University in the City

The exhibition “Architekturen der Wissenschaft” shows how academic buildings have shaped Berlin’s cityscape.

Jul 12, 2018

In the 19th century, Berlin University moved into the Prinz-Heinrich-Palais, directly adjacent to the Neue Wache, which is still today the main building of Humboldt-Universität.

In the 19th century, Berlin University moved into the Prinz-Heinrich-Palais, directly adjacent to the Neue Wache, which is still today the main building of Humboldt-Universität.
Image Credit: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

A yard for chickens and rabbits and a room for magnetic and electrical work, a girls’ room, and a private laboratory – all in the immediate vicinity and under one roof. Built in the years 1873 - 1883 between Reichstags-Ufer and Dorotheenstraße, the floor plan of the complex for natural sciences illustrates how research was carried out at the end of the 19th century. Comprising an entire block, the building housed four institutes. To get to a chemical laboratory from the private rooms, in which the leading scientists lived with their families, for example, they only had to cross a corridor – and only a few corridors further to communicate with a colleague in the vivisectorium about a prepared laboratory animal. The floor plan is one of Gabriele Metzler’s favorite objects; a professor of Western European history and transatlantic relations at Humboldt-Universität, she curated a small but detailed and informative exhibition on the history of Berlin’s university and science buildings together with the habilitated science historian Arne Schirrmacher. It shows how urban and university development have been intertwined since the beginning of the 19th century.

The huge complex of buildings in a prime location in the immediate vicinity of the Reichstag tells of the rise of the natural sciences as leading disciplines at the end of the 19th century, but also of the “division of labor in research” and the “connection between science and life,” explains Gabriele Metzler. Today, as the Robert-Koch-Forum, it houses the Einstein Center Digital Future, a joint institution of the three major universities in Berlin. The part on the banks of the Spree River that was destroyed in the war was replaced by ARD’s recently built capital city studio.

The floor plan of the building complex for the natural sciences shows which institutes were located between Reichstags-Ufer und Dorotheenstraße.

The floor plan of the building complex for the natural sciences shows which institutes were located between Reichstags-Ufer und Dorotheenstraße.
Image Credit: Physikalisches Institut, Reichstagsufer, Grundriss, AIV, Archiv Berlin und seine Bauten

Initially, however, Berlin University had no buildings of its own. “It was customary for universities to be housed in abandoned monasteries or aristocratic palaces,” says Gabriele Metzler. This was also the case in Berlin, where the university moved into the Prinz-Heinrich-Palais, still today Humboldt-Universität’s main building, which was not extended until the 20th century when two wing buildings were added on its northern side. But it didn’t take long before the scientists needed more room. As nobody wanted to share the buildings with their colleagues in the chemistry department, things soon began rolling. “The experiments were dangerous, and you could smell fumes through the whole building,” says the professor. Given new laboratories barely 100 meters away in Georgenstraße, the chemists moved out of Unter den Linden.

The large representative buildings that were erected across Europe at the end of the 19th century bear witness to the growing self-confidence of universities as academic institutions. The postwar sober façade of Technische Universität’s main building still hides today parts of Charlottenburg’s polytechnic institute, for example, which had been built between 1878 and 1884, during the founding years of science: in the capital of the newly founded German Reich, research and technology staged themselves as engines of social progress.

“Monumental main buildings demonstrate the universities’ claim of influencing society.”

The exhibition, which was created to mark the European Year of Cultural Heritage, also builds bridges to other European metropolises. “During this period, monumental main buildings were built in many cities, such as the Eidgenössisches Polytechnikum in Zurich and the main buildings of the universities in Vienna and Strasbourg,” says Gabriele Metzler. “They demonstrate the universities’ claims of influencing society and their desire to be seen.”

By the latest at the turn of the century, the space in Berlin’s center had become scarce, and – represented by the science policy maker Friedrich Althoff, among others – the idea of relocating the university to the city’s outskirts came into being. Dahlem was named for this. But the scientists did not want to move, Gabriele Metzler explains. They wanted to remain “anchored in the city center.” Freie Universität was not founded in Dahlem, for political reasons, until 50 years later. “It was able to take over parts of the buildings belonging to the Max Planck Society and establish itself in villas.” In the 1960s, new buildings were also built here, such as the “Rostlaube,” a modular, light, and deliberately anti-representative architecture designed by Parisian architects Candilis Josic Woods.

During the GDR, Humboldt-Universität was thinking about moving to Blumberg, near Ahrensfelde, or to Adlershof. Gabriele Metzler says that the fact that this project was only partially realized with a move of the natural sciences and only after 1989 was probably also due to the influence of the secret police, which maintained a guard regiment in Adlershof and vetoed the relocation plans of Humboldt-Universität.

The representative polytechnic in Charlottenburg, built between 1878 and 1884, testified to the growing self-confidence of universities as academic institutions.

The representative polytechnic in Charlottenburg, built between 1878 and 1884, testified to the growing self-confidence of universities as academic institutions.
Image Credit: Wikipedia Zeno-org ID number 20000570788

Whether in Dahlem, Charlottenburg, or Mitte, Berlin’s universities have always remained part of the city. Scientists in Berlin still carry out research in villas, office buildings, companies, and ministries. The idea of a campus university never caught on. In the 1930s, however, the National Socialists devised plans for reconstruction to transform Berlin into the “Reich’s capital of Germania” and, based on a Roman model, wanted to build a science city near the Olympic Stadium, says Gabriele Metzler. “Knowledge as the gateway to the city.” But the war prevented this gigantomaniac plan; numerous academic buildings, including the main building of Humboldt-Universität, were either damaged or destroyed.

“Today, we are seeing two new developments: highly technical functional buildings and spectacular buildings, often designed by star architects.”

And how do science buildings shape the cityscape today? “Today, we can see two new developments,” explains Gabriele Metzler, who, together with Arne Schirrmacher is also preparing an architectural guide through Berlin’s science districts. On the one hand, highly technical functional buildings are being created and, on the other hand, “solitaires” for which star architects are desired. These have included the spectacular library buildings designed by Sir Norman Forster, such as the Philological Library at Freie Universität, the Grimm Center designed by Max Dudler, and also Rhoda-Erdmann-Haus, nicknamed “Grüne Amöbe,” at the Institute of Biology at Humboldt-Universität on the grounds of Charité in Mitte, which was only opened two years ago. The building does not even try to gracefully integrate itself into the city, says the professor, but for exactly this reason it has an enormous effect. Science is something that still remains visible in Berlin.

Further Information

„Architekturen der Wissenschaft. Die Universitäten Berlins in europäischer Perspektive“

The exhibition at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Until 30 july 2018, „Kommode“, Bebelplatz, Faculty of Law, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Opening hours monday to friday, 9 am - 6 pm.

The exhibition at Technische Universität Berlin

From 23 november 2018 to 27 january 2019, monday to friday,  9 am - 6 pm. Technischen Universität Berlin, main builduing, Lichthof, Straße des 17. Juni 135, 10623 Berlin.

Universität in der Stadt

Die Ausstellung „Architekturen der Wissenschaft“ zeigt, wie Wissenschaftsbauten das Berliner Stadtbild prägten

12.07.2018

Im 19. Jahrhundert zog die Berliner Universität in das direkt neben der Königswache gelegene Prinz-Heinrich-Palais, das noch heute Hauptgebäude der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin ist.

Im 19. Jahrhundert zog die Berliner Universität in das direkt neben der Königswache gelegene Prinz-Heinrich-Palais, das noch heute Hauptgebäude der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin ist.
Bildquelle: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Ein Hof für Hühner und Kaninchen und ein Zimmer für magnetische und electrische Arbeiten, eine Mädchenstube und ein Privatlaboratorium – alles in unmittelbarer räumlicher Nähe und unter einem Dach. Der Grundriss des Komplexes für die Naturwissenschaften, 1873 bis 1883 zwischen Reichstags-Ufer und Dorotheenstraße erbaut, zeigt, wie Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts geforscht wurde. Vier Institute beherbergte das Gebäude, das einen ganzen Block umfasste. Um von den Privaträumen, in denen die leitenden Wissenschaftler mit ihren Familien lebten, etwa zu einem chemischen Labor zu kommen, mussten sie nur über einen Korridor gehen – und um sich mit einem Kollegen im Vivisectorium über ein präpariertes Versuchstier interdisziplinär zu verständigen, nur ein paar Gänge weiter. Der Grundriss gehört zu den Lieblingsobjekten von Gabriele Metzler, Professorin für die Geschichte Westeuropas und der transatlantischen Beziehungen an der Humboldt-Universität, die gemeinsam mit dem habilitierten Wissenschaftshistoriker Arne Schirrmacher eine kleine, aber detailreiche und informative Ausstellung über die Geschichte der Universitäts- und Wissenschaftsbauten in Berlin kuratiert hat. Sie zeigt, wie seit Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts Stadt- und Universitätsentwicklung ineinandergreifen.

Der riesige Gebäudekomplex in bester Lage – in unmittelbarer Nähe des Reichstags – erzählt vom Aufstieg der Naturwissenschaften als Leitdisziplinen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts, aber auch von der „Arbeitsteilung in der Forschung“ und der „Verbindung von Wissenschaft und Leben“, wie Gabriele Metzler erklärt. Heute beherbergt er als Robert-Koch-Forum das Einstein Center Digital Future, eine Gemeinschaftseinrichtung der drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité; der im Krieg zerstörte Teil am Spreeufer wurde durch das neugebaute Hauptstadt-Studio der ARD ersetzt.

Der Grundriss des Gebäudekomplexes für die Naturwissenschaften zeigt, welche Institute zwischen Reichstags-Ufer und Dorotheenstraße angesiedelt waren.

Der Grundriss des Gebäudekomplexes für die Naturwissenschaften zeigt, welche Institute zwischen Reichstags-Ufer und Dorotheenstraße angesiedelt waren.
Bildquelle: Physikalisches Institut, Reichstagsufer, Grundriss, AIV, Archiv Berlin und seine Bauten

Zunächst jedoch hatte die Berliner Universität keine eigenen Bauten. „Es war üblich, dass Universitäten in aufgelassenen Klöstern oder Adelspalästen untergebracht wurden“, sagt Gabriele Metzler. So auch in Berlin, wo die Universität in das Prinz-Heinrich-Palais zog, noch heute das Hauptgebäude der Humboldt-Universität, das erst im 20. Jahrhundert um zwei Flügelbauten an der Nordseite erweitert wurde. Doch rasch brauchten die Wissenschaftler mehr Platz. Vorreiter war die Chemie, denn mit diesen Kollegen wollte sich bald niemand mehr die Gebäude teilen: „Die Experimente waren gefährlich und man roch es im ganzen Haus“, erzählt die Professorin. Die Chemiker zogen Unter den Linden aus und bekamen neue Laborräume in der kaum 100 Meter entfernten Georgenstraße.

Die großen repräsentativen Gebäude, die Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts überall in Europa entstehen, zeugen vom wachsenden Selbstbewusstsein der Universitäten als Wissenschaftseinrichtungen. So etwa das Polytechnikum in Charlottenburg, von dem sich heute noch Teile hinter der nachkriegsnüchternen Fassade des Hauptgebäudes der Technischen Universität verbergen, und das in den Gründerjahren der Wissenschaft 1878 bis 1884 errichtet wird: In der Hauptstadt des neugegründeten deutschen Reiches inszenieren sich Forschung und Technik als Motoren des gesellschaftlichen Fortschritts.

„Monumentale Hauptgebäude demonstrieren den Anspruch der Hochschulen, in die Gesellschaft hineinzuwirken“

In der Ausstellung „Architekturen der Wissenschaft. Die Universitäten Berlins in europäischer Perspektive“, die zum europäischen Kulturerbejahr entstanden ist, werden auch immer wieder Brücken zu anderen Metropolen Europas geschlagen. „Monumentale Hauptgebäude entstehen in dieser Zeit in vielen Städten – wie das Eidgenössische Polytechnikum in Zürich, die Hauptgebäude der Universitäten in Wien und Straßburg“, sagt Gabriele Metzler. „Sie demonstrieren den Anspruch der Hochschulen, in die Gesellschaft hineinzuwirken, sichtbar zu sein.“

Spätestens um die Jahrhundertwende wird der Raum in Berlins Mitte knapp, und die Idee kommt auf – vertreten unter anderem durch den Wissenschaftspolitiker Friedrich Althoff – die Universität an die Peripherie zu verlegen. Dahlem ist hierfür im Gespräch. Doch die Wissenschaftler wollten nicht umziehen, erzählt Gabriele Metzler, sondern „innerstädtisch verankert“ bleiben. Erst 50 Jahre später wird die Freie Universität aus politischen Gründen in Dahlem gegründet. „Sie kann Teile der Gebäude der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft übernehmen und sich in Villen einrichten.“ In den 1960er Jahren entstehen auch hier neue Bauten, wie etwa die „Rostlaube“, eine modulare, leichte und bewusst anti-repräsentative Architektur, entworfen vom Pariser Architekturbüro Candilis Josic Woods.

Zu DDR-Zeiten wird über einen Umzug der Humboldt-Universität nach Blumberg, in der Nähe von Ahrensfelde, oder Adlershof nachgedacht. Dass dieses Vorhaben mit einem Umzug der Naturwissenschaft nur teilweise und erst nach 1989 realisiert wird, habe wohl auch am Einfluss der Staatssicherheit gelegen, die in Adlershof ein Wachregiment unterhielt und ein Veto gegen die Umzugspläne der Humboldt-Universität einlegte, sagt Gabriele Metzler.

Das repräsentative Polytechnikum in Charlottenburg, errichtet zwischen 1878 und 1884, zeugte vom wachsenden Selbstbewusstsein der Universitäten als Wissenschaftseinrichtungen.

Das repräsentative Polytechnikum in Charlottenburg, errichtet zwischen 1878 und 1884, zeugte vom wachsenden Selbstbewusstsein der Universitäten als Wissenschaftseinrichtungen.
Bildquelle: Wikipedia Zeno-org ID number 20000570788

Ob in Dahlem, Charlottenburg oder Mitte, die Berliner Universitäten blieben immer Teil der Stadt. Berliner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler forschen auch heute noch zwischen Villen oder Bürogebäuden, Unternehmen und Ministerien. Die Idee einer Campusuniversität konnte sich nie durchsetzen. Sie war allerdings in den 1930er Jahren Teil der Umbaupläne der Nationalsozialisten für Berlin zur „Reichshauptstadt Germania“, die nach römischen Vorbild eine Stadt der Wissenschaft in der Nähe des Olympia-Stadions errichten wollten, sagt Gabriele Metzler: „Wissenschaft als Eingangstor zur Stadt“. Doch der Krieg verhinderte diesen gigantomanischen Plan; zahlreiche Wissenschaftsbauten – auch das Hauptgebäude der Humboldt-Universität – wurden beschädigt oder zerstört.

„Heute sehen wir zwei neue Entwicklungen: Hochtechnisierte Zweckbauten und spektakuläre Gebäude, oft entworfen von Star-Architekten.“

Und wie prägen Wissenschaftsbauten heute das Stadtbild? „Wir können heute zwei neue Entwicklungen erkennen“, erklärt Gabriele Metzler, die gemeinsam mit Arne Schirrmacher auch einen Architekturführer durch die Wissenschaftsquartiere Berlins vorbereitet. Zum einen entstünden hochtechnisierte Zweckbauten, zum anderen „Solitäre“, für die man Star-Architekten zu gewinnen versuche. Dazu zählten die spektakulären Bibliotheksbauten wie die Philologische Bibliothek der Freien Universität, entworfen von Sir Norman Forster, das Grimmzentrum von Max Dudler, aber auch das Rhoda-Erdmann-Haus des Instituts für Biologie der Humboldt-Universität auf dem Charité-Gelände in Mitte mit dem Spitznamen „Grüne Amöbe“, das erst vor zwei Jahren eröffnet wurde. Das Gebäude versuche gerade nicht, sich behutsam in die Stadt zu integrieren, sagt die Professorin, entfalte aber gerade deshalb eine enorme Wirkung. Die Wissenschaft, sie bleibt also sichtbar in Berlin.

Weitere Informationen

„Architekturen der Wissenschaft. Die Universitäten Berlins in europäischer Perspektive“

Die Ausstellung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Die Ausstellung ist bis zum 30. Juli 2018 im Foyer der „Kommode“ am Bebelplatz, der Juristischen Fakultät der Humboldt-Universität zu sehen. Öffnungszeiten Montag bis Freitag 9 bis 18 Uhr.

Die Ausstellung an der Technischen Universität Berlin

Vom 23. November 2018 bis zum 27. Januar 2019 ist die Ausstellung montags bis freitags von 9 bis 18 Uhr an der Technischen Universität Berlin zu sehen (Hauptgebäude, Lichthof, Straße des 17. Juni 135, 10623 Berlin).

Die Ausstellungseröffnung findet im Rahmen des European Cultural Heritage Year 2018 am 22. November 2018 um 18 Uhr statt.