Cause for Celebration

Seven clusters for Berlin! The decision in the German Excellence Strategy was cause for celebration at the three major Berlin universities and Charité and demonstrates the high quality of research being done in Berlin in many disciplines.

Oct 11, 2018

Michael Zürn, spokesperson for the “Contestations of the Liberal Script” Cluster of Excellence, and Verena Blechinger-Talcott, vice president of Freie Universität, reviewed the results of the Excellence Strategy.

Michael Zürn, spokesperson for the “Contestations of the Liberal Script” Cluster of Excellence, and Verena Blechinger-Talcott, vice president of Freie Universität, reviewed the results of the Excellence Strategy.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

“There was a huge amount of tension, and that’s why the positive news came as such a relief to us,” said Wolfgang Schäffner, a professor of cultural history of knowledge at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and spokesperson for the “Matters of Activity” cluster. Many scholars who were involved in the “marathon of the proposal phase,” as Schäffner puts it, probably felt the same way.

There was also relief and joy among the members of management and administration at the universities as well as among the city’s politicians. “Awesome,” tweeted Steffen Krach, Berlin’s Permanent Secretary for Higher Education and Research, immediately after the results were announced at the German Research Foundation (DFG) in Bonn, which together with the German Council of Science and Humanities organizes the federal and state governments’ competition. Together with Michael Müller, the city’s Governing Mayor and Senator for Higher Education and Research, Krach had taken part in the decisive meeting as a representative for the State of Berlin.

Prof. Dr. phil. Wolfgang Schäffner is the spokesperson for the “Matters of Activity” cluster.

Prof. Dr. phil. Wolfgang Schäffner is the spokesperson for the “Matters of Activity” cluster.
Image Credit: Matthias Heyde

“We put together a great group of researchers who are really eager to do new things together,” said cluster spokesperson Wolfgang Schäffner. A number of people across various levels have been working on the cluster proposals – and just learned that the German Research Foundation approved a total of seven Clusters at all four institutions. So, people are celebrating not only at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in the central area Berlin-Mitte, but also at nearby Charité – Universitätsmedizin, as well as on the campus of Technische Universität Berlin in the district of Charlottenburg and at Freie Universität Berlin in southwestern Berlin.

Here, in the central offices of Freie Universität, members of the university had gathered at 4 p.m. to watch the German Research Foundation’s livestream – which was at first lacking the audio track. However, the silence did not last long, and the simultaneously published list of approved projects quickly made it clear that Berlin is one of the most successful research hubs in the German government’s Excellence Strategy.

Andrew James Johnston and Anita Traninger, professors of literary studies at Freie Universität Berlin, are the spokespersons for the “Temporal Communities” cluster.

Andrew James Johnston and Anita Traninger, professors of literary studies at Freie Universität Berlin, are the spokespersons for the “Temporal Communities” cluster.
Image Credit: Miriam Klingl

Among the approved projects was Freie Universität’s proposal for “Temporal Communities - Doing Literature in a Global Perspective. A New Concept of Literature across the Boundaries of Periods, Cultures and Media.” Andrew James Johnston, a professor of English literature, and Anita Traninger, a professor of Romance languages and literatures, are its spokespersons.

“I am especially delighted that we have been successful with a cluster in literary studies,” said Anita Traninger. Only a few proposals from around the country are being funded in the humanities or social sciences.

Prof. Dr. Tanja Börzel (Freie Universität Berlin) and Professor Dr. Michael Zürn (Berlin Social Science Center) are the spokespersons for the “Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS)” cluster.

Prof. Dr. Tanja Börzel (Freie Universität Berlin) and Professor Dr. Michael Zürn (Berlin Social Science Center) are the spokespersons for the “Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS)” cluster.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

The “Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS). Global Challenges for the Model of Liberal Democracy and Market Economy” cluster, also submitted by Freie Universität, is dedicated to a current topic. Tanja Börzel, a professor of political science at Freie Universität’s Otto Suhr Institute, and Michael Zürn of the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB), a professor of international relations at Freie Universität, are the spokespersons for this cluster within the social sciences.

After three years of intensive work, SCRIPTS’ success is a wonderful reward, said Michael Zürn. Tanja Börzel was in the U.S. when she heard the good news and later said, “We hugged each other across the ocean, so to speak.” Such transatlantic unanimity is, as Zürn remarked, “not self-evident,” especially in the current political situation, which the scholars at SCRIPTS intend to start dealing with in January 2019.

The longer period of funding will open up new opportunities.

The initial seven-year funding period for all clusters begins in January and can be extended for a further seven years if the follow-up proposal is successful. Each cluster can expect to receive several million euros annually. Over the next seven years, Berlin is to receive a total of 320 million euros in research funds. This longer funding period will open up new opportunities for research. In the German government’s previous excellence competition, the German Excellence Initiative, the clusters were only funded for a maximum of two five-year periods.

Prof. Dr. Christof Schütte (Freie Universität, left), Prof. Dr. Michael Hintermüller (Humboldt-Universität, center), and Prof. Dr. Martin Skutella (Technische Universität) are the spokespersons for the “MATH+” Cluster of Excellence.

Prof. Dr. Christof Schütte (Freie Universität, left), Prof. Dr. Michael Hintermüller (Humboldt-Universität, center), and Prof. Dr. Martin Skutella (Technische Universität) are the spokespersons for the “MATH+” Cluster of Excellence.
Image Credit: TU Berlin/PR/Felix Noak

The clusters also demonstrate the networking already in place in Berlin; they are based on long-term cooperation: The “Math+” cluster was jointly proposed by the three major Berlin universities. Christof Schütte, the president of the Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB) as well as a professor of mathematics at Freie Universität and one of three MATH+ spokespersons, was pleased with the success of the joint project by Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, and Technische Universität in cooperation with ZIB and the Weierstrass Institute. He said, “It is a clear signal that the three Berlin universities cooperate successfully in the field of mathematics at the highest level and that it is worth investing time and effort. Mathematicians are abstraction scientists who can contribute to progress in various fields of application, for example, in topics important for the future, such as sustainable energy supply, individualized medicine, or the analysis of social processes.”

The president of Freie Universität Günter M. Ziegler, a professor of mathematics, was also pleased with MATH+’s good performance. The cluster is after all also his “baby”: “Years of work have gone into it, as well as in the graduate school and the Matheon research center on which the new project is based. I am glad that I was able to turn everything over into good hands, when I took office as president of the university at the beginning of July.”

Prof. Dr. Matthias Driess (left), Prof. Dr. Peter Hildebrandt (center), and Prof. Dr. Arne Thomas (all at Technische Universität Berlin) are the spokespersons for the “UniSysCat” cluster.

Prof. Dr. Matthias Driess (left), Prof. Dr. Peter Hildebrandt (center), and Prof. Dr. Arne Thomas (all at Technische Universität Berlin) are the spokespersons for the “UniSysCat” cluster.
Image Credit: Christian Kielmann

Professor Matthias Driess, one of the spokespersons for the “UniSysCat” Cluster of Excellence at Technische Universität Berlin, and his colleagues were following the decision together at the geodata booth, a measuring laboratory on the rooftop of Technische Universität’s old building. “We were all excited and confident at the same time – and rightly so, as it turned out,” reports the chemist. Now the scientists want to dive even deeper into their research and, as Driess says, “take a step closer toward sustainable chemistry. That’s wonderful.”

UniSysCat can build on ten years of work by UniCat, the previous cluster in the German Excellence Initiative. Individual catalytic reactions have already been well researched. The task now is to decipher reaction networks in chemical and biological catalysis in space and time so that they can then be controlled and, above all, simulated.

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Schmitz (Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin) is coordinator of the “NeuroCure” Cluster of Excellence.

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Schmitz (Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin) is coordinator of the “NeuroCure” Cluster of Excellence.
Image Credit: Pablo Castagnola

Dietmar Schmitz, spokesperson for the “NeuroCure” cluster at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, was also pleased with the renewed commitment – as NeuroCure was first approved eleven years ago in the first round of the German Excellence Initiative – and is looking forward to the “opportunity to further expand the various neuroscientific projects and thus further promote cooperation between many different disciplines.”

Professor Karl Max Einhäupl, chairman of the Executive Board at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, congratulated the members of the cluster and said the renewed funding decision demonstrates once again the international appeal of Berlin’s neurosciences. He said all the winning clusters made one thing perfectly clear for him: “Excellent research knows no institutional boundaries. That’s exactly why we’re working together in an alliance.”

Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock (Technische Universität Berlin) is the spokesperson for the “Science of Intelligence” cluster.

Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock (Technische Universität Berlin) is the spokesperson for the “Science of Intelligence” cluster.
Image Credit: Kopf und Kragen

“Distances between groups are short, we are extremely well networked, and every day lots of diverse, creative minds get enthusiastic about top-level research,” says Professor Christian Thomsen, the president of Technische Universität Berlin, describing the great advantages of Berlin as a center of education and research. One example of this is the “Science of Intelligence” cluster, which was proposed jointly by Technische Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Researchers from various fields such as computer science, robotics, psychology, and philosophy want to understand intelligence better.

And Professor Sabine Kunst, the president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, was, like her colleagues, pleased about the “tailwind”: “The result inspires us. I’m optimistic that we will master the final sprint together.” The joint proposal as a university alliance must be submitted on December 10, 2018.

Above all, however, the result also shows how broadly top-level research is distributed throughout Berlin as a research hub, as Michael Müller, Berlin’s Governing Mayor and Senator for Higher Education and Research, also emphasized at a press conference on the results one day later. He said, “I am particularly pleased that we were able to convince the reviewers in so many fields, from the humanities and social sciences as well as the natural and technical sciences to the life sciences. This is one of Berlin’s greatest strengths, and it has also attracted a lot of attention among the Excellence Commission.”

Exzellente Freude

Sieben Cluster – die Entscheidung in der Exzellenzstrategie war an den Universitäten und anderen Einrichtungen ein Grund zum Feiern und zeigt die große Qualität des Wissenschaftsstandorts Berlin in vielen Disziplinen

11.10.2018

Michael Zürn, Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters „Contestations of the Liberal Script“  begutachtete mit Verena Blechinger-Talcott, Vizepräsidentin der Freien Universität, das Ergebnis der Exzellenzstrategie.

Michael Zürn, Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters „Contestations of the Liberal Script“ begutachtete mit Verena Blechinger-Talcott, Vizepräsidentin der Freien Universität, das Ergebnis der Exzellenzstrategie.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

„Die Anspannung war extrem groß, und umso erleichterter waren wir bei der positiven Nachricht.“ So wie Wolfgang Schäffner, Professor für Wissens- und Kulturgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Sprecher des Clusters „Matters of Activity“ ging es vielen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, die am „Marathon der Antragsphase“, wie Schäffner es ausdrückt, beteiligt waren.

Erleichterung und Freude gab es auch bei den Mitgliedern der Hochschulleitungen und -verwaltungen sowie bei Politikern: „Das ist der Hammer“, twitterte Berlins Staatssekretär für Wissenschaft und Forschung Steffen Krach unmittelbar nach der Bekanntgabe der Ergebnisse bei der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft in Bonn, die den Wettbewerb des Bundes- und der Länder gemeinsam mit dem Wissenschaftsrat ausrichtet. Krach hatte wie der Regierende Bürgermeister und Wissenschaftssenator Michael Müller als Vertreter des Landes Berlin an der entscheidenden Sitzung teilgenommen.

Prof. Dr. phil. Wolfgang Schäffner ist Sprecher des Clusters "Matters of Activity".

Prof. Dr. phil. Wolfgang Schäffner ist Sprecher des Clusters "Matters of Activity".
Bildquelle: Matthias Heyde

„Wir haben eine so großartige Forschergruppe zusammengestellt, die darauf brennt, gemeinsam wirklich neue Dinge tun zu können“, sagte Clustersprecher Wolfgang Schäffner. An den Clusteranträgen haben viele Menschen auf vielen Ebenen mitgearbeitet – auch das wird an diesem Tag deutlich, an dem nicht nur an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in Mitte gefeiert wird, sondern auch an der benachbarten Charité, an der Technischen Universität Berlin in Charlottenburg und an der Freien Universität Berlin in Dahlem.

Hier hatten sich um 16 Uhr Mitglieder der Universität versammelt, um gemeinsam den Livestream der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft anzuschauen – dem erst einmal die Tonspur fehlte. Doch die Sprachlosigkeit dauerte nicht lange, aus der gleichzeitig publizierten Liste der bewilligten Projekte wurde schnell klar, dass Berlin zu den erfolgreichsten deutschen Wissenschaftsstandorten im Exzellenzwettbewerb gehört.

Andrew James Johnston und Anita Traninger, Professor und Professorin für Literaturwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin sind Sprecher und Sprecherin des Clusters "Temporal Communities".

Andrew James Johnston und Anita Traninger, Professor und Professorin für Literaturwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin sind Sprecher und Sprecherin des Clusters "Temporal Communities".
Bildquelle: Miriam Klingl

Bewilligt wurde als Antrag der Freien Universität der literaturwissenschaftliche Cluster „Temporal Communities – Doing Literature in a Global Perspective. Ein neues Verständnis von Literatur über Zeiten, Kulturgrenzen und Medien hinweg“. Sprecher und Sprecherin sind Anglistikprofessor Andrew James Johnston und Romanistikprofessorin Anita Traninger.

„Dass wir mit einem literaturwissenschaftlichen Cluster erfolgreich sind, freut mich ganz besonders“, sagte Anita Traninger. Bundesweit sind nur wenige geförderte Anträge aus den Geistes- oder Sozialwissenschaften.

Prof. Dr. Tanja Börzel (Freie Universität Berlin) und Professor Dr. Michael Zürn (Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin) sind Sprecherin und Sprecher des Clusters "Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS)".

Prof. Dr. Tanja Börzel (Freie Universität Berlin) und Professor Dr. Michael Zürn (Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin) sind Sprecherin und Sprecher des Clusters "Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS)".
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Einem aktuellen Thema widmet sich der Cluster „Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS). Weltweite Herausforderungen für liberale Demokratie und Marktwirtschaft als Ordnungsmodell“, der ebenfalls von der Freien Universität eingereicht wurde. Sprecherin und Sprecher des sozialwissenschaftlichen Clusters sind Politikwissenschaftsprofessorin Tanja Börzel vom Otto-Suhr-Institut der Freien Universität und Michael Zürn vom Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin und Professor für Internationale Beziehungen an der Freien Universität.

Nach drei Jahren intensiver Arbeit sei der Erfolg für SCRIPTS eine wunderbare Belohnung, sagte der Wissenschaftler. Tanja Börzel habe die gute Nachricht in den USA erhalten: „Wir haben uns sozusagen transatlantisch umarmt.“ Eine solche transatlantische Einmütigkeit sei ja, wie Zürn bemerkte, gerade bei der aktuellen politischen Lage, mit der sich die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bei SCRIPTS dann von Januar 2019 an befassen wollen, „nicht selbstverständlich“.

Der längere Förderzeitraum eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten.

Im Januar beginnt die zunächst siebenjährige Förderperiode für alle Cluster, die bei erfolgreich begutachtetem Folgeantrag noch einmal um weitere sieben Jahre verlängert werden kann. Die Cluster können dabei jeweils mit mehreren Millionen Euro pro Jahr rechnen. Insgesamt soll Berlin in den nächsten sieben Jahren 320 Millionen Euro an Forschungsmitteln erhalten. Den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern eröffnet dieser längere Förderzeitraum neue Möglichkeiten – im Vorgängerwettbewerb, der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder, wurden die Cluster nur für maximal zwei mal fünf Jahre gefördert.

Prof. Dr. Christof Schütte (Freie Universität, li.), Prof. Dr. Michael Hintermüller (Humboldt-Universität, Mitte) und Prof. Dr. Martin Skutella (Technische Universität) sind die Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters "MATH+".

Prof. Dr. Christof Schütte (Freie Universität, li.), Prof. Dr. Michael Hintermüller (Humboldt-Universität, Mitte) und Prof. Dr. Martin Skutella (Technische Universität) sind die Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters "MATH+".
Bildquelle: TU Berlin/PR/Felix Noak

Die Cluster zeigen zudem auch die Vernetzung der Wissenschaft in Berlin; ihre Basis sind langjährige Kooperationen. Der Cluster „Math+“ wurde sogar von den drei großen Berliner Universitäten gemeinsam beantragt: Christof Schütte, Präsident des Zuse-Instituts Berlin (ZIB) sowie Mathematikprofessor an der Freien Universität und einer von drei Sprechern von MATH+, freute sich über den Erfolg des gemeinsamen Projekts von Freier Universität, Humboldt-Universität und Technischer Universität in Kooperation mit dem ZIB und dem Weierstraß-Institut: „Es ist ein deutliches Signal, dass die Zusammenarbeit der drei Berliner Universitäten im Fach Mathematik auf höchstem Niveau gelingt und dass es lohnt, dafür Zeit und Arbeit zu investieren. Mathematiker sind Abstraktionswissenschaftler, die für Anwendungsgebiete in verschiedenen Fächern Fortschritte erzielen können: bei so wichtigen Zukunftsthemen wie der nachhaltigen Energieversorgung etwa, der individualisierten Medizin oder auch der Analyse sozialer Prozesse.“

Über das gute Abschneiden von MATH+ freute sich auch der Präsident der Freien Universität, Mathematikprofessor Günter M. Ziegler. Der Cluster sei auch sein „Baby“: „Da stecken viele Jahre Arbeit drin, die Graduiertenschule und das Matheon. Ich freue mich, dass ich nach meinem Amtsantritt als Präsident Anfang Juli alles in gute Hände übergeben konnte.“

Prof. Dr. Matthias Driess (li.), Prof. Dr. Peter Hildebrandt (Mitte) und Prof. Dr. Arne Thomas (alle Technische Universität Berlin) sind die Sprecher des Clusters "UniSysCat".

Prof. Dr. Matthias Driess (li.), Prof. Dr. Peter Hildebrandt (Mitte) und Prof. Dr. Arne Thomas (alle Technische Universität Berlin) sind die Sprecher des Clusters "UniSysCat".
Bildquelle: Christian Kielmann

An der Technischen Universität Berlin hatte Professor Matthias Driess, einer der Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters „UniSysCat“, mit seinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen die Entscheidung gemeinsam im Geodätenstand, einem Messlabor auf dem Dach des Altbaus verfolgt. „Wir haben alle mitgefiebert und waren gespannt und zuversichtlich zugleich – und das zu recht, wie sich herausstellte“, berichtet der Chemiker. Nun wollen sich die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in die Forschung stürzen und damit – wie Driess sagt –„der nachhaltigen Chemie einen Schritt näherkommen. Das ist großartig.“

UniSysCat kann dabei auf zehn Jahre Arbeit von UniCat aufbauen, dem Vorgängercluster aus der Exzellenzinitiative. Einzelne katalytische Reaktionen sind bereits gut erforscht. Jetzt geht es darum, Reaktionsnetzwerke in der chemischen und biologischen Katalyse in Raum und Zeit zu entschlüsseln, damit diese dann kontrolliert und vor allem auch simuliert werden können.

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Schmitz (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin) ist Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters "NeuroCure".

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Schmitz (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin) ist Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters "NeuroCure".
Bildquelle: Pablo Castagnola

Auch Dietmar Schmitz, Sprecher des Clusters „NeuroCure“ an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin freute sich über eine erneute Zusage – denn NeuroCure wurde erstmals vor elf Jahren, in der ersten Runde der Exzellenzinitiative bewilligt – und über die „Möglichkeit, die verschiedenen neurowissenschaftlichen Projekte weiter auszubauen und somit die Zusammenarbeit vieler verschiedener Disziplinen weiter zu fördern“.

Die internationale Strahlkraft der Berliner Neurowissenschaften werde so erneut unter Beweis gestellt, gratulierte Professor Karl Max Einhäupl, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Für ihn machten alle gewonnenen Cluster vor allem eines deutlich: „Exzellente Forschung kennt keine institutionellen Grenzen. Genau deshalb treten wir im Verbund an.“

Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock (Technische Universität Berlin) ist Sprecher des Clusters "Science of Intelligence".

Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock (Technische Universität Berlin) ist Sprecher des Clusters "Science of Intelligence".
Bildquelle: Kopf und Kragen

„Die Wege sind kurz, wir sind außerordentlich gut vernetzt und viele diverse, kreative Köpfe begeistern sich täglich für Forschung auf Top-Niveau“, beschreibt Professor Christian Thomsen, Präsident der Technischen Universität Berlin, die großen Vorteile des Wissenschaftsstandorts Berlin, die in dieser Entscheidung bereits deutlich würden. Ein Beispiel dafür ist auch der Cluster „Science of Intelligence“, der von der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gemeinsam beantragt wurde. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unter anderem aus Informatik, Robotik, Psychologie und Philosophie wollen Intelligenz besser verstehen.

Und Professorin Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, freute sich wie ihre Mitstreiter über den „Rückenwind“: „Das Ergebnis beflügelt uns. Ich bin optimistisch, dass wir den Endspurt gemeinsam meistern. Der gemeinsame Antrag als Universitätsverbund muss am 10. Dezember 2018 abgegeben werden.

Vor allem aber zeigt das Ergebnis auch, wie breit gefächert die Spitzenforschung am Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin verteilt ist – wie auch Berlins Regierender Bürgermeister und Wissenschaftssenator Michael Müller bei der Pressekonferenz zu den Ergebnissen einen Tag später hervorhob: „Ich freue mich besonders, dass wir dabei auf so vielen Feldern überzeugen konnten, von den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften über die Natur- und Technikwissenschaften bis hin zu den Lebenswissenschaften. Das ist eine große Stärke Berlins, die auch in der Exzellenzkommission viel Beachtung gefunden hat.“