“We want to make Berlin an even stronger center for research and learning.”

The heads of the three major Berlin universities and Charité spoke on rbb-Inforadio’s WissensWerte series on the opportunities of using national Excellence Competitions to support top-level research in Berlin.

May 31, 2018

On the podium at the 95th Treffpunkt WissensWerte (from right to left): rbb Science Editor Thomas Prinzler, Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité), Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität Berlin), Peter-André Alt

On the podium at the 95th Treffpunkt WissensWerte (from right to left): rbb Science Editor Thomas Prinzler, Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité), Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität Berlin), Peter-André Alt
Image Credit: Frederic Schweizer

Very few people outside of universities and research institutions have any idea how excited universities are about this coming autumn: as part of the national competition for research funding, the official decision on which applications for major projects are going to be initially funded for the period of seven years will be made on September 27. It will then also be clear which universities are eligible to apply under the Excellence Strategy for the Universities of Excellence award; the decision will be announced on July 19, 2019.

At the 95th Treffpunkt WissensWerte, a series of talks recorded by rbb-Inforadio in cooperation with the Technology Foundation Berlin, the president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Professor Sabine Kunst, the president of Freie Universität Berlin, Professor Peter-André Alt, the president of Technische Universität Berlin, Professor Christian Thomsen, and the CEO of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Professor Karl Max Einhäupl, spoke about their institutions’ application. The event was presented by rbb Science Editor Thomas Prinzler.

According to Thomas Prinzler, no other city or region has submitted as many applications as Berlin, and Berlin is the only place where three major universities, together with Charité, are pursuing an affiliated application. Radio presenter Thomas Prinzler wanted to know, “Why are the universities in Munich more skeptical? Why are there so many applications from Berlin, of all places? Were you following the motto, ‘a lot helps a lot’?” Under no circumstances, said Christian Thomsen, the president of Technische Universität Berlin. The large number of nine successful pre-selection proposals from different disciplines is made possible by the wide range of subjects offered by university research in Berlin. The initiatives have been developed “from the bottom up” by scientists and scholars, i.e., from the basis of the researchers, who often think multi-institutionally anyway. Peter-André Alt, the president of Freie Universität Berlin and, from August 2018, the president of the German Rectors’ Conference, also emphasized diversity as being a special quality of university research: “Only universities have subjects of this breadth.” Universities will thus be able to carry out innovative research in a unique way. This dynamism will also account for Berlin’s joint proposal.

Peter-André Alt, the president of Freie Universität Berlin, emphasized diversity as a special quality of innovative research at the three major Berlin universities and Charité.

Peter-André Alt, the president of Freie Universität Berlin, emphasized diversity as a special quality of innovative research at the three major Berlin universities and Charité.
Image Credit: Frederic Schweizer

“Only universities have subjects of this breadth.”
Peter-André Alt

“The quality of a university is reflected in its ability to renew itself,” said Karl Max Einhäupl, CEO of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin. It is important for its scientists’ creativity to constantly develop new fields of research. The applications deal with important topics whose research should be implemented through other funding, even if not all nine projects are approved in September. As a medical school of two universities with Excellence status, one could say that Charité is “doubly excellent,” said Einhäupl. Freie Universität Berlin received an award in the first round of the Excellence competition in 2007 – called the Excellence Initiative in those days – and defended its title in 2012; Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin won the award in 2012.

Chief executive officer of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Karl Max Einhäupl in conversation with rbb Science Editor Thomas Prinzler

Chief executive officer of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Karl Max Einhäupl in conversation with rbb Science Editor Thomas Prinzler
Image Credit: Frederic Schweizer

“The quality of a university is reflected in its ability to renew itself.”
Karl Max Einhäupl

“What effect did the Excellence Initiative have on the universities,” asked Thomas Prinzler. Sabine Kunst and Peter-André Alt, the heads of the two Berlin universities of excellence, drew a positive balance. The additional funds enabled them to pursue new staff development and to expand their international activities, said Alt. “We multiplied the money wisely.” Sabine Kunst emphasized that this funding created freedom for scientists and scholars. The Excellence Initiative thus made an enormous contribution to the development of the institutions’ profiles.

Over the past decade, said Peter-André Alt, the reputation of universities and research in Berlin has considerably improved overall. He notices greater appreciation on the part of policy makers: after all, science and research are of great importance for the city, as universities create jobs and opportunities to encourage integration, for example, by offering courses to refugees.

Sabine Kunst, the president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, explains what the funding from the Excellence Initiative at her university was able to achieve.

Sabine Kunst, the president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, explains what the funding from the Excellence Initiative at her university was able to achieve.
Image Credit: Frederic Schweizer

“Berlin, the center of science and research, does not end at the city limits.”
Sabine Kunst

As evident in international appointments, Karl Max Einhäupl reported, the competition has also contributed to the international visibility of Berlin’s universities. And Sabine Kunst emphasized that “the gain in reputation far exceeded any monetary profit.”

In the small broadcasting hall of the Rundfunkhaus on Masurenallee, the four guests emphasized that the Excellence competition also benefits the whole of Berlin as a hub of science and research. Even if, for formal reasons, a consortium of only three institutions could apply, there is close cooperation with universities in Brandenburg, such as Universität Potsdam. “Berlin, the center of science and research, does not end at the city limits,” said Sabine Kunst.

The results in the competition’s so-called second funding line are particularly important for the institutions because while the universities in the Excellence Initiative only received the award for a limited period, under the new competition, they will now become “Universities of Excellence” for seven years and – with a positive interim assessment – for up to 14 years. As such, there is a lot at stake for the institutions in Berlin: even if the competition no longer causes such a stir in the media – “we are in research and not in football,” said Peter-André Alt – the interest of the “university community” in cooperating with Berlin is great.

The president of Technische Universität Berlin, Christian Thomsen, on the podium of the 95th WissensWerte

The president of Technische Universität Berlin, Christian Thomsen, on the podium of the 95th WissensWerte
Image Credit: Frederic Schweizer

“We want to make a difference in socially relevant issues – perhaps even more so than before.” Christian Thomsen

The management of the four institutions have set themselves the future goal of reaching out more into the city and gaining even more international visibility. Christian Thomsen explained that they also want to jointly promote junior researchers and be an attractive target for scholars and scientists from all over the world. “We want to make a difference in socially relevant issues – perhaps even more so than before.” Completely new potentials can be developed by overcoming institutional boundaries,” said Peter-André Alt. “We want to make Berlin an even stronger center of science and research.”

“Wir wollen den Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin noch stärker machen“

Die Leitungen der drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité sprachen im rbb-Inforadio in der Reihe WissensWerte über die Chancen, die Spitzenforschung in Berlin durch den bundesweiten Exzellenzwettwerb zu stärken.

31.05.2018

Auf dem Podium des 95. Treffpunkt WissensWerte (v.r.n.l.): rbb-Wissenschaftsredakteur Thomas Prinzler, Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité), Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität) Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität), Peter-André Alt (Freie Universität)

Auf dem Podium des 95. Treffpunkt WissensWerte (v.r.n.l.): rbb-Wissenschaftsredakteur Thomas Prinzler, Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité), Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität) Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität), Peter-André Alt (Freie Universität)
Bildquelle: Frederic Schweizer

Außerhalb der Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen ahnen wohl die wenigsten, wie Hochschulen dem Herbst entgegenfiebern: Am 27. September wird offiziell feststehen, welche Anträge für Großprojekte im Rahmen des bundesweiten Wettbewerbs um Forschungsmittel für zunächst sieben Jahre gefördert werden. Dann wird auch klar sein, welche Universitäten sich in der Exzellenzstrategie um die Auszeichnung Exzellenzuniversität bewerben dürfen; die Entscheidung darüber wird am 19. Juli 2019 bekannt gegeben.

Beim 95. Treffpunkt WissensWerte, einer aufgezeichneten Gesprächsreihe vom rbb-Inforadio in Kooperation mit der Technologiestiftung Berlin sprachen die Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Professorin Sabine Kunst, die Präsidenten der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin, Professor Peter-André Alt und Professor Christian Thomsen, sowie der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Professor Karl Max Einhäupl über die Bewerbung ihrer Einrichtungen. Moderiert wurde die Veranstaltung von rbb-Wissenschaftsredakteur Thomas Prinzler.

Aus keiner anderen Stadt oder Region gebe es so viele Anträge wie aus Berlin, sagte Thomas Prinzler, auch eine Bewerbung im Verbund strebten nur die drei großen Berliner Universitäten mit der Charité an. Warum seien etwa die Universitäten in München skeptischer? Warum gebe es ausgerechnet aus Berlin so viele Anträge, wollte Moderator Thomas Prinzler wissen: Gehe man nach dem Motto vor: „viel hilft viel“? Auf keinen Fall, sagte der Präsident der Technischen Universität Berlin, Christian Thomsen. Die Fülle von insgesamt neun in der Vorauswahl erfolgreichen Anträgen aus unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten werde durch das große Fächerspektrum der universitären Forschung in Berlin möglich. Die Initiativen seien von den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, die oftmals ohnehin institutionenübergreifend denken, „bottom up“ entwickelt worden, also von der Basis der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Die Vielfalt als eine besondere Qualität universitärer Forschung hob auch Peter-André Alt hervor, Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin und von August 2018 an Präsident der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz: „Nur Universitäten verfügen über Fächer in einer solchen Breite.“ Auf diese Weise könnten die Hochschulen auf einzigartige Weise innovativ forschen. Diese Dynamik werde auch den Berliner Gemeinschaftsantrag ausmachen.

Peter-André Alt, Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin, unterstrich Vielfalt als besondere Qualität innovativer Forschung an den drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité.

Peter-André Alt, Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin, unterstrich Vielfalt als besondere Qualität innovativer Forschung an den drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité.
Bildquelle: Frederic Schweizer

„Nur Universitäten verfügen über Fächer in einer solchen Breite.“
Peter-André Alt

„Die Qualität einer Universität zeigt sich in ihrer Erneuerungsfähigkeit“, sagte Karl Max Einhäupl, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, es komme auf die Kreativität ihrer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an, immer neue Forschungsfelder zu entwickeln. Selbst wenn nicht alle neun Projekte im September bewilligt würden, behandelten die Anträge wichtige Themen, deren Erforschung auch auf anderem Weg umgesetzt werden solle. Als medizinische Fakultät gleich zweier Universitäten mit Exzellenzstatus sei die Charité sozusagen „doppelt exzellent“, sagte Einhäupl. Die Freie Universität Berlin war bereits 2007 in der ersten Runde des Exzellenzwettbewerbs, der damals noch Exzellenzinitiative hieß, ausgezeichnet worden und verteidigte ihren Titel 2012; die Humboldt-Universität erhielt den Zuschlag 2012.

Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Karl Max Einhäupl im Gespräch mit rbb-Wissenschaftsredakteur Thomas Prinzler.

Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Karl Max Einhäupl im Gespräch mit rbb-Wissenschaftsredakteur Thomas Prinzler.
Bildquelle: Frederic Schweizer

„Die Qualität einer Universität zeigt sich in ihrer Erneuerungsfähigkeit.“
Karl Max Einhäupl

„Was hat die Exzellenzinitiative in den Universitäten bewirkt?“, fragte Thomas Prinzler. Sabine Kunst und Peter-André Alt, die die beiden Berliner Exzellenz-Universitäten leiten, zogen eine positive Bilanz. Durch die zusätzlichen Mittel habe man eine neue Personalentwicklung betreiben und die internationalen Aktivitäten ausbauen können, sagte Alt. „Wir haben das Geld klug vermehrt.“ Sabine Kunst hob hervor, dass das man Freiräume für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler geschaffen habe. Die Exzellenzinitiative habe so enorm zu Profilbildung der Einrichtungen beigetragen.

Insgesamt habe sich das Ansehen der Universitäten und der Wissenschaft in Berlin im vergangenen Jahrzehnt stark verbessert, sagte Peter-André Alt. Auch durch die Politik erfahre man größere Wertschätzung: schließlich habe die Wissenschaft für die Stadt eine große Bedeutung, Universitäten schafften Arbeitsplätze und machten sich um die Integration verdient – etwa durch Angebote für Geflüchtete.

Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin erläutert, was die finanziellen Mittel aus der Exzellenzinitiative an ihrer Universität bewirken konnten.

Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin erläutert, was die finanziellen Mittel aus der Exzellenzinitiative an ihrer Universität bewirken konnten.
Bildquelle: Frederic Schweizer

„Der Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin endet nicht an den Stadtgrenzen“
Sabine Kunst

Auch international habe der Wettbewerb zur Sichtbarkeit der Berliner Universitäten beigetragen, berichtete Karl Max Einhäupl, das zeige sich bei internationalen Berufungen. Und Sabine Kunst hob hervor, dassder Reputationsgewinn den monetären Gewinn bei Weitem übersteige.“

Auf diese Weise kommt der Exzellenzwettbewerb auch ganz Berlin als Wissenschaftsstandort zugute, betonten die vier Gäste im kleinen Sendesaal des Rundfunkhauses an der Masurenallee. Auch, wenn sich aus formalen Gründen nur ein Verbund von drei Einrichtungen bewerben könne, mit Hochschulen in Brandenburg, wie der Universität Potsdam, bestünden enge Kooperationen. „Der Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin endet nicht an den Stadtgrenzen“, sagte Sabine Kunst.

Das Abschneiden in der sogenannten zweiten Förderlinie des Wettbewerbs ist für die Einrichtungen besonders wichtig, denn während die Universitäten in der Exzellenzinitiative die Auszeichnung nur auf Zeit verliehen bekamen, werden sie nun für sieben und - bei einer positiven Zwischen-Begutachtung - für bis zu 14 Jahre zur „Exzellenzuniversität“. Für die Berliner Einrichtungen steht also einiges auf dem Spiel: Auch, wenn der Wettbewerb inzwischen nicht mehr für so viel medialen Wirbel sorge ­– „wir sind ja in der Forschung und nicht beim Fußball“, sagte Peter-André Alt –, das Interesse der „Universitätsrepublik“ an der Berliner Kooperation sei groß.

Der Präsident der Technischen Universität Berlin, Christian Thomsen auf dem Podium des 95. Treffpunkt WissensWerte.

Der Präsident der Technischen Universität Berlin, Christian Thomsen auf dem Podium des 95. Treffpunkt WissensWerte.
Bildquelle: Frederic Schweizer

Wir wollen gesellschaftlich relevante Themen bewegen – vielleicht noch stärker als zuvor.“ Christian Thomsen

Für die Zukunft haben sich die Leitungen der vier Einrichtungen vorgenommen, mehr in die Stadt hineinzuwirken und auch international noch mehr sichtbar zu werden. Außerdem wolle man gemeinsam den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs fördern und für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt ein attraktives Ziel sein, erklärte Christian Thomsen. „Wir wollen gesellschaftlich relevante Themen bewegen – vielleicht noch stärker als zuvor.“ Indem man Institutionengrenzen überwindet, könne man ganz neue Potenziale entfalten, sagte Peter-André Alt. „Wir wollen den starken Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin noch stärker machen“.