen Welt – zu mächtig ist“, erklärt Larkum. Die Erwartungen wären demnach bei Autisten nur sehr untergeordnet, weshalb sie hypersensibel auf jeden neuen Sinnesreiz reagieren.