Using Research Expertise to Find Solutions to Everyday Problems

Applicants from Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité- Universitätsmedizin Berlin presented their founding projects to a jury of the Berlin Startup Scholarship.

Jun 12, 2018

With the Berlin Startup Scholarship, Freie Universität Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin have been supporting startups since 2016.

With the Berlin Startup Scholarship, Freie Universität Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin have been supporting startups since 2016.
Image Credit: Marion Kuka

The beehives and greenhouses at the Institute of Biology may appear peaceful, but things were getting fierce right next door: in the low-rise building of Profund Innovation, the service unit for knowledge and technology transfer in the Research Division of Freie Universität Berlin, in Berlin-Dahlem’s Haderslebener Strasse, startup teams seeking financing for their business ideas related to university research introduced themselves. Over a two-day period, 21 teams competed i.e. with a pitch in front of the jurors. The most convincing will be funded with the Berlin Startup scholarship. In other words, two to four team members will receive 2,000 euros per month for a period of between six and twelve months. This will cover the cost of living, allowing the team to develop a prototype and drive the start-up company forward.

“One great advantage of the Berlin Startup Scholarship: We can make quick decisions.”

With the Berlin Startup Scholarship, Freie Universität Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin have been jointly supporting founders since 2016 who want to implement innovative, technology-based business ideas. Supported by the European Social Fund, the Berlin Senate Department for Economy, Energy and Public Enterprises has approved 4.3 million euros for the program. The application deadline for the first round was April 30. The best applicants from the participating universities were admitted to the presentation. The jury was made up of some successful founders from the environment of the participating universities as well as network partners of the start-up funding agencies with experience in evaluating start-up projects. After all the teams had been screened, a decision on acceptance or rejection was made on the same day.

Andreas Schindler and Stefan Junk from the “Deep Neuron Lab” team at Technische Universität Berlin.

Andreas Schindler and Stefan Junk from the “Deep Neuron Lab” team at Technische Universität Berlin.
Image Credit: Marion Kucka

“One great advantage of the Berlin Startup Scholarship,” says Aneta Bärwolf, who heads the program at Freie Universität Berlin, “is that we can make decisions quickly. For those who are accepted, the funding will begin as early as June 1. Otherwise an answer never comes so fast, neither from other funding programs nor from private investors.”

Stefan Junk and Andreas Schindler from the Deep Neuron Lab team at Technische Universität Berlin want to get going at full speed. Andreas Schindler, who has been working in the insurance industry for nine years, developed an idea on how to replace tiresome routine work in arranging individual insurance policies with artificial intelligence. In his research at the Institute of Aerospace at Technische Universität, Stefan Junk has been dealing with software problems that can be transferred to the insurance industry. The startups will soon have an appointment with a large insurance company interested in a pilot project. Their concept and initial successes in the implementation convinced the jury and secured the team a place on the list of pledges.

Andreas Ganske, Simon Kempendorf, and Fabio Tacke from Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin are competing under the team name “Let’s meet.”

Andreas Ganske, Simon Kempendorf, and Fabio Tacke from Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin are competing under the team name “Let’s meet.”
Image Credit: Marion Kucka

The computer scientists Andreas Ganske, Simon Kempendorf, and Fabio Tacke from Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin also want to solve an everyday problem: it could be so convenient to share your location via your mobile phone. “Stating your location for deliveries, emergencies, private appointments, or car sharing is a real added value,” says Andreas Ganske. “But many people shy away from leaving their location data to the big Internet companies.” Using cryptography software, the “Let’s meet” team aims at creating an infrastructure for securely authorizing location data in individual cases for very specific recipients and for a limited period only. The team is convinced that companies and users are willing to pay for a package that combines convenience, privacy, and efficiency. The jury gave the go-ahead for a scholarship.

Tassilo Weber and Roope Kärki presented their ideas for the “Yolife” app.

Tassilo Weber and Roope Kärki presented their ideas for the “Yolife” app.
Image Credit: Marion Kucka

Tassilo Weber and Roope Kärki of Freie Universität Berlin began their pitch by asking if anyone in attendance leads a stressful life. Many hands went up, including those of the two founders themselves. It is well known that stress is unhealthy, but how many years of one’s life does it actually cost? App Yolife asks its users for risky habits and, based on scientific findings, it calculates healthy life expectancy. It additionally provides some suggestions and tips for changing unhealthy behavior and thus improving one’s own life expectancy in the long term. After the presentation, the jury had diverging opinions: would you use such an app yourself? One plus for the team: the members had presented a highly professional plan and were also in possession of the appropriate qualifications: Tassilo Weber, in addition to his master’s degree in philosophy, has completed training in design thinking at the Hasso Plattner Institute in Potsdam and has already worked as a startup’s consultant as well as a programmer. Roope Kärki and the third team member, Or Sarfati, also have a lot of experience in developing and designing apps. The jury agreed on a positive vote.

Laura Bücheler and Isabella Hillmer came up with their founding idea called “Ghost – feel it.

Laura Bücheler and Isabella Hillmer came up with their founding idea called “Ghost – feel it.
Image Credit: Max Power

Laura Bücheler and Isabella Hillmer competed for Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin. They are working on an orthosis in the form of a glove to be able to give people with nerve damage or an amputated arm back the feeling for temperature and the sense of touch.

Isabella Hillmer studied psychology, neuroscience, and industrial design before working in research and a startup. Laura Bücheler is an engineer for medical technology and has gained experience in a sensor company. For its founding idea called “Ghost – feel it,” the team received the “Smart Wearables x Smart Textiles” award from the Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises, endowed with 10,000 euros in 2017. There was also some impetus from the jury: from June 1 on, the founders can now use the Berlin Startup Scholarship to further promote their product.

“This scholarship gives us an opportunity to take our first steps at no great risk.”

In the end, a total of 16 start-ups from all participating institutions were awarded a scholarship. “The teams look exactly for where there are problems. And they use expertise from research to develop solutions,” said Thomas Wagner from Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, summing up the pitch marathon. It is, however, difficult to say if we will know all of the projects in a few years’ time. “We can’t look into the future,” says jury member Marcus Luther from Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin and Berlin Health Innovations, the joint technology transfer of the Berlin Institute of Health and Charité. “But that’s exactly why we use the scholarship to provide an opportunity for taking the first steps without any high risk.” In doing so, each team is supported by an academic mentor, has access to start-up rooms and laboratories on campus, and is advised by the university’s start-up grants. There are further advantages resulting from the universities’ joint sponsorship. “Although each team is assigned to one university, they can also use the services offered at the other universities in supporting start-ups,” explains Diana Bauer from Technische Universität Berlin. In addition, joint events encourage the founders to exchange experience with each other.

Applications for the next round of the Berlin Startup Scholarship are still possible until July 30, 2018. After this, other teams will be invited to present their startup projects to the jury.

Mit Forschungs-Know-how Lösungen für Alltagsprobleme finden

Bewerberinnen und Bewerber der Freien Universität, der Humboldt-Universität, der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Charité stellten ihre Gründungsprojekte einer Jury des Berliner Startup Stipendiums vor

12.06.2018

Freie Universität Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin, die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin fördern mit der Berliner Startup Stipendium seit 2016 Gründerinnen und Gründer.

Freie Universität Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin, die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin fördern mit der Berliner Startup Stipendium seit 2016 Gründerinnen und Gründer.
Bildquelle: Marion Kucka

Gleich neben den friedlich anmutenden Bienenstöcken und Gewächshäusern des Instituts für Biologie ging es kämpferisch zu: Im Flachbau von Profund Innovation, der Service-Einrichtung für Wissens- und Technologietransfer in der Abteilung Forschung der Freien Universität Berlin, in der Haderslebener Straße in Berlin-Dahlem, stellten sich Gründerteams vor, die eine Finanzierung für ihre Geschäftsidee mit Bezug zur universitären Forschung suchen. Zwei Tage lang traten 21 Teams zum Pitch, also zu einer kurzen Präsentation, vor den Juroren an. Wer überzeugen konnte, wird mit dem Berliner Startup Stipendium gefördert. Das heißt: Zwei bis vier Teammitglieder erhalten für einen Zeitraum zwischen sechs und zwölf Monaten je 2000 Euro pro Monat. So sind die Lebenshaltungskosten gedeckt, während das Team einen Prototyp entwickeln und die Unternehmensgründung vorantreiben kann.

"Ein großer Vorteil des Berliner Startup Stipendium: Wir können zügig entscheiden."

Mit dem Berliner Startup Stipendium fördern die Freie Universität Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin, die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin bereits seit 2016 gemeinsam Gründerinnen und Gründer, die innovative, technologiebasierte Geschäftsideen umsetzen wollen. Die Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe hat mit Unterstützung des Europäischen Sozialfonds 4,3 Millionen Euro für das Programm bewilligt. Bewerbungsschluss für die ersten Runde war am 30. April. Die besten Bewerberinnen und Bewerber aus den beteiligten Universitäten wurden zur Präsentation zugelassen. In der Jury waren erfolgreiche Gründerinnen und Gründer aus dem Umfeld der beteiligten Universitäten ebenso vertreten wie Netzwerkpartner der Gründungsförderungen, die Erfahrung in der Bewertung von Gründungsprojekten haben. Eine Entscheidung über Zu- oder Absage wurde nach Sichtung aller Teams noch am selben Tag gefällt.

Andreas Schindler und Stefan Junk vom Team „Deep Neuron Lab“ der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Andreas Schindler und Stefan Junk vom Team „Deep Neuron Lab“ der Technischen Universität Berlin.
Bildquelle: Marion Kucka

„Das ist ein großer Vorteil des Berliner Startup Stipendiums“, sagt Aneta Bärwolf, die das Programm an der Freien Universität Berlin leitet. „Wir können zügig entscheiden. Im Fall einer Zusage beginnt die Förderung bereits am 1. Juni. So schnell kommt die Antwort weder bei anderen Förderprogramme noch bei privaten Investoren.“

Mit Volldampf loslegen wollen Stefan Junk und Andreas Schindler vom Team Deep Neuron Lab der Technischen Universität Berlin. Andreas Schindler hat neun Jahre in der Versicherungsbranche gearbeitet und eine Idee entwickelt, wie lästige Routinearbeiten beim Vermitteln von individuellen Versicherungen durch Künstliche Intelligenz ersetzt werden können. Stefan Junk hatte in seiner Forschung am Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrt der Technischen Universität mit Software-Problemen zu tun, die sich auf die Versicherungswirtschaft übertragen lassen. Demnächst haben die Gründer einen Termin bei einer größeren Versicherung, die an einem Pilotprojekt interessiert ist. Ihr Konzept und erste Erfolge bei der Umsetzung überzeugten die Jury – und sicherten dem Team einen Platz auf der Liste für die Zusagen.

Andreas Ganske, Simon Kempendorf und Fabio Tacke von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin treten unter dem Teamnamen „Let’s meet“ an.

Andreas Ganske, Simon Kempendorf und Fabio Tacke von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin treten unter dem Teamnamen „Let’s meet“ an.
Bildquelle: Marion Kucka

Auch die Informatiker Andreas Ganske, Simon Kempendorf und Fabio Tacke von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin wollen ein Alltagsproblem lösen: Es könnte so praktisch sein, seinen Standort anderen per Handy mitzuteilen. „Für Lieferungen, Notfälle, private Verabredungen oder Car Sharing ist die Standortfreigabe ein echter Mehrwert“, sagt Andreas Ganske. „Aber viele Menschen schrecken davor zurück, ihre Standortdaten den großen Internetunternehmen zu überlassen.“ Mit Kryptografie-Software will das Team „Let’s meet“ eine Infrastruktur dafür schaffen, Standortdaten im Einzelfall sicher und befristet nur für ganz bestimmte Empfänger freizugeben. Für ein Paket, das Komfort, Privatsphäre und Effizienz verbindet, seien Unternehmen und Nutzer sicher bereit zu zahlen, davon ist das Team überzeugt. Die Jury gab grünes Licht für ein Stipendium.

Tassilo Weber und Roope Kärki stellten ihre Ideen für die App „Yolife“ vor.

Tassilo Weber und Roope Kärki stellten ihre Ideen für die App „Yolife“ vor.
Bildquelle: Marion Kucka

Tassilo Weber und Roope Kärki von der Freien Universität begannen ihren Pitch mit der Frage, wer von den Anwesenden ein stressiges Leben führe. Viele Hände gingen hoch, auch die der beiden Gründer selbst. Dass Stress ungesund ist, ist allgemein bekannt, doch wie viele Lebensjahre kostet er wirklich? Die App Yolife fragt ihre Nutzer nach risikoreichen Gewohnheiten und rechnet auf Grundlage wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse die gesunde Lebenserwartung aus. Dazu gibt es Anregungen und Unterstützung dafür, ungesundes Verhalten zu ändern und so langfristig die eigene Lebenserwartung zu verbessern. Nach der Präsentation gingen die Meinungen in der Jury auseinander: Würde man selbst eine solche App nutzen? Ein Pluspunkt für das Team: Die Mitglieder hatten einen hochprofessionellen Plan vorgelegt und konnten passende Qualifikationen vorweisen: Neben seinem Masterabschluss in Philosophie hat Tassilo Weber eine Design Thinking-Ausbildung am Hasso-Plattner-Institut in Potsdam absolviert und war bereits als Berater für Start-ups und als Programmierer tätig. Auch Roope Kärki und das dritte Teammitglied Or Sarfati haben viel Erfahrung mit Entwicklung und Design von Apps. Die Jury einigte sich auf ein positives Votum.

Laura Bücheler und Isabella Hillmer traten mit Ihrer Gründungsidee namens „Ghost – feel it“ an.

Laura Bücheler und Isabella Hillmer traten mit Ihrer Gründungsidee namens „Ghost – feel it“ an.
Bildquelle: Max Power

Laura Bücheler und Isabella Hillmer traten für die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin an. Sie arbeiten an einer Orthese in Form eines Handschuhs, die Menschen mit Nervenschäden oder einem amputierten Arm das Gefühl für Temperaturen und den Tastsinn zurückgeben soll.

Isabella Hillmer hat Psychologie, Neurowissenschaften und Industriedesign studiert und war danach in der Forschung und in einem Start-up tätig. Laura Bücheler ist Ingenieurin für Medizintechnik und hat Erfahrung in einem Unternehmen für Sensoren gesammelt. Für ihre Gründungsidee mit Namen „Ghost – feel it“ wurde das Team bereits 2017 mit dem „Smart Wearables x Smart Textiles“-Award der Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe ausgezeichnet, der mit 10.000 Euro dotiert ist. Auch von der Jury kam Rückenwind: Mit dem Berliner Startup Stipendium können die Gründerinnen ihr Produkt nun ab 1. Juni weiter voranbringen.

„Wir bieten mit dem Stipendium die Möglichkeit, ohne hohes Risiko die ersten Schritte zu machen.“

Am Ende durften sich insgesamt 16 Start-ups aus allen beteiligten Einrichtungen über ein Stipendium freuen. „Die Teams sehen genau dorthin, wo es Probleme gibt. Und sie nutzen das Know-how aus der Forschung, um Lösungen entwickeln“, fasst Thomas Wagner von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin den Pitch-Marathon zusammen. Ob allerdings unter den Projekten solche sind, die wir in ein paar Jahren alle kennen werden, sei schwer einzuschätzen. „Wir können nicht in die Zukunft sehen“, sagt Jurymitglied Marcus Luther von der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und Berlin Health Innovations, dem gemeinsamen Technologietransfer des Berlin Institute of Health und der Charité. „Aber genau darum bieten wir mit dem Stipendium die Möglichkeit, ohne hohes Risiko die ersten Schritte zu machen.“ Dabei wird jedes Team von einer wissenschaftlichen Mentorin oder einem Mentor unterstützt, hat Zugang zu Gründerräumen und Laboren auf dem Campus und wird von den Gründungsförderungen der Hochschulen beraten. Weitere Vorteile ergeben sich aus der gemeinsamen Trägerschaft der Universitäten: „Die Teams sind zwar jeweils einer Hochschule zugeordnet, können aber auch die Angebote zur Gründungsunterstützung an den anderen Universitäten nutzen“, erklärt Diana Bauer von der Technischen Universität Berlin. Zudem werde der Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen den Gründerinnen und Gründer mit gemeinsamen Veranstaltungen gefördert.

Bewerbungen für die nächste Runde des Berliner Startup Stipendiums sind noch bis 30. Juli 2018 möglich. Danach werden weitere Teams eingeladen, ihre Gründungsprojekte vor der Jury zu präsentieren.

Schlagwörter