Why Live Vaccines Are More Effective

A research team from Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin and Freie Universität Berlin has investigated the immune response to different vaccinations.

Sep 17, 2018

The image shows an immunofluorescence of a lymph follicle with active germ center after successful vaccination with live vaccine

The image shows an immunofluorescence of a lymph follicle with active germ center after successful vaccination with live vaccine
Image Credit: Kristina Dietert, Freie Universität Berlin

The first human patient was vaccinated in 1796. Edward Jenner, an English country doctor, infected a boy with harmless cowpox, thus protecting him from the then rampant and usually fatal smallpox. “Active immunization” was invented and led to the development of numerous successful vaccines.

In addition to live vaccines, such as the one against the now extinct smallpox, which are based on similar, or severely weakened, so-called attenuated viruses or bacteria, there are also vaccines inactivated by heat or in other ways. Vaccinations with the latter are considered to be less risky, but often need to be refreshed regularly. “Satisfactory immunization is often only achieved after three vaccinations, for example with the hepatitis vaccine,” says Leif Erik Sander, infection physician at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Only additives, so-called adjuvants, such as the aluminum salts often vilified by vaccination opponents, turn them into acceptable vaccines. Conversely, a single live vaccination against measles or rubella protects over 95 percent of those vaccinated – usually for life.

Leif Erik Sander is an infection physician at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin.

Leif Erik Sander is an infection physician at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin.
Image Credit: Prof. Dr. Leif Sander, Berlin

“We have made the fundamental discovery that the immune system takes an intruder more seriously when the microorganism still contains RNA molecules.” Leif Erik Sander

The reasons why this difference in effect exists were unknown up to now. A few years ago, Leif Erik Sander observed that certain immune cells in mice were able to recognize whether a pathogen was dead or alive. “At that time, we made the fundamental discovery that when microorganisms, such as bacteria, still contain RNA molecules and thus a copy of their genetic information, the immune system takes the intruder much more “seriously.” If, on the other hand, the microorganisms are recognized as dead, the defense only activates its saving mode.” The team of researchers led by Sander has now been able to elucidate the molecular basis of this recognition process. “We first asked ourselves whether this also works in humans and if so, via which receptors?” The researchers infected human cells in test tubes and were successful with phagosomes in scavenger cells. “Pathogens are usually chopped up in these cell organelles. They then present the corresponding antigens and induce the aggravated, so-called adaptive immune defense.” This long-lasting immune response requires certain helper cells. However, these only appear on the scene when a certain cell “checkpoint” – the Toll-like receptor 8 (TLR8) – sounds the alarm. And this is only activated by living pathogens or their RNA, respectively. Using certain messenger substances, follicular helper cells (TFH cells) are now being called onto the scene to help form effective antibodies that kill the intruder.

“If we had done the experiments on mice, we wouldn’t have figured it out,” explains Sander. “Mice also possess the TLR8 but, because by a whim of nature, it doesn’t work on them as it does on most other species.” Instead of researching on sterile animals in the laboratory, Sander and his team decided to work with farm animals. To be specific: with pigs from breeding farms that are already routinely vaccinated against salmonella infections, for example.

Friederike Ebner is a postdoctoral researcher in the Department of Veterinary Medicine at Freie Universität Berlin.

Friederike Ebner is a postdoctoral researcher in the Department of Veterinary Medicine at Freie Universität Berlin.
Image Credit: Institut für Immunologie der Freien Universität Berlin

“This exciting project has taught us a lot.” Friederike Ebner

This was where the veterinarians at Freie Universität Berlin came into play. While Achim Gruber and Kristina Dietert at the Institute of Veterinary Pathology at Freie Universität used microscopic tissue analysis to study the effect of different vaccine variants on the organism, their colleagues at the Institute of Immunology at Freie Universität examined the TLR8-mediated immune responses in pigs. Using fluorescence-labeled cell sorting, Susanne Hartmann and Friederike Ebner isolated certain immune cells from the pig spleen and, together with their Charité colleagues, established the first corresponding in vitro test.

In short: Sander’s findings on human cells were also confirmed in pigs. There were clear differences in the immune response, depending on whether the cells were stimulated with living or inactivated pathogens. “We learned a lot on this exciting project,” says Friederike Ebner, a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Veterinary Medicine at Freie Universität Berlin. “And the data have once again convinced us to use pigs as model organisms for humans in infection immunology.”

Leif Erik Sander and his team are already working on the next step, namely the development of novel additives for inactivated vaccines that trigger the same alarm at checkpoint TLR8 as the RNA of living pathogens. “As the vaccines would then have to be cooled constantly, RNA itself might be too unstable for this purpose. We are therefore looking for small molecules that resemble building blocks of nucleic acids.” There are already some promising candidates.

Warum Lebendimpfungen wirksamer sind

Ein Forscherteam der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und der Freien Universität Berlin untersuchte die Immunantwort auf unterschiedliche Impfungen

17.09.2018

Das Bild zeigt eine Immunfluoreszenz eines Lymphfollikels mit aktivem Keimzentrum nach erfolgreicher Impfung mit Lebendimpfstoff.

Das Bild zeigt eine Immunfluoreszenz eines Lymphfollikels mit aktivem Keimzentrum nach erfolgreicher Impfung mit Lebendimpfstoff.
Bildquelle: Kristina Dietert, Freie Universität Berlin

1796 bekam der erste Mensch eine Schutzimpfung. Der englische Landarzt Edward Jenner infizierte einen Jungen mit harmlosen Kuhpocken und schützte ihn so vor den damals grassierenden, meist tödlich verlaufenden Pocken. Die „aktive Immunisierung“ war erfunden und führte zur Entwicklung zahlreicher erfolgreicher Impfstoffe.

Neben Lebendimpfstoffen wie diesem gegen die mittlerweile ausgerotteten Pocken, die auf ähnlichen oder stark abgeschwächten, sogenannten attenuierten Viren oder Bakterien basieren, gibt es unter anderem auch durch Hitze oder anderweitig inaktivierte Totimpfstoffe. Impfungen mit letzteren gelten als noch risikoärmer, müssen häufig jedoch regelmäßig aufgefrischt werden. „Oft wird eine zufriedenstellende Immunisierung überhaupt erst nach dreimaliger Impfung erreicht – wie zum Beispiel beim Hepatitis-Impfstoff“, sagt Leif Erik Sander, Infektionsmediziner an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Erst Zusatzstoffe, sogenannte Adjuvantien, wie die von Impfgegnern oft geschmähten Aluminiumsalze, machen akzeptable Impfstoffe aus ihnen. Eine einzige Lebendimpfung gegen Masern oder Röteln jedoch schützt über 95 Prozent der Geimpften – in der Regel lebenslang.

Leif Erik Sander ist Infektionsmediziner an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin.

Leif Erik Sander ist Infektionsmediziner an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin.
Bildquelle: Prof. Dr. Leif Sander, Berlin

„Wir machten die grundlegende Entdeckung, dass das Immunsystem einen Eindringling ernster nimmt, wenn der Mikroorganismus noch RNA-Moleküle enthält.“ Leif Erik Sander

Warum dieser Unterschied in der Wirkung besteht, war bislang unklar. Bereits vor einigen Jahren hatte Leif Erik Sander bei Mäusen beobachtet, dass bestimmte Immunzellen erkennen können, ob ein Erreger tot oder lebendig ist. „Wir machten damals die grundlegende Entdeckung, dass wenn Mikroorganismen wie Bakterien noch RNA-Moleküle enthalten und somit eine Abschrift ihrer Erbinformation, das Immunsystem den Eindringling wesentlich „ernster“ nimmt. Werden die Mikroorganismen hingegen als tot erkannt, aktiviert die Abwehr nur das Sparprogramm.“ Nun gelang es dem Forscherteam um Sander diesen Erkennungsprozess molekular aufzuklären. „Wir fragten uns zunächst, ob das beim Menschen auch so funktioniert und wenn ja, über welche Rezeptoren?“ Die Forscher infizierten im Reagenzglas menschliche Zellen und wurden bei den Phagosomen in Fresszellen fündig. „In diesen Zellorganellen werden Pathogene üblicherweise zerhackt. Sie präsentieren dann entsprechende Antigene und stoßen damit die verschärfte, sogenannte adaptive Immunabwehr an.“ Für diese langlebige Immunantwort bedarf es bestimmter Helferzellen. Diese treten aber erst auf den Plan, wenn ein bestimmter „Checkpoint“ der Zellen – der Toll-like receptor 8 (TLR8) – Alarm schlägt. Und dieser wird nur durch lebende Erreger, bzw. deren RNA aktiviert. Über bestimmte Botenstoffe werden jetzt follikuläre Helferzellen (TFH-Zellen) auf den Plan gerufen, die helfen effektive Antikörper zu bilden, die dem Eindringling den Garaus machen.

„Hätten wir die Versuche an Mäusen gemacht, wären wir nicht drauf gekommen“, erklärt Sander. „Mäuse besitzen zwar auch den TLR8, aber durch eine Laune der Natur funktioniert er bei ihnen nicht so wie bei den meisten anderen Arten.“ Statt nun im Labor an sterilen Tieren zu forschen, entschieden sich Sander und sein Team mit Nutztieren zu arbeiten. Konkret: mit Schweinen aus Zuchtbetrieben, die ohnehin routinemäßig geimpft werden, etwa gegen Salmonelleninfektionen.

Friederike Ebner forscht als Postdoktorandin am Fachbereich Veterinärmedizin der Freien Universität Berlin.

Friederike Ebner forscht als Postdoktorandin am Fachbereich Veterinärmedizin der Freien Universität Berlin.
Bildquelle: Institut für Immunologie der Freien Universität Berlin

„Bei diesem spannenden Projekt haben wir viel gelernt.“ Friederike Ebner

An dieser Stelle kamen unter anderem die Veterinärmediziner der Freien Universität Berlin ins Spiel. Während Achim Gruber und Kristina Dietert am Institut für Tierpathologie der Freien Universität mittels mikroskopischer Gewebsanalyse den Effekt verschiedener Impfstoff-Varianten auf den Organismus untersuchten, sahen sich ihre Kollegen vom Institut für Immunologie der Hochschule die TLR8-vermittelten Immunantworten im Schwein an. Mit Hilfe der fluoreszenzmarkierten Zellsortierung isolierten Susanne Hartmann und Friederike Ebner bestimmte Immunzellen aus der Schweinemilz und etablierten gemeinsam mit den Charité-Kollegen den ersten entsprechenden in-vitro-Test.

Kurzum: Sanders Erkenntnisse an menschlichen Zellen bestätigten sich auch in Schweinen: Es zeigten sich deutliche Unterschiede in der Immunantwort – je nachdem ob die Zellen mit lebenden oder inaktivierten Erregern stimuliert wurden. „Bei diesem spannenden Projekt haben wir viel gelernt“, sagt Friederike Ebner, die als Postdoktorandin am Fachbereich Veterinärmedizin der Freien Universität Berlin forscht. „Und die Daten überzeugen uns einmal mehr, das Schwein als Modellorganismus für den Menschen in der Infektionsimmunologie zu nutzen.“

Leif Erik Sander und sein Team sind bereits beim nächsten Schritt, nämlich neuartige Zusatzstoffe für Totimpfstoffe zu entwickeln, die am Checkpoint TLR8 den gleichen Alarm auslösen, wie die RNA lebendiger Pathogene. „RNA selbst wäre für diesen Zweck möglicherweise zu instabil, denn die Impfstoffe müssten dann ständig gekühlt werden. Wir suchen deshalb nach kleinen Molekülen, die so ähnlich aussehen wie die Bausteine von Nukleinsäuren.“ Vielversprechende Kandidaten gibt es bereits.

Schlagwörter