“A go-it-alone approach to research will no longer work to solve the problems of the 21st century.”

Three Berlin universities along with Charité want to work together in the Excellence Strategy: Opportunities and Challenges / An interview with the heads of the involved institutions.

Feb 21, 2018

(clockwise) Chief executive officer of Charité-Universitätsmedizin Karl Max Einhäupl, the president of Humboldt-Universität Sabine Kunst, the president of Technische Univsität Christian Thomsen, and the president of Freie Universität Peter-André Alt

(clockwise) Chief executive officer of Charité-Universitätsmedizin Karl Max Einhäupl, the president of Humboldt-Universität Sabine Kunst, the president of Technische Univsität Christian Thomsen, and the president of Freie Universität Peter-André Alt
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

The idea is becoming reality: Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität along with their jointly operated medical school, Charité, and Technische Universität are now planning to enter the German government’s new Excellence Strategy competition together. On February 21 2018, they officially submitted a joint letter of intent in the Universities of Excellence funding line. In an interview, the president of Humboldt-Universität, Professor Sabine Kunst, the president of Freie Universität, Professor Peter-André Alt, the president of Technische Universität, Professor Christian Thomsen, and the chief executive officer of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Professor Karl Max Einhäupl, explained what moved them to apply together and what the next steps will be.

Four institutions are submitting a joint proposal in a nationwide research competition – that is a novelty on this scale. What challenges are involved?

Peter-André Alt: Each of the four institutions involved has its own structure, history, and institutional identity. We plan to maintain these individual profiles. We are forging an alliance, not a merger. For a long time, especially in the years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, strong competitive thinking dictated our dealings. In the meantime, mutual trust has grown through many successful joint research projects. On the basis of better relationships evolving out of working together more and more, we now want to define common goals for the future and implement them through appropriate organizational processes. Of course, there is no lack of challenges: In the day-to-day work, the necessary coordination processes are complex and time-consuming. We had to learn to develop a common perspective for our plans, and we were faced with the task of agreeing on the best, most promising pathways for implementation. That has worked very well in the past one and a half years, and this achievement can be credited to work by individuals at all of the participating institutions.

"We succeeded in developing common perspectives and pathways."
Peter-André Alt

Why does it pay to undertake these efforts?

Karl Max Einhäupl: Many reasons speak in favor of this alliance: There is no other location in Germany where three universities and a university hospital of this size, reputation, and innovative power are in such close proximity to each other. For more than ten years, scholars and scientists at our institutions have been working within a culture of cooperation, which is the basis for internationally visible research projects. Today, more than ever, excellence is not based on institutional borders, and a go-it-alone approach to research will no longer work to solve the problems of the 21st century.

What does that mean in concrete terms?

Einhäupl: We are faced with creating optimal conditions for research in Berlin and promoting them with a culture of cooperation. With our alliance, we aim to develop platforms and funding instruments that will strengthen Berlin as a location for research and provide our scholars and scientists with the best possible conditions for teaching and doing research here. I am convinced that our alliance will lead to a new quality of collaboration among researchers at our institutions and will make substantial contributions to solving academic and societal challenges and issues.

What is the next step, now that the letter of intent has been submitted?

Christian Thomsen: Now it is important to create the conditions for a successful application and to get as many as possible of our nine proposed clusters approved. All of those responsible for submitting full proposals for clusters have done outstanding work in a very short time. They deserve our thanks. But the work is not over. Dates are scheduled from April through June for appraisals of these projects. During that same period many other members of our four institutions will be working on our proposal for the Universities of Excellence funding line. On September 27, 2018, we will then know which cluster projects have been approved for funding and whether Berlin has enough clusters to be allowed to submit a full proposal in the Universities of Excellence funding line. If that is the case, we will submit our joint proposal on December 10, 2018. Next year there will be an on-site assessment, and the decision will be announced on July 19, 2019. Then we will know if we can fully implement our plans.

And if not?

Thomsen: That of course would be a shame, but we are not expecting that to happen. In any regard, we will proceed with our successful collaboration and continue to work together in more areas.

"The collaborative work brings us closer together."
Sabine Kunst

How is the work on such a large and complex project organized? The four institutions must enter uncharted territory.

Sabine Kunst: Since making their decision to apply as an alliance, members of Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Technische Universität, and Charité have been meeting regularly in various working groups to prepare the joint application for the Universities of Excellence funding line. The process is being coordinated by a strategy working group. Of course, scholars and scientists as well as experts from the administrations of all of our institutions are involved in the process at various decisive points. In another group we are working closely together in terms of internal and external communication.

The university leaders meet regularly to discuss the conceptual preparatory work from the various institutions and on this basis, to make decisions about the next steps. We regularly inform the advisory boards and committees of our separate institutions about the current status.

That sounds like a lot of work.

Kunst: Yes, this process is very time-consuming, as different interests and expectations need to be balanced in order to achieve a comprehensive commitment to the joint project of submitting an application as an alliance. Of course, we knew that this would be the case when we started. The involved researchers as well as members of the university administrations have to cope with an enormous amount of extra work. In spite of these immense efforts that we all have, we see that the collaborative work brings us closer together and facilitates the maturing of ideas. We are certain that our work will advance Berlin as a research hub and also bring significant advantages to all four of the participating institutions.

"We highly appreciate the enormous commitment of everyone involved."
Christian Thomsen

How do you keep the members of the fours institutions who are not directly involved with the application process informed?

Thomsen: Last year we held information events at each of the four institutions. At each of these campus dialogues, my colleagues from Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Charité, and I all participated in a panel discussion and later answered questions from members of the audience. Anyone who is interested can get information from the website or get regular updates via the Twitter channel of the Berlin University Alliance. At important stages of the way, we send out newsletters to the members of the four institutions. For all of us – and I am also speaking on behalf of the other presidents and Professor Einhäupl – it is important not only to inform the other members of the institutions, but also to convey our appreciation to everyone involved for their enormous commitment. Their extraordinary dedication and hard work cannot be taken for granted and represent a tangible added value for the institutions – regardless of the ultimate success of the individual initiatives.

„Die Zeit, in der Probleme von der Wissenschaft im Alleingang gelöst werden konnten, ist vorbei.“

Warum die Berliner Universitäten mit der Charité in der Exzellenzstrategie im Verbund antreten und welche Chancen und Herausforderungen das birgt / Ein Interview mit den Leitungen der beteiligten Einrichtungen.

21.02.2018

Der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Karl Max Einhäupl, die Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität Sabine Kunst, der Präsident der Technischen Universität Christian Thomsen und der Präsident Freien Universität Peter-André Alt

Der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Karl Max Einhäupl, die Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität Sabine Kunst, der Präsident der Technischen Universität Christian Thomsen und der Präsident Freien Universität Peter-André Alt
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Aus dem Wunsch ist ein fester Vorsatz geworden. Die Freie Universität und die Humboldt-Universität mit ihrer gemeinsamen medizinischen Fakultät – der Charité – sowie die Technische Universität wollen im Exzellenzstrategie-Wettbewerb gemeinsam an den Start gehen. Am 21. Februar 2018 haben sie offiziell ihre Absicht erklärt, sich in der Förderlinie „Exzellenzuniversitäten“ im Verbund zu bewerben. Im Interview sprechen die Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität, Professorin Sabine Kunst, die Präsidenten der Freien Universität und der Technischen Universität, Professor Peter-André Alt und Professor Christian Thomsen, sowie der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Professor Karl Max Einhäupl, darüber, was sie zu diesem Schritt bewogen hat und wie es nun weitergeht.

Vier Einrichtungen schreiben einen gemeinsamen Antrag in einem bundesweiten Forschungswettbewerb – das hat es in diesem Umfang noch nicht gegeben. Vor welchen Herausforderungen stehen Sie?

Peter-André Alt: Jede der vier beteiligten Einrichtungen hat ihre eigene Struktur, Geschichte und institutionelle Identität. Diese individuellen Profile sollen auch erhalten bleiben, denn es geht ja nicht um eine Fusion, sondern um eine Allianz. Lange Zeit – vor allem in den Jahren nach dem Fall der Mauer – bestimmte starkes Konkurrenzdenken unseren Umgang. Inzwischen ist durch die vielen erfolgreichen gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekte das Vertrauen gewachsen. Wir wollen nun auf der Grundlage eines in den letzten Jahren gewachsenen Miteinanders gemeinsame Ziele für die Zukunft definieren und durch entsprechende Organisationsprozesse umsetzen. An Herausforderungen fehlt es natürlich nicht: Im Arbeitsalltag sind die dafür erforderlichen Abstimmungsprozesse aufwendig und zeitintensiv; wir mussten lernen, eine gemeinsame Perspektive für unsere Planungen zu entwickeln, und wir standen vor der Aufgabe, uns bei der Umsetzung über die besten, vielversprechendsten Wege zu einigen. Das ist in dem inzwischen eineinhalbjährigen Arbeitsprozess sehr gut gelungen, und dies ist ein Erfolg der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aller Einrichtungen.

"Es ist uns gut gelungen, gemeinsame Perspektiven und Wege zu finden."
Peter-André Alt

Warum lohnt es sich, diesen Weg zu gehen?

Karl Max Einhäupl: Sehr viele Gründe sprechen für den Verbund: An keinem anderen Standort in Deutschland liegen drei Universitäten und ein Universitätsklinikum vergleichbarer Größe, Reputation und Innovationskraft so nah beieinander wie in Berlin. Seit mehr als zehn Jahren leben die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unserer Einrichtungen eine Kooperationskultur, die die Basis für international sichtbare Forschungsprojekte bildet. Denn mehr denn je gilt heute: Exzellente Wissenschaft orientiert sich nicht an institutionellen Grenzen, und die Zeit, in der Probleme von der Wissenschaft im Alleingang gelöst werden konnten, ist vorbei.

Was bedeutet das konkret?

Einhäupl: Es wird unsere Aufgabe sein, optimale Bedingungen für die Wissenschaft in Berlin zu schaffen und diese Kooperationskultur zu fördern. Wir wollen mit dem Verbund Plattformen und Förderangebote entwickeln, die Berlin als Wissenschaftsstandort stärken und unseren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern die besten Voraussetzungen geben, um hier zu forschen und zu lehren. Ich bin überzeugt, dass durch den Verbund eine neue Qualität der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Forscherinnen und Forschern unserer Einrichtungen entsteht, die substanzielle Beiträge zur Lösung wissenschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen und Fragen leistet.

Wie geht es nach der Absichtserklärung für eine Verbundbewerbung weiter?

Christian Thomsen: Nun gilt es, die Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Bewerbung zu schaffen und möglichst viele unserer neun Berliner Clusteranträge bewilligt zu bekommen. Alle, die für die Clustervollanträge verantwortlich sind, haben in sehr kurzer Zeit hervorragende Arbeit geleistet. Das verdient unseren großen Dank. Noch ist es aber nicht geschafft. Von April bis Juni stehen die Termine für die Begutachtungen dieser Projekte an. Parallel dazu arbeiten wiederum zahlreiche weitere Mitglieder aus den vier Häusern an unserem Verbundantrag. Am 27. September 2018 wissen wir dann, welche Clusterprojekte gefördert werden und ob Berlin genügend Cluster zugesprochen wurden, um überhaupt einen Antrag im Verbund stellen zu können. Ist das der Fall, werden wir unseren Gemeinschaftsantrag am 10. Dezember 2018 einreichen. Im nächsten Jahr folgt dann die Begutachtung vor Ort und am 19. Juli 2019 die Entscheidung. Dann wissen wir, ob wir unsere Pläne in vollem Umfang umsetzen können.

Und wenn nicht?

Thomsen: Das wäre natürlich sehr schade, aber davon gehen wir nicht aus. Unsere erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit werden wir in jedem Fall ausbauen und festigen.

"Die gemeinsame Arbeit bringt uns immer näher."
Sabine Kunst

Wie wird die Arbeit an einem so umfangreichen und komplexen Projekt organisiert? Auch hier müssen die vier Einrichtungen ja Neuland betreten.

Sabine Kunst: Seit ihrer Entscheidung, sich als Universitätsverbund zu bewerben, sind Mitglieder der Freien Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Technischen Universität und Charité in verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen regelmäßig im Gespräch, um den gemeinsamen Antrag für die Förderlinie „Exzellenzuniversitäten“ vorzubereiten. Der Prozess wird von einer Arbeitsgruppe für Strategiefragen koordiniert. Selbstverständlich sind auch Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und Expertinnen und Experten aus den Verwaltungen unserer Häuser an den entscheidenden Stellen in den Prozess involviert. Auch in Sachen interner und externer Kommunikation arbeiten wir in einer Arbeitsgruppe sehr eng zusammen.

Die Hochschulleitungen treffen sich regelmäßig, um über die konzeptionellen Vorarbeiten aus den Häusern zu diskutieren und auf dieser Basis über die erforderlichen weiteren Schritte zu entscheiden. Auf dem Weg zu einem gemeinsamen Exzellenzverbund informieren wir auch die Gremien unserer Häuser regelmäßig über den aktuellen Stand.

Das klingt nach viel Arbeit.

Kunst: Ja, dieser Prozess ist sehr aufwendig, da unterschiedliche Interessen und Erwartungshaltungen austariert werden müssen, um ein umfassendes Commitment zum gemeinsamen Projekt Verbundantrag zu erreichen. Das war uns von Anfang an klar. Die beteiligten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, aber auch die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter in den Universitätsverwaltungen haben ein enormes Zusatzpensum zu bewältigen. Trotz des hohen Aufwandes, den wir alle haben, zeigt sich aber, dass uns die gemeinsame Arbeit immer näher bringt und die Ideen zu etwas reifen, was den Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin und alle vier beteiligten Einrichtungen deutlich voranbringen wird.

"Das enorme Engagement aller Beteiligten wissen wir sehr zu schätzen."
Christian Thomsen

Wie halten Sie die anderen Mitglieder der vier Einrichtungen, die nicht an Arbeitsgruppen oder Gremien beteiligt sind, auf dem Laufenden?

Thomsen: Im vergangenen Jahr standen meine Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus Freier Universität, Humboldt-Universität  sowie der Charité und ich Mitgliedern der Universitäten bei Campus-Dialogen Rede und Antwort. Diese Informationsveranstaltungen haben wir in allen vier Häusern durchgeführt. Wer möchte, kann sich außerdem auf der Webseite und dem Twitterkanal der Berlin University Alliance informieren. Ebenso versenden wir bei wichtigen neuen Nachrichten oder Schritten einen Newsletter in den vier Einrichtungen. Wichtig ist uns allen dabei auch, nicht nur zu informieren, sondern – da spreche ich auch im Namen aller meiner Leitungskollegen – allen Beteiligten unsere Wertschätzung für ihr enormes Engagement zu vermitteln. Ihr außerordentlicher Einsatz ist keineswegs eine Selbstverständlichkeit und bedeutet einen spürbaren Mehrwert für die involvierten Institutionen – unabhängig vom letztendlichen Erfolg der einzelnen Initiativen.