Ancient Knowledge about Water – for Today and Tomorrow

Geographer and climate historian Jonas Berking of Freie Universität Berlin investigates water management in antiquity

Oct 31, 2018

The inhabitants of the Andalusian village of Vélez Blanco still irrigate the terraced agricultural areas using a canal system that was created more than 1000 years ago.

The inhabitants of the Andalusian village of Vélez Blanco still irrigate the terraced agricultural areas using a canal system that was created more than 1000 years ago.
Image Credit: Jonas Berking 

The great drought that hit Northern and Central Europe this summer not only led to crop failures in agriculture and record harvests for potato growers and winemakers, but it also had an unexpected side effect. It was a very effective reminder of the relevance of an area of research that would otherwise primarily be of interest to specialists in ancient history: the history of water management and irrigation, which is as old as the sedentariness of human beings and fundamental for human life as we have known it since the end of the last ice age.

The history of human water use is largely a history of scarcity – the great flood was the exception, and water scarcity the rule. The advanced civilizations in prehistory and early history developed in the truly water-poor regions of the “Fertile Crescent,” in which only human inventiveness created fertility. The same goes for antiquity: agriculture, urban development, and advanced civilizations did not come to life where water was abundant, but where people collected, dammed up, and made use of the little water available.

Geographer Jonas Berking does research on water and climate history.

Geographer Jonas Berking does research on water and climate history.
Image Credit: Jonas Berking

It is precisely this tradition of “water management” in antiquity that Jonas Berking, head of the junior research group in the “Topoi - The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilizations” Cluster of Excellence is researching. In this interdisciplinary research collaboration, scholars from Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, together with colleagues from non-university research institutions, deal with the manifold relationships between space and knowledge in the civilizations of the Near East, the Mediterranean, and Central Asia from the Neolithic to the Middle Ages.

Berking is a physical geographer who focuses on water and climate history. In Topoi, he is researching ancient water management in cooperation with archaeologists, classicists, and scientific historians. “Water is a raw material and resource, it is subject to climate change as precipitation, and at the same time it is made socially accessible, organized, and distributed,” says Berking. “It is therefore an ideal way of combining historical climate research with archaeological and technical-historical research into water drawing and collection systems and the social, as well as legal institutions that legally regulate access to water.”

Using Egypt as an example, Jonas Berking illustrates how water management can fundamentally shape the development of an entire society. Here, with the introduction of the distribution system for the water drawn from the Nile, an entire “water bureaucracy” had developed for agriculture, which led to hierarchy, stratification, and one of the first states in society.

Antique water management was able to ensure year-round irrigation and drinking water in arid regions.

Berking illustrates how effective and sustainable antique water management could be by referring to the Jordanian rock city of Petra, which the geographer from Freie Universität Berlin visited together with colleagues from Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in 2015. The city is located in the hot Jordanian desert valley Wadi Musa, on which rain falls only a few days of the year. But because the inhabitants had mastered the collection of even the smallest amount of rainfall in numerous canals, cleaning it in filter basins, and storing it in reservoirs, they were able to maintain wells and ponds and ensure irrigation and drinking water all year round.

Jonas Berking and the geographers Brigitta Schütt and Sarah Ißelhorst from Freie Universität Berlin have investigated an example of antique and medieval water management that has survived to this day in Andalusia, Spain. There, the village of Vélez Blanco is situated in one of the driest regions of Europe. Its inhabitants irrigate the terraced agricultural areas of the surrounding region using a canal system created more than 1,000 years ago. Not only the technical aids such as the canal network, the collecting basins, and the distribution mechanisms, but also the legal institutions for the distribution and allocation of the quantity of water according to the size of the cultivated areas, date back to the time of Islamic and Arab domination in Andalusia. These, in turn, were linked to Roman and Hellenistic knowledge of water management.

A typical channel in the water management system in Vélez Blanco.

A typical channel in the water management system in Vélez Blanco.
Image Credit: Jonas Berking

According to Berking, two legal water management systems in Andalusia, which date back to the Arab conquest, are still in use today: the Yemeni and Syrian systems. Water is either allocated equally to all or according to the size of the area under cultivation. The distribution of water as a jointly managed resource works so well and sustainably that it is still in use today.

The sustainability of traditional water management also makes it an attractive model for the present. Where knowledge passed down orally is forgotten, for example, because people are switching to modern electric groundwater pumps, there is an even greater risk of water shortage in the longer term. This scenario also awaits the centuries-old water management system in Vélez Blanco: due to the migration of young inhabitants to the cities, the village has lost 75 percent of its population. And because access to groundwater is cheaper and more efficient in the short term, the groundwater level threatens to decline in the long term.

A similar situation can also be observed in other arid regions: the availability of water by operating groundwater pumps means that it is used for unsustainable tourism projects, such as golf courses and swimming pools – and ultimately salinizes groundwater because of unsustainable extraction. The resulting threat of water shortages, together with climate change, harbors potential for conflict, for example in the Middle East, where some observers are already predicting future wars over water reserves.

This makes it all the more important to recall the small-scale approaches of antique water management. These small-scale approaches even have the potential, says Jonas Berking, to defuse large-scale water conflicts.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Wasserwissen von gestern – für heute und morgen

Der Geograf und Klimahistoriker Jonas Berking von der Freien Universität Berlin untersucht das Wassermanagement in der Antike

31.10.2018

Die Bewohner des andalusischen Dorfs Vélez Blanco bewässern die terassenförmigen Landwirtschaftsflächen auch heute noch mit einem Kanalsystem, das vor mehr als 1000 Jahren angelegt wurde.

Die Bewohner des andalusischen Dorfs Vélez Blanco bewässern die terassenförmigen Landwirtschaftsflächen auch heute noch mit einem Kanalsystem, das vor mehr als 1000 Jahren angelegt wurde.
Bildquelle: Jonas Berking 

Die große Dürre, die Nord- und Mitteleuropa in diesem Sommer heimgesucht hat, führte nicht nur zu Ernteausfällen in der Landwirtschaft und zu Rekordernten bei Kartoffelbauern und Winzern, sondern auch zu einem unerwarteten Nebeneffekt. Denn wirkungsvoller hätte man kaum auf die Relevanz eines Forschungsbereichs hinweisen können, der sonst vor allem Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten der Alten Geschichte beschäftigt: die Geschichte des Wassermanagements und der Bewässerung. Dabei ist sie so alt wie die Sesshaftigkeit des Menschen und grundlegend für menschliches Leben, wie wir es seit dem Ende der letzten Eiszeit kennen.

Die Geschichte des menschlichen Umgangs mit Wasser ist zu weiten Teilen eine Geschichte des Mangels – die Sintflut war die Ausnahme, die Wasserknappheit die Regel. Schon die Hochkulturen der Vor- und Frühgeschichte entstanden in den eigentlich wasserarmen Regionen des „fruchtbaren Halbmonds“, in dem erst menschlicher Erfindungsreichtum Fruchtbarkeit schuf. Das Gleiche gilt für die Antike: Ackerbau, Stadtentwicklung und Hochkulturen lebten nicht dort auf, wo Wasser im Überfluss vorhanden war, sondern wo die Menschen das wenige Wasser sammelten, stauten und nutzbar machten.

Der Geograf Jonas Berking forscht vor allem zur Wasser- und Klimageschichte.

Der Geograf Jonas Berking forscht vor allem zur Wasser- und Klimageschichte.
Bildquelle: Jonas Berking

Eben diese Tradition des „Wassermanagements“ in der Antike erforscht Jonas Berking, Leiter der darauf spezialisierten Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe im Exzellenzcluster „Topoi – The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilisations“. In dem interdisziplinären Forschungsverbund beschäftigen sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin zusammen mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen mit den vielseitigen Beziehungen zwischen Raum und Wissen in den Zivilisationen des Vorderen Orients, des Mittelmeerraums und Zentralasiens vom Neolithikum bis hin zum Mittelalter.

Berking ist Physischer Geograf, mit einem Schwerpunkt für Wasser- und Klimageschichte. Bei Topoi erforscht er das antike Wassermanagement in Kooperation mit Archäologen, Altphilologen oder Wissenschaftshistorikern. „Wasser ist Rohstoff und Ressource, es unterliegt als Niederschlag dem Klimawandel, zugleich wird es erst gesellschaftlich zugänglich gemacht, organisiert und verteilt“, sagt Berking. „Es bietet sich also geradezu an, um historische Klimaforschung mit der archäologischen und technikhistorischen Untersuchung der Wasserhebe- und Sammelsysteme sowie der sozialen und rechtlichen Institutionen, die den Zugang zu Wasser rechtlich regeln, zu verbinden.“

Wie grundlegend Wassermanagement die Entwicklung einer ganzen Gesellschaft prägen kann, veranschaulicht Jonas Berking am Beispiel Ägypten. Hier habe sich für die Landwirtschaft mit der Einführung des Verteilungssystems für das aus dem Nil gehobene Wasser eine ganze „Wasserbürokratie“ entwickelt, die in der Gesellschaft zu Hierarchie, Stratifizierung und einem der ersten Staaten führte.

Antikes Wassermanagement konnte die ganzjährige Bewässerung und Trinkwasser in Trockenregionen sicherstellen.

Wie wirksam und nachhaltig antikes Wassermanagement sein konnte, verdeutlicht Berking mit dem Verweis auf die jordanische Felsenstadt Petra, die der Geograf der Freien Universität Berlin gemeinsam mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Humboldt-Universität Berlin 2015 besucht hat. Die Stadt liegt im heißen jordanischen Wüstental Wadi Musa, in dem an nur wenigen Tagen im Jahr überhaupt Regen fällt. Aber weil die Bewohner es meisterhaft beherrschten, die noch so geringen Niederschlagsmengen in zahlreichen Kanälen zu sammeln, in Filterbecken zu reinigen und in Reservoiren zu stauen, konnten sie Brunnen und Teiche unterhalten und ganzjährig Bewässerung und Trinkwasser sicherstellen.

Ein Beispiel antiken und mittelalterlichen Wassermanagements, das sich bis heute erhalten hat, haben Jonas Berking und die Geografinnen Brigitta Schütt und Sarah Ißelhorst von der Freien Universität Berlin im spanischen Andalusien erforscht. Dort, in einer der trockensten Regionen Europas, liegt das Dorf Vélez Blanco. Seine Bewohner bewässern die terrassierten landwirtschaftlichen Flächen der Umgebung mithilfe eines Kanalsystems, das vor mehr als 1.000 Jahren angelegt wurde. Nicht nur die technischen Hilfsmittel wie das Kanalnetz, die Auffangbecken und die Verteilungsmechanismen, sondern auch die rechtlichen Institutionen der Auf- und Zuteilung der Wassermenge je nach Größe der bewirtschafteten Flächen gehen auf die Zeit der islamischen und arabischen Vorherrschaft in Andalusien zurück. Diese hatten wiederum an römisches und hellenistisches Wissen um Wassermanagement angeknüpft.

Eine typische Wasserrinne des Wasssermanagement-Systems in Vélez Blanco.

Eine typische Wasserrinne des Wasssermanagement-Systems in Vélez Blanco.
Bildquelle: Jonas Berking

In Andalusien, erzählt Berking, seien bis heute zwei rechtliche Systeme des Wassermanagements in Verwendung, die auf die arabische Eroberung zurückgehen: das jemenitische und das syrische System. Dabei erfolgt die Wasserzuteilung entweder für alle zu gleichen Teilen oder je nach der Größe der bewirtschafteten Fläche. Diese Nutzung von Wasser als gemeinschaftlich verwaltete Ressource funktioniere so gut und nachhaltig, dass sie bis heute verwendet werde.

Die Nachhaltigkeit des traditionellen Wassermanagements macht es auch zu einem attraktiven Modell für die Gegenwart. Denn wo das mündlich überlieferte Wissen in Vergessenheit gerät, etwa weil man auf moderne elektrische Grundwasserpumpen umsteigt, droht längerfristig noch größerer Wassermangel. Dieses Szenario stehe auch dem jahrhundertealten System des Wassermanagements in Vélez Blanco bevor: Durch die Abwanderung junger Bewohner in die Städte hat das Dorf 75 Prozent seiner Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner verloren. Und weil der Zugang zu Grundwasser kurzfristig kostengünstiger und effizienter ist, droht der Grundwasserspiegel langfristig abzusinken.

Ähnliches ist auch in anderen Trockenregionen zu verzeichnen: Die Verfügbarkeit von Wasser durch Grundwasserpumpen führt dazu, dass es für nicht nachhaltige Tourismusprojekte, etwa für Golfplätze und Swimmingpools, eingesetzt wird – und schließlich das Grundwasser wegen der nicht nachhaltigen Förderung versalzt. Die dadurch drohende Wasserknappheit – zusammen mit dem Klimawandel – birgt Konfliktpotential, zum Beispiel im Nahen Osten, wo manche Beobachter schon zukünftige Kriege um Wasserreserven prognostizieren.

Um so wichtiger wäre es, die kleinskaligen Ansätze des antiken Wassermanagements wieder in Erinnerung zu rufen. Sie hätten sogar das Potenzial, sagt Jonas Berking, Wasserkonflikte auch im Großen zu entschärfen.