Satellite Data to Monitor Deforestation

With a project in the Amazon region, geographers from Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin are setting the course for using satellites to continuously observe the Earth.

Jun 22, 2018

As the Earth’s “green lung,” the Brazilian rainforest absorbs large amounts of climate-damaging carbon dioxide through photosynthesis.

As the Earth’s “green lung,” the Brazilian rainforest absorbs large amounts of climate-damaging carbon dioxide through photosynthesis.
Image Credit: Flickr / NEIL PALMER PHOTOGRAPHY

Despite restrictive regulations introduced by the Brazilian government, the deforestation of the country’s rainforest is continuing unabated. The profitable cultivation of cheap agricultural products, such as soy – also used as animal feed in Germany – and the extensive use of large areas as pasture land are the reasons behind the illegal clearing of the forest. This deforestation is resulting in the global balance of carbon becoming increasingly precarious, thus exacerbating climate change: through photosynthesis. An intact rainforest stores large amounts of carbon dioxide. However, as it is difficult to access the area, which is several times larger than Germany in size, it is not possible to monitor the near-term depletion of nature on the ground.

How suitable are modern remote sensing satellites for area-wide mapping of logging dynamics? And what information can actually be derived from their data? As part of the SenseCarbon (Sentinels supporting carbon estimates and REDD+) project funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy in Germany, the geographers Patrick Hostert from Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and Björn Waske from Freie Universität Berlin examined these questions in detail.

“Sentinels are a new generation of satellites equipped with high-resolution optical and radar sensors. In the future, they will be able to closely monitor global environmental processes,” Patrick Hostert explained. The first of their kind were launched by the European Space Agency (ESA) in 2013 as part of the Copernicus European Earth Observation Program. The aim of SenseCarbon was to develop suitable methods for evaluating and assessing satellite data at an early stage, as well as for handling the gigantic amounts of data arising from this.

Similar to radar control in road traffic, a sensor measures the transit time of the radar signal. The amount of backscattering depends on the nature of the Earth’s surface.

Patrick Hostert is an expert in optical sensors and big data, Björn Waske is a specialist in radar data. In the SenseCarbon project, they can combine their expertise: while optical sensors are virtually “blind” in dense cloud cover, radar beams (microwaves) penetrate to the Earth in all weathers, drawing a slightly different picture of the planet. For laypersons, radar images are difficult to interpret. Similar to radar control in road traffic, a sensor measures the transit time of the radar signal. The amount of backscattering depends on the nature of the Earth’s surface. “Because only little energy comes back, a calm lake appears almost black, damp soils are also dark. Vegetation, on the other hand, is grayish or light,” Waske explained.

Fields of activity of the project in Brazil. Each box corresponds to an area of 200 x 200 km – the recording’s so-called “footprint.” The figures provide information about Landsat satellite data per footprint (green=a lot of data; red=little data)

Fields of activity of the project in Brazil. Each box corresponds to an area of 200 x 200 km – the recording’s so-called “footprint.” The figures provide information about Landsat satellite data per footprint (green=a lot of data; red=little data)
Image Credit: Geographie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

By combining both types of images, researchers can now create a much more informative map of a certain area: the optical data provide information on the vegetation and its “state of health.” The radar images allow statements to be made about surface roughness and moisture content, which both change, for example, during deforestation processes.

From an altitude of over 700 kilometers, the Sentinel satellites deliver images with a resolution of 10 to 20 meters. You can already see a large tropical tree. “But we’re not really so interested in an individual tree, but rather the forest. To be specific: if an area is currently being deforested or not, and what happens to the cleared area afterward, i.e., what the cleared land is used for,” said Hostert.

“The satellites send us new images every few days. This allows us to virtually permanently observe the Earth.” Patrick Hostert

Sentinel satellites not only bring a hitherto unknown sharpness into the Earth’s image, but also significantly increase the temporal resolution. “While we used to only receive data every few weeks, these satellites now provide us with new images every few days. This allows us to virtually observe the Earth permanently.” The Sentinel 2 satellites, for example, in contrast to their predecessors, can cover a much wider area: they record tremendous 290 kilometers simultaneously. If you consider the high resolution, you can easily guess what an incredible amount of data this is.

“On the one hand, we have developed methods with which we can now use high-resolution satellite data in denser time periods to very precisely map the land use of a region,” says Hostert. For another part of the project, the researchers evaluated Landsat data over the last 30 years for the Brazilian federal states of Para and Mato Grosso in the core region of the Amazon basin. “This resulted in the first map which we are able to use to look back to see how deforestation was progressing there in the 1980s.”

The two geographers have known each other since their time at Universität Trier and their complementary research fits perfectly into the cooperation between the two Berlin universities. Patrick Hostert has been researching and teaching at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin since 2002, and Björn Waske came to Freie Universität three years ago. “We have also been cooperating closely since then, which is wonderful,” says Hostert. “Our expertise supplements each another and is perfectly complementary.”

SenseCarbon ran from 2013 to 2016. The project’s results were recently published. The aim of continuous remote sensing of the Earth is to keep a close and reliable eye on climate change, changes in land use, and the extent and consequences of natural disasters. But other processes, such as increasing urbanization, are also best followed from a distance.

The good cooperation between and with the two geographers is also fruitful for the authorities in Brazil: the new mapping methods now provide them with timely information that they can compare with their court evidence against farmers who illegally tamper with the rainforest.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Scharfer Doppelblick auf die Erde

Geographinnen und Geographen von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin stellen mit einem Projekt im Amazonasgebiet die Weichen für die kontinuierliche Beobachtung der Erde mit Satelliten.

22.06.2018

Als „grüne Lunge“ der Erde nimmt der brasilianische Regenwald durch Photosynthese große Mengen klimaschädliches Kohlendioxid auf.

Als „grüne Lunge“ der Erde nimmt der brasilianische Regenwald durch Photosynthese große Mengen klimaschädliches Kohlendioxid auf.
Bildquelle: Flickr / NEIL PALMER PHOTOGRAPHY

Trotz restriktiven Vorgaben der brasilianischen Regierung, schreitet die Abholzung des Regenwaldes im Land weiter voran. Gründe für die illegalen Rodungen sind der gewinnbringende Anbau billiger Agrarprodukte, wie etwa Soja – auch in Deutschland als Tierfutter eingesetzt – und die extensive Nutzung großer Flächen als Weideland. Durch die Abholzung gerät die Kohlenstoffbilanz weltweit zunehmend in Schieflage, was den Klimawandel verstärkt: Ein intakter Regenwald speichert durch Photosynthese große Mengen an Kohlendioxid. Der Raubbau an der Natur lässt sich vor Ort allerdings nicht zeitnah verfolgen, da der Zugang zu den Gebieten schwierig und die Gesamtfläche mehrfach die Fläche Deutschlands umfasst.

Wie gut eignen sich moderne Fernerkundungssatelliten zur flächendeckenden Kartierung der Abholzungsdynamik? Und welche Informationen lassen sich eigentlich genau aus deren Daten ableiten? Diesen Fragen gingen die Geographen Patrick Hostert von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Björn Waske von der Freien Universität Berlin im Rahmen des vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie geförderten Projektes SenseCarbon (Sentinels supporting carbon estimates and REDD+) nach.

„Sentinels sind eine neue Satellitengeneration, die mit hochauflösenden optischen und Radarsensoren bestückt sind. Sie sollen künftig globale Umweltprozesse engmaschig beobachten“, erläutert Patrick Hostert. Im Rahmen des europäischen Erdbeobachtungsprogrammes Copernicus wurden die ersten ihrer Art 2013 von der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA auf ihre Umlaufbahn gebracht. Ziel von SenseCarbon war es, frühzeitig geeignete Methoden zur Auswertung und Beurteilung der Satellitendaten zu entwickeln – auch für den Umgang mit den dabei anfallenden gigantischen Datenmengen.

Ähnlich wie bei der Radarkontrolle im Straßenverkehr misst ein Sensor die Laufzeit des Radarsignals. Wie viel zurückgestreut wird, hängt davon ab, wie die Erdoberfläche beschaffen ist.

Patrick Hostert ist Experte für optische Sensoren und Big Data, Björn Waske Spezialist für Radardaten. Im SenseCarbon-Projekt können sie ihre Expertisen zusammenführen: Während optische Sensoren bei einer dichten Wolkendecke regelrecht „blind“ sind, dringen Radarstrahlen (Mikrowellen) bei jedem Wetter zur Erde durch und zeichnen dabei ein etwas anderes Bild des Planeten. Für Laien sind Radarbilder nur schwer zu interpretieren. Ähnlich wie bei der Radarkontrolle im Straßenverkehr misst ein Sensor die Laufzeit des Radarsignals. Wie viel zurückgestreut wird, hängt davon ab, wie die Erdoberfläche beschaffen ist. „Ein ruhiger See erscheint annähernd schwarz, feuchte Böden ebenfalls dunkel, weil nur wenig Energie zurückkommt. Vegetation hingegen zeigt sich gräulich oder hell“, erklärt Waske.

Arbeitsgebiete des Projekts in Brasilien. Jedes Kästchen entspricht einem Gebiet von 200 x 200 km - dem sog. "footprint" der Aufnahme. Die Zahlen geben Auskunft über Landsat-Satellitendaten pro footprint (grün = viele Daten; rot = wenige Daten).

Arbeitsgebiete des Projekts in Brasilien. Jedes Kästchen entspricht einem Gebiet von 200 x 200 km - dem sog. "footprint" der Aufnahme. Die Zahlen geben Auskunft über Landsat-Satellitendaten pro footprint (grün = viele Daten; rot = wenige Daten).
Bildquelle: Geographie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Durch die Kombination beider Bildtypen können die Forscher nun eine sehr viel informativere Karte eines Gebietes erstellen: Die optischen Daten liefern Auskunft über die Vegetation und deren „Gesundheitszustand“. Die Radarbilder lassen Aussagen über Oberflächenrauigkeit und Feuchtegehalt zu – beides ändert sich zum Beispiel bei Entwaldungsprozessen.

Die Sentinel-Satelliten liefern aus gut 700 Kilometern Höhe Bilder mit einer Auflösung von 10 bis 20 Metern. Ein großer Tropenbaum lässt sich da bereits erkennen. „Uns interessiert aber nicht so sehr der einzelne Baum, sondern der Wald. Konkret: wird in einem Gebiet gerade entwaldet oder nicht und was passiert im Anschluss mit der gerodeten Fläche, also welche Landnutzung findet statt“, sagt Hostert.

"Die Satelliten liefern uns alle paar Tage neue Bilder. Das erlaubt uns eine quasi permanente Erdbeobachtung.“ Patrick Hostert

Sentinel-Satelliten bringen nicht nur eine bis dato unbekannte Schärfe ins Bild der Erde, auch die zeitliche Auflösung erhöht sich deutlich. „Während wir früher nur alle paar Wochen Daten bekamen, liefern diese Satelliten uns jetzt alle paar Tage neue Bilder. Das erlaubt uns quasi eine permanente Erdbeobachtung.“ Anders als ihre Vorgänger decken beispielsweise die Sentinel-2-Satelliten einen deutlich breiteren Streifen ab: sagenhafte 290 Kilometer werden gleichzeitig aufgezeichnet. Denkt man an die hohe Auflösung, lässt sich leicht erahnen wie unglaublich viele Daten das sind.

„Wir haben einerseits Methoden entwickelt, mit denen wir nun anhand dichter Zeitreihen hochauflösender Satellitendaten die Landnutzung einer Region sehr genau kartieren können“, sagt Hostert. Für einen anderen Projektpart werteten die Forscher Landsat-Daten für die brasilianischen Bundestaaten Para und Mato Grosso in der Kernregion Amazoniens aus den vergangenen 30 Jahren aus. „Entstanden ist so die erste Karte, auf der wir bis in die 1980er Jahren zurückschauen können, wie die Entwaldung dort vorangeschritten ist.“

Die beiden Geographen kennen sich aus gemeinsamen Zeiten an der Universität Trier und ihre komplementäre Forschung passt hervorragend in die Kooperation zwischen den beiden Berliner Universitäten. Patrick Hostert forscht und lehrt schon seit 2002 an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Björn Waske kam vor drei Jahren an die Freie Universität. „Seitdem besteht auch unsere enge Kooperation, was ganz wunderbar ist!“, sagt Hostert. „Unsere Expertisen sind komplementär und ergänzen sich perfekt.“

SenseCarbon lief von 2013 bis 2016. Die Ergebnisse des Projektes wurden kürzlich publiziert. Ziel der kontinuierlichen Fernerkundung der Erde ist es unter anderem den Klimawandel, Veränderungen der Landnutzung sowie Ausmaß und Folgen von Naturkatastrophen zuverlässig und engmaschig im Blick zu behalten. Aber auch andere Prozesse, etwa die zunehmende Verstädterung, lassen sich am besten aus der Ferne verfolgen.

Für die Behörden in Brasilien ist die gute Zusammenarbeit zwischen und mit mit den beiden Geographen übrigens auch fruchtbar: Die neuen Kartierungsmethoden liefern ihnen nun zeitnah Informationen, die sie mit ihren gerichtsverwertbaren Beweisen gegen Farmer, die sich illegal am Regenwald zu schaffen machen, abgleichen können.