EEG as a Window into the Future: Can Machine Learning Help Predict Neurological Problems?

The TrueBrainConnect research project will start in early 2019. Using machine learning algorithms, computer scientist Stefan Haufe wants to analyze EEG data and contribute to doctors being able to detect brain disorders, such as dementia, sooner.

Aug 09, 2018

To be able to recognize brain disorders such as dementia at an earlier stage, scientists such as Stefan Haufe are analyzing data from electroencephalography (EEG).

To be able to recognize brain disorders such as dementia at an earlier stage, scientists such as Stefan Haufe are analyzing data from electroencephalography (EEG).
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

Chronic diseases do not come out of the blue. Heart attacks usually have a lead time of many years before they occur. Even brain diseases such as dementia or Parkinson’s disease begin long before they manifest clinically. Especially in the case of diseases such as dementia that still cannot be practically treated, it could be of help in identifying people with an increased risk at an early stage, for example, enabling them to take preventative action or prepare their social environment.

As yet, there are not any really good methods for such early detection. In fact, people with an increased risk of dementia can be identified using functional MRI scans. This is, however, too complex and much too expensive to be used as a mass application. Electroencephalography examinations, or EEG in short, i.e., electrical discharges using electrodes on the cranial bone, would be one alternative. These are, however, by no means as easy to interpret as MRI images

Brain diseases begin long before they manifest clinically.

This is where Stefan Haufe comes in. Starting at the beginning of 2019, Haufe will lead the five-year TrueBrainConnect research project, for which three doctoral candidates and a student assistant will be recruited in the second half of the year. Under the European “Horizon 2020” program, the project will be funded by a 1.5 million-euro “starting grant” from the European Research Council (ERC). It is located at the Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging, a joint facility of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Haufe, with a doctorate in computer science, already studied machine learning as a graduate student at Universität Halle (Saale). This was followed by a doctoral student position at the Machine Learning Group at Technische Universität Berlin and two positions as a research assistant at New York City College and Columbia University in New York. Haufe reports that “EEG data analysis was a major topic at Technische Universität, where, among other things, research is conducted using brain-computer interfaces.” These interfaces are computer systems that are controlled by the brain using thoughts; they are used, for example, in rehabilitation following a stroke. The “mind control” works in many such systems using EEG measurements. Haufe’s work at Technische Universität Berlin and at the universities in New York was highly focused on fundamental research. He says, “At one point, it struck me whether these methods could also be made useful for clinical medicine.”

Stefan Haufe is heading the five-year “TrueBrainConnect” research project.

Stefan Haufe is heading the five-year “TrueBrainConnect” research project.
Image Credit: Wiebke Peitz/Charité

He now wants to try this in the TrueBrainConnect project. Indeed, TrueBrainConnect is to two thirds a methodical project, which means that algorithms and analysis methods are developed, but the clinical aspects distinguish it from other research projects on machine learning. “Another difference is that we want to fix issues in already existing machine learning methods, especially in result interpretation,” says Haufe. The final question is whether the EEG, which which in neurology is currently primarily used to diagnose spasms, could be developed into an easy-to-use, non-invasive, cost-effective screening tool for various brain diseases using machine learning algorithms.

Once the data analysis pipeline is established, the algorithms can be “set free” to clinical EEG data sets.

For this to work, Haufe and his colleagues must first and foremost develop good tools for EEG data analysis with which the machine learning algorithms can work. “We’ve estimated at least the first two project years for this.” In an EEG, electrical signals that are generated when nerve cells transmit information are measured. As a non-invasive method from “outside the body,” the EEG is not able to provide information on individual cells or cell groups, but only generates signals in which different processes in the brain overlap, thus making the analysis of these electrical signals very complex. Subsequently, one of the topics to be addressed during the projects’ first years is the question how, using noticeable EEG signals, the region in the brain where the noticeable activity originates can be best located.

Once the data analysis pipeline is established, the algorithms can be “set free” to clinical EEG data sets. For this purpose, Haufe is in contact with several neurologists who have corresponding EEG databases at their disposal. In cooperation with clinical partners from Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the researchers hope to gain a better understanding of how the information flows between the deep brain structures and the cortex in people suffering from Parkinson’s disease, as it is known that problems occur somewhere at this interface. In the distant future, the EEG and machine learning algorithms might even be used to predict trips and falls in Parkinson patients. Progress forecasts for dementia patients is another clinical application.

The development of the algorithms is strongly dependent on the available data, which can be used to train the algorithms.

As always with machine learning, the development of algorithms depends on the available data that can be used to train the algorithms. “Unfortunately, there are currently no really convincing data records for the EEG,” Haufe emphasizes. When it comes to structural and functional magnetic resonance imaging, the prerequisites are much better: “We have high hopes for public databases which are currently being established.”

Longitudinal data sets, i.e., data from people for whom EEGs were produced at different times in their lives and some of whom develop neurological diseases whereas others do not, are of particular importance. Then the machine learning algorithms could be used to try to predict the different processes. It is difficult to estimate how many patients are needed to train the algorithms reliably enough. “I would consider a sample size of 500 to be ideal,” says Haufe, but in practice even small numbers of test persons could already provide valuable information.

Keywords

EEG als Fenster in die Zukunft: : Kann Maschinenlernen helfen, neurologische Probleme vorherzusagen?

Anfang 2019 startet das Forschungsprojekt TrueBrainConnect. Der Informatiker Stefan Haufe will EEG-Daten mit Maschinenlern-Algorithmen analysieren und so dazu beitragen, dass Ärzte Störungen des Gehirns wie Demenz früher erkennen können.

09.08.2018

Wissenschaftler wie Stefan Haufe analysieren Daten der Elektroenzephalografie (EEG), um Störungen des Gehirns wie Demenz früher erkennen zu können.

Wissenschaftler wie Stefan Haufe analysieren Daten der Elektroenzephalografie (EEG), um Störungen des Gehirns wie Demenz früher erkennen zu können.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Chronische Erkrankungen kommen nicht aus heiterem Himmel. Herzinfarkte haben in der Regel viele Jahre Vorlauf. Auch Erkrankungen des Gehirns wie die Demenz oder die Parkinson-Erkrankung beginnen lange, bevor sie klinisch auffällig werden. Gerade bei einer Erkrankung wie der Demenz, die noch immer praktisch nicht behandelbar ist, könnte es helfen, Personen mit erhöhtem Risiko früh zu erkennen, um zum Beispiel Prävention betreiben oder das soziale Umfeld vorbereiten zu können.

Wirklich gute Methoden für eine solche Früherkennung gibt es bisher nicht. Zwar lassen sich Menschen mit erhöhtem Demenzrisiko mit funktionellen Kernspin-Untersuchungen erkennen. Das ist als Massenanwendung jedoch zu aufwendig und viel zu teuer. Eine Alternative wären Untersuchungen mit Elektroenzephalografie, kurz EEG, also elektrische Ableitungen mithilfe von Elektroden auf den Schädelknochen. Die sind aber längst nicht so einfach zu interpretieren wie Kernspin-Aufnahmen.

Erkrankungen des Gehirns beginnen lange, bevor sie klinisch auffällig werden.

Hier setzt Stefan Haufe an, der von Anfang 2019 an das auf fünf Jahre angelegte Forschungsprojekt TrueBrainConnect leitet, für das in der zweiten Jahreshälfte drei Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden sowie eine studentische Hilfskraft für die Mitarbeit gewonnen werden sollen. Das Projekt wird durch einen im Rahmen des europäischen Programms „Horizon 2020“ vergebenen, mit 1,5 Millionen Euro dotierten „Starting Grant“ des European Research Council (ERC) gefördert. Es ist am Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging angesiedelt, einer gemeinsamen Einrichtung der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Haufe ist promovierter Informatiker, der sich schon als Diplomand an der Universität Halle (Saale) mit Maschinenlernen beschäftigt hat. Es folgten eine Doktorandenstelle an der Gruppe Maschinelles Lernen der Technischen Universität Berlin sowie zwei Stellen als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am New York City College und an der Columbia-Universität in New York. „An der Technischen Universität war die EEG-Daten-Analyse ein großes Thema, dort wird unter anderem mit Brain-Computer-Interfaces geforscht“, berichtet der Wissenschaftler. Brain-Computer-Interfaces sind Computersysteme, die das Gehirn per Gedanken steuert; sie kommen zum Beispiel in der Rehabilitation nach Schlaganfall zum Einsatz. Die „Gedankensteuerung“ funktioniert bei vielen derartigen Systemen mit Hilfe von EEG-Messungen. Haufes Arbeiten an der Technischen Universität Berlin und an den Hochschulen in New York waren stark grundlagenorientiert: „Mich hat irgendwann die Frage gereizt, ob diese Methoden nicht auch für die klinische Medizin nutzbar gemacht werden können.“

Stefan Haufe leitet das auf fünf Jahre angelegte Forschungsprojekt „TrueBrainConnect“.

Stefan Haufe leitet das auf fünf Jahre angelegte Forschungsprojekt „TrueBrainConnect“.
Bildquelle: Wiebke Peitz/Charité

Im TrueBrainConnect-Projekt will er das jetzt versuchen. Zwar ist auch TrueBrainConnect zu zwei Dritteln ein methodisches Projekt, das heißt es werden Algorithmen und Analysemethoden entwickelt, aber die klinischen Aspekte unterscheiden es von anderen Forschungsprojekten zum Maschinenlernen. „Ein weiterer Unterschied ist, dass wir Probleme bei bestehenden Maschinenlern-Methoden beheben wollen, vor allem bei der Interpretation der Ergebnisse“, so Haufe. Was letztlich im Raum steht, ist die Frage, ob das EEG – das derzeit in der Neurologie in erster Linie zur Diagnose von Krampfleiden eingesetzt wird – mithilfe von Maschinenlern-Algorithmen zu einem einfachen, nichtinvasiven, kostengünstigen Screening-Werkzeug für unterschiedliche Hirnerkrankungen weiterentwickelt werden könnte.

Steht die Datenanalyse-Pipeline, können die Algorithmen auf klinische EEG-Datensätze „losgelassen“ werden.

Damit das klappt, müssen Haufe und seine Mitarbeiter als allererstes gute Werkzeuge für die EEG-Datenanalyse entwickeln, mit denen die Maschinenlern-Algorithmen arbeiten können. „Dafür haben wir mindestens die ersten beiden Projektjahre veranschlagt.“ Beim EEG werden elektrische Signale gemessen, die entstehen, wenn Nervenzellen Informationen weiterleiten. Die Analyse dieser elektrischen Signale ist sehr komplex, da das EEG als eine nicht-invasive Methode „von außen“ keine Informationen über einzelne Zellen oder Zellgruppen liefern kann, sondern nur Signale erzeugt, bei denen sich unterschiedliche Prozesse im Gehirn überlagern. Eines der Themen, die in den ersten Projektjahren angegangen werden sollen, ist dementsprechend die Frage, wie sich anhand auffälliger EEG-Signale am besten jene Region im Gehirn lokalisieren lässt, auf die die jeweils auffällige Aktivität zurückgeht.

Steht die Datenanalyse-Pipeline, können die Algorithmen auf klinische EEG-Datensätze „losgelassen“ werden. Haufe ist dazu mit mehreren Neurologen in Kontakt, die über entsprechende EEG-Datenbanken verfügen. So soll mit klinischen Partnern der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin versucht werden, bei der Parkinson-Erkrankung besser zu verstehen, wie der Informationsfluss zwischen den tiefen Hirnstrukturen und der Hirnrinde abläuft, weil bekannt ist, dass es irgendwo an dieser Schnittstelle bei an Parkinson Erkrankten Probleme gibt. In fernerer Zukunft könnten mithilfe des EEGs und der Maschinenlern-Algorithmen bei Parkinson-Patienten vielleicht sogar Stürze vorhergesagt werden. Ein anderes klinisches Einsatzszenario sind Verlaufsprognosen bei Demenz-Patienten.

Die Entwicklung der Algorithmen steht und fällt mit den verfügbaren Daten, anhand derer die Algorithmen trainiert werden können.

Wie immer beim Maschinenlernen steht und fällt die Entwicklung der Algorithmen mit den verfügbaren Daten, anhand derer die Algorithmen trainiert werden können. „Richtig überzeugende Datensätze gibt es für das EEG derzeit leider noch nicht“, betont Haufe. Die Voraussetzungen bei der strukturellen und funktionellen Magnetresonanztomografie seien da wesentlich besser: „Wir setzen große Hoffnungen auf öffentliche Datenbanken, die sich derzeit im Aufbau befinden.“

Besonders wichtig wären longitudinale Datensätze, also Daten von Menschen, bei denen zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten im Leben EEGs angefertigt wurden und von denen einige neurologische Erkrankungen entwickeln und andere nicht. Dann könnte mithilfe der Maschinenlern-Algorithmen versucht werden, die unterschiedlichen Verläufe vorherzusagen. Wie viele Patienten nötig sind, um die Algorithmen hinreichend zuverlässig zu trainieren, ist schwer abschätzbar: „Eine Stichprobengröße von 500 Personen würde ich für ideal halten“, sagt Haufe, aber in der Praxis könnten auch geringe Probandenzahlen bereits wertvolle Informationen liefern.

Schlagwörter