Super Glue – Copied from Mussels

Researchers at the UniCat Cluster of Excellence are developing an adhesive protein that binds things together, even in damp environments. It could be used in future to glue bones and wounds.

Jan 09, 2018

The glue produced by mussels serves as a model for a biogenic adhesive which, it is hoped, will be able to bind together skin, tissue, and even bone.

The glue produced by mussels serves as a model for a biogenic adhesive which, it is hoped, will be able to bind together skin, tissue, and even bone.
Image Credit: TU Berlin/PR/Tobias Rosenberg

The ski season is underway! Winter sports enthusiasts swarm over the slopes. And in local hospitals, clinicians are busy with screws and wire. In winter, Austria’s hospitals alone treat around 350 skiers and snowboarders every day. Almost half of these have suffered broken bones, which often have to be fixed in complex procedures involving screws, plates, and spokes.

But Nediljko Budisa of Technische Universität Berlin predicts, “This type of treatment could in some cases be a thing of the past.” Together with colleagues from the Biocatalysis Working Group at the UniCat Cluster of Excellence, he has developed a biogenic adhesive that will in future allow skin, tissue, and even bones to be stuck together. “For a glue to work inside the human body, it must function in damp surroundings and be biologically degradable.” Budisa and colleagues have copied from nature – specifically, the oceans.

In order to produce the mussel glue in the laboratory, Dipl.-Ing. Christian Schipp (left), Dr. Matthias Hauf (right) and other researchers at the UniCat Cluster of Excellence reprogrammed strains of the intestinal bacterium, Escherichia coli.

In order to produce the mussel glue in the laboratory, Dipl.-Ing. Christian Schipp (left), Dr. Matthias Hauf (right) and other researchers at the UniCat Cluster of Excellence reprogrammed strains of the intestinal bacterium, Escherichia coli.
Image Credit: TU Berlin/PR/Tobias Rosenberg

Mussels produce a type of super glue that is effective in any environment, including under water. However, it is however a fast-working material and difficult to handle. “To be able to make mussel glue in the laboratory, we reprogrammed strains of Escherichia coli, a bacterium commonly found in the lower intestine”, explains Budisa’s colleague Matthias Hauf. Researchers have been working on a solution for some time: the problem was that intestinal bacterium lacks the central building block of the wet glue. To address this, Hauf and his colleagues add a specific enzyme to the bacterium. This allows incorporation in the mussel glue of Escherichia coli, the building block – which the researchers have endowed with an additional light-activated property.

“We fed our altered intestinal bacterium with this building block, the ONB-Dopa amino acid, so that our glue can now be activated at the target point”, Hauf says. The adhesive property is switched on by irradiating the glue with UV light at a wavelength of 365 nanometers. Amino acids provide the glue with a type of protective layer, similar to the principle of covers on adhesive strips. “This protection is what makes the adhesive suitable in practice, in the first place,” the scientist explains.

Together with the Bioprocess Engineering Department at Technische Universität Berlin and some small companies belonging to the Berlin-based research network, Network for Pharma Solutions – NetPhaSol, researchers hope to further develop the idea, for which a patent application has been filed, and bring it to market maturity. Separate development and realization of the business idea will take place in the laboratories of Inkulab, the UniCat Cluster of Excellence outsourcing laboratory at Technische Universität Berlin. It will take a while, however, before the adhesive can be used on injured skiers, snowboarders, and other patients. “Our glue will have to go through many tests and clinical studies before it is finally launched on the market,” Budisa concludes.

Further Information

The aim of the Cluster UniCat: Unifying Concepts in Catalysis is to develop catalysts for the more efficient use of energy sources and raw materials, as well as the manufacture of new active ingredients through synthetic biology. The cluster is a shared project of Technische Universität Berlin in cooperation with Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt Universität zu Berlin.

Under the German government's Excellence Strategy for the Federal Republic and the Länder, the application entitled Unifying Systems in Catalysis (UniSysCat), which is based on UniCat findings and extends the research program, progressed to full proposal.

Superklebstoff – von der Miesmuschel abgeschaut

Forscherinnen und Forscher des Exzellenzclusters UniCat entwickeln ein Haftprotein, das auch in feuchten Umgebungen hält. Künftig könnte es Knochen und Wunden kleben.

09.01.2018

Der von der Miesmuschel produzierte Haftstoff dient als Vorbild für ein biogenes Klebeprotein, mit dem künftig Haut, Gewebe und sogar Knochen geklebt werden sollen.

Der von der Miesmuschel produzierte Haftstoff dient als Vorbild für ein biogenes Klebeprotein, mit dem künftig Haut, Gewebe und sogar Knochen geklebt werden sollen.
Bildquelle: TU Berlin/PR/Tobias Rosenberg

Die Skisaison ist eröffnet. Auf den Pisten drängeln sich Wintersportbegeisterte. In den umliegenden Kliniken wird wieder geschraubt und verdrahtet. Allein in Österreichs Krankenhäusern werden im Winter täglich rund 350 Skifahrer und Snowboarder behandelt. Fast die Hälfte der Verunfallten erleidet Knochenbrüche, die nicht selten aufwändig mit Schrauben, Platten und Nägeln gerichtet werden müssen.

„Diese Behandlungsform könnte teilweise überflüssig gemacht werden“, sagt Nediljko Budisa von der Technischen Universität Berlin. Gemeinsam mit Mitarbeitern seines Arbeitskreises Biokatalyse aus dem Exzellenzcluster UniCat hat er ein Verfahren zur Herstellung eines biogenen Klebstoffs entwickelt, mit dem künftig Haut, Gewebe und sogar Knochen geklebt werden sollen. „Wenn wir diesen Kleber in den menschlichen Körper einbringen wollen, muss er auch in feuchten Umgebungen funktionieren und biologisch abbaubar sein.“ Ihre Idee haben sie in der Natur abgeschaut – von Meeresbewohnern.

Um den Muschelkleber im Labor herzustellen, haben Dipl.-Ing. Christian Schipp (links), Dr. Matthias Hauf (rechts) und andere Forscherinnen und Forscher des Exzellenzclusters UniCat  Stämme des Darmbakteriums Escherichia coli umprogrammiert.

Um den Muschelkleber im Labor herzustellen, haben Dipl.-Ing. Christian Schipp (links), Dr. Matthias Hauf (rechts) und andere Forscherinnen und Forscher des Exzellenzclusters UniCat Stämme des Darmbakteriums Escherichia coli umprogrammiert.
Bildquelle: TU Berlin/PR/Tobias Rosenberg

Miesmuscheln produzieren einen solchen Superkleber, der sowohl über als auch unter Wasser wirkt. Allerdings haftet der Muschelklebstoff sofort und ist schwer zu handhaben. „Um den Muschelkleber im Labor herstellen zu können, haben wir Stämme des Darmbakteriums Escherichia coli umprogrammiert“, erklärt Budisas Mitarbeiter Matthias Hauf. Die Forscher arbeiteten lange an einer Lösung, da dem Darmbakterium der zentrale Baustein des Nassklebstoffs fehlt. Hauf und seine Kollegen fügen deshalb den Darmbakterien ein bestimmtes Enzym hinzu. Dieses ermöglicht Escherichia coli, den Baustein, den die Forscher zusätzlich mit einer lichtaktivierbaren Eigenschaft versehen haben, in den Muschelklebstoff einzubauen.

Video: Superklebstoff – von der Miesmuschel abgeschaut

„Wir fütterten unsere veränderten Darmbakterien mit diesem Baustein, – der Aminosäure ‚ONB-Dopa’ – mit der Folge, dass unser Kleber nun zielgerichtet ,angeschaltet’ werden kann“, so Hauf. Seine Klebeeigenschaft wird erst aktiviert, wenn er mit UV-Licht der Wellenlänge 365 Nanometer bestrahlt wird. Die Aminosäure versieht den Klebestoff mit einer Art Schutzschicht - ähnlich dem Prinzip der Schutzfolien von Aufklebern. „Diese Eigenschaft macht den Kleber überhaupt erst für die Praxis tauglich“, sagt der Wissenschaftler.

Die Forscher wollen, zusammen mit dem Fachgebiet Bioverfahrenstechnik der Technischen Universität Berlin und kleineren Unternehmen aus dem Berliner Forschungsnetzwerk „Network for Pharma Solutions – NetPhaSol“ die zum Patent angemeldete Idee in den kommenden zwei Jahren weiterentwickeln und zur Marktreife bringen. Zur Ausgründung und zur Verwirklichung der Geschäftsidee sollen die Labore des „Inkulab“, dem Ausgründungslabor des Exzellenzclusters UniCat an der Technischen Universität Berlin, genutzt werden. Bis der Klebstoff aber bei Skifahrern, Snowboardern und anderen Patienten zum Einsatz kommen kann, wird es noch dauern. „Bis zur finalen Markteinführung muss unser Klebstoff viele Tests und klinische Studien durchlaufen“, fasst Budisa die Aussichten zusammen.

Weitere Informationen

Ziel des Clusters UniCat: Unifying Concepts in Catalysis ist es, Katalysatoren für eine effizientere Nutzung von Energieträgern und Rohstoffen zu entwickeln sowie neue Wirkstoffe mithilfe der Synthetischen Biologie herzustellen. Der Cluster ist ein gemeinsames Projekt der Technischen Universität Berlin in Kooperation mit der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

In der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder wurde der Antrag Unifying Systems in Catalysis (UniSysCat), der auf den Erfahrungen von UniCat basiert und das Forschungsprogramm erweitert, zum Vollantrag aufgefordert.